DoubleTree by Hilton Schenectady Downtown
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

DoubleTree by Hilton Schenectady Downtown

Traveller (31)
Modern King Room
Room & Suite (21)
Lounge area
Dining (11)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

4.0
#4 of 15 hotels in Schenectady
4.2 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.3 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Value

Enjoy homelike comforts and warm hospitality at the DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Schenectady hotel. Savor our fresh-baked chocolate chip cookie upon arrival and enjoy impeccable service from our friendly staff. Each spacious guest room and suite boasts tasteful décor and modern amenities including a 32-inch HDTV and complimentary WiFi. Enjoy a restful sleep in the sumptuous Sweet Dreams® bed and wake feeling refreshed for the day ahead.

Host an important business meeting, conference or spectacular wedding reception at this Schenectady, NY hotel with over 3,000 sq. ft. of flexible meeting and banquet space. Our dedicated event planner can take care of every detail, while our experienced culinary team can create a menu to impress your guests.

Catch up with work in the 24-hour business center or de-stress with an energizing workout in the fitness center. The tranquil indoor swimming pool with whirlpool also offers a relaxing setting to unwind after a busy day of meetings or sightseeing.

Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Bowling offsite
Children's television networks
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Electric vehicle charging station
Street parking
Wifi
Pool / beach towels
Indoor pool
Heated pool
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast in the room
Kids' meals
Special diet menus
Wine / champagne
Vending machine
Highchairs available
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Shuttle bus service
Car hire
Taxi service
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Baggage storage
Concierge
Convenience store
Gift shop
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor fireplace
Shops
ATM on site
First aid kit
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Room features
Blackout curtains
Air conditioning
Desk
Fireplace
Housekeeping
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Walk-in shower
Room service
Safe
Telephone
Iron
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Family
Business
Languages Spoken
English
Hotel links
Special Offer:Price Match Guarantee

Location

100 Nott Terrace, Schenectady, NY 12308
Getting there
Good for walkers
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 86 out of 100
86
Albany Intl Airport
Schenectady Station
8 min
404Reviews6Q+A23Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 197
  • 111
  • 45
  • 28
  • 23
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Tess287 wrote a review Jul 2022
Windsor, Pennsylvania22 contributions31 helpful votes
Hotel's Favourite
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Drove with my college son to Schenectady. spent 2 nights at Doubletree.
Excellent Breakfast.
Lovely courtyard
Quiet Room, clean and comfortable with superb amenities
Safe Parking
Arrived late at night...safe entry with wonderful front desk clerk
5 minute walk downtown, train station, union college
Safe after dark
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
skordzek wrote a review Mar 2020
Hamden, Connecticut105 contributions46 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
We often stay in this area and had never stayed in this newly remodeled facility (I believe it previously was a Holiday Inn ). It was nice, but not extraordinary. Front desk was extremely friendly upon both check in and out, room was average but didn’t have charging ports that most newer places have and the mattress was very very firm. Halls were quiet. The strangest thing was the shower. The glass door nearest the shower head was bolted shut so the only way to turn water on was to step in using opposite door and stand under cold water while it heated up.
I loved the lighted bathroom mirror and the buffet breakfast (not included) was excellent
All in all, average, not my first Hilton choice in the area, but not objectionable at all.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Kate F, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Schenectady Downtown
Responded 15 Mar 2020
Dear skordzek, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback about your recent stay. I apologize that we did not exceed your expectations. I will share your comments with our staff so that moving forward we correct these issues. I am disappointed to hear that you were not offered a cookie at check in as this is a DoubleTree standard. I appreciate your feedback and hope that if traveling back through the area you will stay with us again so that we can exceed your expectations and restore your faith in our hotel. Thank you, Kate
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
amturnip wrote a review Mar 2023
Washington DC147 contributions31 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Clean and peaceful, this Doubletree is a 10- or 15-minute walk from the fun part of central Schenectady. The curtains closed solidly and blocked out the streetlights, and in the morning I was happy to discover the coffee maker was stocked with flavors of coffee and tea. Also, the room included a little fridge that was great for leftovers. There was a desk but it was in a very dark part of the room.

