The Amala Boutique Retreat
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

The Amala Boutique Retreat

Traveller (1249)
Spa Villa overlooking swimming pool
Room & Suite (496)
Bamboo Restaurant
Dining (186)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

4.5
#27 of 129 hotels in Seminyak
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.8 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Value
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
In the ancient Sanskrit language, Amala means pure and unspoiled. The word has endured over the centuries and today graces the latest wellness retreat on the magical island of Bali. The small and discreet Amala offers its guests an oasis of tranquility, a world away from the stresses and pains of daily life. The Amala is an exquisitely designed collection of 15 luxurious villas, including the intimate Honeymoon Pool Villa, the magnificent Amala Residence, and additional 2 units of Studio Rooms. At the heart, and soul, of the lush and peaceful grounds stands TULA Wellness, a modern holistic spa with one of the most comprehensive and creative ranges of wellness treatments as well as wellness retreats in Seminyak. Children under 12 years old are not accommodated in our Spa Villas and Studios to preserve the wellness character of the resort yet are welcome in our Pool Villas and Two- and Three-Bedroom Amala Estates, ideally for families and located adjacent to The Amala.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Valet parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Yoga classes
Free breakfast
Children's television networks
Highchairs available
Free airport transportation
Wifi
Hot bath
Pool / beach towels
Swimming pool toys
Pool with view
Adult pool
Outdoor pool
Private pool
Shallow end in pool
Yoga room
Fitness / spa changing rooms
Personal trainer
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Complimentary welcome drink
Happy hour
Kids' meals
Special diet menus
Free shuttle or taxi services
Airport transportation
Shuttle bus service
Car hire
Taxi service
Spa
Body wrap
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Foot bath
Foot massage
Full body massage
Hand massage
Head massage
Massage
Neck massage
Open-air bath
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Concierge
Currency exchange
Gift shop
Mosquito net
Sun deck
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun terrace
Butler service
First aid kit
Umbrella
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Room features
Blackout curtains
Bathrobes
Air conditioning
Additional bathroom
Desk
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Bidet
Dining area
Housekeeping
Room service
Safe
Seating area
Separate dining area
Separate living room
Sofa
Telephone
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Bottled water
Clothes rack
Laptop safe
Private bathrooms
Tile / marble floor
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Kitchenette
Minibar
Refrigerator
Electric kettle
Kitchenware
Flatscreen TV
Walk-in shower
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Quaint
Boutique
Languages Spoken
English, Chinese, German, Indonesian and 1 more

Location

Jl. Kunti I No. 108, Seminyak 80361 Indonesia
Getting there
Great for walkers
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 96 out of 100
96
Bali Ngurah Rai Airport
982Reviews33Q+A100Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 777
  • 159
  • 30
  • 8
  • 8
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
James wrote a review Jan 2020
London, United Kingdom
5.0 of 5 bubbles
The Amala is a tasteful hotel and spa. It felt luxurious, without being OTT. Whilst in the middle of the hustle and bustle of Seminyak, it was extremely tranquil and chilled out. We stayed in one of the rooms with a plunge pool, which was totally private and beautifully laid out (it was hard to tear yourself away to go and explore). The staff were fantastic and did everything they could to make sure you had a first-class experience. It's a short taxi ride (depending on traffic) to the beach. The staff at reception were more than happy to order cabs for us (always Blue Bird taxis, which usually cost around £1.60 if you're heading to the nearest part of the beach). I loved it and wouldn't hesitate to stay there again.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from cgmamala, General Manager at The Amala Boutique Retreat
Responded 1 Jan 2020
Dear iamjamesbrian, Happy New Year from The Amala! Thank you so much for your wonderful review. It was a real pleasure having you with us at The Amala and I am very pleased to read you had such a memorable time with us. I am delighted to know that you have enjoyed the Spa Villa with plunge pool, the service provided as well as our private and tranquil location in Seminyak. Thank you very much for your praises about our team. I am glad to share this review with the entire Amala Family. Feedback like yours provide great motivation and are a much appreciated acknowledgement of the hard work that the team is doing every day to deliver only the best experiences. Thank you for your kind patronage! Please do not hesitate to contact us directly at bliss@theamala.com or bliss@theamalaestate.com for any assistance with your future bookings at The Amala or The Amala Estate. Once again, on behalf of the team, thank you so much. With PassionForLife, Roy Suer and The Amala & The Amala Estate Family Cluster General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Tarni T wrote a review Jan 2020
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
5.0 of 5 bubbles
stayed here for 5 nights just after Christmas. The driver picked us up and it was a very relaxing ride, water was offered and a very clean maintained car, he was very friendly and informative.

When we arrived at the Amala, reception was waiting for us with a nice cool drink and cold towels and we had a speedy checkin, , our room was ready and were escorted to our pool room.....It was so peaceful, all you could hear was the water running through the pool, there was an outdoor living area with comfortable seating and a TV, ceiling fans and a small kitchen, everything in the bar fridge was complimentary, there was a water cooler , and it also dispensed hot water for making tea or coffee.....inside was the bedroom with the most comfortable bed and pillows and another TV, air conditioner was good.

The bathroom had a bath and a rain forest shower with full amenities, even had razors and shaving cream which was useful as my partner had forgotten to bring his.
The staff at the Amala were terrific, nothing was too much trouble and always organised a free shuttle when we needed it to do some shopping.I can't speak highly enough of how comfortable and relaxed the whole time there was, and having such wonderful service from all of the staff made it more enjoyable, even my partner said he'd like to return....so thank you Amala for making our holiday so pleasant . from Patricia Tann and Les Francis from Australia.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from cgmamala, General Manager at The Amala Boutique Retreat
Responded 5 Jan 2020
Dear Patricia, dear Francis, Happy New Year! Thank you very much for your lovely review. It was a real pleasure having you with us at The Amala and I am delighted to know that you had a wonderful with us, enjoying the resort, the pool villa and the surroundings to the fullest. It is also really joyful to read that you have thoroughly enjoyed the various activities present within The Amala. What I am most happy about is to read that the team's efforts could make your stay so enjoyable and memorable. As we are one big family, providing service from the heart, we especially appreciate your Kudos to the team as well as your appreciation of our attention to details. I have shared your rewarding review with all team members. Please do not hesitate to contact us directly at bliss@theamala.com or at bliss@theamalaestate.com for any assistance with your future bookings at The Amala or The Amala Estate - we would be delighted to be able to welcome you back to your Bali island home! Once again, on behalf of the team, thank you so much. With PassionForLife, Roy Suer and The Amala & The Amala Estate Family Cluster General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
KB2710 wrote a review Mar 2020
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We were very warmly greeted on arrival and upgraded to a spa room, what a wonderful start to our stay in Bali!! Spotlessly clean and breakfast was good too, beautifully prepared food to order with a huge selection to suit all tastes. We can highly recommend the cookery class on site with the hotels wonderful experienced chef. Will definitely be trying to recreate the dishes when we get home.

While the hotel is a half walk to the beach, the hotel chauffeur will gladly take you anywhere you want to go in Seminyak. We went to the beach a few times and found our way back which gave us the opportunity to explore areas we otherwise wouldn’t have.

So many shops and restaurants within a stones throw of the hotel, it’s easy to find whatever you want or need.

Would highly recommend, thank you Amala team for taking such good care of us.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Roy Suer, General Manager at The Amala Boutique Retreat
Responded 7 Mar 2020
Dear K8VGC, Sunny greetings from The Amala! Reading your review is very rewarding for us and I would like to Thank you very much for such wonderful words. It was a real pleasure having you with us at The Amala and I am very pleased to read you had such a memorable time with us, enjoying the resort, the pool villa and the surroundings to the fullest. It is also really joyful to read that you have thoroughly enjoyed the various activities present within The Amala, such as the Balinese Cooking Class, which indeed is very famous and we are excited that you are taking back the recipes to create Balinese dishes at home! As you well point out, our location is indeed very convenient, near to the happening places, the beach as well as plenty of interesting shops and restaurants to discover. What I am most happy about is to read that the team's efforts could make your stay so enjoyable and memorable. As we are one big family, providing service from the heart, we especially appreciate your Kudos to the team as well as your appreciation of our attention to details. Rest assured that I will personally forward your motivating words. Please feel free to contact us directly at bliss@theamala.com or bliss@theamalaestate.com for any assistance with your future bookings at The Amala or The Amala Estate. Once again, on behalf of the team, thank you so much. With PassionForLife, Roy Suer and The Amala & The Amala Estate Family Cluster General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
JFC291219 wrote a review Feb 2020
Hertfordshire, United Kingdom
5.0 of 5 bubbles
My husband and I visited the Amala on our Honeymoon; spending 4 nights here. The resort is modern, fresh and constantly being maintained. On arrival they were just finishing off a new wellness suite!

We had a spa villa during our stay and it was wonderful! (There were some light touch ups that needed to be done i.e. decking a little broken, shower a little wobbly and so on... general room maintenance) BUT it was a gorgeous room. The bed was very comfortable and the room extremely spacious. The added touch of a different fresh fruit each day was lovely. With the addition of the turn down service (which we didn’t know was offered!) we had a wonderful 4 nights sleep!

On our first night we enjoyed the couples candle lit dinner for two in our village and we cannot fault a thing. The decoration was beautiful and the dinner was delicious! We were also fortunate enough to book a couple cooking class and WOW! The chef (teacher) and food were outstanding. It was a wonderful experience and such a great way to spend the afternoon.

The spa at the Amala was sensational! I opted for the Golden Spoon facial and couldn’t have chosen better. With drinks provided and a relaxing, calming atmosphere it was a lovely way to spend our first day in Seminyak.

If you are looking for somewhere to escape the outside world and be with the person you are travelling with this resort is the one for you. You can go out or simply spend the day relaxing by your own private pool!

The resort is a 15 min walk from Seminyak beach and we found it quite easily. You can get a taxi (blue bird only!) but the walk is just fine.

The staff are kind, easy to talk to and go the extra mile!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from cgmamala, General Manager at The Amala Boutique Retreat
Responded 6 Feb 2020
Dear JFC291219 Thank you so much for such a lovely feedback on your experience at The Amala. Your portrayal of your experience at The Amala from the moment of arrival is truly an inspirational read not only for our team members but also for future guest and we are so thankful for that. It is also really joyful to read that you have thoroughly enjoyed the various activities present within The Amala, such as the Bamboo Restaurant, our Balinese Cooking Class at The Workshop as well as our Spa. Please do not hesitate to contact us directly at bliss@theamala.com or at bliss@theamalaestate.com for any assistance with your future bookings at The Amala or The Amala Estate - we would be delighted to be able to welcome you back to your Bali island home! Once again, on behalf of all of us, thank you so much. With PassionForLife, Roy Suer and The Amala & The Amala Estate Family Cluster General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Stu wrote a review Sept 2022
Lalor, Australia
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Like many reviews before this one, for a couple celebrating a honeymoon or anniversary, I couldn’t recommend the Amala highly enough in term of feeling special and welcome. All staff made my wife and I feel very welcome and throughout our stay they surprised us with rose petal designs and a hot bath that had been run. They personalised the messages and took the time to learn a little about us as a couple.

The accomodation is nice enough on the surface and the ‘Villa with private pool’ was pleasant and indeed private. The pool is a good size for a couple with seating and lounging spaces. However, the accomodation does need some TLC as there are cracked/broken tiles, deteriorating paneling and limescale on the shower rain head etc.

The mosquitos, however, are the toughest thing to overcome, especially if you’re a gourmet meal like myself. The outdoor bathroom/shower is great on paper but a nightmare in practice. That’s not to say that the staff didn’t do what they could to reduce the mozzies I.e daily turn down service to light coils etc.

Location isn’t ideal but it’s only a 15-20 min walk to the heart of Seminyak and there are plenty of nearby cafes and restaurants which serve great food.

The Amala is upgrading their Spa and Wellness Centre (perhaps why the accomodation isn’t maintained) and the Spa treatments and service, again, were excellent. I see this being a strength of the Amala moving forward.

Overall, whilst the villas need some TLC and the mozzies needing to be kept at bay, we really enjoyed our time at the Amala. I couldn’t speak highly of the service (which probably glosses over some of the physical faults the Amala has) and would recommend a stay if you’re willing to overlook its flaws.

Thank you for a wonderful stay.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Roy Suer, General Manager at The Amala Boutique Retreat
Responded 20 Oct 2022
Dear ozzieram Thank you very much for choosing The Amala for your recent stay with us. I very much appreciate your extensive review and feedback on your experience. We have recently added new facilities to our resort that focus on the Wellness aspect, as you well describe. We added a small gym, equipped with cycle, treadmill, bench and dumbbells - and are about to open the new welcome lounge of our Spa and Wellness Centre, nestled in our lush gardens across the Yoga studio and spa boutique. I agree with you, our increased focus on Spa and Wellness will be a strength of the Amala moving forward. We do rotate through all our villas and resort following a monthly maintenance schedule and have increased maintenance efforts, now in the first phase of recovery for Bali. I apologize for the disturbances and shortcomings you have experienced, we have clearly missed the mark there. Rest assured we are taking your feedback very seriously. With regards to mosquitos, we doubled down on our weekly mosquito control efforts (our resort works with a local pest controller, the resort is being fumigated on a weekly basis), by employing a biologist consultant. Further, all villas are equipped with mosquito coils and electrical mosquito traps. Unfortunately, Bali being in a tropical climate, does have mosquitos, and intensities vary based on season, yet we strive to keep the resort mosquito free. Thank you very much indeed for your kind feedback and for your compliments and recommendation. Kind regards Roy Suer Cluster General Manager The Amala & The Amala Estate bliss@theamala.com
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Alvin W wrote a review Dec 2021
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Staying at this hotel during our first trip to bali made our trip that much more enjoyable.

The staff is amazing. Wawan and ran helped us from coordinating breakfast all the way to coordinating transportation. Extremely attentive and kind.

The layout and location of the villas were great since it gave us the flexibility to cook ourselves and relax as if we were home or head to the restaurants that were a stone throw away. The location is unbeatable since it is walking distance to some of the best restaurants, shopping, and beach clubs that seminyak has to offer.

Went to the spa treatment twice and it was one of the best treatments I've ever had. The perfect way to start off a vacation.

Will definitely be back
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Roy Suer, General Manager at The Amala Boutique Retreat
Responded 3 May 2022
Dear 245alvinw, Thank you very much for choosing The Amala for your first trip to Bali, and for taking the time to share your feedback on your recent stay with us. We are more than humbled reading your review and thrilled to know that you had a relaxing time and I am happy to read that you enjoyed your villa, the location, and the service experience, especially the spa. As you point out, our location is indeed very convenient, near to the happening places, close to the beach as well as shops and restaurants in Seminyak. What I am most happy about is reading that the team's efforts could make your stay so enjoyable and memorable. Once again, thank you very much for sharing your honest review to other travelers on TripAdvisor. Please do not hesitate to contact us directly at bliss@theamala.com for any assistance with your future bookings at The Amala or The Amala Estate. With PassionForLife, Roy Suer Cluster General Manager The Amala & The Amala Estate
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Ing91 wrote a review Jul 2022
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
My husband and I stayed here for our honeymoon/1st anniversary (they were rolled into 1 thanks to covid!). We were totally blown away by the beautiful villa, the kindness of the staff, and the amazing food.

The Amala is like a secluded paradise but within walking distance to restaurants, shops and the beautiful Seminyak beach. Breakfast was beautiful and there was good variety.

We were very kindly upgraded to a pool villa and on our anniversary they surprised us with a flower bath in the villa. It really made our stay so special. From the minute we arrived, the Amala team were so friendly, welcoming and kind.

The hotel offers a driver to take you to the beach (when available) which was excellent for the days we didn’t fancy walking in. When the driver wasn’t available the lovely reception staff would book a taxi which worked out at about £1.

All in all, the Amala made our honeymoon and anniversary so special and we would 100% recommend it to everyone!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Roy Suer, General Manager at The Amala Boutique Retreat
Responded 14 Jul 2022
Dear Ing91, Thank you so much for choosing The Amala for your recent stay in Bali, and for taking the time to share your feedback here on TripAdvisor. I am very humbled reading your review and I am thrilled to know that you and your husband had an amazing anniversary moment. Especially now, where the world and our industry face huge challenges, your review is very much rewarding. Thank you for your detailed review on the experiences throughout your stay, and for your generous compliments towards the team. I will share your review with pleasure with every team member of The Amala Family. Please do not hesitate to contact us directly at bliss@theamala.com or bliss@theamalaestate.com for any assistance with your future booking at The Amala or The Amala Estate. Again, thank you very much, stay safe and healthy, With PassionForLife, Roy Suer and The Amala & The Amala Estate Family Cluster General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Eva wrote a review Nov 2023
Bali, Indonesia
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I spent two nights at the Amala for some me time and rejuvenation and i loved it.
I felt very nourished, safe and well taken care of by the hotel staff. I liked how the resort was kept intimate and prompt to keeping in touch with me when it came to ordering my food or booking in a massage. My highlights were their refreshing tea selection and beverages, their yummy miso soup and a flower bath ritual in the most gorgeous spa room. The hotel was well groomed and inviting and i tried their yoga session in the morning too which they offer for hotel guests. I loved their in room skin care products from sensatia botanica which were absolutely divine.
Thank you so much for gifting me the most gorgeous rest and relaxation :)
Read more
Date of stay: October 2023
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Roy Suer, General Manager at The Amala Boutique Retreat
Responded 15 Nov 2023
Dear evainbali, We are delighted to learn that you had a relaxing time here with us at The Amala. We much appreciate you taking the time to write this feedback and to recommend us to other travelers. We are pleased to learn that you liked the private pool villa and found the service and care remarkable. It is rewarding to read your lovely words about our fantastic team, which I will gladly share. We hope to have the pleasure of hosting you again in the near future. Kind regards, Roy Suer Cluster General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Dimi V F wrote a review Dec 2023
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Our group of 7 stayed in a 3 bedroom villa that was exceptionally clean and well fitted out to cater to the diverse needs of such a large number of people. The villa and surrounding grounds of the Amala provided a welcome retreat from the busyness of Seminyak. The highlight were the staff who were extremely accommodating to our requests, and always carried out every task competently, efficiently and with a smile.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2023
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Roy Suer, General Manager at The Amala Boutique Retreat
Responded 20 Mar 2024
Dear Dimi V F, Thank you for sharing your experience of your recent stay at The Amala on Tripadvisor! We are delighted to hear that you and your group enjoyed a perfect family holiday with us. It's wonderful to know that our 3-bedroom Estate met all your needs and provided a comfortable retreat for your group. We take pride in maintaining high standards of cleanliness and ensuring that our villas are well-fitted to cater to our guests' diverse needs. We greatly appreciate your kind words about our staff. Providing exceptional service with a smile is our priority, and we're thrilled that our team was able to accommodate all your requests competently and efficiently. If you ever plan to visit Seminyak again, we would be honored to welcome you and your family back to The Amala for another memorable stay. Please feel free to reach out to us at bliss@theamala.com for any future bookings or inquiries. Warm regards, Roy Suer Regional Director & The Amala Family
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Alice P wrote a review May 2024
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
The Amala is such a beautiful place to stay, with every amenity and comfort you could ask for accompanied by friendly and professional service from all staff.

With the Bamboo Restaurant and Tula Wellness on site, you are hard pressed to want to leave the resort as everything you need is catered for.

During our 7 day stay we were treated to delicious meals at the Bamboo Restaurant where the food is flavourful and the portions are perfect, as well as the cooking class hosted by Putu which was a delight.

We also enjoyed several Balinese massages at Tula Wellness which were an absolute highlight on our trip! Every muscle was left relaxed, with the ritual and care taken during each appointment making it so much more special.

The spa villa is well appointed, and the exceptional housekeeping service ensured we were comfortable and accommodated each day, including a turn down service each night and laundering available. The Amala also offer a free drop off service locally in Seminyak which was incredibly handy when we wanted to stop by shops and beaches.

The most fantastic part of The Amala is by far the staff - friendly, professional, and good quality people who understands how to make you feel at home. We are very grateful to have had the opportunity to stay here and look forward to our next visit.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2024
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Booking a package was a great option as the food offered on site is delicious. Prices for all...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
EssexDassy asked a question Apr 2019
Essex3 contributions2 helpful votes
Hi... is it possible to have twin beds in the room??
Answer from Roy
Denpasar, Indonesia
Dear EssexDassy, Yes..we do have twin bed as you require
Answer from MartaTheAmala
Seminyak, Indonesia1 contribution1 helpful vote
Dear Marissa, Thank you very much for your kind question and your interest in staying with us. We have very limited availability for the requested period and we cannot offer you a room for every night you are looking for. Please send us en email to (bliss@theamala - full email address on our website) and we will let you know if we have any cancellation, we can also give you some other accommodation options if we are not available at all. We are part of Lifestyle Retreats and you can stay in 5 other hotels around Bali. Anyway, we look forward to seeing you at Amala resort (you might want to check out our popular Balinese Cooking Class and and renowned Spa & Wellness studio. With PassionForLife, Marta & The Amala Family Operations Manager
Answer from MartaTheAmala
Seminyak, Indonesia1 contribution1 helpful vote
Dear travelinjohnson, Greetings from sunny Bali. Thank you so much for your interest on our resort. In regards to your question, please note that access to the beach is rather simple. Seminyak beach is within walking distance, at about 20 min away. We also provide a complimentary shuttle beach to Seminyak area and the ride is a mere 5 min. Motorbike and taxi cabs are widely available as well for just a small fee. Let me know if you need to know anything else. With PassionForLife, Marta & The Amala Family Operations Manager
jillydb wrote a tip Yesterday
Auckland Central, New Zealand14 contributions3 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Take ear plugs as you may be woken during the night by the call of the yokek lizard."
Read full review
Aztec007 wrote a tip 14 Jun
Auckland New Zealand118 contributions112 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Take mosquito repellent there are a lot of them about even with the resort doing heaps of spraying."
Read full review
Kiresha1647 wrote a tip 13 Jun
Singapore, Singapore20 contributions29 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Must add breakfast to your stay!"
Read full review
Alice P wrote a tip May 2024
10 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Booking a package was a great option as the food offered on site is delicious. Prices for all amenities are very reasonable."
Read full review
FionaG913 wrote a tip May 2024
Victoria, Australia46 contributions8 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"A little distance from the main beach but it’s easy to walk or the staff can organise you a lift. Good supermarket and pharmacy nearby."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Seminyak area.
PRICE RANGE
$139 - $374 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
the amala hotel seminyak
LOCATION
IndonesiaBaliKuta DistrictSeminyak
NUMBER OF ROOMS
16
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

THE AMALA BOUTIQUE RETREAT - Now $191 (Was $̶4̶1̶6̶) - UPDATED 2024 Hotel Reviews & Price Comparison (Seminyak, Indonesia) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about The Amala Boutique Retreat
Which popular attractions are close to The Amala Boutique Retreat?
Nearby attractions include Cafe Moka (0.5 km), Reva Jewellery - Boutique (0.4 km), and Santai Shisha (0.2 km).
What are some of the property amenities at The Amala Boutique Retreat?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a pool.
Which room amenities are available at The Amala Boutique Retreat?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, a minibar, and air conditioning.
What food & drink options are available at The Amala Boutique Retreat?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and complimentary tea during their stay.
Is parking available at The Amala Boutique Retreat?
Yes, valet parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Amala Boutique Retreat?
Conveniently located restaurants include Rev Bistro, Italian Corner Bali, and Wild Habit Pizza.
Are there opportunities to exercise at The Amala Boutique Retreat?
Yes, guests have access to a pool, locker rooms available in the fitness centre, and yoga classes during their stay.
Does The Amala Boutique Retreat have an airport shuttle?
Yes, The Amala Boutique Retreat offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Does The Amala Boutique Retreat have airport transportation?
Yes, The Amala Boutique Retreat offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at The Amala Boutique Retreat?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at The Amala Boutique Retreat?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, German, Chinese, Japanese, and Indonesian.
All Seminyak HotelsSeminyak Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in SeminyakHotels near The Amala Boutique Retreat
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday HomesTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire