Crewe Hall Hotel & Spa
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Crewe Hall Hotel & Spa

Myself & my bestie celebrating our 50th birthdays together ❤️
Traveller (2068)
4 poster room
Room & Suite (256)
Cream tea
Dining (88)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

$220
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

4.0
#3 of 10 hotels in Crewe
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.2 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.1 of 5 bubbles
Value
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
A superb 17th century hotel located in Crewe in Cheshire. This Grade I listed building has been attracting refined guests since the 17th century including members of the Royal family. This hotel is a fine mix of historic Jacobean and sharp 21st century architecture. The magnificent history oozes throughout the hotel from exquisite marble fireplaces to stained glass windows. The hotel has 117 spacious, comfortable bedrooms with the 26 Feature rooms and suites being located in the Old Hall and all other rooms situated in the modern wing along with Leisure Club & Spa and Brasserie Restaurant & Bar. Just minutes from the M6 motorway, Crewe Hall is only 24 miles from Chester’s sights and shops and close to Liverpool and Manchester. Crewe Hall is home to a modern conference and events centre.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Taxi service
Business Centre with Internet Access
Parking
Wifi
Hot bath
Indoor pool
Heated pool
Fitness / spa changing rooms
Fitness classes
Sauna
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Foot massage
Full body massage
Head massage
Massage
Salon
Steam room
Baggage storage
Concierge
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Room features
Room service
Safe
Iron
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Historic Hotel
Mid-range
Languages Spoken
English
3,779Reviews49Q+A100Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 1,862
  • 950
  • 486
  • 283
  • 200
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Tai5605 wrote a review Feb 2020
West Midlands, United Kingdom156 contributions102 helpful votes
+1
3.0 of 5 bubbles
The building is outstanding. We upgraded from a standard room to four poster and well worth the extra money - we got it for an additional £35 per night. All the staff were brilliant and very friendly BUT the restaurant manager needs to sort the service in the restaurant and bar. We ordered room service on the Saturday morning for my husband only as he was going out for a game of golf which started before the restaurant opened. It was ordered for 730 the reception booked it knowing my husband was leaving the hotel at 745. He advised reception breakfast hadn’t arrived and they said it had been ordered but cancelled it off our room. Breakfast for 2 arrived at 755. In the restaurant during evening service staff were moving from waiting to bar but it just didn’t work out right. Friday was better but not so many people dining in the restaurant. Saturday was a shambles. We ordered drinks and had to remind the staff after 15 minutes that they hadn’t arrived - they did 10 minutes later. My starter arrived, oxtail croquettes and when they arrived I asked the waiter if they were supposed to be hot and he said they were but they were cold so he took them back to the kitchen. I could see the chef touching them. They sent out two others which were very very well done on the point of black in areas. We ordered gluten free rolls with the burger and after a very long wait the meal arrived without the rolls. On querying we were informed there were no gluten free rolls. The meal was sent back and the chef banged a tray very hard on his counter and proceeded to argue with the waiter. We ordered another meal which was very nice. The waiter did come over to our table and said they were wiping the bar bill as an apology which was good customer service as we didn’t expect or ask for anything. Stefan was brilliant at his job very attentive. He stood out above the other staff. A female waitress with blond hair, she was older than the other waitresses was amazing too, sorry didn’t get her name. The dining room is split into two areas one side appeared to get better service than the other although we’d asked to be moved to the other side on the Saturday night due to the door in the bar not closing properly which made it very cold in the dining room. Breakfast was wonderful lots of choice and cooked brilliantly. The leisure centre was brilliant very clean and good area to work out and relax by the pool after. External areas very clean too.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Laura Smith, Guest Services / Front Office at Crewe Hall Hotel & Spa
Responded 2 Mar 2020
Good afternoon, Thanks for your detailed review. All comments will be passed on to our Restaurant Team to review. We do hope to see you soon. Kind regards, Crewe Hall
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Kath S wrote a review Sept 2020
1 contribution
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We booked an overnight stay through Travel Zoo and had a kingsize bed, breakfast, two course dinner and a bottle of wine for less than £120.
Our room was 3105 - a tower room at the top of flight of stairs. We had a large room with easy chairs, large tv, hot drink making facilities and a view over the old stable block and a car park.
The bathroom had a large walk in shower and a bath as well as toilet and wash hand basin. The furniture was comfortable and the room was in a very quiet position apart from when people were loading up their cars in the morning.
The only disappointment was the very poor quality steak that I had and the reaction of the two members of staff I told who made no offer of recompense apart from another meal which I did not really want by this stage. There were no members of staff about that I could tell until my eating experience had been spoiled. On leaving I asked about the response from the chef who apparently said he had not noticed that the steak was full of gristle.
We had a totally different experience when we returned to the Brasserie in the morning to be greeted by a delightful collection of staff who were most pleasant and made us feel important. The food was of a very high quality and I have nothing but praise for our final couple of hours at Crewe Hall.
Buildings and grounds are fantastic and I would not let one poor incident prevent me returning in the future. It was brilliant to sit in one of the lounges reading until ready to leave.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Howard Lewis, General Manager at Crewe Hall Hotel & Spa
Responded 7 Oct 2020
Dear Kaths737, Many thanks for your detailed review of your recent stay in Crewe Hall and apologies for the delay in response to you. I am glad that on the whole you had a good stay however I was disappointed to hear of your experience with the steak and the reaction of the staff and Chef on that evening. I have since discussed with the team and can assure you that this is not our normal standard. We have since changed the specification on the steaks from our butcher and improved our overall menu. I do hope you will visit again soon and the team and I look forward to welcoming you back to Crewe Hall. Warm Regards, Howard Lewis
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Stacey R wrote a review Aug 2020
Liverpool, United Kingdom31 contributions5 helpful votes
+1
3.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed in room 4120 on Friday 14th August 2020

Positives:
The Staff were generally fantastic and professional. We received 2 spa treatments these ladies were great! We had dinner in the brasserie food was amazing and affordable;service was impeccable. We stayed in the new part of the hotel and the room had everything you need. This hotel has adapted to new regulations meaning paper cups in rooms, clear signage and high quality hand sanitising stations. The grounds are spectacular as is the main building.

Negatives:

I don’t like writing negative reviews as I always believe in allowing the hotel to rectify the situation but when mentioning these issues at reception the response was “oh well at least everything else was ok” which I don’t feel should be the response when staying for a ‘luxury spa break”

Shower was cold from 4pm onwards.
We followed procedures and booked slots for the pool. On arrival to the pool we were turned away as the pool had a chlorine level of 3.5ppm and the pool staff were unsure how to lower it and were waiting for a phone call from a leisure manager. They took a number and said they would contact us when it opened but I didn’t receive one so I’m guessing this was not rectified during our stay.

When booking a spa break and booking pool slots it is a main part of the experience and honestly when mentioning this to reception I thought we would be given some future pool access? To make up for not being able to use it during our stay? But as I said the response was “oh well”.

Which is why I have had to leave this review as average, it wasn’t a luxury spa break package and the check out customer service was average. My advice would be to defintely go to this hotel for a stay but not as a spa break at the moment.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Gareth Barron, Owner at Crewe Hall Hotel & Spa
Responded 18 Aug 2020
Dear Novstay08, Thank you for choosing to stay with us Crewe Hall and for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor. I am pleased that overall you were well looked after by our attentive team, but I apologise for your experience in the spa and lack of concern shown on check out. I will be sure to share your comments with the team as I know they will want to hear your feedback and take both the positive and negative comments on board. I would also like to take this opportunity to thank you for your review as it does help us improve our service and standards and ensure our guests receive the quality, value and service they expect and deserve. I hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back again in the future. Kind regards, Alice - Guest Experience Assistant
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Terence D. wrote a review Jan 2020
Ireland7 contributions7 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed one night (couple plus a dog) on the 23rd of January 2020.
We booked on their own website, attracted by the picture of this majestic Jacobean Mansion, his garden and his interiors.
After a very quick check in, we were addressed to an adiacent modern building (the so called "West Wing") which is basically looking like a warehouse from the outside, and a hospital from the inside.
The main old building has several rooms, well decorated, but we were never asked if we want to get an upgrade to our room.
We then head to the West wing. Spacious room but very basic. Not even a bottle of water, empty frigobar and a double duvet fitted on a king size bed (!).
We didn't dine at the hotel.
Next morning we had breakfast in the brasserie, located in the "modern" part of the hotel. We had a really bad impression of the general organisation. We were asked the room number, and then we were told to take a sit in any table of two. Fine. So we start to wandering in the dining room and not a single table of two was ready and clean, so we had to go back to the waiter who eventually set up a table for us. It take just 2 seconds to bring the guest to the table, to avoid any misunderstanding... Anyway, we were asked for tea or coffee. I told the waiter that I will have my coffee later on, and he suddenly come back with a pipiping hot coffee pot. Hello?!? Anybody in there?
Breakfast selection is just ok, hot food is buffet and that is fine for some items (sausages, tomato), not for others (bacon, eggs, that were disgusting and overcooked by the heat). Nothing that the staff could do in this case, it's just a cheap way to serve breakfast. Cheap lime the cocktail napkins that were on the table, by the way.
After our hot food we went back to the buffet to pick some croissant, it took literally less than a minute, and when we were back to the table it was completely clear. What an efficency eventually! He noticed that but just ignored us, so we had to re set our table ourselves picking from the next one.
Time was running up so we went back to the reception to check out, where a new show began.
We meet back the receptionist who checked us in the evening before. At that time he said that everything was paid, but at the checkout he turned out with a request of 20 punds for the dog, which no-one ever mentioned to us, not in the confirmation email (we mentioned the dog in the booking) and not at the check-in. Very unfair and unusual, but that was it so we paid without saying a word.
Before to leave I just asked back the ice packs that I left at the receptionist during the check in. He came back very apologetic, saying he put them in a freezer which was turned off.
After this final gem we left the building laughing and shaking our head.
We came in with a lot of expectations thanks to the lovely pictures and descriptions on their website, but we left really disappointed. Which is a pity. Really I think the hotel needs a better organisation and the staff needs a bit more of training.
Architecture is fine but it's definitely not enough for a hotel these days.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Laura Smith, Guest Services / Front Office at Crewe Hall Hotel & Spa
Responded 25 Feb 2020
Good afternoon, Thank you for your detailed review. Unfortunately, our Old Hall only has 26 bedrooms and fills up very quickly, plus our dog friendly rooms are only located in our West Wing which would be why you weren't offered the upgrade. With regards to the Breakfast, please accept our apologies that this let you down. I will ensure all comments are looked in to. Kind regards, Crewe Hall
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
JaneFrodsham wrote a review Aug 2020
Frodsham4 contributions4 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
My friend and I returned to Crewe Hall this week. We have stayed 3 or 4 times before for and this was our first stay since Covid and it didn’t disappoint.

We stayed in the ‘older, traditional’ side of the hotel and our room was clean and spacious with a big comfy sofa to relax on as you enjoyed the amazing view. As always the service was second to none, the staff were very busy but calm and courteous. The hotel was continuously being cleaned and felt safe.

Masks were worn in the spa area. We both had two 25 minute treatments with therapists Emma and Jasmine which were lovely. Due to Covid the Relaxation Room wasn’t open (-make sure you take a drink with you) and the sauna, rain shower, ice-bath/fountain, heated benches etc were not available. However, the pool was open and you could use the jacuzzi one person at a time.

The evening meal was lovely and I’d recommend a cocktail 🍹from the list. The self-serve breakfast isn’t available at present so the restaurant staff serve you at the table, meaning they were run off their feet as it is a busy time but they remained professional and outwardly calm.

Afternoon tea was served in the large lounge off reception and was delicious. The staff in that area were superb and catered for all dietary requirements.

The reception team as always were fabulous and check in/out was swift.

All in all it was a fabulous visit and we are looking forward to returning in a few months for a repeat.

Faye and Ali
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Gareth Barron, Owner at Crewe Hall Hotel & Spa
Responded 24 Aug 2020
Dear Faye & Ali, Thank you for your recent review of Crewe Hall. It is always rewarding to read feedback from returning guests and I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your most recent stay with us. We discuss our guest reviews on a daily basis, so Emma, Jasmine and the rest of the team will be made aware of your feedback and I know they will be delighted by your comments. We look forward to welcoming you back soon for another great stay! Kind regards, Alice - Guest Experience Assistant
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
davidmadge_13 wrote a review Jul 2020
Leigh, England, United Kingdom129 contributions48 helpful votes
+1
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Upon arriving at Crewe Hall by Q Hotels, we were pleasantly surprised by just how easy parking was, and how immaculate the grounds and outdoor seating area is. We booked a 1 Night getaway in a twin room £89 with breakfast...

We arrived really early around mid day, and settled on a walk and a drink in the garden which we were told we could put on the room. The grounds are absolutely amazing, and the outdoor terrace is lovely for a drink in the sunshine. Service was pitifully slow in the afternoon, with the reception staff serving as both running the desk and as a waiter. All of the staff are wonderful and polite, it just seems they could have done with an extra pair of hands doing drinks on the flagged area.

The drinks menu is reasonably well priced, and all drinks were exceptionally well presented.

Craig on the desk let us check in early, and was really helpful with telling us to explore the hotel... we did properly in the evening and I must admit it was really quite exciting trying doors in a Jacobean mansion and stumbling upon huge libraries and banqueting halls.

The room was the only disappointment. We booked a twin and this was located in the new part of the building. The room itself was lovely, but it's just a bit of a let down to be able to roam a beautiful castle like manor, only to be told you're sleeping in the less than pleasant looking modern build next door that looks like and partially serves as a sports centre.

Beds comfortable, room clean if not a little worn. All facilities adequate. Breakfast beautiful. Waiting staff in dining room exceptional, manners impeccable.

We would certainly return for an evening away, or perhaps even just as a place to dine or call for a drink one afternoon if possible. Very pleasant indeed and in the sunshine it's just SO appealing.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Gareth Barron, Owner at Crewe Hall Hotel & Spa
Responded 17 Jul 2020
Dear David Madge Many thanks for taking the time to review your stay at Crewe Hall Cheshire. We are really glad that overall you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for mentioning the help that Craig gave you. I am sorry that you had a challenge with service in the afternoon, it was a busy day and I am sorry that it took a little longer than normal to get the drinks to you. With regards to your rooms, please do let us know next time if you would like to upgrade to one of our Suites or feature rooms within the Hall. We do look forward to welcoming you back again soon, Warm Regards, Howard & all Team at Crewe Hall
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
anna0616 wrote a review Sept 2020
Warwickshire, United Kingdom24 contributions9 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
My husband and I visited Crewe hall to mark a very special occasion. Crewe hall itself is truly amazing. It is absolutely lovely. However we were most disappointed with our room, we had already upgraded but the ornate ceilings were wallpaper which was coming away on the joins, i was unable to identify without closer inspection whether it was chewing gum or fag burns in the carpet but there were 3 back circles imbedded.. It did not feel like the luxurious surroundings as described. Reception staff were marvellous and said to get a drink after our journey and they would move our luggage into a different room. Unfortunately, it appeared they were understaffed, a young waiter did visit our table 3 times but only to tell us he would be with us shortly. After almost an hour we went to the local pub instead.
When we arrived back, the reception was not aware of our room issue and another room had not been allocated although a fantastic lady on reception quickly sorted and we were given another room key. The new room was just beautiful. Split over 2 levels, we didn’t use the upstairs due to the heat which as a listed building, and a warm weekend, they can do nothing about. Shame about the paper cups in the room though.
Dinner was very poor and we felt let down by the surroundings. Crewe hall has some fantastic rooms yet the room used for dinning in the evening is not what you would expect. Nothing luxurious! about this room. The following evening we ate somewhere else which reception staff sorted for us. The dining room is fine for breakfast but very basic. A complete contrast to the hall itself. Breakfast was good under the circumstances. Crewe hall staff are all lovely and very friendly but they can only work with the tools they have. Crewe hall appears to be being run on a shoe string which is extremely sad. Well done to the staff for trying.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Howard Lewis, General Manager at Crewe Hall Hotel & Spa
Responded 7 Oct 2020
Dear Anna, Thank you for taking the time review your recent stay with us at Crewe Hall and I am very sorry for the time it has taken it respond to you on Trip Advisor. I do appreciate your feedback and am glad that you enjoyed the Hall itself but am sorry for the shortfalls in service in the lounge and issues you experienced with your room. We were due to have an extensive refurbishment earlier this year that has had to be postponed but this should now be happening in early 2021. I am however glad that the staff managed to move you and that you enjoyed your 2nd room. We have to use paper cups at the moment as our safe to trade under Covid requires this at present. We will of course put the china back into the rooms as soon as we are able to. We would normally operate a restaurant in the Old Hall but presently due to business levels can only operate one however we do have plans to move back into the Old Hall during the winter months and then have both restaurants open next year when restrictions on business are hopefully lifted. The team and I are absolutely dedicated to making sure all our guests have a great stay and I do hope that you will visit us again in the very near future. Kind Regards, Howard Lewis
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Suzanne M wrote a review Aug 2020
7 contributions11 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
I would never stay at Crewe Hall never again .
Staff need training in customer service skills and manners.
Especially the woman who was on reception on Saturday August 29th.
My daughter rang down for bottled water and a small jug of milk for the baby ,the woman was very rude to her , and not very helpful at all .
She told my daughter that the hotel dont give out complementary water and we would be charged , my daughter was very upset by her attitude.
That afternoon at reception a couple asked for bottled water , no problem , they where given bottled water, no charge .

The hotel is very tried looking, and the standards poor in some areas .
I totally understand the staff are under more pressure due to the covid measures and rules,
but a smile or politeness is free.
I was going to have my 60th birthday at Crewe Hall next year ,and i know someone who was going to book there

wedding there too , but no way these events will be going ahead .

On a lighter note , on our way home from Crewe Hall we stopped at the Cottons Hotel Knutsford, it was amazing , staff wonderful, hotel spotlessly clean, i would highly recommend a visit to this lovely hotel .

Thank you for reading my review.

P.s the woman on reception that night ,( dont want to mention her name )
did bring to our room 2 bottles of water and a small jug of milk for the baby ......
after i had spoken to her .....
very bad attitude
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Howard Lewis, General Manager at Crewe Hall Hotel & Spa
Responded 8 Oct 2020
Dear Suzanne, Many thanks for you recent review of your stay at Crewe Hall and many apologies for both your experience and the delay in response due to issues I had with my access to Trip Advisor. The team and I pride ourselves on giving all guests a first class experience and I am so sorry that this was not the case on this occasion. I have checked who was on the desk on the 29th August and spoken to them directly showing them your comments. I can assure you that this is not the normal service they or we would normally give and I apologise again that this impacted your experience. The hotel was due to undergo a refurbishment earlier this year however due to the current business limitations this has been postponed until early 2021. Having said that we do have a beautiful character property and I am sure that with great guest service you would return to Crewe Hall and have a much nicer stay. I certainly would like to have the opportunity to invite you back to Crewe Hall so that you can see that this was a one off and that you would have confidence returning for any occasion again in the future. I will try and contact you directly but in the meantime please do not hesitate to contact me directly if you would like to come and stay again where the team and I will ensure you have a great experience. Warm Regards, Howard Lewis
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Phillip wrote a review Sept 2021
Greater London, United Kingdom54 contributions40 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
We came to this hotel for my sisters 70 Birthday meeting using the restaurant and staying one night .
Where do I begin ? We has room 3005 when entered it was saw a soiled duvet on the bed , the bathroom bin was still full, a hand towel was wet and the room phone was covered in dust and no China cups just one pater cup for 2.We gave reception a list of things wrong . We had chase them up three times various things done during the day . When returned to the room at 10.00 p.m.the soiled duet was still on the bed .

I went to reception and told them was told night team was just coming and they would be told . We returned to the room and the duvet changed been changed .

The room was hot and one of the windows I could not open as a chord was missing reported this when we left . Through the night there was a dull noise and was not we expected from such a hotel . We discover in the morning there must be a kitchen below the noise stopped in the morning .

The meal in the restaurant was a problem first of all the room was far too warm . We had preordered our meal but the staff were unaware of this . Eventually a waitress asked us if we wanted drinks we ordered them about twenty minutes yet another waitress asked us if we wanted drinks we told we had ordered and still waiting .

Even though had pre ordered our meal people still came to take our order? The whole service was slow .

Avoid room 3005 in the old part as I said dull noise all night and warm .

Very disappointed with this Q hotel when leaving no apologised for our room or experience in the restraunt.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
1.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: Avoid room 3005 in old part of hotel
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Greg J wrote a review Feb 2020
Brecon, United Kingdom67 contributions25 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
We have never seen two polar opposites. Incredible looking building with stunning reception area in the old part of the hotel. Then a conference centre style, soulless addition where most of the bedrooms are situated along with the brasserie and bar. The brasserie and bar would be more at home in a premier inn. The new part of the hotel, the brasserie and the staff were sponsored by Primark at best and the brasserie had as much atmosphere as a meal on the moon and judging by our meals it is where food goes to die. The staff did their best but were ill equipped for the job and maybe require some training in customer service. This customer service training could be extended to reception where we had to wait 5 minutes for a member of staff to appear to check us in and then were greeted with ‘Do you want to check in’ - no apology for keeping us waiting and it must have been a bad day for her as there was no smile or warmth in her welcome.
The bed has a duvet that just about touches both sides of the bed although the room was a good size.
If you don’t mind average then the hotel will do.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Laura Smith, Guest Services / Front Office at Crewe Hall Hotel & Spa
Responded 25 Feb 2020
Hi GregJ832, Please accept our apologies and thank you for your feedback regarding the training of our team members. It is definitely something which will be reviewed. Please contact the Hotel directly should you wish to discuss anything further. Kind regards, Crewe Hall
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Answer from Ladyofthehouse22
Cheshire, United Kingdom11 contributions
Yes guests can use the spa facility with no charge
mick67maher asked a question May 2021
Liverpool, United Kingdom14 contributions3 helpful votes
Hi I am enquiring is there a dress code for the restaurant? Due to visit next week. Regards
Answer from Lauren W
Dear Aivaras, As per the Government Guidelines if we are able to open on May 17th then yes the leisure & Spa will be available. They would need to be booked in advance as there will still be restrictions on capacity. You can book accommodation, Spa and Pool On-line. We look forward to welcoming you to Crewe Hall, Many Thanks Howard Lewis
Marc S asked a question Aug 2020
Sandyford, Ireland17 contributions
Hi, visiting soon, just wondering do we need to wear a mask in the hotel?
Answer from Elaine H
Elton, United Kingdom195 contributions111 helpful votes
Just when checking in but not in the restaurant and grounds
mark s wrote a tip Yesterday
Rio Segundo, Costa Rica159 contributions16 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Book a table for dinner on arrival if you want specific time, saw a few people being told to come back as they were full "
Read full review
huw j wrote a tip Apr 2024
Pontypridd, United Kingdom792 contributions278 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Book through Q hotels to get discounted prices"
Read full review
Sarah C wrote a tip Apr 2024
10 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"The tea/coffee etc machine was all in one and we had tea which tasted of hot chocolate, so beware if you are fussy."
Read full review
FI S wrote a tip Apr 2024
Nottingham, United Kingdom44 contributions32 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Check what your getting at the spa. What we booked wasn’t what we got"
Read full review
Gerard L wrote a tip Apr 2024
2 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Please book this hotel..."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Crewe area.
PRICE RANGE
$174 - $262 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
crewe hall hotel crewe, hall hotel crewe
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandCheshireCrewe
NUMBER OF ROOMS
117
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

CREWE HALL HOTEL & SPA - Reviews & Price Comparison (England) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Crewe Hall Hotel & Spa
Which popular attractions are close to Crewe Hall Hotel & Spa?
Nearby attractions include Crewe Lyceum Theatre (3.2 km), BeerDock (3.0 km), and The Beer Emporium (7.3 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Crewe Hall Hotel & Spa?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and an on-site restaurant.
What food & drink options are available at Crewe Hall Hotel & Spa?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Crewe Hall Hotel & Spa?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Crewe Hall Hotel & Spa?
Conveniently located restaurants include The Crown Inn, The Royal Oak Worleston, and The Wheatsheaf.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Crewe Hall Hotel & Spa?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool, a fitness centre, and a sauna during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Crewe Hall Hotel & Spa?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Crewe Hall Hotel & Spa?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Crewe Hall Hotel & Spa offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Are there any historical sites close to Crewe Hall Hotel & Spa?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Market Square (7.2 km).
Does Crewe Hall Hotel & Spa have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the park view available here.
All Crewe HotelsCrewe Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in CreweHotels near Crewe Hall Hotel & Spa
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday HomesTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire