We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Moana Lodge

Traveller (81)
Room & Suite (21)
Dining (10)
About
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Superbly located for an exceptional beachfront experience, Moana Lodge offers excellent accommodation facilities combined with amazing sea views. Just ten steps from the water’s edge and overlooking Plimmerton Bay, it provides the ultimate stay for a peaceful relaxing break. Being a 5 star backpackers, all facilities are immaculate and well kept. With a fully equipped farmhouse kitchen, outdoor courtyard, and friendly welcoming hosts, you can be assured of a relaxing stay. We are situated just 20 mins from Wellington city, with easy access to public transport. At the end of a fun filled day you can come back, relax, and enjoy a wine in our sunny courtyard! We offer a range of rooms catering for groups, families, couples and individuals, plus backpackers travelling alone (with our 4-bed share room). Quoted by Lonely Planet: “this exceptional backpackers right on the beach is immaculate and inviting”. Moana Lodge has achieved the Trip Advisor Certificate of Excellence from 2012 - 2017
Read more
Property amenities
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Free Parking
Non-Smoking Hotel
Self-Serve Laundry
Room features
Family Rooms
Kitchenette
Non-Smoking Rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Great View
HOTEL CLASS
Reviews & more
131Reviews
98Photos
0Q+A
33Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 89
  • 29
  • 11
  • 1
  • 1
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More languages
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
If you don't mind loud drunken parties until nearly 1:00am, people running down the hall after midnight asking others if they want to smoke weed, domestic disputes at 3 am, "staff" clad only in a towel walking up to the bathroom saying "Fu**" when they discover it's occupied by
Read more
Response from BeachViews49, Manager at Moana Lodge
Responded 2 weeks ago
Having read your review, and from our end we having reviewed all our CCTV tapes (which monitor all the main public and communal areas inside and outside) for the night of your stay, it seems that many aspects of this night have been inaccurately conveyed through your review. The person (and his partner) who was making the noise in the adjoining room, and returning from the bathroom in a towel, was actually another guest. It is not ideal in any way that a guest can be inconsiderate, and disrupt fellow guests, and for that we apologise. For some reason, you had assumed this person, and the noise coming from this room to be a staff member, of which we can fully refute. It is a pity that you didn't actually call us on the number we publicly display within our facility, so that one of our staff could have quickly addressed and sorted the situation. You seemed to have jumped to a lot of assumptions, which obviously did not help you have an enjoyable stay. We are unable to 24 x 7 guarantee the behaviour of all our guests, and that is why we provide a contact phone number. We installed CCTV cameras to ensure all our guests do have a safe and secure stay, and it is times like these we can also refer to these, to accurately determine the events. We are a 5 star backpackers, and we take great pride in providing a very clean, tidy and well kept premises. And I am sorry that the guest next door to you, must have had a few drinks with his partner, and for some reason ended up having a kind of domestic between themselves, and the resulting noise could be heard from your nearby room. With our contact phone number clearly displayed, this situation could have easily been addressed if you had called us to convey your concerns. As I said, we do apologise for your less than ideal stay, and be assured we do encourage all guests to be considerate to other guests during their stay.
Read more
Wow. Location location. Right in front of sea. Can hear the waves! Room and bed comfortable. Super clean. Shared toilets and bathrooms . We had room with queen bed and single on corner with sea views. Beautiful. Downstairs big kitchen dining room and lounge. Wifi .Was very
Read more
The room was reasonable but rather compact. The showers were fairly low power and weren’t ideal. We had a room at the front of the lodge and could hear the sea all night as there was a poor seal around the window. On the plus side, the kitchen facilities and communal spaces are
Read more
Response from BeachViews49, Manager at Moana Lodge
Responded 10 Oct 2018
Eddie, I am glad that you enjoyed our great kitchen facilities and communal spaces. With regard to the comment you made about our showers, these are all using a standard low-pressure system, and provide a reasonable amount of a shower experience, to meet the needs of most of our guests. We do appreciate that they are not a state-of-the-art, high-pressure, shower system, but certainly provide a very good level of experience. As such, we very rarely get any kind of complaint about our showers, as many find them sufficient during their stay. The other comment, with regard to hearing the sea during the night, would be more based around the fact that our purpose-built guesthouse, built in 1926, is fitted with wooden window frames and single glazing. Part of the style and ambience we have tried to capture and continue with, is to keep with the original style of the building from its initial date of build. Single glazing does allow a little bit more noise to permeate through, than double glazing, but we do value the style and look of our beautiful facility. We recognise we have made some of those conscious decisions around certain fittings within the hostel, but we do install certain additional features, including additional sealings around the window, to deliver a quality level of accommodation that meets the needs of the modern world.
Read more
Moana belongs to the BBH network of backpackers in NZ. We booked it long time in advance as it seems very popular. Here everything depends on the room you get. Unfortunately ours was (too) small and facing the bathroom corridor. So, noisy. Nice owner. You get to Wellington by
Read more
Response from BeachViews49, Manager at Moana Lodge
Responded 13 Dec 2017
Hi Jobst56, thank you for your feedback as we always like to hear from our guests. This includes both the positive and also other useful points raised. From how you commented on the room that you had, and that you stated you booked a long time in advance, it makes me wonder if you think we are allocating rooms on a basis of early-ness of booking. With our backpackers we have a range of different types and sizes of rooms, and when guests are making their booking, they are choosing a specific type of room. With our Double Rooms they are smaller than our larger Family Rooms or seafront rooms, so possibly the wrong type the room was selected at the point of making your booking. We are always happy to advise our guests on our range of rooms, and if you would like to discuss these options at the time of making booking, simply give us a call and we can happily talk to you in greater detail about the different room options. I appreciate that sometimes it isn’t always easy to see purely from a website, the specifics of the room options, so we encourage all prospective guests if they wish to talk about the various rooms to call us directly. With regard to the comment you made about your room being situated near the bathroom area, we clearly have signs up nearby on the walls in the corridor asking guests to keep the noise down and respect the fact that other guests nearby are possibly still sleeping. And we do provide a phone number on that notice for anyone to raise any concern regarding noise levels. Also, if that too is a particular requirement regarding your preferences of room type, we can also advise our guests on the more suitable room options. And finally, on the other point you raised, Moana Lodge is an independent backpackers, and we are a “Member” of the BBH network, and not owned by that network in any way. In closing, thank you for your feedback, and the main out-take for any other guests reading this review, is that if they have any specific kind of room requirements, or they are not sure of the best option regarding room type, to simply give us a call. And, if on arrival you find you have possibly not made the right decision, please talk to us at the reception desk, and if other room options are available to upsize to etc. we can certainly do our best to accommodate this, however the respective room rates will apply in that circumstance.
Read more
It is a great little place to stay. People friendly and overall very comfortable. The room was clean and the beds comfortable. Easy access to Wellington without the Wellington prices!!. Excellent value for money, would use again.
Read more
Previous
Album Categories
All photosTravellerRoom & SuiteDining Pool & BeachFamily and Play Areas
Ocean-front views at Moana Lodge
seesight from the room
the room
The corner room
Hostel front view
PreviousNext
12345
"chose the room with the view"
"Wonderful and cozy lounge facing the bay, very friendly atmosphere"
"Room 9 is upstairs, is a double room, with the water directly opposite.....beautiful. Quite a few rooms enjoy such a view."
"Ask for a room upstairs."
"outstanding views, ocean-front location, well-equipped amenities"
PreviousNext
1234567
PRICE RANGE
US$56 - US$82 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
New ZealandNorth IslandGreater WellingtonPoriruaPlimmerton
NUMBER OF ROOMS
14
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing