We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hotel Victoriano

Save
Share
Paseo del Rey, San Juan del Sur 050-088-4 Nicaragua
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
eDreams
Hurb
View all 7 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Traveller (171)
Room & Suite (116)
Dining (39)
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.

About

#16 of 31 hotels in San Juan del Sur
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Hotel Victoriano is located in front of the paradisiacal bay of San Juan del Sur, one of the most attractive beaches for foreign tourism, just 140 km from Managua, the capital of Nicaragua. Hotel Victoriano, built in 1902 as a family residence and restored in 2006, has 25 rooms that continue to have the elegant and sober architectural design of the Victorian era. We invite you to relive the fascinating history of this manor house and enjoy warm service and true peace and quiet amidst a highly frequented area.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Sauna
Free breakfast
Beach
Bicycle rental
Books, DVDs, music for children
Secured parking
Wifi
Hot bath
Pool / beach towels
Pool with view
Outdoor pool
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast in the room
Snack bar
Special diet menus
Horseback riding
Fishing
Airport transportation
Shuttle bus service
Car hire
Meeting rooms
Couples massage
Foot massage
Full body massage
Hand massage
Head massage
Massage
Neck massage
BBQ facilities
Baggage storage
Currency exchange
Non-smoking hotel
Sun terrace
24-hour front desk
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Fireplace
Housekeeping
Room service
Safe
Bottled water
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Ocean view
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Historic Hotel
Bay View
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish
207Reviews6Q+A26Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 91
  • 69
  • 26
  • 8
  • 13
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Jay Towers wrote a review Oct 2021
Managua, Nicaragua194 contributions65 helpful votes
I rate my experience a 1. I have stayed in many occasions in this Victorian style hotel but right know the hotel need lots of maintenance in the rooms, Pool and Patio area. The rate that I paid was expensive $135 a night with breakfast included. That Fridays night occupancy in the hotel was two rooms. Us and somebody else. The service was the worst I have seen. No pool service and the food was cold and small quantity. The pool and the wooden deck is falling apart. I strongly DONT recommend anyone staying here.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Avoid this hotel. You have been warned!!!
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Jay Towers wrote a review Jun 2021
Managua, Nicaragua194 contributions65 helpful votes
Great location in front of beach and near the pear. Close to bars and ocean waves. Hotel needs maintenance badly!! Pool needs resurfacing and repair cracks. Rooms have new AC. Service is decent but Food is great. Great value for the buck!!! Parking in front of hotel and rental car n site.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Chip H wrote a review Feb 2020
4 contributions
2nd stay and last. Front counter young lady Edith, needs a few lessons in customer service/relations. Credit card charges mis applied, rooms ready at 1:00 but were not allowed in until 2:00, burnt out light in bathroom never fixed, pool was dirty, hot tub was disgusting and rudeness during checkout. Unfortunately this hotel has great potential but lacks the customer relation skills to keep people coming back. Next year we will find a new hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
Helpful
Share
Keith MacPherson wrote a review Oct 2019
Costa Rica86 contributions55 helpful votes
We originally booked with another hotel and when we showed up we weren’t able to access the grounds because it was all locked up. We found ourselves having a drink to solve the problem of where we were going to stay. We found the Victoriano Hotel near by and it turned out to be great!! It was right downtown so it was easy to walk to the restaurants and shops and it is right across from the beach We wished we could of stayed another night. We will be back
Read more
Date of stay: October 2019Trip type: Travelled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from HotelVictorianoNi, Director de Recepción at Hotel Victoriano
Responded 31 Oct 2019
Thanks For stay with us it will be a pleasure have you again have a great day
Read more
coloradoclimber wrote a review Jul 2019
denver, colorado119 contributions71 helpful votes
Hotel Victoriano in San Juan del Sur, Nicaragua is a safe and quaint little resort town place, tucked alongside a beach cove in the southwestern corner of this beautiful, yet troubled country. It’s really more like a bed & breakfast than a “hotel” with a small breakfast served…and nothing fancy. The locals all wear flip-flop sandals and shorts; only the older ones wear pants. In years past I have read that this place was a mecca for American surfers, but now it’s largely vacant as the result of last year’s troubles between the student protesters—mostly at the large universities—and their socialist government. While many tourists from the United States appear to be staying away in droves, this place feels safe and secure and there are no signs of the old ’79 revolution nor tee-shirts with Che, Hugo Chavez or Sandino printed on them as in Managua. My room was very comfortable, reminding me of the old colonial Nyali beach hotel in Mombasa, Kenya where I stayed in my Navy days long time ago. It had ceramic tile floors, a little bit gritty, a king-size bed and little French doors that opened to a small ocean-view balcony. The toilet and sink room was too small to move from one fixture to the other one unless the door is closed and the stand-up shower—no tub—was nice but lacked any kind of fixture for the soap and shampoos. There was a flat screen TV with BBC, but no CNN or Fox and a little room safe, operated with a key given to me after an admonition not to lose it or pay extra! The BEST room feature besides the bed was the new room air conditioning unit; it worked really great! The little pool is only 20 feet long and maybe 12 feet wide…a dipping pool…but I lost all interest in swimming there after watching two large locals doing something unmentionable against the pool wall—ugh! It was difficult to avoid seeing them in the pool as the restaurant porch looks directly down on the small pool area. Speaking of the restaurant, the food was great, a little bit more expensive for a fish than the other places down the street, but tasty and served well. The breakfast was Spartan by comparison with no buffet and no bread or rolls served…had to request the juice and the bread. The staff are polite, but not too friendly [perhaps lurking beneath the surface there is some resentment towards gringo guests?] and my room was not ready; they had given me no bottled water and no toilet paper! I also don’t like having to beg for more water from the hotel in a place known for water not considered safe for foreign guests. They told me that their policy is to grant guests two bottles of water [1 liter total] on the first day then no mas. It’s not easy to read these people in Nicaragua right now as most of them look so unhappy but happier in this surfside community. From my many conversations with locals I suspect that most people are split between blaming their socialist government for their poor, struggling economy and/or blaming the imperialist [their view] colossus to the north. Having visited Nicaragua ten times in the last 12 years I have a basic understanding of their grievances—a Spanish colonial history with a small upper class and a very large under-class in addition to the meddling of the USA going all the way back to 1909 with US Marines on the ground in the 1920s, ostensibly to protect US corporations, especially fruit growers, but nonetheless opposing a very popular revolutionary movement led by Sandino. Finally, because this little town cove is filled with fishing and tourist-related boats at anchor or tied to mooring buoys, I wouldn’t recommend swimming here; there are better beaches to the north, but the local taxies will charge you $40 cash only to go there! And I was not feeling good about renting a car here! There are four or five new San Juan port buildings, but all of them are closed. Considering all the above factors this small boutique hotel rates a 3+ but does not rise to the level of a four star resort. If you just want to eat, sleep, charter a fishing boat, take your chances swimming or do short walks this charming little place is probably perfect for you, otherwise the good clean waves are someplace else.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2019Trip type: Travelled with friends
Helpful
Share
Response from HotelVictorianoNi, Director de Recepción at Hotel Victoriano
Responded 12 Jul 2019
Thank you very much for choosing Hotel Victoriano as your holiday destination in San Juan del Sur, we hope you visit again .
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$164 - US$219 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
NicaraguaRivas DepartmentSan Juan del Sur
NUMBER OF ROOMS
25
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Hotel Victoriano
Which popular attractions are close to Hotel Victoriano?
Nearby attractions include Latin American Spanish School (0.4 km), The Art Warehouse (0.4 km), and San Juan del Sur Beach (0.3 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Hotel Victoriano?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a pool.
Which room amenities are available at Hotel Victoriano?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Hotel Victoriano?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Hotel Victoriano?
Yes, free parking and secured parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Hotel Victoriano?
Conveniently located restaurants include Dale Pues, The Beach House Nicaragua, and Simon Says Smoothie Bar.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Hotel Victoriano?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and a sauna during their stay.
Does Hotel Victoriano have an airport shuttle?
Yes, Hotel Victoriano offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Does Hotel Victoriano have airport transportation?
Yes, Hotel Victoriano offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Is Hotel Victoriano located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.5 km away from the centre of San Juan del Sur.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Hotel Victoriano?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Spanish.