We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Moana Lodge

Traveller (79)
Room & Suite (21)
Dining (10)
Overview
49 Moana Road, Plimmerton, Porirua 5026 New Zealand See on map
AMENITIES
Free Wifi
Free Parking
Beachfront
Non-Smoking Hotel
Family Rooms
Kitchenette
Self-Serve Laundry
2 Star accommodation
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerAttributes":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget"}}
Reviews (129)
Filter reviews
108 results
Traveller rating
73
24
10
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
73
24
10
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews train station ground level easy access shared facilities lounge bay nz upstairs backpackers moana
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 108 reviews
Reviewed 5 October 2018 via mobile

The room was reasonable but rather compact. The showers were fairly low power and weren’t ideal. We had a room at the front of the lodge and could hear the sea all night as there was a poor seal around the window. On the plus...More

Thank EddieAlexCook
Response from BeachViews49, Manager at Moana LodgeResponded 11 October 2018

Eddie, I am glad that you enjoyed our great kitchen facilities and communal spaces. With regard to the comment you made about our showers, these are all using a standard low-pressure system, and provide a reasonable amount of a shower experience, to meet the needs...More

Reviewed 6 December 2017

Moana belongs to the BBH network of backpackers in NZ. We booked it long time in advance as it seems very popular. Here everything depends on the room you get. Unfortunately ours was (too) small and facing the bathroom corridor. So, noisy. Nice owner. You...More

Thank jobst56
Response from BeachViews49, Manager at Moana LodgeResponded 14 December 2017

Hi Jobst56, thank you for your feedback as we always like to hear from our guests. This includes both the positive and also other useful points raised. From how you commented on the room that you had, and that you stated you booked a long...More

Reviewed 22 November 2017

It is a great little place to stay. People friendly and overall very comfortable. The room was clean and the beds comfortable. Easy access to Wellington without the Wellington prices!!. Excellent value for money, would use again.

Thank Mark342
Reviewed 24 September 2017

An awesome House & Garden, we stayed in a large room with Queen size bed and two single beds. This room has a view of the Harbour. All the shared facilities were clean, also a computer lounge on the upper level with kitchen, dining etc.,...More

Thank Dave C
Response from BeachViews49, Manager at Moana LodgeResponded 6 October 2017

Dave, thank you for your review as it is always good to get feedback from our guests. We're glad that you enjoyed your stay at our backpackers and appreciated our great kitchen, which we know many of our guests really enjoy. Please feel free to...More

Reviewed 16 September 2017 via mobile

This place suited our budget for a short trip to Porirua and Wellington. Nice and handy to local shops and the train station for trips into the city. We also enjoyed being so close to the sea to explore the local beach with its rocks...More

Thank nin132
Response from BeachViews49, Manager at Moana LodgeResponded 6 October 2017

Hi Nin, we are glad you enjoyed exploring area during your stay as there is quite a bit to look at, including our great local beach with amazing sea views. And we are fortunate we have a number of rooms that look directly out onto...More

View more reviews
About
Description
Superbly located for an exceptional beachfront experience, Moana Lodge offers excellent accommodation facilities combined with amazing sea views. Just ten steps from the water’s edge and overlooking Plimmerton More Bay, it provides the ultimate stay for a peaceful relaxing break. Being a 5 star backpackers, all facilities are immaculate and well kept. With a fully equipped farmhouse kitchen, outdoor courtyard, and friendly welcoming hosts, you can be assured of a relaxing stay. We are situated just 20 mins from Wellington city, with easy access to public transport. At the end of a fun filled day you can come back, relax, and enjoy a wine in our sunny courtyard! We offer a range of rooms catering for groups, families, couples and individuals, plus backpackers travelling alone (with our 4-bed share room). Quoted by Lonely Planet: “this exceptional backpackers right on the beach is immaculate and inviting”. Moana Lodge has achieved the Trip Advisor Certificate of Excellence from 2012 - 2017 Less
Hotel class
Hotel Amenities
HOTEL FEATURES
Beachfront
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Free Parking
Non-Smoking Hotel
Self-Serve Laundry
Pool
Room Service
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Breakfast included
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
Kitchenette, Non-Smoking Rooms, Family Rooms
Hotel class
Room types
Kitchenette, Non-Smoking Rooms, Family Rooms
Number of rooms
14
Price range
US$53 - US$70 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Location
New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Porirua > Plimmerton
Hotel class
Room types
Kitchenette, Non-Smoking Rooms, Family Rooms
Number of rooms
14
Price range
US$53 - US$70 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Location
New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Porirua > Plimmerton
Photos
Traveller (79)
Room & Suite (21)
Dining (10)
Pool & Beach (9)
Family and Play Areas (1)
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all nearby hotels
Spinnaker Motel
57 reviews
1.55 km away
AAA Mana Motel
70 reviews
2.90 km away
Silverstream Retreat
81 reviews
14.20 km away
Hutt City Motel
19 reviews
14.41 km away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 3 nearby restaurants
Topor Bistro
163 reviews
1.09 km away
Backyard Cafe
14 reviews
1.37 km away
Plimmerton Boating Club
10 reviews
1.48 km away
The Big Salami
66 reviews
1.35 km away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 2 nearby attractions
New Zealand Photography Workshops
33 reviews
1.25 km away
Ngati Toa Domain
10 reviews
2.46 km away
New Zealand Police Museum
46 reviews
4.61 km away
Light House Cinema
20 reviews
6.05 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Moana Lodge staff and past guests.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Submit
Posting guidelines
Room Tips
"chose the room with the view"
davec206
23 Sep 2017
Read review
"Wonderful and cozy lounge facing the bay, very friendly atmosphere"
ttrbt
5 Jan 2017
Read review
"Room 9 is upstairs, is a double room, with the water directly opposite.....beautiful. Quite a few rooms..."
WayneC63
24 Jun 2016
Read review
"Ask for a room upstairs."
MartnRach
19 May 2016
Read review
Show More 
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing