We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Grosvenor Hotel

Save
Share
High Street, Stockbridge SO20 6EU England
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Expedia.com
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
eDreams
Booking.com
ZenHotels.com
View all 9 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Traveller (28)
Room & Suite (38)
Dining (21)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitised in high-temperature wash
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
Updated 12/08/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Grosvenor Hotel
Updated 12/08/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#2 of 2 hotels in Stockbridge
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
The Grosvenor is a large and imposing listed Georgian hotel in the centre of Stockbridge High Street. Named after a local landowner, it was built in the early C19th when it incorporated the town’s market hall, still known as Market Room. The hotel’s history is inextricably linked with the Stockbridge Races, discontinued since 1898, but held every summer on nearby Danebury Hill. The Houghton Club, the world’s oldest fly fishing club, is based at the Grosvenor. Keep checking in! We share a grand vision for this iconic lodging, situated in the heart of Stockbridge. We will be undertaking an extensive remodelling over the next few months. The hotel will be open during this time, offering a warm welcome, crisp sheets and fluffy towels. In the meantime Chef, Neil Cooper has created a small and exquisite menu to satisfy all tastes. We will create a beautiful space in which to stay, dine, relax and celebrate.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Free breakfast
Hiking
Horseback riding
Highchairs available
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Banquet room
Car park
Wifi
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Complimentary instant cofffee
Kids' meals
Wine / champagne
Fishing
Patio
Meeting rooms
Baggage storage
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
First aid kit
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Show more
Room features
Additional bathroom
Desk
Dining area
Fireplace
Coffee / tea maker
Radio
Sofa bed
Walk-in shower
Housekeeping
Interconnected rooms available
Seating area
Separate dining area
Separate living room
Sofa
Telephone
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Bottled water
Clothes rack
Iron
Private bathrooms
Tile / marble floor
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Microwave
Oven
Electric kettle
Kitchenware
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
City view
Landmark view
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Historic Hotel
Languages Spoken
English
74Reviews2Q+A7Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 44
  • 14
  • 9
  • 5
  • 2
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
jehamlyn wrote a review 17 Oct
London, United Kingdom4 contributions
A huge thank you to Kim! I wasn't even the one staying at the hotel, but Kim was more than willing to help me to arrange a special surprise for my parents this week. As someone who has worked within hotels for many years, it's still really uplifting to meet individuals so willing to go the extra mile and enjoy that special position they find themselves in to be able to make a difference to almost anyone. Kim helped me surprise my parents with a card and the "gift" that their dinner had been paid for by me....after they'd ordered and enjoyed some fabulous food & drink. Thank you Kim for being so friendly from the first time I called to making sure the surprise was perfectly delivered. This is service at it's finest and these small gestures make a big difference to someone's experience.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021
Rooms
Location
Service
Helpful
Share
Sparkles50 wrote a review 5 Oct
Southampton, United Kingdom20 contributions22 helpful votes
We live locally and decided to try out the recently refurbished Restaurant. So disappointed by both the service and the quality of the food. Waited 20 minutes in the lounge for our drinks only to be told that they would need to go to the shop to buy cucumber for my cocktail or I could try something else. Husband had to return his beer (twice) as it was flat. Gave up on drinks and went straight to the restaurant which clearly hadn’t been refurbished. Light fittings missing and pretty shabby. Skipped starters and ordered two roast dinners. When they came they looked impressive but both were cold as was the jug of gravy. My beef was so tough I asked for a steak knife however gave up after 20 minutes of chewing. Asked for the bill and for the first time in 59 years my husband refused to pay for my meal as inedible. Won’t be returning. There are plenty of lovely restaurants in Stockbridge but this isn’t one of them
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
FussyBvggerBrit wrote a review Sep 2021
Amersham, United Kingdom287 contributions213 helpful votes
Pretty basic 3* standard hotel (nowhere near 4*). The better rooms and suites may well be better value, but our garden view king room was well overpriced for the size, quality and facilities. On the plus side is the nice building with good decor throughout, in an excellent position in the centre of the High Street. Also a big plus was a very comfortable super-king bed. On the downside our "super-king" room was very small and basic; the lighting in the room was ludicrously inadequate; there was no luggage rack/stand, so cases have to stay on the floor; there was nowhere near to a mirror to plug in the hairdryer, there was no offer of help with our cases. However the worst thing here was the seriously disappointing restaurant (reviewed separately). Breakfast was good, with a good choice of options, well cooked and served. All in all very far from good value, with a dreadful restaurant, but it's a nice building in an excellent central position.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Don't stay in the annexe. Eat elsewhere - the restaurant is really not good.
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Grosvenor Hotel, Guest Services / Front Office at Grosvenor Hotel
Responded 3 weeks ago
Hi FussyBvggerBrit It saddens us to hear that your experience of our restaurant was disappointing as we have in the past 2 months received many accolades regarding our food. Our menu is designed in such a way that there is something for everybody in that we have a fine dining Market Room menu as well as a more easy dining Brasserie menu which caters for all tastes. Please could you be specific as to what you ate to allow us to evaluate the dish going forward as both menus have recently been launched. We opted to place super king sized beds in all of our garden view rooms to allow our guests to have a comfortable experience when sleeping with us. We find most of our guests appreciate this as they often spend most of their time exploring Stockbridge and the surrounding areas or relaxing in our guest lounge or bar. Regards The Grosvenor Team
Read more
Slippery J wrote a review Sep 2021
Greater London, United Kingdom26 contributions15 helpful votes
The Hotel has had a fantastic refurb literally a different place, however at a recent breakfast all poached eggs were hard boiled and sat on a rather stingy piece toast, for £11 clearly disappointing. Simple things.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021
Location
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Grosvenor Hotel, Guest Services / Front Office at Grosvenor Hotel
Responded 3 weeks ago
Thank you for your review, we are disappointed that your experience at breakfast was not as we would wish. Your comments have been passed to the chef and his team who take it very seriously and will always endeavour to improve. Kind regards The Grosvenor team
Read more
CLMCG01 wrote a review Sep 2021
10 contributions
In Stockbridge for a long weekend to celebrate a birthday with family. Had a Garden Room & St Peters for our stay ...Wonderful in all aspects - Tastefully decorated with all comforts. Wonderful Breakfasts Enjoyed drinks in the grden / courtyard area - Great Setting Great Staff & Helpful Thoroughly enjoyable stay Will definitely return
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Grosvenor Hotel, Guest Services / Front Office at Grosvenor Hotel
Responded 3 weeks ago
Thank you for your kind review we are so appreciative of your comments which have been shared with the team. We look forward to your return Kind regards The Grosvenor Team
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$128 - US$268 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
grosvenor hotel stockbridge
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandHampshireStockbridge
NUMBER OF ROOMS
33
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Grosvenor Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Grosvenor Hotel?
Nearby attractions include The Spitfire Shoot (1.9 km), Army Flying Museum (6.8 km), and Longstock Water Gardens (3.8 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Grosvenor Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Grosvenor Hotel?
Top room amenities include an additional bathroom, a desk, and a dining area.
What food & drink options are available at Grosvenor Hotel?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Grosvenor Hotel?
Yes, free parking, a parking garage, and street parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Grosvenor Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Prego Deli, The Fox, and The Clatford Arms.
Is Grosvenor Hotel located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.3 km away from the centre of Stockbridge.
Are pets allowed at Grosvenor Hotel?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Grosvenor Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, guests have access to meeting rooms and a banquet room during their stay.
Are there any historical sites close to Grosvenor Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Danebury Iron Age Hill Fort (3.6 km).
Does Grosvenor Hotel have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the city view available here.