Opera House Hotel
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Opera House Hotel

Light, airy, spacious room
Traveller (228)
Panorama at the Opera House Hotel
360
Panoramas (10)
Camera standard
Room & Suite (122)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

4.5
#3 of 22 hotels in Bronx
3.7 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.8 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.7 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.7 of 5 bubbles
Value
The Opera House Hotel is an intimate and inviting boutique hotel located in a lively neighborhood in the Bronx. Complete with 60 non-smoking guest rooms of varying sizes and styles, the Opera House Hotel provides amenities to meet the individual needs of each visitor.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Wifi
Free breakfast
Taxi service
Business Centre with Internet Access
Meeting rooms
Baggage storage
Concierge
24-hour front desk
Paid wifi
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Vending machine
Non-smoking hotel
Express check-in / check-out
Room features
Blackout curtains
Soundproof rooms
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Microwave
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Safe
Telephone
Iron
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Refrigerator
iPod docking station
Complimentary toiletries
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Classic
Modern
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish

Location

436 E 149th St, Bronx, NY 10455-1304
Getting there
Somewhat walkable
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 57 out of 100
57
LaGuardia Airport
Teterboro Airport
12.9 km
See all flights
Third Ave – 149th St
3 minNew York City Subway
783Reviews60Q+A100Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 532
  • 193
  • 39
  • 8
  • 12
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Linda M wrote a review Dec 2021
new jersey59 contributions78 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Stayed at the Opera House last night and had a wonderful night's sleep! The management was very nice and very professional. The room was fairly large for an NYC hotel and all kinds of toiletries were offered. My priority is always cleanliness and this place was spotless. The bed was super comfy and I even liked the pillows. ( I often don't). Very quiet all night. Breakfast in the morning was provided and, though basic, was very good. It. even. has a gym but I didn't see it. It really is a gem of a hotel!

Just some info. I stayed here after visiting Botanical Gardens rather than train tide back to Manhattan. It is a good 20 minute - $28 ride from Gardens in an Uber. This could be more than worth it because it is so much less expensive than Manhattan hotels but be aware of that..
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
DFTREW wrote a review Apr 2022
London, United Kingdom61 contributions112 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
This hotel is a fine place to stay - a competative price when compared to Manhattan hotel prices and is situated approx 15-20 mins subway ride to Times Square if you get the express trains.
The room was spacious and clean, bathroom ample and TV had a wide selection of channels. The breakfast was enough to start the day and was served from 0700-1000 each day. Rooms cleaned every other due following COVID guidelines. Free tea/coffee/hot choc available all day and night. The hotel is very good and hence why I have given it 5 stars. The area in which it is found is quite sketchy and quite noisy outside by night. There was likited noise within the hotel itself. This outside noise (car stereos and loud conversations did not detract from our own hotel stay however but may be an issue for other folks. There is a Dunkin’ Donut store opposite the hotel and a bearby Burger King and McDonalds. The hotel staff were all very pleasant and polite.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from emilio morales, General Manager at Opera House Hotel
Responded 25 Apr 2022
Thank you so much for your review and we are so happy you had a pleasant stay with us! We look forward to many more to come in the future.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
smoke02 wrote a review Mar 2022
College Station, Texas1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I stayed at Opera House from March 15 to March 21, 2022. The entire stay at the front desk was super pleasant and very accommodating. In addition the front desk staff, the rest of staff at the hotel was very accommodating. One gentleman in particular, I believe his name is Eddie, always made it a priority to ask me if I needed anything when passing him in the hallways. One day, I had to find a restroom in the hotel because one of my kids was taking a shower and my diabetic bladder wasn’t gonna wait. So, I leave the room to find a restroom on one of the floors. When I get to the elevator Eddie was standing there, but notice I was in a hurry and needed a restroom. Instead of just pointing, this gentleman sprinted down the stairs and guided me to the restrooms doors to make sure I found it. Now that’s customer service. Lol

Additionally, the hotel was always clean, conveniently located to public transportation and the rooms are huge.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Mario041 wrote a review Aug 2021
Wiesbaden, Germany179 contributions46 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
For the second time after November 2015, we were now guests for a week at the Opera House Hotel in the Bronx. As requested we got room 304, this is one of the few rooms facing the courtyard and this I can highly recommend.

The reason is that even at night outside is a lot of noise and loud music and you are also spared from street noise.
In contrast to 2015, however, the area around the hotel is in an even more appalling state than then. The sidewalks are completely littered and dirty, dubious characters stand stoned on drugs on the walls of the houses and otherwise the area does not make a trustworthy impression.

Actually, this hotel with its cleanliness does not fit at all into this corner of the Bronx. It is only about 3 minutes to the Subway and you are usually left alone by these people, but we did not feel comfortable there at all.

Unfortunately, the service in the hotel has partly decreased, our room was not cleaned at all on the penultimate day and looked like we left it in the morning. The towels we had as recommended in the bathroom on the floor and there they were still in the evening, the bed was also not made and the tip for the room service was still on the bed, definitely no one was there that day to clean our room.

The breakfast that is included in the hotel price has the same scope as in 2015 and is sufficient for the most necessary, but this time we have found that at higher occupancy of the hotel, the stocks are filled much too rarely. Only after complaining on our part we could get anything at all for breakfast.

On the positive side, we were offered to leave the room on the day of departure only around 2pm, since we had the return flight from New York to Germany only in the evening.

In summary, the hotel can be recommended because it is clean and inexpensive by New York standards, but we would not advise anyone in our circle of acquaintances to stay there because of the environment.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from emilio morales, General Manager at Opera House Hotel
Responded 12 Aug 2021
Thank you for your review and let me apologize for any inconveniences you had with us this last time. As you know we take cleanliness extremely seriously and there should never have been a day that we missed your cleaning unless you have a do not disturb sign on the door. This will be looked into immediately. We will also be looking into the refilling of the trays at breakfast time. We no longer have a dedicated breakfast attendant as breakfast is grab and go but we should be making sure that all is being refilled more frequently especially in high occupancy times as all other times. Unfortunately, I cannot help with the outside area which has been transitioning slowly. New York City as a whole has been having issues with all that you have mentioned and we do our best to maintain our hotels and keep all guests safe. We surely do hope that you give us another chance on your next trip to NY as you have been a loyal guest to us.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jean Sébastien Dubois wrote a review Sept 2022
1 contribution
2.0 of 5 bubbles
The hotel itself is decent but the neighborhood is really bad. I’ve seen a lot of places in my life. It’s by far the worst neighborhood I’ve even seen. Been yelled at by many to what appeared to be homeless across the hotel, urine and marihuana smell everywhere… We were supposed to stay for 4 days but left after 2 since we weren’t enjoying our vacation because of all this, couldn’t go out after dark and I’m a 6ft/200 pounds male but couldn’t trust the surrounding with my wife… Oh and we requested extra pillows during our stay and the employee knocked at our door 25 minutes after we called but clearly he came back from smoking weed, as soon as we opened the door, a cloud of weed smell entered our room and our pillows had a strong smell of weed… At the end of the day, it is a decent hotel in NYC for the price but we decided to book out before end of our stay as we wanted to enjoy our stay and not have to be stressed out to come back at the hotel after dark and again, I come from a large city myself and saw lots of places in my life but this is by far the worst neighborhood I’ve seen. The picture of the hotel on Expedia doesn’t reflect the actual state of the front entrance of the hotel with garbage everywhere, smell of urine and sketchy individuals nearby starting at you… You will stick out as tourist when you exit the hotel I can tell you. Oh and they say free WiFi and free continental breakfast but they actually charge you $15 US per day when you check in on top of what you paid with Expedia/ Booking.com for the actual wifi and breakfast so it’s not free, you pay for it and it a cold breakfast so toast/ cereals/ bagels etc.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from emilio morales, General Manager at Opera House Hotel
Responded 26 Sept 2022
Thank you so much for your review of our property and I am so sorry if you were uncomfortable in any way. We have been open for 9 years and have never had a security incident outside our property with one of our guests however we always validate our guests' feelings and completely understand your thoughts. I did want to mention the point of the pillowcases that were brought up to you as we have never in our history had a comment regarding one of our employees ever being under suspicion of anything alike you mentioned. We take all of this extremely seriously. We have tried to keep our hallways and all areas smoke free but we sometimes do have issues where guests will smoke and the areas have that smell. We apologize but most hotels are having this issue in NYC and each of us are doing our best to ensure our guests a smoke free environment. Regarding wifi and breakfast, we have not actually advertised free wifi and continental breakfast. We are clear on all of our ads that our amenities are covered with our daily facility fee of $15+Tax per day. We would never want our guests feeling that we are committing false advertising of any sort. We understand your views and respect them however we do want our readers to see the 99% of all other reviews that speak of the safety they have felt while staying with us. We understand we are in an area of transition and sometimes there is a bit of a culture shock but our neighborhood has always been good to our guests and we pride ourselves on being a real NY experience in a real residential area of the city. We truly wish you the best in your future travels.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Mary K wrote a review Jan 2020
Brightwaters, New York118 contributions61 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
The hotel is located in the South Bronx. It is a restored Opera House that was very welcoming upon checking in. Photos throughout depict performers from days gone by. The rooms were clean, quiet, and comfortable. We had 2 queen beds, a refrigerator and a microwave. The bathroom had a spacious tub. I was pleasantly surprised to find there was a free parking spot available for us to use (there are only 4 parking spots and they are available on a first come basis). On the Mezzanine level a free breakfast was available between 7 and 10am. The staff was friendly and helpful. We stayed here while visiting the Botanical Gardens for The Holiday Train Show Boxcar Night. If I ever stay in the Bronx again, I would definitely return to the hotel!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from emilio m, General Manager at Opera House Hotel
Responded 6 Jan 2020
Thank you so much for your review! We are so happy that you were please with your stay!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jon A wrote a review Jan 2022
5 contributions12 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
So, I just got back from NYC and from having stayed at the Opera House Hotel. The hotel is really nice and clean inside. The rooms are fairly spacious with high ceilings and come equipped with a mini fridge and microwave. The staff is so nice and accommodating. Having said that, DON'T STAY HERE.

The location is downright apocalyptic. This is where every exaggerated New York ghetto scene in 70s cinema was set, only it's real. My family was afraid to leave the hotel, it was like "The Walking Dead" on the sidewalks. That was during the day. At night? Constant sirens and street noise. Yes, I mean CONSTANT. There's no getting any sleep here.

There's nothing to do in the area, even if you're brave enough to venture out. In five days I spent $1,000 + in Lyft and Taxis just to get to where everything is in Manhattan. You're not saving any money staying here. The staff and management try so hard, but you can't get away from the dirty, depressing, loud element all around. It's like they took a nice hotel and dropped it into the bowels of Hell.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from emilio morales, General Manager at Opera House Hotel
Responded 10 Jan 2022
Thank you for your review and for your honest opinion about your stay with us. I am happy that my staff was accommodating and the hotel was up to par in every way. I am sorry if you felt unsafe in any way. I will say that our area is an area in transition and because of the pandemic, NYC has been facing extreme issues with homelessness on the streets and the Bronx has been hit hard in this respect. In our 8 years open, we have never had a security incident with one of our guests walking in the area or taking the mass transportation that is right across the street from us to get to Manhattan however, we wholeheartedly respect your position on all and wish you well in your future travels.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
E T wrote a review Sept 2022
The Hague, The Netherlands226 contributions98 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Very good hotel staff is so friendly and helpful, our taxi driver did not come as agreed, so we had a big problem to get on time on the airport. The staff helped us and did everything to get us on the airport, fortunately we were there just in time. The beds are super comfortable, the hotel is clean, good rooms, good breakfast, even if you want you can fetch whole day coffee, tea or chocolate. The coffee (espresso) is good. Location is a little bit less, but the subway station is walking distance, the subway brings you within 20 minutes Downtown.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
E S wrote a review Feb 2023
San Antonio, Texas2 contributions2 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Place is very clean and rooms are spacious. Staff is very helpful. Beds are comfy, and there is some noise because our room faced the street, but not intolerable. Noise starts as the day starts and quiets as evening comes. Although this place is within walking distance to subway stop, the location itself is pretty far from everything. We were visiting Fordham and it still took a good 30-40 minutes. If you’re going to Manhattan or even Harlem, it’s quite a trek. Other than that, it’s a nice place to stay, and I would say if you intend to travel mostly to NYC you’re better looking at a closer location.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2023Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
MMSS wrote a review May 2023
Central, NY228 contributions104 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Inside of the hotel, staff, gym, rooms are all great. I felt like I was in a Marriott or Hilton. The continental breakfast had coffee, juices, bagels, pastries, and a bunch of seats. The only real negative is outside the hotel. There are no restaurants nearby, and there is trash all over the streets with a ton of vendors all over the place. Hopefully it gets cleaned up because it’s not a nice area to walk around or do anything. It’s about a two minute walk to the subway.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2023Trip type: Travelled solo
Room Tip: Just realize that you need to Uber or order delivery to get any lunch or dinner. Nothing within...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Answer from Ge H
Quebec, Canada42 contributions11 helpful votes
Is the hotel walking distance to the Bronx zoo? thank you
Answer from emilio m
2 contributions
Hola Si el lugar es seguro. Estamos abierto 9 ańos y nunca teníamos una problema con seguridad de un cliente afuera del hotel
Michele S wrote a tip Sept 2023
9 contributions2 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Parking spots are first come, first serve"
Read full review
Steph wrote a tip May 2023
Toronto, Canada217 contributions194 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Parking is limited"
Read full review
Mayra M wrote a tip May 2023
Lake Worth, Florida8 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"No parking, busy street"
Read full review
MMSS wrote a tip May 2023
Central, NY228 contributions104 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Just realize that you need to Uber or order delivery to get any lunch or dinner. Nothing within a 10 min walk"
Read full review
gaga976 wrote a tip Oct 2022
Pancevo, Serbia50 contributions46 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Rooms not facing street are quieter"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Bronx area.
PRICE RANGE
$266 - $421 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United StatesNew YorkBronxMott Haven
NUMBER OF ROOMS
60
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

OPERA HOUSE HOTEL | UPDATED 2024 Reviews & Price Comparison (Bronx, NY) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Opera House Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Opera House Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Bronx Documentary Center (0.4 km), Roberto Clemente Plaza (0.2 km), and Burlington (0.3 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Opera House Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free breakfast, breakfast buffet, and a business centre.
Which room amenities are available at Opera House Hotel?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Opera House Hotel?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast during their stay.
What are some restaurants close to Opera House Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include The Best Italian Pizza, Noches Mexicanas, and Fishnet Seafood Cafe.
Does Opera House Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, guests have access to a business centre and meeting rooms during their stay.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Opera House Hotel?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Spanish.
Are there any historical sites close to Opera House Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Cooper Hewitt, Smithsonian Design Museum (4.9 km), Hamilton Grange National Memorial (2.7 km), and The Dakota (6.6 km).
Is Opera House Hotel accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access, reduced mobility rooms, and facilities for disabled guests. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.
All Bronx HotelsBronx Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in BronxHotels near Opera House Hotel
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday HomesTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire