Chico Hot Springs Resort & Day Spa
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Chico Hot Springs Resort & Day Spa

Our double queen room, Lower Lodge
Traveller (547)
ML Single No Bath No Sink
Room & Suite (126)
Hot Springs Pool
Pool & Beach (43)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

4.0
#1 of 1 lodge in Pray
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.2 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.3 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Value
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Mountain View
Property amenities
Free parking
Free internet
Pool
Bar / lounge
Hiking
Horseback riding
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Conference facilities
Internet
Hot bath
Pool / beach towels
Outdoor pool
Heated pool
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Poolside bar
Board games / puzzles
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Hot spring bath
Massage
Gift shop
Non-smoking hotel
Picnic area
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms

Location

163 Chico Road, Pray, MT 59065
Getting there
Somewhat walkable
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 56 out of 100
56
Gallatin Field
60.5 km
See all flights
Yellowstone Airport
79.5 km
See all flights
996Reviews14Q+A100Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 502
  • 280
  • 105
  • 65
  • 45
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Lauren G wrote a review Oct 2021
New Milford, Connecticut95 contributions76 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
The positive online reviews of Chico Hot Springs set a high expectation bar. I am happy to report that that bar was exceeded to a significant degree. After a very long drive when we arrived immediately got the feeling that this isolated leafy oasis was well worth the arduous journey. We opted for one of the Main Lodge ensuite rooms located on the first floor. which ,as advertised lacked the distracting annoyance of a TV or phone. Plainly but pleasantly furnished it was just a few steps from the Lobby and the Chico Restaurant. From the Lodge Rooms one can walk directly to the hot springs pools via a meandering passageway. The immediate impression was that the water looked clean and fresh and felt sublime after our 6 hour journey. We were told that the pools are emptied every night and the pipes are pressure washed and it looked like it. The expansive lawn on the front of the Lodge was a perfect place to relax before dinner and watch the shadows stretch until evening. However our dinner at the Chico Dining Room was the capstone of our experience. First of all it is fully staffed by a professional team of servers who were competent, pleasant ad really seemed to enjoy what they were doing. Our sauteed mushroom appetizer, our entrees of Gorgonzola Filet and Bison Meatloaf was cuisine of the highest order. I cannot recommend the Flaming Orange dessert strongly enough. It tasted as spectacular as its pyrotechnical presentation. Our stay here was easily the highlight of our 7 day western trip.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Anne h wrote a review Feb 2022
18 contributions1 helpful vote
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We went to the hot springs for the day and had a great time! We entered through the bar which had friendly bartenders and awesome drinks that you could bring in the pool. They had towels for rent which was really convenient. We paid a nominal fee (I think like $10 a person) and then they directed us to the shower/changing room. They had lockers available. We came out of the changing room and went straight to the pool. It was really warm and felt great! There were several people in the pool but it didn’t feel too crowded and everyone was friendly. It was really cool seeing the steam coming off the water and the snow all around us. We stayed for a couple of hours and then enjoyed a nice hot shower before changing back into our clothes. Stayed for one last drink in the bar and toasted an incredible day and memory of a lifetime!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Many people brought their own insulated cups to put their drinks in.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
BeverlyinCA wrote a review Sept 2020
Los Gatos, California7 contributions10 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
If you have kids (or even if you don't) a night at one of their glamping wagons is highly recommended. We were traveling down to Yellowstone from Glacier and made this our stopover point (also because we were going rafting the next day with Flying Pigs -- 5 stars!!) The wagons were new and surprisingly spacious, the beds were comfy and having AC was a major plus (it was 90degrees when we visited). We had our own small deck space to sit and enjoy the view...which was spectacular because the wagons were perched up on the hillside away from the main resort. We traveled during the summer of COVID and felt like this was a great way to stay socially distanced. We also ate at the restaurant and all agreed the food was solid (especially being out in the middle of nowhere) and soaked in the hot springs.

I regretted the soak though because it was too crowded to be able to maintain safe distance from anyone . we went because our kids had looked forward to it all day after so we gave in and stayed 30min, but I wish they had instituted some sort of reservation policy to cap the people in the pool area. Also, in general, while the staff all wore masks NONE of the other guests did except in the lobby where it was enforced (so not in the hallways, not at the indoors restaurant, not in the pool area) While this did diminish our overall experience somewhat.. I overall still enjoyed our stay because of the wagons were so unique!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: Try the Conestoga Wagons !
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Machele Jones, General Manager at Chico Hot Springs Resort & Day Spa
Responded 13 Oct 2020
Thank you for your review, BeverlyinCA! The wagons are a fun addition, and we love hearing about our guest's experiences! Safe travels!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Ed S wrote a review Jan 2022
Minneapolis, Minnesota533 contributions207 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
We have stayed at this property on a couple of previous occasions. There were not a lot of choices of rooms when we made reservations, so we had to settle for the Fishman's Lodge, a very short drive from the main lodge. Unfortunately, the room was terrible given the price they charged ($189). The carpet needed replacing, the molding and door frames were beat up, and the heat was provided by a base board that only had + /- to set the temperate. The "antique" furniture had the surfaces peeling , very unsightly. Over one of the beds, a framed picture/print had been removed exposing a sign that said that "the pictures were inventoried daily" . The only good things about the room was that the bed was comfortable and the shower was good.
One of the things that bothered us the most was their attitude about the pandemic. We stayed there at the height of the current Omicron wave. There was no signs about masking , social distancing, and none of the staff were wearing masks. When asked about the dining room, they said that the table arrangement was same as always, closely packed in a small, low ceiling dining room , and wait staff were not wearing masks. It was like they didn't care about the safety of their staff or customers. We decided to cancel our dinner reservations. We luckily found a great restaurant at a nearby lodge, The Sage, where staff were wearing mask and tables were spaced appropriately. I rarely give bad reviews, but I would never go back to this place.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
1.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Sue W wrote a review Oct 2020
Portland, Oregon85 contributions62 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
The best part of this resort was John who was the most friendly person during our 2 night stay. He went out of his way to talk to us and ask us how things were. Our room was in the Warren wing. It was a nice room but the bed creaked every time you moved. It was very loud. The front desk was not helpful at all. We wanted to have a massage but you will need to book that at least a week ahead of time and it is not part of the resort. We asked about bikes but they had none because of covid. We asked about the fishing pond and were told it was behind the building up the hill. There is one sign we finally found that said pond but there were several trails and we just guessed which one to follow. There were no other signs. When we got the the "stocked fishing pond" it was covered in algae and if you caught one you could not catch it.there was no chance to cast past the algae. Then we just guessed on how to get back. We met a couple on a trail and they were totally lost also. There are hiking trails so that was good. Most of the area is in a meadow. The mineral pool was so crowded the first night we didn't dare even think about going in it. Definitely not Covid safe. We went in the next day during the day when there was less people. My husband got sick the following day. Not sure if it was just a coincidence. The grill was bar food and the first night in the 1 1/2 hours we were there we saw a server 1 time to get drinks and food(bar food). Didn't ask us about another drink until we were ready to leave. We had dinner in the restaurant the following night. Good thing we had reservations well in advance. The food was very good! To sum up the best two things about this resort was JOHN a service person who helped us with our bags and was a all purpose worker. You could tell he worked hard and had a great work ethic.- He should have a raise and the restaurant.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
2.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Machele Jones, General Manager at Chico Hot Springs Resort & Day Spa
Responded 13 Oct 2020
Thank you for your feedback, Sue, we will certainly work on better directions and signage to the pond, and share your service feedback with our Grille and Front Desk teams. We always encourage our guests to plan ahead regarding spa appointments, dining reservations, and activity reservations - we send out emails previous to a guest's arrival date at the time of making the reservation, 45 days, 30 days, 21 days and 7 days out with information regarding the guest's upcoming stay. We're also handing out detailed information upon check-in since operations are different than previous years, and we have many return guests. We're constantly making improvements, and hope you notified our team about your bed frame so it could be fixed while you were here. Our Poolside Grille serves fresh, often house-made items including Rubens with house made pastrami and house made sauerkraut, burgers with beef burger or grilled chicken breast, salads, and an assortment of starters. We'll share your positive comments with John and the chef - and appreciate your feedback! Safe travels!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Tori G wrote a review Apr 2021
Emigrant, Montana4 contributions1 helpful vote
4.0 of 5 bubbles
I did not stay at the Chico Lodge, but I visited their day spa, Saloon, and the horseback riding so I will review all here.

Spa: First impression was that it was a trailer on top of the mountain. For what I read online I was expecting a full spa experience especially for the price. The place was really small and the massage rooms were right next to the check in and bathrooms. My husband and I both got the hot stone massage and foot scrub treatment. He really enjoyed his massage, he was in a room that was further in the back while I was right next to the check in. I could hear every footstep and it was not a relaxing massage experience. The massage therapist had the curtains opened the whole time and it was really bright in the room.

Saloon: It was a cool atmosphere to grab drinks and an appetizer. I highly recommend the loaded nachos and the chicken quesadilla. The jalapeño poppers were just frozen but the house made huckleberry sauce spiced them up. I recommend getting a Montana local whiskey.

Horseback riding: 10/10 recommend doing. Our guide was amazing and so were our horses. The scenic trail ride was unforgettable! We wanted to do a ride in Yellowstone but it was closed during the time we visited. But based on what our guide said it sounds amazing so do it if you can.

Hot Springs: We did not make it in the hot springs but everyone seemed to be enjoying their time from what we could see from the saloon. It did look pretty small and it is essentially a heated pool fed from the hot spring.

Gift shop: Offered a variety of items and had an espresso bar in it. I was able to snag a beautiful copper Christmas ornament in the shape of Montana.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
sailorsdelight wrote a review Sept 2020
Sarasota, Florida96 contributions34 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
It has been years since I stayed in this out dated hotel. We were told room would be on second floor but did not realize there is no elevator. Difficult for senior citizen with bum knee. Smallest room I can remember staying in. No fan or air condition which made it warm and stuffy even in late September. Fortunately we were recommended to make dining reservations because first night we were not sure of arrival and ate mediocre bar food in the saloon. No other dining options within 30 miles. We should have realized massages need to be booked in advance. They say they have morning yoga but I saw no notices or sign it existed. Hiking and warm water pool were good. Dining room was very good.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Machele Jones, General Manager at Chico Hot Springs Resort & Day Spa
Responded 13 Oct 2020
Thank you for taking the time to review, sailorsdelight! We do certainly encourage dining reservations, as well as reservations for all activities and the Day Spa. We send out several emails with this information prior to guest's arrival date - specifically at time of reservation, at 45 days, 30 days, 21 days, and 7 days prior to arrival. Our Historic Main Lodge is 120 years old this summer, however we do have newer, more modern accommodations - based on availability. If a guest has mobility and/or other concerns, our Guest Services team is happy to assist when informed! Due to our location, there are limited dining options in the area, especially in the non-summer season. We encourage guests to plan ahead as much as possible, especially while traveling during COVID times, not only with us but everywhere as many areas have closures, restrictions, and limited offerings.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
jesse o wrote a review May 2020
Jackson, Wyoming6,521 contributions715 helpful votes
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
The hotel is historic and feels it. Some may wish for more modern lodging but not me. The ambience to be found here is welcome relief from so much polished steel and plastic all around us so much. The calm, old fashioned atmosphere here is a tonic to ones soul.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2019Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Machele Jones, General Manager at Chico Hot Springs Resort & Day Spa
Responded 25 Aug 2020
Thank you, Jesse, for your appreciation for the history and historic nature of Chico! We want to keep in touch with our past, while very gently offering the comforts of today's world - it's an interesting balancing act! Hope to see you again!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Travel4Fun wrote a review May 2021
Great Falls, Montana1 contribution1 helpful vote
1.0 of 5 bubbles
I think that it is terrible to pay over $200 for a room and a soak in the hot springs, only to have the hot springs be so over-crowded and dirty that you can barely move or sit down. The whole time we were there we saw tons of people paying for day passes to swim, which is great, but there should be a certain point where you look at the occupancy and say, I think the quality for our resort guests might be suffering, and limit the day passes. When ordering food for lunch in the saloon, we were told the food was taking a while, and it will get here when it gets here, word for word from the server. I understand lots of places are short staffed right now, but as someone who has worked in customer service all of my life, I know there is a better way to word things! Very disappointed in Chico and probably won’t be back.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Machele Jones, General Manager at Chico Hot Springs Resort & Day Spa
Responded 16 Jun 2021
Hello MTLove406 - thank you for your feedback. Our pools are drained and cleaned nightly - the only time this doesn't happen is about the middle of January when it's 20-below-zero. Great training opportunity for the Saloon crew on two levels here, thank you!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
chef O wrote a review Aug 2020
2 contributions3 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
I have been coming to Chico since the early 90s. I love it here and I love this area. Over the last two years, however, things have definitely changed. The restaurant is no longer stellar. Patrons are nickel and dimed for every little thing. Today, we went to the pool and ate lunch at the grill. While trying to order, I had a mask on, the server had a mask on, and there was plexiglass between us. After repeating my order 3 times because the server could not hear me, I lowered my mask to order and was scolded. Right behind me, a family was seated in a booth, ordering without a mask. I guess I should have taken a seat at a table, taken off my my mask, and yelled my order over. It would have been easier. I was complying perfectly with the mask directive, but there is a point when employees become unreasonable. I ordered 2 cheese burgers with no bun and a root beer. The cost was $30 (see picture). When I questioned how two cheeseburgers could be that much, the reply was "well, they're $50 in Gardiner".

This place needs a reality check. The staff attitude and the economic number crunchers need to take note. Reputation and your customer base are very important. Trashing your reputation with poor staff choices and raising prices without value is the best way to ruin your reputation.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Machele Jones, General Manager at Chico Hot Springs Resort & Day Spa
Responded 17 Aug 2020
Chef O, we are so sorry you had this experience in our Poolside Grille! The Grille manager and F&B manager just had a huddle with that team and gave them some better guidance on how to manage the mask mandate among customers. It is challenging in that guests who are seated in a bar or restaurant may remove their masks, however any movement to/from tables or otherwise through restaurants/bars requires the use of a mask. It's challenging for guests and employees - and hearing/understanding take-out orders at the counter is certainly one of those challenges. The Gardiner comment was certainly was not necessary or appropriate, and I apologize. We do have one server in the Grille who we are working with very strongly regarding maintaining kindness and service under pressure (it's an art!). Our classic burger is $13.00, it comes with lettuce/tomato/onion/pickles/bun (unless otherwise requested) and fries or coleslaw. Additional toppings, such as cheese, are an additional cost. Food costs, especially of beef, went up drastically in the midst of COVID, so you are likely to see price increases in restaurants across the nation. When this burger is put together with all of it's components, it is a quality product. However, when your experience starts with a grumpy server, it likely carries through your entire lunch/dinner - and for that we are truly sorry! Feel free to reach out to our F&B director if you have additional input, and please know that we are working on our service in the Grille!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
snoel2016 asked a question Mar 2023
Oroville, California14 contributions2 helpful votes
Is there wifi in the cottages on the hill? Or televisions ?
Answer from Cody K
14 contributions3 helpful votes
Yes they offer massages not sure of the prices but these services are available at Chico.
Marita B asked a question May 2019
Sasca Montana, Romania
Any close RV parks?
Answer from Abner10
North Dakota39 contributions13 helpful votes
Unfortunately the closest would be nearer to Livingston. On the positive side, it’s a beautiful drive in the Paradise Valley!
Kellyinthewoods asked a question Apr 2019
Mohrsville, Pennsylvania673 contributions84 helpful votes
When do you start taking reservations for summer 2020?
Answer from MontanaMac
Montana38 contributions7 helpful votes
On-line reservations are only a year in advance, however give us a call at 406-333-4933 and we'll be happy to help with your summer 2020 reservation!
Connector38459412442 wrote a tip Apr 2024
2 contributions
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Have supper in the Bar.. Worth the drive to Livingstone for breakfast."
Read full review
Deborah H wrote a tip Oct 2023
Lander, Wyoming93 contributions76 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Grab a morning coffee and head to the hot pool to relax and welcome the day."
Read full review
BubbleGirl13 wrote a tip Oct 2023
Darwin, Australia686 contributions275 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
"Yellowstone Hot Springs are much nicer and in more natural surroundings"
Read full review
7promiseland wrote a tip Sept 2023
Birmingham, Alabama81 contributions64 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
"Stay in the MAIN building or do NOT go!!!"
Read full review
Rose Stevenson wrote a tip Sept 2023
3 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Saloon meals were good. Staff there friendly. Complimentary tea/coffee in lobby didn’t start til 7 am. Very outdated facilities "
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Pray area.
ALSO KNOWN AS
chico hot springs hotel pray
LOCATION
United StatesMontanaPray
NUMBER OF ROOMS
110
Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

CHICO HOT SPRINGS RESORT & DAY SPA - Lodge Reviews (Pray, MT) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Chico Hot Springs Resort & Day Spa
Which popular attractions are close to Chico Hot Springs Resort & Day Spa?
Nearby attractions include Chico Hot Springs (0.05 km), Angler's West Fly Fishing (4.7 km), and St John's Episcopal Church (4.6 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Chico Hot Springs Resort & Day Spa?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a pool, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
What food & drink options are available at Chico Hot Springs Resort & Day Spa?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and a poolside bar during their stay.
Is parking available at Chico Hot Springs Resort & Day Spa?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Chico Hot Springs Resort & Day Spa?
Conveniently located restaurants include Chico Hot Springs Restaurant, Follow Yer' Nose Bbq, and Wild Flour Bakery.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Chico Hot Springs Resort & Day Spa?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Are pets allowed at Chico Hot Springs Resort & Day Spa?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Chico Hot Springs Resort & Day Spa offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers meeting rooms, a banquet room, and conference facilities.
Does Chico Hot Springs Resort & Day Spa have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the mountain view available here.
Is Chico Hot Springs Resort & Day Spa accessible?
Yes, it offers facilities for disabled guests. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday HomesTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire