Bahia Principe Luxury Sian Ka'an
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Bahia Principe Luxury Sian Ka'an

Carretera Chetumal - Cancun Km 250, Akumal 77780 Mexico
Traveller (13385)
Panorama of the Activity Pool at the Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Kaan Don Pablo Collection
360
Panoramas (14)
Yal-Ku Restaurante Buffet at the Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Kaan Don Pablo Collection
Dining (2282)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

4.5
#10 of 16 hotels in Akumal
4.2 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.7 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.7 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Value
Facilities and services 4 outdoor pools (1 with Jacuzzi) Sun terrace with loungers and sun umbrellas BAHIA SPA (additional charge) Transfer to the beach and other facilities on the complex (at set times) Water activity centre, Beach Club with exclusive bar (at the Grand Principe Tulum) Motorised water sports (additional charge) WiFi access in the lobby and in rooms (free of charge) 1 international buffet restaurant 2 speciality restaurants 4 Bars 1 snack-bar Riviera Maya Golf Club: 18 long holes and 9 executive holes with lakes, natural wells and Mayan forest. Hacienda Dona Isabel: karaoke bars, shows, live music and disco. Rooms 420 rooms including 4 types: Junior Suite, Deluxe Junior Suite, Deluxe Garden Junior Suite, Deluxe Penthouse Junior Suite. Deluxe Garden Junior Suites and Deluxe Penthouse Junior Suites are larger than the Junior Suites and the Deluxe Junior Suites. Room facilities: King size bed or 2 full size beds Air conditioning Ceiling fan Direct phone line (additional charge for external calls) Sitting area with sofa-bed and armchairs Balcony or terrace Bathroom with shower, hair dryer and magnifying mirror Bathroom amenities Bathrobe and slippers Flat screen TV Coffee-making facilities Mini-bar Safe Iron and ironing board 24 hour room service Butler service in rooms Private Jacuzzi Wifi (free of charge) Pillow menu Aroma menu Other services Medical service (additional charge) Pharmacy (additional charge) Specialised service for organising weddings and anniversaries, as well as corporate incentive trips and conventions Casino
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free internet
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Casino and Gambling
Golf course
Free shuttle or taxi services
Parking
Wifi
Hot bath
Pool / beach towels
Adult pool
Outdoor pool
Fitness / spa changing rooms
Fitness classes
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Snack bar
Poolside bar
Tennis court
Aerobics
Bicycle tours
Entertainment staff
Evening entertainment
Nightclub / DJ
Airport transportation
Taxi service
Business Centre with Internet Access
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Foot massage
Full body massage
Head massage
Massage
Salon
Adults only
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Concierge
Currency exchange
Gift shop
Shops
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun umbrellas
Butler service
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Room features
Air conditioning
Private beach
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Room service
Safe
Minibar
Flatscreen TV
Telephone
VIP room facilities
Iron
Laptop safe
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
5.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Trendy
Luxury
Languages Spoken
English, French, Spanish

Location

Carretera Chetumal - Cancun Km 250, Akumal 77780 Mexico
Name/address in local language
Getting there
Somewhat walkable
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 52 out of 100
52
Aerodromo de Playa Del Carmen
38.9 km
See all flights
Cozumel Airport
45.4 km
See all flights
9,870Reviews3,079Q+A100Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 6,745
  • 2,040
  • 680
  • 209
  • 196
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
21Abby wrote a review Feb 2020
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom31 contributions55 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed here for a week and were part of a large party of 19 people!
Check in was very easy and quick after a very long journey (11pm) and our luggage was taken to our room super quick!
Our rooms were all close by and ours was on the ground floor! The rooms were spacious even though we had and extra bed in our room! There was a shortage of storage space for clothes especially drawers! Bathroom was clean, a little dated but very functional! The room had a patio but we backed into a lot of trees and foliage so didn’t open the doors, this did mean room was lacking in any natural light.
The Sian Ka’an has three lovely quiet pools which we made the most of which got a lot of sunshine despite all the trees.
Bars and restaurants are great, 24 hour snack bar was great to chill out late!
The transport to the 3 sister hotels was fab and couldn’t be faulted and took about 5 minutes to get to beach!
Akumal beach and restaurant were great, as were Tulum and Coba!
Coba was a little busier due to swim up bar!
We managed to book the restaurants but it was a little annoying that a booking was needed as they were often empty! One really annoying thing was that due to us being a large party we were expected to buy a certain amount of bottled wine, and not able to use the all inclusive drinks.
We had a great meal at the restaurant Aluz on the Sian Ka’an site, which Diego help organise, table by the pool, and Mexican band played. Made it a special night to celebrate.
The Japanese restaurant staff were not friendly, we were a little late but they were quite rude and super rush us, again there was no other people in the restaurant!
Entertainment was ok, though we didn’t watch it often!
Downside the showers in the rooms were often cold in the evenings and we did complain after the first couple of days also the water pressure wasn’t the best! This did get better and we should have told staff sooner!
Overall had a fabulous time and the staff were great especially Diego! We all had a great time!
We felt the hotel fell a little short of the 5 star standard on the rooms but the communal areas in all hotels were lovely and worth the rating!
I would recommend this hotel the site is huge but easy to get about but preferred the adult only site
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from OnlineReputationSka, online reputation at Bahia Principe Luxury Sian Ka'an
Responded 25 Feb 2020
Dear Guest, We would like to thank you for taking the time to write us your comments about your stay in Bahia Principe Luxury Siankaan. Thank you for letting us know your observation which are very valuable for our work team, be sure we are committed to improve the areas needed to guarantee the entire satisfaction of our future clients. We hope to receive you again at The Mexican Caribbean and please do not hesitate to contact us before your next visit. Do not hesitate to contact us at info.siankaan@bahia-principe.com, to provide the best service possible for your future stay. Receive our warmest regards, Lucero Alvarado Bahia Principe Luxury Siankaan
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Ruth R wrote a review Feb 2020
1 contribution1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
This was our first stay at the Sian Ka’an and won’t be our last. Everything from the staff to the food and the entertainment was awesome. We have never stayed at a resort where every member of the staff greeted you with a smile and hola. By the time we left after our two week stay we had made many friends. The entertainment team tried very hard to include everyone in all the activities around the pool and on the beach. Angela, Jarol, Denmar, Anna and our friend Marco were all such fun! Also special mention to Francesca our pool waitress and Manuel at the Cenote who always went above and beyond! Also wanted to mention the staff at the front lobby desk were extremely helpful when we had a minor dental problem. They couldn’t have been more helpful. Gracias! We have stayed at quite a few resorts in Mexico and found the entertainment here second to none. We tried both the a la Carts and while both were excellent we found plenty of variety at the buffet to keep us satisfied. As others have mentioned the rooms could probably use a little refresh but they were meticulously cleaned everyday so wasn’t a big issue for us. My initial concern of not being on the beach turned out to not be a problem. We really enjoyed the trolley rides and never had to wait long at all. Would highly recommend this resort and we are already looking forward to visiting again next year!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: We stayed in villa 11 room 41113 and found it central to the pools, bar/entertainment shack and...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from OnlineReputationSka, online reputation at Bahia Principe Luxury Sian Ka'an
Responded 4 Feb 2020
Dear Guest: First of all thank you for your loyalty in Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts and for choosing us once again to enjoy your holidays. It is an honor for us to host you for the one more time and to know that you feel at home here. Our aim is to get the maximum satisfaction of all our guests, even more when it comes to our frequent ones. Your comments are very encouraging for our team and give us energy and motivation to keep up great work every day. We also appreciate your mentioning our team members. It was a great pleasure to be at your service during your stay at our resort and we are eager to inform you that all the staff mentioned has already received your congratulations. Thank you once again for your choice and we are looking forward to your next visit in order to repeat this awesome experience. Do not hesitate to contact us at info.siankaan@bahia-principe.com, to provide the best service possible for your future stay. Sending you our best regards, Lucero Alvarado Bahia Principe Luxury Siankaan
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Daniel68london wrote a review Jan 2022
London, United Kingdom84 contributions21 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We have just come back from a week staying at the Bahia Principe Luxury Sian Ka'an. We had a nice time and I would recommend this resort. However, and this a big 'however', it was not what we expected, was not as advertised.
This is certainly not a 5* resort. I would put it in the 4* category and my wife thought "3 or 4*".
The good was fine in the buffets but certainly not gourmet, for example at breakfast: the croissants and pastries were not stale, but certainly not fresh out of the oven. The coffee was pretty horrid, and the orange juice has so much sugar in. I don't want to give the impression that the food was horrible, as it wasn't, but certainly not 5* which is what they advertise.
There are a number of al-a-carte restaurants on site and in the neighboring resorts which were included too. These were generally better but their availability was poor and we needed to book these a few days in advance. Also they weren't open at lunchtime. I really enjoyed the meal at the Alux restaurant; the japanese Maiko restaurant was quite poor and the seafood Fruitos Del Mar was pretty good although if I went again I would have ordered differently.
The service in the hotel was very good, the staff were very pleasant.
The evening entertainments were great, they made a real effort with the music acts at the bars, especially on New Years Eve.
The room we found plenty big enough although the hot tub was in the front and had no privacy at all.
The air conditioning was provided by two old AC units and these did not seem to work during the stay. Half way through the holiday one of them broke completely and dripped loads of water, flooding half the bedroom. They came to fix it but didn't do the job properly so had to come back again. After their second visit it still dripped some water but by that stage we had had enough and did not use it. The housekeeping was pretty poor: they made the bed nicely each day but did not attempt the clean the room or bathroom, and did not replenish the shower gels. Towards the end of the stay we found out by accident that you could book a bathroom/bedroom clean or request new bath soaps, but this was not made clear to us at the beginning of the stay, and really I would have expected them to do this without being asked.
The check-in was slow and they did not explain how to use the wifi properly, so at 2.30 am I had to go back, queue all over again and get them to explain the log in process.
Overall this review appears quite negative, but that's perhaps unfair as I have focused too much on the bad points.
I would recommend this resort, it's good value for money, but if you want 5* then I would suggest finding something else.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from , Otro at Bahia Principe Luxury Sian Ka'an
Responded 8 Jan 2022
Dear Guest, We are delighted to receive your feedback and that you have visited us recently. First of all I would like to thank you for your detailed feedback regarding your recent stay at our hotel resort. It will certainly help us to keep focus on customer satisfaction and fulfillment of our hotel standards. Your honest opinion can be a valuable reference for other customers who are thinking to stay with us, so we deeply appreciate the time you took to share it. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again in the future. Our Best regards Tania Velázquez Bahia Principe Luxury Sian Ka’an
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Lynne W wrote a review Jan 2020
Leeds, United Kingdom42 contributions42 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Had the resort advertised itself as a 4* hotel perhaps my expectations would have been lower than they were for a "luxury" hotel. We had chosen this resort because of it's trip adviser reviews and facilities offered. The biggest issue for us was our suite. As our Christmas treat we booked a Junior Suite Superior Penthouse number 40622. We arrived early evening and it was dark and the suite on first entering felt cold and a bit damp. The air conditioning was on so we turned it off thinking on our return from dinner the suite would be warmer and less musty. On our return it wasn't much warmer and still smelled very musty. We hung up our clothes in the wardrobe and as we had not slept for 24 hours due to a long flight we went to bed feeling quite cold. Next morning we noticed no sun shining through very large windows and that our clothes were damp as was the sofa.We thought perhaps the suite and rooftop with loungers and jaccussi got the sun in the afternoon. The sun reached a small part of the rooftop and not in a position where you could sunbathe and only towards the end of the day reached the jaccussi. We noticed from our rooftop which faced north, that the same Penthouse rooftops opposite (facing south) got the sun all day. As i have asthma which had got worse following arrival we spoke to the reception staff to explain the problem with the damp room, no or little sun, damp clothes, bedding etc. We went to reception and explained the problem with a damp room, little or no sun, damp clothes etc. The room we were in also at sometime had, had a leak in the bathroom from the rooftop patio as part of the ceiling plaster had come away. They moved us to a Penthouse that was opposite the one we were in which was south facing and got the sun all daylight hours. On entering it was totally different dry, bright and sunny and no sign of damp 40624. So my advise to anyone booking rooms and particularly paying the increased cost for a Penthouse Suite make sure you request a south facing room. I agree with comments from other reviewers the hotel in parts is a little tired looking and in need of real investment and refurbishment. On a much more positive note the majority of staff were friendly and pleasant and the food in the buffet restaurant was amazing, much better than in the a la carte ones we visited. The entertainment was good and drinks service was also good. Although there was some information about the hotel and resort we found we had to seek it out and/or ask questions so a much more detailed booklet would be welcome. The App was useful to book restaurants but other aspects didn't always work. Room Service included in the All Inclusive was great, didn't use or see our butler for the butler service but i doubt we would have used it any way as we filled the jaccussi ourselves each day. The room cleaning staff were fantastic and work so hard. Once we had moved rooms we continued to have a pleasant stay but on reflection for the money that we spent i do not feel it was value for money.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: Choose South facing rooms
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from OnlineReputationSka, online reputation at Bahia Principe Luxury Sian Ka'an
Responded 23 Jan 2020
Dear Guest, Thank you for your recent visit and for taking the time to write a review. We sincerely regret that we did not meet your expectations and we do apologize for the inconveniences that you outline. I truly appreciate your feedback. I have personally taken note of the opportunities for improvement that you have suggested and have already started addressing them because we truly value customer service for all our guests, that is our main goal. I really hope that you give us another chance to visit us in a near future so that we can offer you the great service that we are use to provide! Do not hesitate to contact us at info.siankaan@bahia-principe.com, to provide the best service possible for your future stay. Best wishes, Lucero Alvarao Bahia Principe Luxury Siankaan
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Pauline wrote a review Jan 2020
Ottawa, Canada3 contributions2 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Our “junior suite” with twin beds was small and needed to be refreshed. It was quite different from the hotel picture of the junior suite with king size bed. We had to put our luggage on the coffee table, the sofa was stained and the tiles were broken and dirty. We were not staying for 10 days in this room. We went to the front desk to complain and request the junior suite we had booked. The said they had none left at this location, and found us a comparable room at the Akumal complex for an extra $270 each. It was a bigger room but not much better: rusted nails to hold the toilet paper, rusted bathtub, mold on the ceiling. The room service was poor as we ran out of toilet paper, linens, bottled water on a daily basis. I could go on on and I have the pictures to support my review.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from OnlineReputationSka, online reputation at Bahia Principe Luxury Sian Ka'an
Responded 27 Jan 2020
Dear Guest: First of all I would like to thank you for your detailed feedback regarding your recent stay at our hotel resort. It will certainly help us to keep focus on customer satisfaction and fulfillment of our hotel standards. Concerning about the inconveniences with the change of room those concerns brought to our attention by you will be clearly discussed with the responsible department officer to not only identify but react and resolve such matter. Note that we have already discussed your details with our Maintenance Manager in order to proceed with operational Practices. Also it is important to us to outline that we have reviewed the situation with the rooms but there please note that due to the occupations no hotel is able to provide a confirmation as any room requests strictly depend on its availability, beddings, floors, packages, etc. We are concerned that not all our services were to your approval and liking as every person is different and has different tastes; however, our team always tries to accommodate all the guests’ needs as we are always striving for excellence in the service. All your observations have been forwarded to the General Management of the resort as the guests satisfaction is our priority and rest assured we will be constantly striving to the excellence in our services. We hope to have the opportunity to change your in the future as we believe you will enjoy our new services. Do not hesitate to contact us at info.siankaan@bahia-principe.com, to provide the best service possible for your future stay. Sending you our warmest regards, Lucero Alvarado Bahia Principe Luxury Siankaan
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Joe B wrote a review Mar 2020
10 contributions1 helpful vote
3.0 of 5 bubbles
This was our second stay at Sian Ka'an, and 6th stay at a Bahia Principe Luxury resort. The number of staff (mostly servers) has decreased. Martha at the cenote pool was lovely. But, it seemed that she was alone every day to service several areas. Many days, we would not receive any drink service at the pool until late in the day, and then it was less than once per hour. It was even worse at the beach. We spent one day at the beach, and a server might have come by 2 or three times all day.

The food is good. The booking system for a la carts was poor (only a handful of seats were made available each night). The App did not function - we could only access the hotels in Spain.

MANAGEMENT - you need to organize the buffets better. Seafood and shellfish dishes are scattered throughout all of the buffets, mixed in with all of the other dishes. This is a high risk of cross-contamination. This has nothing to do with allergies, but is basic food safety. There is no control over which dishes utensils are used in. PLEASE change this and dedicate a section of the buffets to seafood and shellfish to separate it from the rest of the food.

The rooms were clean and kudos to Bahia Principe for the "no reserving lounge chairs policy". You can wait until after breakfast to go to the pool and there's no problem getting a good seat.

I'm not looking for a "copy & paste" response from management. Please separate the seafood and shellfish to a different section from the other food at buffets.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from OnlineReputationSka, online reputation at Bahia Principe Luxury Sian Ka'an
Responded 9 Mar 2020
Dear Guest, First of all thank you for your comments about your stay at Bahia Principe Luxury Siankaan !! We are very concerned about the discomfort you felt for some of our services; we really thank you for letting us know your valuable observations and we sincerely regret for have not met your expectations, We appreciate the time that you disposed to share your valuable feedback with us. We have sent this information to every Department involved so necessary measures can be taken to guarantee our guest's satisfaction. We hope you give us a second chance to restore your confidence in our resort, it would be wonderful to host you again. Do not hesitate to contact us at info.siankaan@bahia-principe.com, to provide the best service possible for your future stay. Kind regards! Lucero Alvarado Bahia Principe Luxury Siankaan
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Elizabeth B wrote a review Feb 2020
New York2 contributions3 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
A huge disappointment. Food was practically inedible, and no Mexican cuisine available anywhere in the resort. We paid extra for a room with a jacuzzi, but it requires hotel staff to set up, which they declined to do despite our requests. If I trusted anyone working here to accomplish a single thing, I'd be asking for a refund. The resort is nowhere near the beach, and requires half an hour of travel to get there. This is a tourist trap, with no luxury and zero sense of hospitality.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from OnlineReputationSka, online reputation at Bahia Principe Luxury Sian Ka'an
Responded 25 Feb 2020
Dear Guest: First of all we want to thank you for taking the time to send your valuable comments about your stay with us as it helps to maintain the quality at the hotel. We are sorry that we have not exceeded your expectations and disappointment with some services we offer; accept our sincere apologies that certainly does not reflect the commitment and the quality that we have exhibited for many years. The comments and suggestions we receive from our guests are very important to maintain the quality of the service at the resort. They will be definitely reviewed with different departments to introduce corrective actions and improvements. We hope to have the opportunity to change your perception in the future as we believe you will enjoy our new services. Do not hesitate to contact us at info.siankaan@bahia-principe.com, to provide the best service possible for your future stay. Sending you our best regards, Lucero Alvarado Bahia Principe Luxury Siankaan
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
turnbud2 wrote a review Nov 2021
Newcastle, Canada177 contributions89 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
My wife and I stayed here for 5 nights in early November, and had a fantastic time. This place had a few small hiccups, but is overall a great spot.
The rooms are dated, yes. I can only speak to ours, but it was clean and tidy, it had a well stocked mini fridge, and a great view of the gardens. We had a deluxe garden
View with the hot tub and the tub was a waste of money as we never took the cover off. We did have hot water, some others apparently didn’t, but the people we spoke to were moved to better rooms rather quickly. We also saw employees hard at work painting and doing maintenance to unoccupied rooms while we were there.

We personally liked the fact that this place was off the beaten path, yet had access to the other 4 Bahia resorts on the property. We were able to use the beaches, pools and restaurants at the other three resorts and only adults staying at the Akumal section of the property were allowed to visit Sian Ka’an.

The trolley service is a bit spotty for sure. Only once did we have to wait more than 20 mins for a ride. The drivers are courteous, fun, and you get to meet other guests while riding.

The restaurants all over this property are great, and there are more to choose from than there are days of the week. We tried the Mexican (Tulum) , the Teppanyaki(coba) and the Luxe restaurant at our resort. They were all great. We opted for the buffet the rest of the nights as it was closer to the shows for us and the food there is honestly great too. We didn’t have a bad meal at this place.

The shows every night were fun. We especially enjoyed the silent disco. It sounds weird, but you’ve got to try it. So much fun.

The staff here are wonderful! From the server at the pool, to the bartenders, to the wait staff to the hostess in the buffet. Amazing. And the 4 young ladies and gentlemen that make up the animation team, bravo! You young people worked so hard to make everyone’s holiday better, inclusive but not pushy. Just the right mix of fun and laid back. You guys were great.

If you’re seeking a resort with white glove treatment, perfect rooms, and one that runs like clockwork, feel free to spend twice as much money and stay somewhere else. However if you want great staff, food, drinks, entertainment and just an all around great time then give this place a try.

We are already planning a trip with our teenage kids to Bahia Akumal in April and my wife and I plan on coming up here for a few meals and shows for sure. We already miss it.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Long drive from the airport, highly recommended getting a private transfer.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from , Otro at Bahia Principe Luxury Sian Ka'an
Responded 17 Nov 2021
Dear Guest, First of all thank you for trusting the Bahia Principe Luxury Sian Ka´an and choosing us to enjoy your holidays. As a service-oriented company it is a pleasure for us to read your opinion and you that you enjoyed the service received, your room, our facilities, the entertainment and quality and variety of the food. It is for guests like you who send us so inspiring words after your stay that the staff of our hotel finds every day the motivation and energy to continue carrying out their work in the best way. We hope to have the honor and pleasure of welcoming you back in the near future. Please do not hesitate to contact us at our email address info.siankaan@bahia-principe.com for any assistance prior to your arrival. Kind Regards from Mexico, Antonio Endres Online Reputation Bahia Principe Luxury Sian Ka´an
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Simon G wrote a review Jan 2020
Toronto, Canada64 contributions51 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
I have recently visited this resort with my partner for a seven day vacation. Transportation from the airport was provided with the package we purchased with our travel agency. We arrived at the hotel quite late and the welcome was average, short and sweet which was actually quite nice because at this point all we wanted to do was go to bed. I had emailed the resort prior to our arrival asking for a room on the top floor and that’s what we got. The room was a bit dated, had a musty smell, water damage in the bathroom and the mini bar fridge didn’t work. Once we got to bed there was a loud humming noise that would come and go seemingly from behind one of the bathroom walls. I’m not the type to complain and these are minor details for me so I didn’t make much of it. We lacked hot water on a couple of occasions. The food at the buffet was good and we tried a couple of the a la carte restaurants which were ok but nothing special. The beach area was fine, good service from the staff serving drinks and there wasn’t anyone there trying to sell you stuff. We got good advice from staff in regards to leaving the resort and what transportation to take etc. I work for an airline and a lot of my colleagues travel so I’m not sure I would recommend this resort. For the price I paid it was acceptable, not sure I would go back although I’ve visited other Bahia Principe resorts and they all are pretty consistent with the problems I have faced with this one. You get what you pay for I guess. Will be looking at other brands in the future not sure I’ll stay with them again.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from OnlineReputationSka, online reputation at Bahia Principe Luxury Sian Ka'an
Responded 31 Jan 2020
Dear Guest: We really appreciate you taking the time to send your valuable comments about your stay with us as it helps to maintain the quality at the hotel. It is a pity that we have not exceeded your expectations; accept our sincere apologies, it certainly does not reflect the commitment and the quality that we have exhibited for many years. We review the incidence and deeply regret the situation; our staff always tries to give the best possible experience to the guests; and we give the proper follow up to all the requests and necessities during the stay of our customers. All your observations have been forwarded to the General Management of the resort as the guests satisfaction is our priority and rest assured we will be constantly striving to the excellence in our services. We hope to have the opportunity to change your perception in the future as we believe you will enjoy our new services. Do not hesitate to contact us at info.siankaan@bahia-principe.com, to provide the best service possible for your future stay. Sending you our best regards, Lucero Alvarado Bahia Luxury Siankaan
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nigel D wrote a review Feb 2020
South Devon, United Kingdom1 contribution2 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
We have stayed three times before at the Sian Ka'an and were looking forward to another relaxing two week break but this was definitely not the case – our holiday turned into a disaster with problems that did not end when we were home.
First we went to a Privilege Club presentation but when we arrived, we were worried as our French rep had been up the night before with D&V – sure enough my wife who was closest to her paid the price and a couple of days was struck down with severe diarrhoea which lasted for four days in all, spent never far from a toilet so we had to stick by the pool with my wife feeling really bad.
After that, we had a good day which did not end well.
Our room was on the 2nd floor and as we were coming down the poorly lit stairs (overhead light was not working), my wife fell down half a flight damaging her knee and wrist. In a lot of pain from her swollen badly bruised knee and wrist, we had to use a wheelchair to get around for the rest of our time at the resort – another two days. As she was unable to walk more than a few painful steps, we had to have wheelchair assistance at Cancun and Birmingham airports on the way home.
Once home we had to go straight to our NHS MIU as my wife was in such pain and have to return for a follow up appointment to check for any tendon damage.
In all our holiday was ruined by poor safety standards at the Sian Ka'an not keeping potentially infectious staff away from guests and dangerously dark stairs with a broken light.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from OnlineReputationSka, online reputation at Bahia Principe Luxury Sian Ka'an
Responded 4 Feb 2020
Dear Guest, Thank you very much for taking the time to answer the survey about the Bahia Principe Luxury Siankaan hotel. It will certainly help us to keep focus on costumer satisfaction and fulfillment of our hotel standards. We are very concerned about the health problem you had during your stay; we take these matters very seriously considering food health issues and have daily healthy inspections to eliminate all potential cases. Also we will like to say that traveling can increase your chances of getting sick because the body needs time to adjust to water, food and air from other places, the presence of microorganisms other than those around them, environmental allergens, dietary changes, stress travel, and other factors, also the resort's water and food buffets or snacks are consumed by a large number of people, if any of these were contaminated, would undoubtedly several guests with the same condition in a short period of time. To avoid such incidents, we have an extreme caution in the management of hygiene or safety. Staff are trained regularly for routine checks are carried out and as for the sanitary control of the spaces and facility; weekly inspections conducted by the Quality department. Please be sure that we keep on working to improve our services and trust you will allow us another chance to restore all your confidence in Bahia Principe Luxury Siankaan. Do not hesitate to contact us at info.siankaan@bahia-principe.com, to provide the best service possible for your future stay. Regards !!! Lucero Alvarado Bahia Principe Luxury Siankaan
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Akumal area.
PRICE RANGE
$402 - $494 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
gran bahia principe sian ka`an golf hotel akumal, gran bahia principe sian ka`an golf resort and spa
LOCATION
MexicoYucatan PeninsulaQuintana RooRiviera MayaAkumal
NUMBER OF ROOMS
420
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

BAHIA PRINCIPE LUXURY SIAN KA'AN - Hotel Reviews & Price Comparison (Akumal, Mexico) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Bahia Principe Luxury Sian Ka'an
Which popular attractions are close to Bahia Principe Luxury Sian Ka'an?
Nearby attractions include Akumal Beach (3.8 km), Xel-Ha Park by Xcaret (6.2 km), and Mayamar (4.0 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Bahia Principe Luxury Sian Ka'an?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a pool, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at Bahia Principe Luxury Sian Ka'an?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Bahia Principe Luxury Sian Ka'an?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and a poolside bar during their stay.
Is parking available at Bahia Principe Luxury Sian Ka'an?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Bahia Principe Luxury Sian Ka'an?
Conveniently located restaurants include Kengai, Maratea, and Autor.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Bahia Principe Luxury Sian Ka'an?
Yes, guests have access to a pool, a fitness centre, and fitness classes during their stay.
Does Bahia Principe Luxury Sian Ka'an have airport transportation?
Yes, Bahia Principe Luxury Sian Ka'an offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at Bahia Principe Luxury Sian Ka'an?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Bahia Principe Luxury Sian Ka'an offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Bahia Principe Luxury Sian Ka'an?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, and French.
All Akumal HotelsAkumal Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in AkumalHotels near Bahia Principe Luxury Sian Ka'an
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday HomesTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire