We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
76 S Toe River Rd, Burnsville, NC 28714-8501
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (44)
Room & Suite (18)
Family and Play Areas (3)
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.


#2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Burnsville
A quaint, comfortable inn located in the South Toe valley between the Blue Ridge and the Black Mountains. Each of our 10 rooms has a kitchenette, 2 queen size beds and a deck to sit out and enjoy the view of the Black Mountains in our back yard. Closest accommodations to Mt. Mitchell State Park and minutes to several waterfalls and hiking locations. Two restaurants - J & J's Grill on the Green and Teo's Restaurant & Pub are withing walking distance as well as the highly rated Mt. Mitchell golf Club. Less than 3 miles from the Blue Ridge Parkway - Albert's Motel is the perfect location to stay for your adventures throughout the region. Enjoy white water rafting, hiking, zip lines, gem mining and cycling with our very own bicycle store on the premises. Vibrant Asheville is less than an hour's drive.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Complimentary tea
Bicycles available
Children's television networks
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
BBQ facilities
Canoeing offsite
Walking tours
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor fireplace
Outdoor furniture
Picnic area
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Dining area
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Bath / shower
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Clothes rack
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Flatscreen TV
iPod docking station
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Mountain view
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
Great View
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish
121Reviews1Q+A24Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 88
  • 22
  • 8
  • 0
  • 3
Time of year
Traveller type
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sam R wrote a review Oct 2021
1 contribution
I am hesitant to write a glowing review for fear others will discover this wonderful place and there won’t be a vacancy the next time I want to come. However, I do want this type of place to continue to exist. The room we were in was clean, spacious, and well equipped with a small stove, sink, refrigerator, tv, patio, front door parking, functional heating/cooling and comfortable queen beds. The owner/operators are great folks. This is a small traditional strip type “motel” in a quiet location. We were in the area to hike and enjoy nature and this place was a perfect base of operations. We will absolutely be back and stay here again. Thank you so much Van and Debbie!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021
ntk345 wrote a review Aug 2021
1 contribution
We rented the Mountain Top Cabin, managed by Debbie and Van of Albert's Lodge. The list is like it's one of their properties, but it's not. And it's obvious. We only received an auto-generated receipt. No follow-up emails, logistics, etc. You must have a 4-wheel drive vehicle to safely maneuver that mountain road and to be able to come and go with freedom! It's mentioned in the property description, but you have to read the whole piece to see it. It should be in bold at the top! Got stuck twice, car fish tales and there are no guard rales. Had to walk our luggage, groceries, and ice chest up the mountain in the dark! Two decomposing rats on the screened porch, a big water leak that has the wood floor soaked from the kitchen wall into the bathroom, molded mouse poop on cookware. . . The cabin is bare-bones minimum and uncared for. You are paying for the view. IT IS NOT WORTH IT! Renter, BEWARE! We tried to be amenable and "adventurous" with the whole shebang. We hiked down and out and arranged pickups on the highway. Debbie, the manager was rude and indifferent, and not willing to help, at all! Van, the husband was pleasant, but just couldn't really deal with it in any way helpful. Not the relaxing vacation we were looking for.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021
Sleep Quality
Joe F wrote a review Aug 2021
Greenville, North Carolina102 contributions35 helpful votes
I stayed at Albert's Lodge the weekend of Aug 13-15, 2021. This a a very nice mom & pop style hotel, convenient to the Blue Ridge Parkway, Mt. Mitchell State Park, Crabtree Falls, and the S. Toe River. The hotel is adjacent to the Mt. Mitchell golf course. There are hiking trails very close by. There is a small family operated restaurant within walking distance from the hotel, (open seasonally) which serves basic, but good fare. Albert's Lodge is very clean and very quiet. The beds are firm and the pillows soft. The hotel has a good WiFi system, USB port outlets, and large screen TVs in the rooms. The rooms are equipped as efficiency rooms, having a small stove, microwave, and refrigerator in each one. (pots & pans, plates, silverware are not provided) There is a patio on the back of each room, and a large lawn in back with picnic tables and a cornhole game set up. I found the innkeepers to be very friendly and willing to share information with me about places to visit and things to do in the area. The hotel is a good value for a stay in the mountains, and I recommend it to anyone visiting this area.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021
Sleep Quality
Teachtravellearn wrote a review Jun 2021
59 contributions13 helpful votes
This is a wonderful place for a relaxing, peaceful place to stay! It is convenient to the Blue Ridge Parkway, Mt Mitchell, and the short hike to Roaring Creek Falls. The rooms are clean and spacious and include a kitchenette. There is a wonderful back porch that opens to a vast green space!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Peter M wrote a review May 2021
2 contributions
I made my reservation one afternoon for 2 night stay starting the same evening. I mentioned the gentleman taking my reservation, that I was allergic to animals and and dust. He assured me that the room will be fine. When I arrived the room was moldy and dusty. I tried to turn on the fan on the HVAC unit in the room and I noticed the dust was 1 inch thick on the unit filter. I called Debby at the front desk, who helped me to turn on the unit and when I mentioned the dust, she told me that they could not get the replacement filter, but she would see what she could do. I cleaned the filter the best I could and went to bed. I could not sleep all night, because I could not breathe properly. I woke up early in the morning and I left a message on their phone letting them know that I checked out because I could not sleep due to the dusty and moldy condition of the room. Debbie called me later in the day saying that she did not understand my message, so I explained the same to her and I asked for a refund for the second night which I did not use. She told me that they require a 7 day cancellation and that they would be out of business if they allowed cancellations at the last minute. I reminded her that I made my reservation the day of my first night and that the room was too dusty for me to be able to use. She refused to give my a refund for the second night, which I did not use. Stay away from this unhealthy place and unscrupulous business people!
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021
Room Tip: Go to another motel...
See more room tips
Response from Van R, Owner at Alberts Lodge
Responded 24 May 2021
Peter - I am very sorry that you suffer from allergies, this time of the year can be especially difficult for people prone to allergies. Our rooms are cleaned and sanitized and rest assured there is NO mold. My husband has changed the filter in the units. As part of our cleaning we wipe down and sanitze all around the unit including the knobs. When you called me the next day, you mentioned you did not sleep well and expected a refund for the second night. There was no mention on the recording or during our conversation of allergies. Yes, we would be out of business if we refunded guests that said they did not sleep well. Usually, what we hear is how soundly our guests sleep in the serene and comfortable environment of our establishment. That being said, I have refunded you back for your second night which you did not stay for. Again, we are sorry to hear you did not sleep well and therefore could not enjoy your stay.
Read more
US$156 - US$369 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
United StatesNorth CarolinaNorth Carolina MountainsBurnsville
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Alberts Lodge
Which popular attractions are close to Alberts Lodge?
Nearby attractions include Mount Mitchell State Park (6.2 km), Roaring Fork Falls (0.3 km), and Blue Ridge Mountains (6.0 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Alberts Lodge?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free parking, and barbeque facilities.
Which room amenities are available at Alberts Lodge?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Alberts Lodge?
Guests can enjoy barbeque facilities and complimentary tea during their stay.
Is parking available at Alberts Lodge?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Alberts Lodge?
Conveniently located restaurants include Mount Mitchell State Park Restaurant, Hawtrees Bar and Grill, and Hawtrey's Pub.
Are pets allowed at Alberts Lodge?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Alberts Lodge?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Spanish.
Are there any historical sites close to Alberts Lodge?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Historic Carson House (15.4 km).
Does Alberts Lodge have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the mountain view available here.
Is Alberts Lodge accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.