The shower was uncomfortable and poorly designed. I could not turn it on or adjust the temperature without standing under it. The shower's sliding glass door was mounted in such a way that when the shower door was *closed* the floor got flooded, but when the shower door was left *open* only a little water got on the floor. There was very little space to hang a towel to dry.

Neighborhood amenities include Adeeb's Deli, 3 blocks away; Stewart's Shops convenience store adjacent to the hotel; and a Denny's close by which I did not try out.

I didn't use the indoor pool, but I saw some people seemed to be enjoying it.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2023
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
pammyj1114 wrote a review Aug 2021
rochester7 contributions2 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
The hotel lobby area was clean but the lack of amenities was disappointing. The restaurant was only open for breakfast and the pool was drained and closed. If you go searching on the website, you can find a link about COVID closures and the 2nd page of the link says its closed however the main description of the hotel on the front page says to enjoy the pool. That should be updated or removed since it hasnt been available for almost 18 months at this point. The public restrooms were unavailable. Our room was small but sufficient. When trying to use the bathtub, couldn't take a bath because the plug didn't work. Tried connecting to the Wi-Fi but kept receiving an error message. Called the front desk and they gave me the technical support number. I tried calling and sat on hold for 40 minutes before giving up and determining that it would just be unusable this stay. I tried to share my concerns with the front desk upon checking out, just so they could note it and look into the issues and the desk agent was extremely rude. No apology or concern at all. Never even asked my name or room number. Overall disappointed with the service and won't return to this hotel with so many other choices in the area. Plus to top it off...no Doubletree cookie at arrival!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Deanna Smith, Guest Services / Front Office at DoubleTree by Hilton Schenectady Downtown
Responded 3 Sept 2021
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience about your recent stay at our hotel. We sincerely appreciate your feedback and we are very sorry we did not exceed your expectations. I also sincerely apologize that you found your room to on the small side an that you had difficulty with the tub stopper. I am sorry for the inconvenience and frustration this may have caused you during your stay. I am also sorry to hear that you experienced difficulty with the wifi during your stay. Although we did upgrade the wifi not that long ago, I have recently noticed similar complaints. I have reached out to our provider and hope to have this issue fully resolved in the near future. These details allow us to assess the service we are providing, and in turn, will make us aware of opportunities for improvement. At DoubleTree by Hilton, we promise to do whatever it takes to ensure you are satisfied and hope you will consider staying with us in the future.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
ssulzberger wrote a review May 2023
Olathe, Kansas50 contributions17 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
My room was not clean, I asked the front desk to give me some wipes to clean my room, and she was very confused and just gave me some wipes. My key did not work each day and had to go back to the front desk and I was told that they were having some computer issues however, no one else in the restaurant seem to have issues but me. It does not seem that management is managing the people. They are not all together and concerned about the guest
Read more
Date of stay: May 2023Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
MVP Trainer wrote a review Jan 2020
1 contribution
4.0 of 5 bubbles
The employees at this hotel do a great job in responding to the needs of their guests. Anita at the front desk always has a smile for you and is eager to help in anyway she can. Clean, consistent and close to downtown.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Kate F, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Schenectady Downtown
Responded 20 Jan 2020
Hello Mvptrainer, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. Anita is a great asset to our team and I will make sure to share your feedback with her and the rest of our staff. I hope that when back in the area you will stay with us again. Best, Kate
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Tanya wrote a review Jul 2023
Sheboygan, Wisconsin2 contributions
2.0 of 5 bubbles
We checked in to find out they had overbooked and they had to give us a room with one bed instead of two. They told us they had a roll in bed that we could use, so we said ok. A half hour later I called the front desk looking for our roll in bed and it turns out they couldn't find it so my son ended up sleeping on the floor. $240 a night and he's on the floor!! The next day they moved us to a room with double beds, and gave us a free breakfast for the inconvenience of my son sleeping on the floor. We had breakfast the next day and it was terrible. My meal was cold, the service was slow. The menu was a photo copy of the menu. I will never stay here again.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2023Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Parking is hard to come by at night, so get there early.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from John J Gilbertson, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Schenectady Downtown
Responded 20 Jul 2023
Dear Guest, I am very sorry you did not recieve the room type you requested and the fact that your son had to sleep on the floor. To say that I am distrurbed about these incidents would be an understatement. Please send me an email at John.Gilbertson2@hilton.com so we can discuss the situation. Comments such as yours are very helpful to us in creating the best hotel facility in the area. In the future, we will continue to demonstrate the standard of excellence we strive to achieve.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Stacey M wrote a review Nov 2021
Howard Beach, New York69 contributions26 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
The staff was super friendly and wonderful. The room smelled like marajuana. The beds only had flat sheets on not the fitted sheets. I did not want to be laying on a mattress so we tucked the flat sheets in. Otherwise the room was nice and the restaurant was really good too.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
2.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Deanna Smith, Guest Services / Front Office at DoubleTree by Hilton Schenectady Downtown
Responded 11 Nov 2021
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience about your recent stay at our hotel. Thank you for being a Hilton Honors Member. I sincerely apologize for not exceeding your expectations during your stay. Cleanliness of our rooms and hotel are extremely important to us and the condition of your room is not up to our standards, and has been addressed with both the housekeeping and management staff. Thank you for bringing this to our attention. Although the DoubleTree by Hilton Schenectady is a 100% non-smoking hotel, we do, from time to time, have guests break the rules. We do always try to have a quick response time to guest complaints in order to prevent this from happening. I am sorry for the inconvenience and frustration this may have caused you during your stay. It is always wonderful to hear positive comments regarding our team members! We value our team greatly, and it is terrific when we hear that our guests do as well. I will gladly pass your comments on to our staff today! We sincerely appreciate your feedback and we are very sorry we did not exceed your expectations. Your comments will help us as we continually work to improve our guest experience. At DoubleTree by Hilton, we promise to do whatever it takes to ensure you are satisfied and hope you will consider staying with us in the future. We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the not too distant future!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Go779395 wrote a review Feb 2020
5 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
As others have mentioned, the DoubeTree is very clean with a great lobby and comfortable beds. It was also very quiet eventhough were were in downtown Schenectady. This was my second stay...unfortunately, this time for a funeral. The front desk staff, both day and evening, could not have been nicer or more helpful. There was even a basket of condolence flowers, from the hotel, waiting in our room. So very thoughtful and so very appreciated.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
dariuswalker81 wrote a review Sept 2021
1 contribution
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Had a horrible odor coming from behind the refrigerator/microwave. I made a complaint about it, they sent someone down to check it out and the worker just came looked behind the refrigerator the worker said( It must be some old food that was left out) . Mean while the refrigerator was empty so i knew that was a lie. Basically they did nothing about it. The smell so was horrible, I went brought a big bottle of air freshener and that didn’t even work.Three days go by and I just couldn’t take the smell anymore so ended up having to make another complaint which they sent someone to come change out the refrigerator which didn’t work at all. I wanted to switch to another room but was denied. I was there for work. I had to endure that horrible odor for 27 days
Read more
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Date of stay: August 2021
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
1.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
2.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
1.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Deanna Smith, Guest Services / Front Office at DoubleTree by Hilton Schenectady Downtown
Responded 3 Sept 2021
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience about your recent stay at our hotel. I am truly sorry that you did not enjoy your stay for the 22 days that you were here. I am sorry that you had an odor in your room. I did go back over the shift reports and noticed that your refrigerator was replaced on August 19th. There is no further mention of any complaints with regard to the new refrigerator not working in any of the shift reports. I truly wish you had brought this to the attention of myself or any other manager, or even your manager who keeps in regular contact with the hotel, so that we could have made it right for you. I also truly wish you had brought this my attention when you checked out at the desk with me on Friday. One of the main reasons that we ask each guest when they check out how their stay with us was, is so that we can address any problems that may have occurred during ones stay in order to avoid the same problems in the future. I do however thank you for bringing this to my attention at this time. I sincerely apologize for not meeting and exceeding your expectations during your stay. Your comments will help us as we continually work to improve our guest experience. At DoubleTree by Hilton, we promise to do whatever it takes to ensure you are satisfied and hope you will consider staying with us in the future. Thank you again for choosing DoubleTree by Hilton!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Alisha L asked a question Feb 2024
Orchard Park, New York8 contributions3 helpful votes
Does your establishment offer free hot breakfast buffet as shown in the photos??
LawyerTraveler asked a question Jul 2016
Porto, Portugal24 contributions9 helpful votes
Does this hotel allow small dogs?
Answer from Joe J
Columbus, Ohio
Hi LawyerTraveler, I hope you enjoyed your weekend. While we do not allow pets, we would love to have you as our guest.
jerod k asked a question Apr 2016
Atlanta, Georgia16 contributions1 helpful vote
Is their a Vegan restaurant near by
Answer from jerod k
Atlanta, Georgia16 contributions1 helpful vote
Is their a vegatable or fish restaurant
Francis A asked a question Mar 2016
Rochester, New York288 contributions34 helpful votes
How far is the Proctor Theater? Is there a shuttle
Answer from bear854
Schenectady, New York13 contributions5 helpful votes
Proctors Theater is 5 blocks away on foot. You leave the Motel take a right on State Street and walk down the hill. If You grab a cab it would be less then a $5 fare-be sure and leave a nice tip for such a short cab ride to make it worth the Driver's time. Enjoy!
Explorer802836 wrote a tip 7 Jun
1 contribution
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Unsafe and dirty"
Read full review
Tanya wrote a tip Jul 2023
Sheboygan, Wisconsin2 contributions
2.0 of 5 bubbles
"Parking is hard to come by at night, so get there early."
Read full review
Holly2090 wrote a tip Jul 2019
Avon, Connecticut9 contributions3 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"The smallest room I have ever seen - even in NYC!!!"
Read full review
bskramer wrote a tip Jul 2019
The Villages, Florida320 contributions118 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Rooms that face the inside may be quieter during the night."
Read full review
RoundTrees wrote a tip Apr 2019
New York City, New York32 contributions50 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"bring water!"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Schenectady area.
PRICE RANGE
$310 - $439 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
holiday inn schenectady hotel schenectady, schenectady holiday inn
LOCATION
United StatesNew YorkSchenectady
NUMBER OF ROOMS
120
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

DOUBLETREE BY HILTON SCHENECTADY DOWNTOWN - Hotel Reviews & Price Comparison (NY) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about DoubleTree by Hilton Schenectady Downtown
Which popular attractions are close to DoubleTree by Hilton Schenectady Downtown?
Nearby attractions include Proctor's Theater (0.5 km), Misci: Museum Of Innovation And Science (0.2 km), and Schenectady Greenmarket (0.5 km).
What are some of the property amenities at DoubleTree by Hilton Schenectady Downtown?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at DoubleTree by Hilton Schenectady Downtown?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at DoubleTree by Hilton Schenectady Downtown?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at DoubleTree by Hilton Schenectady Downtown?
Yes, free parking and street parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to DoubleTree by Hilton Schenectady Downtown?
Conveniently located restaurants include Johnny's, Tara Kitchen, and Ambition Bistro.
Are there opportunities to exercise at DoubleTree by Hilton Schenectady Downtown?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool and a fitness centre during their stay.
Is DoubleTree by Hilton Schenectady Downtown located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.8 km away from the centre of Schenectady.
Are any cleaning services offered at DoubleTree by Hilton Schenectady Downtown?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at DoubleTree by Hilton Schenectady Downtown?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does DoubleTree by Hilton Schenectady Downtown offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
All Schenectady HotelsSchenectady Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in SchenectadyHotels near DoubleTree by Hilton Schenectady Downtown
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday HomesTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire