Polynesian Oceanfront Hotel
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Polynesian Oceanfront Hotel

Front Kiddie Pool
Traveller (75)
Breathtaking oceanfront views with spacious accommodations? Yes please! This room features a fridge, king bed, sofa, and is newly renovated!
Room & Suite (17)
Polynesian Oceanfront Motel
Videos (1)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Did you already book this hotel?

About

2.5
#32 of 35 resorts in Myrtle Beach
3.9 of 5 bubbles
Location
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
2.3 of 5 bubbles
Service
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Value
Everyone needs a place to lay their weary head. For travelers visiting Myrtle Beach, Polynesian Oceanfront Hotel is an excellent choice for rest and rejuvenation. Well-known for its budget friendly environment and proximity to great restaurants and attractions, Polynesian Oceanfront Motel makes it easy to enjoy the best of Myrtle Beach. Polynesian Ocean Front Hotel has recently made major improvements to the rooms and property. The oceanfront rooms are now outfitted with all-new mattresses and updated furniture to give a fresh and comfortable stay. Additionally, all swimming pools have been resurfaced for your swimming pleasure. The exterior of the building has been newly painted and new roofs have been installed to provide a vibrant, updated look. A wide variety of guest rooms at Polynesian Oceanfront Hotel offer a kitchenette and air conditioning, and Polynesian Oceanfront Hotel makes getting online easy as free wifi is available. You can also take advantage of some of the amenities offered by the resort, including an outdoor pool ,indoor pool and hot tub during their visit. As an added convenience, there is free parking available to guests. For those interested in checking out popular landmarks while visiting Myrtle Beach, Polynesian Beach Resort is conveniently located a short distance from Family Kingdom Amusement Park (0.6 mi) and Myrtle Beach Boardwalk & Promenade (1.5 mi). While in Myrtle Beach, you may want to check out some of the restaurants that are a short walk away from Polynesian Beach & Golf Hotel, including Villa Romana Italian Restaurant (0.3 mi), Angelo's Steak and Pasta (1.1 mi), and Captain Benjamin's Calabash Seafood (0.5 mi). During your visit, be sure to check out Second Avenue Pier (0.8 mi), which is a popular attraction within walking distance of the resort. Polynesian Beach Resort is sure to make your visit to Myrtle Beach one worth remembering.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool with view
Vending machine
Beach
Kids pool
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
ATM on site
Car park
Wifi
Indoor pool
Outdoor pool
Fence around pool
24-hour front desk
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Telephone
Coffee / tea maker
Kitchenette
Cable / satellite TV
Bath / shower
Microwave
Refrigerator
Stovetop
Kitchenware
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
2.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Budget
Ocean View
Languages Spoken
English
Hotel links
Special Price:Save Up to 25% OFF!

Location

1001 S Ocean Blvd, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577-4441
13Reviews0Q+A3Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 4
  • 0
  • 1
  • 0
  • 8
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Patricia C wrote a review May 2024
Piedmont, South Carolina
3.0 of 5 bubbles
This Was A Average Older Resort In Myrtle Beach. Rooms Are Okay. Ocean Front Rooms Was A Plus. Price Was Up Because of Bike Week. Had To Pay $100 Cash To Hold My Key. Most Hotels Just put it on Your Credit Card. Okay To Stay But Not The Best Choice Can Not Add Much More Information
Read more
Date of stay: May 2024
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
2.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Bobbie J wrote a review May 2023
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Let me start by saying this is in no way shape or form a 5 star resort but it doesn’t advertise that it is so I was not expecting that. I was looking for an affordable lodging that was clean and comfortable and the Polynesian was just that. Because of the money I saved on my room me and my husband were able to go out to several amazing restaurants and we got to do all of the activities we wanted to do in Myrtle Beach and I definitely thank the Polynesian for that! I did not see any roaches or other bugs and the staff were all very friendly and helpful :)
Read more
Date of stay: May 2023
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Jennifer R, General Manager at Polynesian Oceanfront Hotel
Responded 6 Jun 2023
Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review! We appreciate any and all guest feedback. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay with us. We would be happy to have you as a guest with us again in the future. If there is anything that you may need, please do not hesitate to contact us. We are here to assist you with your reservation needs.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Tiffany K wrote a review May 2023
+1
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Wouldn’t recommend to anyone! Workers are very rude, room was nothing but cock roaches and broken door, water leaks, had to pay a cleaning “resort” fee for 76.00 also a $100.00 deposit that was refundable, and wasn’t told this til we arrived and nothing was clean! I’m never the type of person to complain or leave bad reviews but this experience was absolutely ridiculous!!!! Never got any sleep because other people yelling, cussing, blasting music, etc.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2023
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
1.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Jennifer R, General Manager at Polynesian Oceanfront Hotel
Responded 23 May 2023
I am so sorry to hear that your stay with us was less than you expected, and I am thankful that you've taken the time to leave us this review. I have reviewed video from 5/18 and do see where you made a report of one of your issues at check out. Our guest services agent quickly forwarded that information to our maintenance department while you were still in the lobby. I am unable to locate a report of the other issues you've made note of in your review. If these were reported at a different time and not attended to, I offer my most sincere apologies. It would be our standard protocol to offer to move you to another room or another property with reports of this nature. Our Director of Maintenance has been made aware today and will see to it that they are fixed properly. I will also be having our Internet Services team double check all of our third party listings to ensure that our long standing policies regarding resort fees and damage deposits are properly displayed. I am sorry if any changes to those listings have been made that would not present these items clearly to our future guests. Thank you again for your review. Your feedback is truly appreciated!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Trevor H wrote a review May 2023
1.0 of 5 bubbles
This is the first review I've ever written and sadly it will not be a good one. I get that this building is older and I wouldn't expect every little thing to be perfect but I also wouldn't expect part of the ceiling to fall down onto the floor during the night and to have water coming into the room. This is what happened in room 802. In addition, nothing is really kept very clean. I stayed in room 803 and the very first thing I noticed when entering the room was a stain on one of the comforters. Also, there was no hot water to the kitchen sink and the hot water faucet in the bath tub didn't work right. The toilet ran all night so you can imagine how annoying that was. Just all around this hotel isn't a good place to stay even if you're just looking for basic clean and comfortable.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2023
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Jennifer R, General Manager at Polynesian Oceanfront Hotel
Responded 20 May 2023
Thank you for taking the time to voice your concerns with your recent stay with us. We are terribly sorry for any inconvenience you experienced while at the property. Maintenance issues are often unexpected and we apologize if this issue proved bothersome to you during your stay. After reviewing our records I do see that you contacted our front desk on the morning of 5/18 regarding the leak issue that occurred the night before, and at that time our staff offered to move you to another room. Our records indicate that this option was declined and we were advised that our staff could repair after your check out. Moving rooms can be a hassle, and I fully understand your desire not to take us up on this option. I assure you that our staff would have been happy to assist with moving any items necessary to provide a seamless transition from one room to another. I am unable to locate any reported maintenance or housekeeping issues for room 803, but I would like to extend my most sincere apologies for the issues that you have described in your review. I know that our team would have gladly taken care of these issues had we been notified. I will make sure these issues and concerns are brought to the attention of the appropriate department heads for further review and discussion with staff. Again, many thanks for your review. The feedback is always appreciated, as it is the best way for us to continue to make improvements for our guests.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Snickle F wrote a review Sept 2023
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I was ready to give one star due to pest control issues. Shawnette made it all better! She listened to my complaint, moved my family to a different room, had maintenance come out to the previous room and above all, Shawnette was empathetic, professional and courteous. She apologized for our inconvenience and fixed the problem immediately. She’s a keeper who deserves a handsome raise. The night attendant I spoke with before Shawnette was nonchalant and seemed as if she didn’t care. Shawnette goes above and beyond!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2023
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Jennifer R, General Manager at Polynesian Oceanfront Hotel
Responded 11 Sept 2023
Thank you for bringing this to our attention. We apologize for any inconvenience you experienced due to the pest issue in your room. We take such matters seriously and have already addressed it with our pest control team to ensure that it is resolved promptly. We're delighted to hear that our front desk staff member, Shawnette, was able to assist you and make your stay more comfortable. We will commend her for her excellent service and dedication to ensuring our guests' satisfaction. Your feedback is valuable to us, and we hope to provide you with an even better experience during your next visit.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
JOBEVERINGHAM wrote a review Nov 2023
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Awesome place staff is wonderfull

Scarlett and karen are amazing. Made our stay so wonderfull thank you for making our aniversary so wonderfull.
We have been coming to the polynesian for years and plan to continue coming to polynesion fot many more years thank you staff
JOB EVERINGHAM
Read more
Date of stay: November 2023Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Jennifer R, General Manager at Polynesian Oceanfront Hotel
Responded 29 Jan 2024
Thank you so much for your feedback! We will make sure that our team members who made your stay memorable are recognized for their efforts. We are extremely happy to see that you enjoyed your time with us this year, and we look forward to seeing you again in the future!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Angel L wrote a review Apr 2024
Lancaster, South Carolina
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Wonderful experience. If you’re looking for a nice little getaway without breaking the bank. Of course it’s not 5 stars but needless to say I fully enjoyed our stay. Loved it room as well! It’s within walking distance to an ice cream shop and quite a few places to eat.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Park in parking deck. Just not on top unless you have an ocean front room. There is a $100...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
katieLLM12 wrote a review 2 Jul
Wisconsin
+1
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Pro's -
The guy at the front desk was very helpful
They offered to stow our luggage for us until we could check in

Con's -
The pictures they show on travel sites don't match what you get
You get actual keys
Deadbolt was broken
Toilet kept backing up
Window a/c with no air flow so only the kitchen was cold
Indoor pool had no air flow and smelled. Can only imagine what bacteria was growing in there
To get to the outdoor pool/ocean you have to walk down a creepy dark hallway in the basement (where they had rooms...gross), through the parking garage, and then another dark hallway
Smelled weed everywhere
Saw a man doing cocaine at the outdoor pool
The outdoor pool area had broken glass and garbage, and at least one lounger smelled like urine
Curtains had holes all over it
Only bugs I saw were in that creepy hallway
Elevators didn't work
Read more
Date of stay: July 2024Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: 1. Sleep in your car... probably safer 2. Do NOT take a room on the lower level 3. Watch where...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Porchita92 wrote a review Mar 2024
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Worst stay ever the room ceiling was falling in there were drug users all around and there’s roaches the staff team is absolutely replaceable poor customer service no consideration the owner doesn’t care because he’s tearing the hotel down soon and rebuilding the repeat the same cycle what ever you do don’t stay here unless poverty is your idea of a great vacation 😖😦🫨
Read more
Date of stay: April 2023
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
1.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jasmine K wrote a review Jul 2023
1.0 of 5 bubbles
lobby stink
has roaches
needs updated
dirty beds/sheets
nasty
looks like crack house hotel
DONT STAY HERE IF U DONT WANT BIT UP
Only nice looking thing is the floors
The pictures are enhanced / and looks ok til u get here
nasty bathroom sink and tub
black mold
needs remodeled
need shut down
not worth what you pay
Only worth $ 50 a night/if you stand for eight hour
this is the worst hotel I’ve ever stated in my life
very depressing
if you come in a good mood this room will mess your whole mood up
trifling
no TV in the bedroom
how to put a towel down to take a shower
Read more
Date of stay: July 2023
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Jennifer R, General Manager at Polynesian Oceanfront Hotel
Responded 12 Aug 2023
Thank you for taking the time to fill out our online comment card. We appreciate any and all guest feedback. I would like to apologize for any inconvenience that you may have experienced during your stay with us. We are an older property, and we do cater to an economy traveler offering the lowest rates we possibly can. I thank you for voicing your concerns and bringing these issues to our attention. I will make sure that your complaints are forwarded to the appropriate department heads for further review so that the issues can be taken care of. Thank you again for the valuable input. It truly is appreciated.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
No results found.Try changing or clearing your search to read questions and answers.
katieLLM12 wrote a tip 2 Jul
Wisconsin64 contributions18 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"1. Sleep in your car... probably safer 2. Do NOT take a room on the lower level 3. Watch where you step"
Read full review
Angel L wrote a tip Apr 2024
Lancaster, South Carolina8 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Park in parking deck. Just not on top unless you have an ocean front room. There is a $100 refundable deposit required at check in."
Read full review
Carol L wrote a tip May 2023
2 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"The indoor pool had mold"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Myrtle Beach area.
PRICE RANGE
$109 - $250 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
polynesian beach & golf hotel myrtle beach, polynesian beach and golf resort, polynesian beach hotel
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Polynesian Beach & Golf Resort
LOCATION
United StatesSouth CarolinaCoastal South CarolinaMyrtle Beach
NUMBER OF ROOMS
171
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

POLYNESIAN OCEANFRONT HOTEL - Now $170 (Was $̶2̶0̶8̶) - UPDATED 2024 Resort Reviews & Price Comparison (Myrtle Beach, SC) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Polynesian Oceanfront Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Polynesian Oceanfront Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Myrtle Beach (0.1 km), Family Kingdom Amusement Park (0.8 km), and Jungle Lagoon (0.7 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Polynesian Oceanfront Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and free parking.
Which room amenities are available at Polynesian Oceanfront Hotel?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, air conditioning, and a refrigerator.
Is parking available at Polynesian Oceanfront Hotel?
Yes, free parking and a parking garage are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Polynesian Oceanfront Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Villa Romana Italian Restaurant, Loco Gecko, and Drafts Sports Bar & Grill.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Polynesian Oceanfront Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool during their stay.
Are pets allowed at Polynesian Oceanfront Hotel?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Are there any historical sites close to Polynesian Oceanfront Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Myrtle Beach Colored School Museum (2.7 km) and Charlie's Place (3.5 km).
Does Polynesian Oceanfront Hotel have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the ocean view available here.
All Myrtle Beach HotelsMyrtle Beach Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in Myrtle BeachHotels near Polynesian Oceanfront Hotel
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday HomesTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire