Silver Gate Lodging
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Silver Gate Lodging

Walking along the street, and this is the view! Wild 😝
Traveller (196)
Our cabin at Silver Gate
Room & Suite (73)
kitchen end of room #1
Dining (3)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Did you already book this hotel?

About

4.0
#1 of 1 hotels in Silver Gate
4.7 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.2 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.2 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.1 of 5 bubbles
Value
Silver Gate Lodging welcomes discerning travelers to one of Yellowstone's closest private cabin and lodging rental locations: less than a mile from the Northeast entrance to the park in the heart of the gateway to Lamar Valley also known as America's Serengeti. Join the many guests who return year-after-year to make amazing memories and experience one of the world's most incredible natural wonders. These rustic vacation cabins are family-owned and well-loved since 2001. Every cabin reflects a deep passion for the outdoors with easy access to our general store. We stock everything from basic needs to a wide selection of craft beers and gifts. Most of our guests pick the northeast corner of Yellowstone National Park due to its proximity to Lamar Valley. It is one of the best places to see wildlife in the park, including bison and elk. Several wolf packs inhabit the valley and it is consistently one of the top places to view wolves in the wild.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Public wifi
Fishing
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
BBQ facilities
Convenience store
Gift shop
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor fireplace
Picnic area
Room features
Kitchenette
Refrigerator
Kitchenware
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Family

Location

109 US Hwy 212 W, Silver Gate, MT 59081
318Reviews8Q+A58Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 185
  • 77
  • 20
  • 22
  • 14
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Brie S wrote a review May 2020
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Silver Gate is by far the most magical place I've ever visited in the United States. The wildlife was unbeatable: much better than any campground I've stayed at in Yellowstone. And the wild humans were all so welcoming. Chris made sure we had everything we needed each day, including the best coffee I've ever had in a country store, and the staff were very respectful and mindful of the need for "social distancing" and were vigilant about sanitization without making the environment feel in any way sterile. Luckily, there's no shortage of space both inside the cabins or around the so-called town, so it's easy to chat with the locals and hear about what it's like to live there year-round. I'll be back in September to see what it looks and feels like in the fall!
Read more
Date of stay: May 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: Pine Edge cabins are ideal for the quiet crowd, and the main cabins have plenty of space to...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Reservations A, General Manager at Silver Gate Lodging
Responded 5 Jun 2020
Hello Sleeper of Forests, we're so glad you enjoyed your stay with us at Silver Gate Lodging!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Randy S wrote a review Oct 2020
Northern Virginia, Virginia
5.0 of 5 bubbles
To drive Bear Tooth Pass and have this waiting for you at the end... just a stone's throw from the Yellowstone Park gate and Lamar Valley was just what you could wish for. There were small metal goats and a “goat crossing” sign all over the front grounds – cute. Check in was at the General Store in front. Masks required and if someone came in without they were given one and asked to put it on. We had Silver Gate log cabin #3. Drove around to it in back of the Store – cute cabin between similar others with a space to back the car into between. Beds on either side of the door (later found they very comfortable)…a small wooden table with wooden chairs and a small kitchen with frig, stove, sink and utensils, etc..and a bathroom. A window looked out at the back woods from the kitchen sink area. Everything was wonderfully clean given COVID. ..Chairs on the front porch where you could sit and enjoy the mountain range view. Out walking near sunset. Noted some guests were making fires in fire pits and you could purchase firewood at the Store. Nice non-chain local restaurant across the street for those not interested in cooking but if you want to cook suggest you buy your food back in Red Lodge. Walked to a stream for pics. Stopped at Store (they have a limited food supply there as well)... and picked out a couple of refrigerator magnets. Nice assortment of things for gifts as well as bear spray and other essential.People sitting by a fire out in front of the Store in the fading light. What a gem of a place. Expensive? yes - but given where you are - its worth the cost.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
From PA wrote a review Oct 2021
Verona, Wisconsin
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
3 small areas of cabins all part of silver gate lodging . We drove around and choose whispering pines section as it is a bit more quiet & secluded. Beds were very comfortable, kitchen and bath clean and recently refurbished. Full size refrigerator allowed me to Re freeze my gallon jugs for my cooler lasting the rest of trip. Borrowed a high end scope on a tripod from manager thank you. This place is priced well for being next to north east Yellowstone entrance and Lamar valley with bear wolf and bison viewing. Came in via the Bear Tooth Scenic Highway -just beautiful. This is a good place to stay for multiple nights with full kitchen and outside seating. Some nearby eyesore cabins not part of property but not a big deal. Would stay again. Adjacent Log Cabin Cafe was a big disappointment, so bring some food to cook or go up the road to Cooke city to eat. No tv air conditioner or WiFi in cabin but you won’t find that anywhere right close to Yellowstone. Not their fault just the way it is. WiFi available at cabin office.
Check out The cabins @ mammoth hot springs run by Yellowstone. Also reasonable and elk all over the place & great dinning/shops etc.
Hope this helps.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: Whispering pines a bit more secluded
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
mich wrote a review Jun 2021
1.0 of 5 bubbles
The room and the location are nice and it is close to the park. BUT, you get a 50$ charge of cleaning fee right before your trip when you cannot cancel without losing all the money. It is unacceptable to charge that many extra fees without mentioning it when booking and we were very unhappy. Why should we pay the cleaning fee while it should be included in the service?
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Silver Gate Lodging, Owner at Silver Gate Lodging
Responded 8 Aug 2023
Hi, thank you for your feedback. We do our best to make sure all fees are disclosed before check-in. 3rd party platforms such as Expedia typically have additional fees or display information differently. We always suggest to book directly with us.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Kevin R wrote a review Jun 2020
Logan, Utah
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Stayed in the Back Cabin with my wife and two college age kids. This is a great place, and the staff is so friendly and kind. This is our second year staying here and we will continue to be back. Great location to stay with the park border 1 mile away into the Lamar Valley where , bison, moose, antelope, bears and wolves are. We have seen them all in this valley. The place has a small store with snacks, and souvenirs along with scope rentals. Satellite internet is available at the store. They have chairs and benches outside so you can access it. At over 7000 feet this place is cool in the summer months. Enjoyed our stay here.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Reservations A, General Manager at Silver Gate Lodging
Responded 20 Jun 2020
Hello Kevin, we're so glad you enjoyed your stay with us up at Silver Gate Lodging! If you have any ideas on how we can provide a better experience for our guests in the future!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Diane wrote a review Jul 2023
South Dakota
1.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed in the Loft with Silver Gate Lodging. We were informed up front that cell and internet was not available. Priced at $250 plus a $50 cleaning fee, it was overpriced but so close to the park that we booked it. Upon checking in we were informed that we needed to take out our garbage. If there were any dirty dishes left there would be a $125 charge. If any belongings were left there would be a $75 charge. The room was cute but inhospitable for the fear of leaving something not exactly as entered and being charged extra. Yikes, were the bedding and towels supposed to be laundered also? Right, the $50 cleaning fee. There seemed to be an in-house gentleman in charge of the fire pit in front of the general store. His personality and stories wore thin soon. The cafe across the street was closed so we once again had to drive to find dinner. If there could be a do-over, it would be to not stay there.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Silver Gate Lodging, Owner at Silver Gate Lodging
Responded 5 Jul 2023
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback regarding your recent stay at our lodging establishment. We appreciate your review, as it allows us to address areas of improvement and deliver a better experience for our valued guests. It is worth pointing out that we do not have a formal poicy regarding charging fees for removing garbage (in fact we do not want your carbage to be left outside as it will attrack animals) or belongings left. It that impression was given then we deeply apologize. We stryve to be as transparent as possible with all fees including a cleaning fee so there are no surprises. We would like to extend our gratitude for bringing these matters to our attention. Guest satisfaction is our utmost priority.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
EJB wrote a review Jun 2022
Freeport, Grand Bahama Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Our biggest regret was staying only one night at this amazing place. We checked in at around 5pm with intentions of going back into the park for sunset but given that we were only there one night and it was such an exceptional place, we had our happy hour/dinner at the picnic table behind our cabin and enjoyed the peace and quiet and mountain views. We didn't mind the lack of wifi or cell service at all although wifi is available at the general store, and there is a landline for emergencies. The staff at check in could not have been more friendly and helpful. The beds were super comfortable, the towels and soaps laid out on each bed were a lovely touch, as was the complimentary guidebook. We would have loved to stay longer and next time we will for sure. We were thrilled to see a bison roaming through the property that evening and the next morning there was a cow moose right across the street.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Izzy wrote a review Sept 2021
Boston, Massachusetts
2.0 of 5 bubbles
I had an additional charge after my stay that wasn't stated while I made the original booking or in the original Email confirmation after I made the booking. Apparently, they sent me an Email after I booked the room that was lost in my spam about an additional charge that wasn't stated originally in the website when I made the reservation or in the Email confirmation I got after I made the reservation. All charges and fees should be included at the time of booking. These are very misleading practices
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Katherine O wrote a review Aug 2021
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Our trip was magical, made all the more so by the serene, picturesque surrounds of the Silver Gate Lodge. Our kids thought the cabins were so cool, cozy, "fort-like" and we found the rustic decor, the quirky goats!, the fabulous general store irresistibly charming. We cannot wait to come back and stay again.

Families and "optimizer/maximizer" types [you know who you are] cannot beat the convenience of accessing the Lamar Valley quickly and at all times of day by staying as close as possible to the NE entrance gate. Add to that the excellence of hospitality and communication, clean and comfortable accommodations, being able to borrow a scope and binocs for wildlife spotting and you're set!

We especially loved SG's recommendation for the Lamar Valley Wildlife Tour [lamarvalleytouring.com]. Our guide taught us how to spot and use the binocs and scopes, how to respect and "do Yellowstone" like pros -- both with spotting and hiking, and showed us some amazing wildlife.

Loved that the general store had anything we might need for refueling, grabbing food, drinks, snacks to go. Accessing wifi at the general store is brilliant as signal/range is hard to come by in the area.

We cannot wait to return and will definitely be back / stay here again.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: The cabins are all private, with enough distance to feel so while still being part of the...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Cheryl D wrote a review Jul 2020
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed three nights on a recent visit to Yellowstone. The cabins are just one mile from the Northeast entrance which is optimal for accessing the Lamar Valley and wildlife watching. One evening a bison wandered through the campground. We stayed in the Schoolhouse, which had fun rustic decor, a fully equipped kitchen, and nice sized bathroom. In addition, there was an eating area for two, front porch with rockers, fire pit with chairs, and a grill. If you stay for three or more nights, a spotting scope is included but be sure to call ahead and reserve so that one will be set aside for you. The atmosphere here is peaceful and quiet with great views right outside your cabin. If I were staying again, I would plan more time to just relax and soak up the atmosphere. The town is extremely small, but there is a cafe directly across the street if you don't feel like cooking. I also highly recommend enjoying an ice cream treat from the Stop the Car general store across the road.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Answer from Silver Gate L
Atlanta, Georgia
Hi, yes they are all close to each other. You can easily walk to any of the other cabins including the motel and general store.
Answer from Reservations A
Hello, There is no microwave in this Whispering Pines #10 cabin. There is a full refrigerator with a freezer, stove, over, and toaster. You will also have a coffee maker in there as well. Hope this helps!
Catherine asked a question Jul 2020
Boring, Oregon5 contributions1 helpful vote
Do you have any cabins for Tuesday the 7th?
Answer from Lali
1 contribution
Hello, unfortunately we do not.
Catherine asked a question Jul 2020
Boring, Oregon5 contributions1 helpful vote
I need a number to call please
Answer from Lali
1 contribution
Please call 406-838-237
schneiderkenny asked a question May 2018
New Orleans, Louisiana
Do they provide the linens?
Answer from Reservations A
Yes, we provide linens for all of our cabins.
Jessie R wrote a tip May 2024
Missoula, Montana2 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Be aware of bison and bears! Great wildlife that loves to come right up to your door, haha. We felt very safe though! "
Read full review
John Y wrote a tip May 2024
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Book Early!"
Read full review
ecoastgail wrote a tip Nov 2023
Methuen, Massachusetts131 contributions40 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"The place needs many renovations and new beds!"
Read full review
jillolej wrote a tip Sept 2023
Fulshear, Texas23 contributions13 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"No wifi in the cabins - gotta go and sit at the general store area (but no biggie)"
Read full review
mtngate wrote a tip Sept 2023
Corte Madera, California197 contributions75 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Bring food to cook, your lunch, hiking or picnic needs…. Internet only available at the lodge office. Get a guide for Yellowstone Get scope"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Silver Gate area.
PRICE RANGE
$366 - $588 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
silver gate cabins hotel silver gate
LOCATION
United StatesMontanaSilver Gate
NUMBER OF ROOMS
30
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

SILVER GATE LODGING - Hotel Reviews & Price Comparison (MT) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Silver Gate Lodging
Which popular attractions are close to Silver Gate Lodging?
Nearby attractions include Cooke City General Store (4.5 km), Cooke City Montana Museum (4.4 km), and Yellowstone Trading Post (4.8 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Silver Gate Lodging?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free parking, barbeque facilities, and a convenience store.
What food & drink options are available at Silver Gate Lodging?
Guests can enjoy barbeque facilities during their stay.
Is parking available at Silver Gate Lodging?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Silver Gate Lodging?
Conveniently located restaurants include Bearclaw Bakery, Beartooth Cafe, and Miners Saloon.
Is Silver Gate Lodging located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.04 km away from the centre of Silver Gate.
Are pets allowed at Silver Gate Lodging?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.