The Lodge at Big Sky
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

The Lodge at Big Sky

Traveller (222)
Fitness Room
Room & Suite (83)
The infamous pancake machine at the Lodge at Big Sky.
Dining (19)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

4.5
#6 of 9 hotels in Big Sky
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.3 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.3 of 5 bubbles
Value
Located minutes from the Base Village area yet quiet and private, The Lodge at Big Sky is Big Sky's only independent lodging located slope side in Big Sky Montana. We are the best value on the mountain. Come visit us and see what sets us apart from the others:)
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Hiking
Horseback riding
Free shuttle or taxi services
Parking
Wifi
Hot bath
Pool / beach towels
Indoor pool
Heated pool
Bar / lounge
Breakfast buffet
Snack bar
Vending machine
Skiing
Shuttle bus service
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
BBQ facilities
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
24-hour front desk
Self-serve laundry
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Safe
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Kitchenette
Microwave
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Classic
Mid-range
Languages Spoken
English

Location

75 Sitting Bull Rd., Big Sky, MT 59716
Getting there
Somewhat walkable
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 70 out of 100
70
Gallatin Field
57.7 km
See all flights
Yellowstone Airport
70.8 km
See all flights
756Reviews19Q+A100Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 448
  • 168
  • 68
  • 30
  • 42
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
travelmaven_7 wrote a review Mar 2021
Los Angeles, California4,086 contributions137 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We enjoyed our stay at The Lodge at Big Sky. This hotel checked all of the boxes for our hotel stay requirements.

Check in was quick and easy.
They reviewed all COVID-19 protocols at check in.

Their breakfast is grab n go due to COVID-19. But it was still delicious. Every morning they had a different hot breakfast sandwich, plus offerings of fresh fruit, cold cereal, fruit juice, pastries, coffee, tea, and milk.

The rooms are large and comfortable.

The only thing I would add is that there are no UBS charging stations anywhere in the room. They need to add a few, and more electrical outlets orca combo of the two.

Due to COVID-19, housekeeping was limited. But you could always get fresh towels, and have your trash cans emptied daily but placing them outside the door.

We also enjoyed their free shuttle. They have a schedule for drop off and pick up to Big Sky ski resort. It was very convenient.

The staff is very friendly, and accommodating to guests needs. They were willing to be helpful by answering all questions and making sure your stay was a pleasant one.

There's also plenty of free parking at the hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: There's plenty of free parking right in front of the hotel.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
07nan wrote a review Feb 2020
Crozet, Virginia228 contributions115 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
This was our first trip to Big Sky for a ski vacation, and I'm really happy I chose to stay at this hotel. If you have a car, there's plenty of parking, which sometimes is an issue for a place so close to the slopes. The hotel has a shuttle that runs every half hour and will drop you off right in front of the base area - and it's also just a five minute walk. It really couldn't be easier. The breakfast is decent, with plenty of choices - pastries, bagels, english muffins, eggs, meats, cereal. They could use more tables but we always managed to find a seat even if it was crowded (can sit at bar too). Our room was very nice, large, with a seating area and a small table with chairs if you wanted to eat there. Also a microwave, fridge, sink, very convenient. The bathroom is not state of the art but it was certainly functional and most importantly CLEAN. There are 2 hot tubs outside on the patio. Overall, it's a nice place to stay, and I'd be happy to come back here again (hopefully next ski season!).
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Shivam P, General Manager at The Lodge at Big Sky
Responded 1 Mar 2020
07nan, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. Being in a ski resort town, we strive to earn repeat guests. It's our bread and butter. I'm ecstatic to hear we've earned another loyal guest. We'll see you next season. Thank you, Shivam P General Manager The Lodge at Big Sky
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
txskitripper wrote a review Mar 2023
San Antonio, Texas25 contributions16 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We have stayed at The Lodge at Big Sky some years ago. It is still a great place to stay, very comfortable beds, and convenient to the slopes with their shuttle (and you can walk if you miss the shuttle). The rooms are really large and they have 3 outdoor and 1 indoor hot tubs and indoor pool, and breakfast in the morning. Very friendly staff. A few tweaks would make it great: (a) run the shuttle every 15 mins morning/afternoon, and make it available by phone call anytime. (b) change the rooms back to how they were years ago when there was a nice eating bar and kitchenette in each room where the long closet bar is now. We rented the room that has the kitchenette and it is tiny with little counter space. The rooms are quite large enough to accommodate a much better arrangement. (c) have real eggs at breakfast instead of the cut-up egg squares (although interestingly, the cut-up egg squares at The Lodge at Big Sky were much more tasty than the eggs that looked real but taste very fake at Huntley Lodge breakfast).
Read more
Date of stay: March 2023
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: If you get the room with the kitchenette just know it is tiny--cooktop, tiny counter,...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Traveler10002 wrote a review Mar 2022
Houston, Texas25 contributions12 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
The prices we paid for this hotel were really not commensurate with the value received. We were withing walking distance of the hotel but it was up the hill. There was a shuttle but one morning the Manager of the hotel told us he couldnt take us up in the shuttle because he had to take the school ski team. Even though we had been waiting for 30 min for the shuttle first in the queue. When you start prioritizing some quests over others - thats a big mistake. The lifts had not even opened yet and we were trying to get their early. When we checked in we were told the rooms would only be cleaned every 4 days (despite paying $600+ a night) and the breakfast was the same as you would get at a low cost chain. So if I was paying $150 a night I would say the breakfast was great. However I was not. If you can stay at the Huntley lodge the breakfast is spectacular and the prices are the same. All in all we would not stay here again. The manager never apologized for bumping us off the shuttle and treating us like we didnt count. Worst customer experience.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
1.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
soldoutjcforever wrote a review Sept 2020
Liberty, Missouri35 contributions8 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
There is no doubt that The Lodge at Big Sky is not the newest of places for lodging, but the room was huge, the staff was friendly, helpful and really a joy, the wet bar was great to have in our room as well as microwave (which rattled when you used it!) and fridge. The bathroom was fairly large as well and the views on either side of the hotel are beautiful. If you specifically want a view of Lone Mountain (Peak), then you definitely want a room on the west side, but the east side offers beautiful views of the mountains as well for a bit cheaper rate. You're within walking distance of Big Sky Resort, the ski lift, shopping and dining. The Lodge has a rustic feel, and there are certainly some things that could be improved but we really enjoyed our stay. We felt the location and the amenities the room offered, were well worth it. We would definitely stay here again if we ever come to this area again.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
meganrogerscook wrote a review Feb 2021
Boulder, Colorado24 contributions26 helpful votes
+1
1.0 of 5 bubbles
This place is run down and rooms are falling apart. The air vents are missing screws and look like they could fall at any moment. The toilet was clogged and broken upon our arrival. The bathtub was stained. The furniture is dirty, missing handles/knobs- just overall bad condition. The towels are small, scratchy, and stained ( the hospital I work at has better quality towels). There is no daily housekeeping. There are holes in the walls, carpet was damaged..... Great location- if it weren’t for the location this place wouldn’t survive. They’re letting the place become a run down junky place, sad.
Don’t stay here. Big sky has much better accommodations nearby.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Tiogatravels wrote a review Feb 2020
4 contributions5 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed for a conference and have been here a couple days now. I wanted to like it based on reviews, location, and amenities, but so far the experience has been pretty bad. The bathroom was dirty when we arrived, toiletries from the previous guests hadn't even been picked up. We were woken up in the morning and disturbed during the day because it was so loud with people even just walking above us. We were next to the laundry and it made horrible high pitched noises that gave me a headache and forced me out of the room. Some of the front desk staff were very nice and understanding, initially told us they were fully booked and should check back which we completely understood and thanked her. The next day one tried to get us in a different room, when we called back about it when we were instructed to the girl working the front desk was quite rude and mostly just replied with reasons why all those things shouldn't bother us. Two stars for the amenities and comfy couches I was able to retreat to in order to escape our room.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Shivam P, General Manager at The Lodge at Big Sky
Responded 1 Mar 2020
Tiogatravels, I'm sorry to hear you had a sub par stay at our hotel. Your experience is not typical at our hotel. By your description, you reserved one of our Canyon View rooms. They are our most budget friendly and economic room type. Unfortunately we've been very busy and we were unable to offer you an upgrade. Hopefully next time we will be able to better accommodate you. Thank you, Shivam P General Manager The Lodge at Big Sky
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Steve M wrote a review Dec 2020
5 contributions4 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We arrived early, our room was not quite ready so they stored our bags for us until it was and then delivered them to our room. The manager was always on site unless he was driving the ski shuttle to and from the base. The seemed a little short staffed but given COVID it is understandable if they were. The other staff were knowledgeable and nice as well. The hospitality was fantastic, they clearly have many years experience. The room was as promised and clean. The hot tubs were great, the kids enjoyed the indoor pool and the breakfast was good, even if it has to be grab and go due to COVID. We even enjoyed just hanging out in the lobby by the fireplace or outside by the firepit. The views are amazing!
Read more
Date of stay: December 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
ianschneller wrote a review Jan 2021
Dallas, Texas342 contributions103 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Only a five minute walk (or less) to the slopes for a fraction of the price of the other hotels nearby. Breakfast included. Very nice large rooms. This is a no brainer - stay here! I picked this spot for the second ski trip in a row for the reasons I just mentioned. There's a shuttle too if you don't want to walk to the slopes.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Cindy M wrote a review Jan 2020
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We go to Big Sky to ski and stay fairly often, but this was actually our first time staying at the Lodge at Big Sky. We certainly will look to stay here first in the future! Our room was great—clean, affordable, and spacious, plus we had a microwave, fridge, and a view of Lone Peak! We were traveling with a 4 year old and a 14 year old so was really nice to have two queens and the separate sitting area with pullout couch for our little guy to sleep on. In addition, there were free S’mores by the fire, a pool, multiple hot tubs, and a delicious hot breakfast! We took the short ride on the free hotel shuttle to the slopes two days, but it’s also a pretty easy walk from the hotel. The GM and his wife were so awesome. We felt like VIP’s! They just provide such superb customer service to their guests! We were so happy and pleased with our stay there— just incredible!! We most definitely will be back soon!
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Shivam P, General Manager at The Lodge at Big Sky
Responded 29 Jan 2020
cindyloumt, We're ecstatic to hear we earned a loyal guest! My wife and I are happy to hear our service is the reason why you'll be coming back. Thanks for taking the time to share your experience. We'll see you next time. Warm Regards, Shivam P General Manager The Lodge at Big Sky
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Rejser asked a question Apr 2021
Seattle15 contributions
Are pets allowed at this accommodation?
Answer from travelmaven_7
Los Angeles, California4,086 contributions137 helpful votes
I don't know.
patricia8 asked a question Jan 2020
Sammamish, Washington63 contributions42 helpful votes
Is there a grocery close by? Do you need a car for that? Is there a bus around the resort
Answer from Kruti P
Big Sky, Montana144 contributions36 helpful votes
Yes, there is a small grocery store nearby called Hungry Moose. Though they have the bare necessities. If you need a full grocery store, we recommend you go to Roxy's. Which is easily accessed via free public transportation. The only reason to rent a car to stay here is for convenience. Most of our guests don't rent a car.
Answer from Kruti P
Big Sky, Montana144 contributions36 helpful votes
The best combo of skiing and weather happens in March. Peak snowpack usually happens around the first week and the temps hover around the 20s and 30s.
CANJG asked a question Dec 2018
Canada77 contributions78 helpful votes
What's the best way to get from the Bozeman airport to The Lodge at big sky?
Answer from Kruti P
Big Sky, Montana144 contributions36 helpful votes
Sorry for the delayed response. TripAdvisor typically sends us notifications when questions are posted to our site, but this question may have been overlooked or never sent. We recommend using a company named Karst Stage. They offer shuttles to and from the hotel, Bozeman Airport, and West Yellowstone. Their shuttle times are based upon flight arrival times so all our guests' arrivals can be serviced by them. If you are booking 48 hours prior to arrival or more, please visit their website(we are not allowed to post websites in responses) . Otherwise call them directly at 406-556-3540. Thank you,
Answer from Kruti P
Big Sky, Montana144 contributions36 helpful votes
John, Thanks for reaching out on TripAdvisor. Those distances are roughly correct It's about a 4-5 minute walk to the slopes. There is a closer lift to us (Explorer) that accesses the beginner runs, but the main lifts are about 300 yards/meters away. Our hot breakfast includes your standard continental affair plus a few hot items: eggs, potatoes, pancakes, biscuits/gravy, and a rotating protein. I just looked at the ingredients for our items and the items that are GF are: milk, juice, coffee, apples, oranges, corn flakes, eggs, and proteins. I hope that helps. We do not have boot dryers on premises, but the resort does for a TBA fee. This past season was $7/day. I contacted them and nobody could give me an answer for 2017 winter season since it's currently their off season and they're closed. I'll re-post when I find out. Thanks again for asking. Feel free to call (406-995-7858) if you have any other questions. Shivam Patel General Manager The Lodge at Big Sky
joe D wrote a tip Mar 2024
Hauppauge, New York1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"great location and great staff hot tub and pool is awesome"
Read full review
Gabby wrote a tip Jan 2024
12 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Location is great and close to the mountain base"
Read full review
Chad K wrote a tip Nov 2023
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Make sure you have a rental vehicle, a lot of places need to be driven too"
Read full review
Lisa S wrote a tip Oct 2023
El Sobrante, California20 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"It’s too far from Yellowstone to make it your home base. "
Read full review
Alyona wrote a tip Jul 2023
Lexington, Kentucky1,153 contribution108 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Find the pricing on Priceline for the best deal"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Big Sky area.
PRICE RANGE
$308 - $406 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
the lodge at big sky hotel big sky, hotel big sky
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Holiday Inn Express Mountain Inn Big Sky
LOCATION
United StatesMontanaBig Sky
NUMBER OF ROOMS
90
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

THE LODGE AT BIG SKY - Hotel Reviews & Price Comparison (MT) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about The Lodge at Big Sky
Which popular attractions are close to The Lodge at Big Sky?
Nearby attractions include Lone Peak (0.3 km), Ousel Falls Trail (7.1 km), and Big Sky Resort (1.3 km).
What are some of the property amenities at The Lodge at Big Sky?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and free breakfast.
Which room amenities are available at The Lodge at Big Sky?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at The Lodge at Big Sky?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, a lounge, and barbeque facilities during their stay.
Is parking available at The Lodge at Big Sky?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Lodge at Big Sky?
Conveniently located restaurants include Blue Moon Bakery, Hungry Moose Market & Deli, and Horn & Cantle.
Are there opportunities to exercise at The Lodge at Big Sky?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool and a fitness centre during their stay.
Does The Lodge at Big Sky offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Does The Lodge at Big Sky have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the mountain view available here.
Is The Lodge at Big Sky accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and facilities for disabled guests. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.
All Big Sky HotelsBig Sky Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in Big SkyHotels near The Lodge at Big Sky
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday HomesTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire