We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa

Christchurch Road New Forest, New Forest National Park Hampshire, New Milton BH25 6QS England
avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (1559)
Room & Suite (345)
Videos (2)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#1 of 1 hotels in New Milton
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
An English Original. Chewton Glen is a luxury hotel and spa set in 130 acres of Hampshire countryside on the edge of the New Forest National Park and just a few minutes walk from the sea.12 new luxury treehouse suites now open.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Golf course
Tennis court
Babysitting
Electric vehicle charging station
Parking
Wifi
Hot bath
Pool / beach towels
Adult pool
Indoor pool
Outdoor pool
Heated pool
Fitness / spa changing rooms
Fitness classes
Sauna
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Special diet menus
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Kids club
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Airport transportation
Taxi service
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Foot massage
Full body massage
Head massage
Massage
Salon
Steam room
Baggage storage
Concierge
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Sun terrace
Sun umbrellas
Butler service
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Shoeshine
Show more
Room features
Bathrobes
Air conditioning
Additional bathroom
Housekeeping
Interconnected rooms available
Minibar
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Private balcony
Room service
Safe
Seating area
Telephone
VIP room facilities
Iron
Laptop safe
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Show more
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
5.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Quiet
Languages Spoken
French

Location

Christchurch Road New Forest, New Forest National Park Hampshire, New Milton BH25 6QS England
Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa
3,080Reviews21Q+A100Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 2,268
  • 462
  • 209
  • 97
  • 44
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
Heide wrote a review 14 Apr
London, United Kingdom17 contributions9 helpful votes
My daughter and I have just experienced THE most delightful, luxurious, delicious, indulgent and exquisite stay at beautiful Chewton Glen. Every aspect of our CG experience was perfection - from our gorgeous room to being looked after by delightful staff, to delicious dining at both restaurants with a super knowledgeable sommelier, to spa treatments, swims in both indoor and outdoor pools and walks in exquisite grounds. I am looking forward to our next visit.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2024Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Vanessa wrote a review Aug 2022
St Leonards-on-Sea, United Kingdom7 contributions5 helpful votes
Hotel's Favourite
We had a 2 night stay in an incredible Hideaway Treehouse (Chestnut) back in June/July, for our intimate elopement wedding ceremony which was held in the treehouse itself. This was our first time at Chewton Glen, and it exceeded all of our expectations - the treehouse was truly amazing, and it was so great that they offered the 'Just the Two of Us' wedding package as it was just perfect for us. The hot tub on the terrace was an added luxury and was very secluded, and the bed was so comfortable too with the most amazing bathroom and bath tub looking out onto the trees. Georgia, the Wedding and Sales Coordinator was just amazing from our very first contact, right through until she was one of our witnesses for the ceremony; she could not do enough for us and was super helpful and friendly throughout and made our stay, and the wedding day completely what we wanted, and more; Both her and Adam the Concierge Manager (our second witness) were both so lovely and made us feel very relaxed - whilst also providing delicious cocktails on the terrace afterwards! :) All of the staff were so welcoming and made our stay really special; thank you to... Joel and Ed (The Treehouse Concierge) who were so welcoming and unloaded our car and transported all of our luggage to our treehouse on a buggy for us, and back again on our day of departure. The housekeeping teams were always so lovely each time we saw them. Alice who looked after us at James' Martin's The Kitchen and Lewis who took care of us throughout our wedding day meal in our treehouse - thank you all! Our breakfast hamper delivery was made very discreetly through a hatch directly into the treehouse kitchenette, and was so varied and had all you could need, and much more - cereals, pastries, fruit, yoghurt, smoked salmon and juices etc - I'm sure the hotel could also adjust these to suit any dietary requirements (I'm pescatarian, and so ours did not include any meat). Perfect set up if you just want complete privacy. My (now) husband made use of the 9 hole golf course and I used the spa - both of which are lovely to have included within the hotel and it's grounds. Our small dog also joined us for the occasion, and it was amazing to be able to stay in such a spectacular treehouse and have it be dog friendly - he was provided with a lovely dog bed, dog toy, bowls and bottled water too! The grounds were great to be able to walk around, with or without a dog. Dogs are not allowed in the main hotel which is of course understandable, and luckily for us this worked well as we could make use of the beautiful terrace and rose garden as they are allowed to join you there and soak up the lovely weather. We would definitely love to return to celebrate once more at Chewton Glen, and hopefully experience one of the amazing treehouses again and see some of the lovely staff we met first time around. Thank you all for such a wonderful stay and providing us with memories of our special day that we will treasure forever!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: We stayed in Chestnut Treehouse which is a hideaway suite where the bedroom is separated by the...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
3 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Raymond de Toulouse Lautrec, General Manager at Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa
Responded 3 Aug 2022
Dear V_Aldridge, Thank you for your 5 star rating and many congratulations on your recent wedding day celebration in the Hideaway Treehouse! It is so very kind of you to take the time and trouble to share such a comprehensive review and it goes without saying we are all utterly delighted you had a memorable celebration. I look forward to sharing your feedback with the entire team, especially those mentioned by name and hopefully we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Chewton Glen very soon to add to all your happy memories! Kind regards, Raymond de Toulouse Lautrec Deputy General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
jon b wrote a review 11 Apr
Hook, United Kingdom7 contributions1 helpful vote
Kitchen Restuarant for lunch. Everything was perfect but don’t order a cappochino. I made the mistake at the end of the meal thinking the coffee will be good but it was diabolical so I ditched it. I rarely complain but they offered me another but it’s too late. Should have just refunded me. I’m disappointed the ladies menu has prices. Call me old fashioned but they should not be influenced if dining with a gentleman
Read more
Date of stay: April 2024Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
David B wrote a review 9 Apr
2 contributions
Second visit to this amazing hotel for a short getaway. Location is great with walking and biking on the doorstep. Service is top notch from the moment you arrive; treated personally and nothing is too much trouble. Breakfast and dinner were fantastic. Lots of choice and superb quality with lots of locally sourced produce. Quiet space in abundance but families welcome. Great grounds. And the spa is second to none. Rooms are very well appointed and more than comfortable; stayed in a croquet lawn room on this visit and it was exceptionally spacious and we really didn’t want to leave!
Read more
Date of stay: April 2024Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Use the free golf, bikes and croquet equipment!
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Pat wrote a review 6 Apr
42 contributions17 helpful votes
Firstly, we absolutely love Chewton Glen. All the staff are wonderful, the location is superb, the afternoon tea is so delicious. It has such a lovely, relaxing atmosphere. The Easter decoration display was beautiful, as were the stunning displays of polyanthus and primulas. The attention to detail is second to none. The customer service is incredible. Chewton Glen ticks all our boxes. Definitely our happy place. Thank you everyone for another memorable experience! The sun even shone!
Read more
Date of stay: April 2024
Value
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Clive McNish, General Manager at Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa
Responded 1 week ago
Dear patriciapinklady1 We are delighted that you continue to enjoy your time at at Chewton Glen and it is also good to hear that you were able to relax and enjoy Easter and that the team helped ensure your time with us comfortable. I know Darren Venables our Estate Manager will also be very pleased to hear that his vibrant flower bed displays were appreciated! We appreciate your feedback and look forward to welcoming you back again hopefully in the not too distant future. Best regards, Clive McNish General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Emma B wrote a review 4 Apr
Sidcup, United Kingdom7 contributions9 helpful votes
+1
we just wanted to send a quick message to say thank you for the most wonderful stay. It gets better every year! All the staff were amazing & go above & beyond & service was seamless & impeccable. already dreaming of our stay next year! from beginning to end it was a dream …
Read more
Date of stay: April 2024Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Clive McNish, General Manager at Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa
Responded 1 week ago
Dear T6762SYemmab Thank you for your recent review and I am so pleased to hear that you had an enjoyable experience and that the team made you feel welcome. We look forward to welcoming you back again next year to adding a few more special memories! Best regards, Clive McNish General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
FitzEgans wrote a review 2 Apr
41 contributions38 helpful votes
Just returned from a 6 day family holiday to Chewton. This was our 3rd year in a row visiting the hotel and we just love it. Everything was exceptional. We are a family of 5 with 3 small kids and we all had a really brilliant time. Super facilities such as pool, kids club, family cookery classes etc. We stayed in room 21 which was a beautiful suite with a separate kids bedroom. If you are considering this hotel, just go, you will not regret it. Clive is an outstanding GM with a brilliant team and special mention to Ben, Will, Travis, Ryan, Chris etc who looked after us all really well. We have travelled to several 5 star hotels in Europe and this is still our favourite family hotel. We are already looking forward to returning to the hotel next year.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Clive McNish, General Manager at Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa
Responded 1 week ago
Dear FitzEgans, Thank you for your kind review which is wonderful to read and I have already shared your feedback with the team. It is always our pleasure to welcome you and your family as our guests and I am so pleased that you continue to find Chewton Glen a comfortable retreat! We look forward to seeing you again next year. Best regards, Clive McNish General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
JON W wrote a review Mar 2024
Southampton, United Kingdom7 contributions7 helpful votes
Overall pretty pleasant. Only criticisms are the outside bar staff not listening and remembering properly to requests. I ordered a rose wine with a separate glass of ice to add to the wine, and separate glass of water, and I was presented with the wine and no ice or water. I made the request again for a glass of ice and a glass of water and only was brought the water and no ice. I gave up on that one, and then asked for a blanket as others were having them outside as it was cold late afternoon. They forgot that request too, as twenty minutes later when we were cold and leaving the bar area, another waiter offerred us a blanket not knowing we had been waiting for so long? There was less than a dozen customers to contend with on the patio! It seemes the young waiters were practising etiquette and how to be cool more than listening and remembering the customers simple requests? Also at breakfast we had to wait around 25 minutes for two coffees, 30 minutes for vegetarian sausages and gluten free bread to be brought to the table! When your paying 800 pounds a night for a bed, a few drinks and one main course each, ypu would think the service would be a lot better.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
3 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Clive McNish, General Manager at Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa
Responded 1 week ago
Dear 178jonw Thank you for taking the time to post a review following on your recent stay and I am so pleased that overall you enjoyed your time with us. I am disappointed to hear that we dropped the ball with service performance in the bar, and at breakfast please accept our sincere apologies. This is unusual and unacceptable and I have discussed your feedback with the F&B Director to share with his team to investigate what went wrong on this occasion and to ensure this does not happen again. Again, thank you for your review, we hope you will have the opportunity to return and please do not hesitate to reach out to me personally if I can assist you in any way with your reservation. Best regards, Clive McNish General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Mike J wrote a review Mar 2024
London13 contributions7 helpful votes
Excellent hotel and excellent service. Despite the hefty price tag I thought it lived up to the hype. The room (we had a mini suite) was one of the best we've ever stayed in - it was spotless, big and very comfortable. We had dinner in The Kitchen which was very good and very reasonably priced for a 5 star hotel. The breakfast was amazing and the spar is next level. Little touches like free car charging and water and fudge on checking out really make the difference. The only reason I didn't give 5 stars is on our second morning we were awoken by drilling! I can only assume a room adjacent to us was having some maintenance work done and they thought it was ok to drill into adjoining walls at 8am. This went on for about 10 minutes and a call to reception quickly sorted it but in a hotel like this, this is the last thing you expect to have to deal with. Despite this we will definitly be back. One request/suggestion - why are high end hotels so adverse to serving beer/lager in a pint glass or offering draft beers?? My only option was a lager I'd never heard of served to me in a small glass and out of a bottle. Surly its doable to have a couple of draft options available (below the bar if they don't want the taps on show) and served in a normal pint glass. Paying £8 for a small beer out of a bottle seems a little excessive. It was obvious I wasn't the first person to think this as each waiter had a pre-patter already planned to describe each beer/lager - it always started with 'that one is like a Peroni' - why not just serve Peroni?!
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Clive McNish, General Manager at Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa
Responded 1 week ago
Dear mikejR7082PL Thank you for taking the time to post a review following on your recent stay and I am delighted that you found your Junior Suite comfortable and enjoyed your dining experiences. I am however sorry that you were inconvenienced by early drilling, and I have since addressed this again with the team. I also note your comments regarding beers and lagers and you are correct in that we need to be offering an interesting selection. This is already in progress and by the summer we will have internationally recognised brands in our offering. We appreciate your feedback and look forward to welcoming you back soon. Clive McNish General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Nick F wrote a review Mar 2024
1 contribution1 helpful vote
Hotel lovely, room great, food terrible on the night, I’m sure it can’t always be like that. The only reason I’m posting on here (never posted in my life before) is I’m very surprised I’ve not heard a thing from anyone at Chewton Glen. I was asked for feedback and if the hotel could contact me. I gave my feedback and made it clear I wanted no compensation, just wanted to ensure they had opportunity to put things right for the next customer. They have my number and email address - never heard from them in over 2 weeks now? Not the sort of response I would have expected from a so called prestigious hotel. I can only conclude they really don’t care? Told my friends to give Chewton Glen a miss as a result.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Clive McNish, General Manager at Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa
Responded 4 weeks ago
Dear nickfJ7202OQ, Thank you for your recent feedback, I am very sorry to hear that your stay left you feeling underwhelmed by your experience, we never wish for any of our guests to leave us feeling this way. It is also disappointing that you were not contacted and I would be very grateful if you could contact me personally at cmcnish@chewtonglen.com as I would like to discuss your stay with you further. Best regards, Clive McNish General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the New Milton area.
PRICE RANGE
$949 - $1,510 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
chewton glen hotel new milton, chewton glen hotel and spa, hotel chewton glen
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandHampshireNew Forest National Park HampshireNew Milton
NUMBER OF ROOMS
70
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

CHEWTON GLEN HOTEL & SPA - Reviews & Price Comparison (New Milton, England) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa
Which popular attractions are close to Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa?
Nearby attractions include CJ Beaders (1.1 km), The Nutshell Gallery (1.1 km), and St Mary Magdalene Church (1.2 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa?
Conveniently located restaurants include The Cliff House Restaurant, The Paddle , and The Kitchen at Chewton Glen.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool, a fitness centre, and a sauna during their stay.
Does Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa have airport transportation?
Yes, Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.