Makanyi Private Game Lodge
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Makanyi Private Game Lodge

Traveller (630)
Room & Suite (125)
Dining (45)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

5.0
#6 of 13 lodges in Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
4.9 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.8 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.9 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.9 of 5 bubbles
Value
Makanyi is located in the Timbavati, South Africa, directly adjacent to the Kruger National Park, with no fences between us. We offer 7 large luxury suites and a two bedroom villa, excellent personalised service, and highly experienced, knowledgeable and passionate guides. In addition to being in a very private and prime game viewing reserve, we are also located in proximity to world-renowned attractions.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Airport transportation
Spa
Mosquito net
Wifi
Pool / beach towels
Pool with view
Outdoor pool
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Massage
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor fireplace
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Room features
Bathrobes
Air conditioning
Private balcony
Room service
Safe
Minibar
Refrigerator
Complimentary toiletries
Seating area
Telephone
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
5.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Luxury
Modern
Languages Spoken
Afrikaans

Location

Kruger National Park 1380 South Africa
Getting there
Ngala Airfield
11.7 km
See all flights
Hoedspruit Airport
23.9 km
See all flights
214Reviews19Q+A66Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 209
  • 2
  • 2
  • 0
  • 1
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Alissa T wrote a review Dec 2021
New Canaan, Connecticut151 contributions35 helpful votes
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
HIGHLY recommend staying at Makanyi! We stayed here two nights as part of our first trip to South Africa and it was perfection. The rooms are incredibly spacious, beautifully designed, and incredibly clean with both indoor and outdoor sitting areas with views of the watering holes. Service was not only top notch, but everyone truly made you feel like family. Rico and Carmen were so friendly and incredibly helpful. Our Ranger and Tracker team, Alfred and Themba, were so knowledgeable and kind. Peter made sure all of our dining experiences were A+ and that we always had a beverage in hand, and he succeeded.

Food was amazing in both quality and variety - breakfast (done after the pre-drive snack of muffins and juice, the morning drive snack of coffee/cocoa and biscuits/dried fruit) alone consists of a fruit plate, cheese plate, pastry basket, basket of toast, yogurt/granola, and then a choice of 10 different hot dishes of eggs/pancakes. Lunch, served around 1:00, had both heavy and light options and Tea, done before afternoon drive of 3:30, had delicious treats. The team made sure our afternoon game drive was stocked with each of our favorite alcoholic beverages, served overlooking beautiful scenery. Dinner served around 7:30 right after drive was always delicious and more food than one could ever eat!

The main lodge is so large and spacious, everyone staying on property could be using it at once with plenty of space to share both inside and out. There is a beautiful pool area with many places to relax to watch animals roam by.

In summary, we highly recommend this lodge for the impeccable service, wonderful food, and amazing game drives (Lions! Leopards! Etc!). We will forever treasure the memories and photographs we have from our stay.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: We loved our room six!
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Jessica Gold, Owner at Makanyi Private Game Lodge
Responded 19 Dec 2021
Dear Alissa, Thank you so much for your wonderful review of Makanyi and your recent stay with us. We are delighted you had such a great time and we hope to welcome you back again soon! Warm regards, Jessica
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Mdtravelingfamily wrote a review Oct 2022
Lisbon29 contributions22 helpful votes
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
This is a beautiful lodge that is run like a family operation with the highest level of service. The guides and trackers (we had Solomon and Saki) are very knowledgeable and pleasant. The food was top notch and included some local treats. Room was beautiful and we had views of the wildlife from our private patio and were serenaded by birds while we used the clean outdoor shower (with nice hot water and great water pressure).
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Jessica Gold, Owner at Makanyi Private Game Lodge
Responded 10 Oct 2022
Dear Mdtravelingfamily, Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay with us and for the lovely feedback. It was a pleasure to have you and we hope to welcome you again in the future. Warm regards, Jessica
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Amber D wrote a review Nov 2021
Cape Town Central, South Africa1,448 contribution294 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We enjoyed a lovely 3 night stay here with our friends at the villa . It’s a two bedroom unit with a lovely lounge, dining room and kitchen plus a large outside deck with your own pool , outside eating area , boma and lounge . You also start your game drive with a pick up in front of the villa .

It’s a super area for safaris and was still very green despite it being the dry season . This area is blessed with many water sources which means vegetation stays plentiful . We saw everything from leopard to jackals and the big 5 . Plus we had bats nesting in the outside eaves and owls at the pool.

Our lunches and dinners were good but breakfasts fell short . They were very basic cereal , yoghurt and fruit salad with a fry up . The bread was the store bought sliced variety . This would be adequate but we were at an upmarket lodge which in our experience sees homemade bread and rolls and pastries . Likewise there was no afternoon tea which is pretty standard in all better-end lodges . Plus we had to bring our own drinks on our night drive for sundowners. This is also something I have never experienced. Generally your ranger/tracker have a selection of drinks to choose from and if you are paying extra for drinks you are charged at the end on your final bill .

Otherwise we had a good trip .
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Jessica Gold, Owner at Makanyi Private Game Lodge
Responded 2 Nov 2021
Dear Amber, Thank you very much for your review of your recent stay with us. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay overall and we always welcome and value all feedback. I wanted to address some of the points you raised: we do make our own home made bread - rolls and other pastries. The only bread we don't make is toast, simply for the very nature of the type of bread it is. I'm sorry to hear this fell short of your expectations. With regards to the two other points being high tea and drinks for the drive - this is something we do normally offer as it is an all inclusive lodge. However, with the domestic special you had booked, the offer is different as the rate was very different and does not include alcoholic beverages. As such, you had the option of either bringing your own or purchasing different ones for game drives. I believe you had both brought some of your own and also bought some extra from us, if I'm not mistaken? Again, thank you for your lovely review and feedback. I am happy you had a good stay and we hope to welcome you again in the future. Kind regards, Jessica
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
RoyAgr wrote a review May 2021
Cape Town, South Africa94 contributions41 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Beautiful place, Bonus is the gym (If you like to workout on holiday). Food good. Lodge was well laid out, Rooms adequate, Good shower and beds,. Barmen could be a little more attentive eg serving refreshments at the pool. Had to fetch our own. Price included local wines but they were understocked and although we are not big drinkers, they soon ran out. We had to then buy our own. Game viewing was not great (not the lodge's fault) due to the thick bush following the heavy rains and the absence of other vehicles to report sightings. I was particularly annoyed when I left a tip to be shared with the staff and was told that they will get it net of VAT as I paid this with credit card and not cash. On return back home, I queried this and they undertook to pay the gross tip to the staff as was intended.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2021
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: Take sufficient cash to tip the staff. All rooms are well equipped. Dining areas are pleasing....
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Jessica Gold, Owner at Makanyi Private Game Lodge
Responded 19 May 2021
Dear Roy, Thank you for your review of your recent stay with us. We appreciate and value all feedback, which we take on board and improve where we can. I would like to address the points you raised as I find them inaccurate: 1. we emailed you a list of drinks and alcoholic beverages that are included in our domestic special rate. We also offer premium drinks, should you wish to purchase these separately. We never ran out of any of the beverages included in the rate so the ones that were charged for were the premium ones your group consumed. 2. as your group was the only group in the lodge, the barman and our GM, Rico, were always present to look after you. I undertsand that Rico asked your son if he could bring him beers, to which he replied no and that he would get them himself. 3. with regards to the VAT, our accountant sent you the documentation from both our accountants and from SARS. You also sent us an excerpt which indeed says that if the tips are given directly to a staff member as gratuity, it would not be taxable. However, as these were paid on your credit card to the establishment, it is seen as "income" and therefore subject to VAT. We have, however, absorbed the VAT and paid the full amount to the staff members, which they received with thanks. I hope you had a good stay with us regardless of these issues and we hope to welcome you and your family again in the future. Kind regards, Jessica
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Mark L wrote a review Oct 2022
Tucson, Arizona3 contributions3 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
In 2019 we booked a trip to South Africa and due to Covid we had to set the trip back until May of this year of 2022. We also extended our trip due to the delay to include 6 Private game Reserves with Makanyi being the last of the 6. The first 5 camps were outstanding. The service, the food, the accommodations, the communication, the animal viewing and our treatment was outstanding at all camps except Makanyi. When we arrived, we were met by a guide named Warren. Upon our arrival I told Warren we had been to 5 previous camps and the only thing we had not seen were the Wild Dogs. His statement was that they were very hard to see. Warren was not our guide but later that night met our guide and got the same response. The next day it was raining but decided to go out on the morning drive anyway. When we returned, we saw a Wild Dog about 5 minutes from the lodge. When I asked the guide about it and to pursue the dog our guide said it was just a lone dog probably out hunting and would be hard to track so he went back to the lodge. On a couple more conversations with our guide and Warren about Wild Dogs all that was said was that they were hard to spot. Due to the weather and the fact that there were really no animals to see we decided to leave a day early. That night we ran into a couple from Tennessee and discussed our disappoint about our trip and not being able to see any wild dogs. They said that that didn't make sense since there was a Wild Dog Den 5 minutes from the lodge, and they had been there twice. I was extremely disappointed to hear this so when we checked out in the morning, I discuss this with the manager and Warren. The comment was made that they do not guarantee animal sightings, Warren also made some comment about our guide not knowing where the dogs were or asking us about seeing the Wild Dogs. Seriously? We have been to Africa 5 times and in all cases the guides and the staff have all been dialed in on having their guests getting the best animal viewing and overall stay possible. The guides in all previous cases communicated daily to know where the animals were at and which areas they should go. If one guide saw something they would radio the other guides to let them know. The fact that they pick and choose who gets to see what animals and not being up front about the situation is totally unacceptable. Considering the time and expense to go there this is simple not right. When I explained my disappointment through my travel agent, I asked to be refunded for the one night we didn't stay there and what I felt was the mishandling of our situation. The owners through correspondence with our travel agent would not give me a refund and said that that their team and Warren were great. There are plenty of Private Lodges to stay at and usually they are extremely glad to have you as a customer, however in this case I would avoid this camp at all costs.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Jessica Gold, Owner at Makanyi Private Game Lodge
Responded 26 Oct 2022
Dear Z8936BMmarkl, We are surprised to receive this review from you because we have already had an exchange of emails with your agent and even sent a letter to you clarifying what actually did happen and why, which is very different from the version you wrote in your review. We understood you were unhappy from the moment you arrived, saying the road was terrible and the trip to us from another lodge was much longer than expected (this was due to the rain and poor road conditions so a 2 hour trip ended up being close to 4, which unfortunately is beyond our control). As a safari lodge our aim is not only to provide guests with an amazing overall experience but particularly to show guests the wildlife, which is what guests come for. It would make no sense whatsoever for any guide to deny guests this experience because that is what the guides are there for. The fact that you were upset with the weather and chose not to go out in the rain is entirely your choice, of course. However, it does make it very difficult and time limited for us to offer you the game viewing experience you wanted if you choose not to go on game drives. I believe you went on one, if I’m not mistaken? You say that other guests went to the den twice: this was before you arrived and when it was NOT raining. The only reason we could not take you to the den was specifically due to the rain and the ethicality that our rangers have, which the reserve also imposes. What I mean is that if the roads are soft because they're wet, we are not allowed to off-road. This is because it will damage the roads which, in turn, will also affect the animals and the wild dog puppies. As you know, this is a delicate habitat which we love to share with our guests but we also have a duty to preserve it. Therefore, in these cases, we have to respect the animals and the land. Our rangers do indeed communicate with each other but if a sighting is off limits due to specific circumstances, we have both ethicality and regulations rules we must abide to. With regards to a refund for the night you didn't stay, our cancellation, penalty and refund policies are clearly stated both on our website and are also well known by our travel partners and we cannot refund if a guest decides to leave early by choice. We are indeed sorry we did not live up to your expectations as we couldn't take you to the den site for reasons beyond our control and I trust this clarifies the matter. Regards, Jessica
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
sunny2929 wrote a review Dec 2022
Seattle, Washington37 contributions18 helpful votes
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I did a LOT of research before choosing Makanyi Lodge for our first safari experience and we could not have been happier. I wanted a more intimate lodge with excellent accommodations and great game viewing, and it could not have been better. The lodge is arranged with 7 separate units all facing the waterhole in close proximity to the property. This hole attracts a variety of animals all day long. Monkeys, baboons, baby warthogs, elephants, hyenas, impalas, and kudu were seen every day. The time spent in the bush was life altering. Our guide and the spotter had decades of experience working in the area and were able to show us everything on our list. Several times! We even saw African wild dogs...a rarity. I hd expected before the trip that I would be using binoculars to view the animals. Well, we literally were within 50-100 feet of every possible species. The videos my group of 7 were able to get look like something you would see on Animal Planet- especially when we watched a leopard take the baby impala he had recently killed to a new feeding location. The accommodations were world class. All staff were kind, patient, knowledgable, and engaged. A big surprise was the food- how is it that in th middle of the bush they can get better produce than we can in a major metropolitan city? The variety, freshness, and preparation were excellent. On the last day of our trip, our son turned 30 and the lodge had arranged for a pancake breakfast in the bush, with mimosas and a variety of toppings! We took advantage of spa services and had nice massages, spent our afternoons in the plunge pools, and did not want to leave at the end of the 4 day trip. Everyone in my travel party agreed it was the best trip we have ever taken, and we are pretty avid travelers. It is worth every penny to stay at this unique, memorable property!
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: All 7 rooms enjoy equal viewing opportunities of the watering hole.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Jessica Gold, Owner at Makanyi Private Game Lodge
Responded 21 Dec 2022
Dear Sunny2929, Thank you so much for your beautiful review of your recent stay with us. We are absolutely thrilled to read that you all thought it was the best trip you have ever taken! It was a pleasure having you and we hope to welcome you back for another experience soon. Warm regards, Jessica
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Greg H wrote a review Dec 2022
10 contributions3 helpful votes
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We chose Makanyi as our honeymoon destination and it was an absolutely magical experience! We were welcomed by Lillian and then well taken care of by our guide Warren, our tracker Robert, Peter, and Anja. We had high expectations after seeing photos of the lodge and all the positive reviews, and they were exceeded - The lodge and our room was amazing and extremely comfortable, the food was fantastic, and the entire staff made us feel like family and made sure our honeymoon was special. Warren was personable and made the extra effort to find all the animals on our list and was incredibly informative about the bush, animals, birds, bugs, plants and anything else we had questions on. We hired Anja to take professional photos for us and she was amazing to work with. Thank you to everyone at Makanyi, we can't wait to return!
Read more
Date of stay: December 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Jessica Gold, Owner at Makanyi Private Game Lodge
Responded 21 Dec 2022
Dear Greg H, Thank you so much for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. We are delighted to have exceeded your expectations and that everyone made you feel like family. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Happy holidays! Warm regards, Jessica
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jackie wrote a review Nov 2022
Port Louis9 contributions1 helpful vote
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We spent an exceptional four days at Makanyi, which has by far been my best African bush experience to date. From the time we arrived at the reception, we were warmly welcomed by the general managers, Rico and Carmen and the lovely lodge manager, Lilian. The five-star accommodation provides excellent views of the bush with frequent visits from the curious wild-life. The meals were expertly prepared and beyond delicious. Our guides extraordinary knowledge of the flora and fauna kept us riveted as we made our way through the beautiful African bush, sighting all of the Big 5 within the first two days. If you are looking for the ultimate African bush experience with a team of highly professional, dedicated, warm, friendly and knowledgeable staff, luxury accommodation and five-star meals, look no further as Makanyi provides all of this plus more. I shall certainly be back!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Jessica Gold, Owner at Makanyi Private Game Lodge
Responded 6 Nov 2022
Dear JackieD2063, Thank you for your wonderful review about Makanyi and your stay with us. The team is delighted that you had such a wonderful time and we can't wait to welcome you back! Warm regards, Jessica
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
SK1000 wrote a review Mar 2024
Dublin, Ireland142 contributions131 helpful votes
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
If we could have rated higher than 5/5 we would.

We arranged a 5 day stay in Makanyi to celebrate our 20th wedding anniversary.

Having been on safari before we undertook a lot of reviews and chose Makanyi and boy were we right.

From the moment we arrived and welcomed by the amazing Cecilia , Rico and Carmen we knew we were going to have the trip of a lifetime . Every day we were made to feel like VIPs . Everyone was so welcoming and friendly .

Our lodge was 5* plus , with every amenity possible, with a huge deck overlooking a large waterhole frequented by numerous wildlife .

The Chef Amos and his team were genius’s. The food was amazing . From the home made cakes before the morning game drive , to the breakfast choice, then lunch , then high tea before the evening game ride and finally dinner, every meal was an experience supplemented by copious amounts of superb wines and soft drinks.

Game drives were superb , led by Carl and Rondi our tracker , we had them to ourselves the whole week . Knowledgeable , caring, humorous , we had some great adventures locating the wildlife, which was plentiful, including an amazing array of birds and reptiles, as well as the big 5.

If you’re a hobbyist photographer, then this is paradise. Carl (lead ) and Rondi (tracker) did everything to ensure they got into the best positions to take some great shots, and their knowledge of all the animals and fauna was extensive . They really made the game drives , adventures.

If you’re after a place where you see the big 5 in a couple of hours this is not the place for you . The extent of the estate is huge and would take days to traverse . We just set out each morning and evening to enjoy the surroundings and company . Quick change after the evening ride and into the bar for pre
dinner drinks served by the head barman Amanda then onto a superb dinner. All to be repeated next day . If you fancy a spa treatment , can definitely recommend Lucia .

If you’re deliberating over booking , just do it , you won’t regret it . Fantastic!!
We’ll be back , hopefully for our 25th anniversary.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Jessica Gold, Owner at Makanyi Private Game Lodge
Responded 27 Mar 2024
Dear SK1000, How wonderful to read your beautiful review of your recent stay with us - thank you! I am delighted you had a wonderful time and indeed we hope to welcome you back for your 25th anniversary! Warm regards, Jessica
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Marshmellogirl wrote a review Feb 2023
Glazer20 contributions12 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We decided on this South African trip to visit the Timbavati area of Kruger and we were so pleased that we picked Makanyi.

This small lodge is beautifully kept and very well run. All members of staff are friendly and happy to chat and the plentiful food is so so well presented and delicious.

Our ranger Carl and tracker Rondi made our game drives with information not just on the animals but on the vegetation too.

We thoroughly enjoyed our 5 night stay and highly recommend the lodge.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Jessica Gold, Owner at Makanyi Private Game Lodge
Responded 5 Mar 2023
Dear Marshmellogirl, Thank you very much for your lovely review about your recent stay with us. We are delighted you loved it and we hope to welcome you back in the near future. Warm regards, Jessica
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Answer from Jessica G
London, United Kingdom32 contributions87 helpful votes
Hi there, and thank you for your message. Makanyi is putting a policy in place that will ensure guests can book with confidence so that should governmental action (relating to Covid) prevent a trip to Makanyi, guests will be able to amend or cancel without penalty. Please email our reservations team for more info and the policy. Many thanks!
SassyRassy10 asked a question Aug 2020
New York City, New York80 contributions39 helpful votes
Hello, we are planning a safari in October 2021. How soon should we book?
Answer from Jessica G
London, United Kingdom32 contributions87 helpful votes
Hi! Thank you for your enquiry. We do still have some availability for next October, however it is filing up quickly especially because a lot of bookings from this year have postponed their stay to next year. Please email reservations who will be happy to assist. Many thanks, Jessica
Victoria W asked a question Mar 2020
New York City, New York65 contributions18 helpful votes
Are you giving refunds for travelers impacted by the corona virus pandemic?
Answer from Jessica G
London, United Kingdom32 contributions87 helpful votes
Dear Traveltoria, Thank you for your message. We do have a policy in place for this unprecedented situation. Please get in touch with us directly with your booking details and we can work on rebooking your holiday. Stay safe.
Answer from Jessica G
London, United Kingdom32 contributions87 helpful votes
Hi Diana, Thank you for your message. Yes, there is WiFi in the suites, as well as in the main lodge and common areas. Kind regards, Jessica
Amy K asked a question Sept 2018
new york7 contributions3 helpful votes
What time are the safaris this time of year and how long is each one?
Answer from Jessica G
London, United Kingdom32 contributions87 helpful votes
Hi Amy, Thank you for your message. As we’re going into our summer season, the morning games drives are at 6:00 am and the afternoon ones at 4:00 pm. They usually last around 3 hours each. Kind regards, Jessica
Lucy wrote a tip Mar 2024
Northampton 30 contributions4 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Don’t even think about it … book! "
Read full review
Travellingsista wrote a tip Dec 2023
Tamworth, United Kingdom48 contributions2 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Pack layers of clothing - we experienced various weather in November."
Read full review
BarterIslandBonsai wrote a tip Dec 2023
Boothbay, Maine23 contributions4 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"October was a great time for Greater Kruger. Only one day of rain during which the animals seek shelter and are harder to spot."
Read full review
Christine W wrote a tip Nov 2023
Gloucester, United Kingdom9 contributions4 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Use the Spa - it's fab "
Read full review
Kmd379 wrote a tip Aug 2023
London, United Kingdom12 contributions7 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Try to have a treatment at the spa, it was wonderfully relaxing"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Timbavati Private Nature Reserve area.
PRICE RANGE
$2,631 - $2,711 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
South AfricaKruger National ParkTimbavati Private Nature Reserve
NUMBER OF ROOMS
8
Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

MAKANYI PRIVATE GAME LODGE - Reviews & Price Comparison (Timbavati Private Nature Reserve, South Africa) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Makanyi Private Game Lodge
What are some of the property amenities at Makanyi Private Game Lodge?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a pool.
Which room amenities are available at Makanyi Private Game Lodge?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Makanyi Private Game Lodge?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Makanyi Private Game Lodge?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Makanyi Private Game Lodge?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and a fitness centre during their stay.
Does Makanyi Private Game Lodge have airport transportation?
Yes, Makanyi Private Game Lodge offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at Makanyi Private Game Lodge?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
FlightsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire