We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Punga Cove Resort

Queen Charlotte Sound, Punga Cove 07250 New Zealand
avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (304)
Room & Suite (129)
Dining (47)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#1 of 1 resort in Punga Cove
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Set amongst stunning scenery in the magnificent Marlborough Sounds at the top of New Zealand's South Island, Punga Cove is the perfect retreat, surrounded by nature. Choose from our stylish suites, spacious studios and retro chalets or our larger apartments for families and groups. Our basic rooms cater for those on a budget. You won't go hungry at Punga Cove - the Boatshed Cafe & Bar at the jetty has a casual all-day menu and our hilltop Punga Fern Restaurant offers smart casual dining. Getting here is easy - by boat from Picton, by foot or bike on the Queen Charlotte Track, or by scenic drive. And, once you're here you can choose to relax and enjoy the many views, or enjoy the wide range of land and water-based activities on offer.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free internet
Pool
Bar / lounge
Beach
Canoeing
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Spa
Hot bath
Outdoor pool
Coffee shop
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Kids' meals
Special diet menus
Hiking
Fishing
Table tennis
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Picnic area
Sun terrace
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Private beach
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Kitchenette
Complimentary toiletries
Room types
Ocean view
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Harbour View
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish

Location

Queen Charlotte Sound, Punga Cove 07250 New Zealand
Punga Cove Resort
532Reviews4Q+A100Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 226
  • 160
  • 70
  • 39
  • 37
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
nzp0ppy wrote a review Mar 2024
Nelson-Tasman Region, New Zealand25182 contributions518 helpful votes
We were doing the queen charlotte track and planned to visit for drinks at the waterfront cafe and pizza on arrival. the staff decided not to open that friday so it was closed. hundreds of people were enjoying the grassy site at the waterfront and were disappointed. the punga fern restaurant was open but its a very steep uphill climb to the restaurant to get food and drinks. Do be aware that apart from the grassy area at the waterfront the whole of punga cove is on a steep hill and requires walking up and down steep paths to get to places. The punga fern restaurant has amazing views, but the food let it down. I was keen on seafood chowder starter and then mussels. But the waitress advised they dont allow a starter size seafood chowder. I thought that was totally bizzare. the mussels were overcooked and werent the plumb juicy mussels you expect from mills bay mussels. The seafood lasagna was short on seafood and a soggy mess. The creme brulee was terrible - it wasnt a creme brulee cooked custard, i would call it a custard (possibly with gelantine rather than baked in water). The new york cheesecake wasnt baked and it was pretty sweet and disappointing. We had lunch at furneaux and it was delicious and fantastic food. i recommend there instead.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Paula Kawasaki, General Manager at Punga Cove Resort
Responded 11 Mar 2024
Thank you very much for your feedback. The Boatshed Bar opening is very weather dependent. We avoid opening if there is wind or rain forecast due to not having a covered area to keep everyone sheltered and comfortable. We appreciate the comment on the food as we take all feedback very seriously to better ourselves and our team. We suffered an unexpected shortage of staff, which affect our best services. We sincerely apologize for not being able to offer the best we can, and we are working hard to get the team back together.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Geoff Eden wrote a review Feb 2024
Suva, Fiji89 contributions32 helpful votes
Accomodation was good , unfortunately the meals were very sub standard and the staff didnt seem to care either . There were 8 of us travelling and that evening 4 ordered the corn fritter - it was nothing short of absolutely terrible , little or no corn and this replaced with capers , lots and lots of them more than you could be expected to eat ( fresh sweetcorn in full season too ) .The entree salt and pepper squid was from a packet and served soggy not crisp at all .The breakfast the next morning not much better , the single slice of sourdough toast with scrambled eggs varied from a piece of crust to other marginal pieces of supermarket sourdough - all in all a real disappointment .The photo below what was left on one of the plates after some consumed .We raised the dinner issues with staff who didnt seem to care or be interested in addressing the issues .
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Room Tip: lots of good lodges around unfortunately just not this one
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from , Owner at Punga Cove Resort
Responded 26 Feb 2024
Hi Geoff, Thanks for your email and feedback regarding your recent experience at our restaurant. I am disappointed to hear the meal service was way below our desired standards. There is no excuse for that, and we do take all our guests’ comments on board to use as a tool to better ourselves. Two of our staff members acknowledged the experience you had and that was forwarded to me. I seriously discussed the matter with our kitchen team. I apologize these impacted on what was supposed to be an enjoyable stay. Thanks for your feedback and hope you have a lovely day.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
maxtedandlily wrote a review Dec 2023
Melbourne, Australia382 contributions165 helpful votes
This was the hotel after the second day of walking and it was a nice place to rest. The hotel is a bit tired but very clean with amazing views. Staff were friendly. Much smaller menu than Furneaux Lodge but very good food. A nice beach to swim in and a hot tub and a pool as well. Again the walkers lunch was not great and a rip off at $29. Great views from the balcony of most rooms and the bar!
Read more
Date of stay: December 2023Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Paula Kawasaki, General Manager at Punga Cove Resort
Responded 3 days ago
Hello, We appreciate your stay with us, and your feedback. We value our guests feedback to better our service in the future. Thank you.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Lesley S wrote a review May 2023
4 contributions
The accommodation is pretty basic but clean. Given the huge number of sandflies at this location I think fly screens would be warranted. I wanted to review the restaurant. I had the fish chowder which was heavenly. Full after only half the bowl I just had to finish it all lest I suddenly die tomorrow having left half a bowl of the most delicious food ever. High praise but we had been walking all day! This place should not be confused with its abominable cousin at Furneaux Lodge whose food was practically inedible (despite walking all that day too!). Strangely, the coffee was great xcellent at Furneaux while only okay at Punga. The swimming here is chilly at 13/14C but I felt so fabulous when I got out. Be very careful if the sand flies… I was covered in the local repellant and yet they happily landed in my unsuspecting legs and took to them with great zeal. 2 days later I am scratching like crazy. But that food. Congratulations on nabbing your new chef guys - fingers crossed she can shake up Furneaux also.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Room Tip: Even the breakfast is an excellent at Punga - not a weight watching option!
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from , Owner at Punga Cove Resort
Responded 5 Jun 2023
Hello lesleysW6480WZ, We all appreciate you taking the time to write this review, I will be sure to pass this onto the team. I appreciate that the sandfly's do put a dappen on such a lovely location at times and will be sure to look into fly screen options moving forward. We are very lucky to have an amazing Kitchen & Front of House team to cater for our wonderful guests. Look forward to welcoming you back next visit. Kind Regards, Punga Cove
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Kirstin B wrote a review Apr 2023
Dunedin, New Zealand3 contributions
Our group of 15 syayed at Punga Cove on our second night walking the Queen Charlotte track. We ate at the restaurant and had an absolutely beautiful meal. The service was friendly and efficient. Several of us had the seafood chowder which we couldn't fault, delicious! The chef said it was a new menu and the kitchen staff had only been there 2 weeks. The meals were beautifully presented and enjoyed in this stunning part of the country.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from , Owner at Punga Cove Resort
Responded 5 Jun 2023
Hello pandkbevin, I'm delighted to hear your group of 15 enjoyed your time with us in the Marlborough Sounds, and to hear that the food was a highlight is fantastic. The entire team look forward to welcoming you back next visit. Warm Regards, Punga Cove
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
LiDaGe wrote a review Apr 2023
Napier, New Zealand18 contributions10 helpful votes
Stayed here on the first night of the Queen Charlotte Track, after mountain biking from Ship Cove. The staff were terrific - friendly and helpful. The view over the cove is beautiful. The facilities were old but clean, dry and comfortable. The restaurant food was excellent! Seriously, I was blown away by the taste, quality and presentation. I would take the water taxi here just for the evening meal!
Read more
Date of stay: March 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Room Tip: Perfect spot for first night on Queen Charlotte Track from Ship Cove end.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from , Owner at Punga Cove Resort
Responded 5 Jun 2023
Hi LiDaGe, So lovely of you to take the time to review your stay here at Punga Cove. I know my team are delighted to hear this amazing feedback and I will no doubt share this with them. We welcome you back anytime! Kind Regards, Punga Cove
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Mike G wrote a review Apr 2023
London, United Kingdom75 contributions121 helpful votes
There are several options for staying in the Sounds and Punga came highly recommended. It is a steep resort so do expect a workout to and from your accom and the various facilities. I wanted my own ensuite so ended up With one of the two huge chalets that sleep 7 with its own kitchen, hidden loft room and wrap around balcony. I loved it. There was even a spa bath (which I made use of obvs!). The only option for food was the restaurant (beach cafe was being rebuilt). The menu was short but the food was pretty poor really. Not really seasoned, some odd choices (deep fried mussel anyone?) and overall a bit of a letdown. Appreciating this is a resort based around the impressive activities in the Sounds I was still a little surprised to find alcohol stopped being served around 8:30pm. Access onto queen Charlotte trail is easy, the resort offers kayaks as well to explore the cove. Weirdly I never saw anyone in the pool!
Read more
Date of stay: March 2023Trip type: Travelled solo
Room Tip: You need to be fit
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from , Owner at Punga Cove Resort
Responded 5 Jun 2023
Hello D4004HFmikeg, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us in the beautiful Marlborough Sounds. We are so pleased to hear that your room was suitable to your requirements allowing you to fully relax in our surroundings, nothing like a hot spa after a long day of walking. We have since addressed the shortened Lunch offerings which are proving to be a huge success, we all hope you have a chance to revisit and experience this with us in the future. Warm Regards, Punga Cove
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
B&G wrote a review Mar 2023
Perth, Australia152 contributions61 helpful votes
Disappointing – ordinary food no tap beer We had an awesome room up a steep driveway - great elevated outlook over the beautiful sounds...BUT... if we'd known the problems at Punga Lodge we would have stayed at Furneaux Lodge two nights rather than splitting it one night in each
Read more
Date of stay: January 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Brent Stander, General Manager at Punga Cove Resort
Responded 27 Mar 2023
Dear BarbGrae Thanks for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. We take all of our guests comments on board and use as a tool to benchmark oursleves, we will liaise with our punga team and ensure we are providing quality food and a range of suitable products. Our aim is to ensure all guests leave recommending us and apologise this was not the case for your stay with us at Punga Cove Resort.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Cathy wrote a review Mar 2023
8 contributions
Wow! Arriving at Punga Cove was an epic end to the day! I really recommend this place for not only fantastic service, but also great rooms, views and food! We had a great time kayaking in the cove and resting our legs in the hot tub with the fantastic views. Even the rain couldn't stop us from doing that. Out of all of the places along the Queen Charlotte Track, this was my favourite place to stay. Delicious meals, great setting and overall a fantastic place to stay. I wish I had longer here.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2023Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Brent Stander, General Manager at Punga Cove Resort
Responded 10 Mar 2023
Dear Lovecat Thanks for your glowing review and we are delighted to hear you enjoyed your time at Punga cove and the staff and services exceeded your expectations. We sincerely hope to see you back again in the future. Regards Brent Stander
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Kevin T wrote a review Mar 2023
3 contributions
Very nice accommodation. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Very helpful staff. Conversation was very clean and tidy. It was a very nice experience. Swimming pool Wills nice and clean and a great venue. Could use a spa pool as others were in it but maybe another time.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Brent Stander, General Manager at Punga Cove Resort
Responded 10 Mar 2023
Dear Kevin Thanks for taking the time to provide us with your valuable feedback and we are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay. We have taken your comments on board and will use as a tool to benchmark ourselves and make the necessary improvements where we can. We sincerely hope to see you back again in the not too distant future. Regards Brent Stander
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Punga Cove area.
PRICE RANGE
$230 - $318 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
punga cove hotel south island, hotel punga cove
LOCATION
New ZealandSouth IslandMarlborough RegionPunga Cove
NUMBER OF ROOMS
16
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

PUNGA COVE RESORT - Now $239 (Was $̶3̶2̶7̶) - UPDATED 2024 Reviews & Price Comparison (New Zealand) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Punga Cove Resort
Which popular attractions are close to Punga Cove Resort?
Nearby attractions include Marlborough Sounds (6.5 km) and Queen Charlotte Track (0.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Punga Cove Resort?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a pool, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
What food & drink options are available at Punga Cove Resort?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and free instant coffee during their stay.
Is parking available at Punga Cove Resort?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Punga Cove Resort?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Is Punga Cove Resort located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.6 km away from the centre of Punga Cove.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Punga Cove Resort?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Spanish.
Does Punga Cove Resort have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the harbour view available here.