We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Te Mahia Bay Resort

Save
Share
Kenepuru Sound, Marlborough 63 Te Mahia Road RD 2 Kenepuru Sound, Te Mahia 7282 New Zealand
eDreams
ZenHotels.com
Booking.com
Priceline
FindHotel
StayForLong
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Traveller (126)
Room & Suite (49)
Pool & Beach (9)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.

About

Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
Te Mahia Bay Resort- …"The Place of a Special Happening”… Naturally Beautiful…Te Mahia is nestled in the most picturesque secluded bay in the Marlborough Sounds. The perfect place for swimming and other water based activities which include kayak hire for our guests. Jann & Trevor offer you a choice of Luxury Seaview Apartments, Spacious Waterfront Motels or Gracious Heritage Units. All of our accommodation styles are fully self catering, specializing in those added personal touches which make us truly unique. We have a small store for your grocery needs, an on-license, Stone Grilled Pizzas, coffees and cakes and gift items. But no restaurant. Easy access to the Queen Charlotte Track and other scenic bush walks. one hours drive from Picton or 1 hour 20 mins from Blenheim, or a convenient 15 mins by water taxi from Picton. Relax and unwind with the native bird song and the lapping of the waves at your doorstep.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Breakfast in the room
Beach
Canoeing
Highchairs available
Massage
BBQ facilities
Wifi
Snack bar
Hiking
Fishing
Baggage storage
Convenience store
Gift shop
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Picnic area
Shops
Sun terrace
24-hour front desk
Self-serve laundry
Show more
Room features
Private beach
Private balcony
Seating area
Sofa
Coffee / tea maker
Kitchenette
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Microwave
Refrigerator
Kitchenware
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Great View
Languages Spoken
English
188Reviews1Q+A44Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 137
  • 35
  • 10
  • 4
  • 2
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Bel P wrote a review Apr 2021
Auckland, New Zealand33 contributions50 helpful votes
Very spacious and well appointed apartment with private deck facing Te Mahia Bay. Large kitchen and bathroom. Simple and very tasty meals at the outdoor Tinkers restaurant and breakfast delivery to our room. Close access to Queen Charlotte walkway.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Jann Hook, Owner at Te Mahia Bay Resort
Responded 23 Apr 2021
Thank you for your lovely review and we are so glad that you had such a comfortable enjoyable stay. Like yourselves, a lot of our guests do enjoy having such close access to the Queen Charlotte track.
Read more
FionaFen wrote a review Apr 2021
Marlborough Region, New Zealand129 contributions40 helpful votes
We were looking for a peaceful beautiful place to be in the Marlborough Sounds and we found it . We have stayed at many of the other lodges in the ‘ Sounds’ but this was never on our radar . The website really doesn’t do it justice . We stayed in a Seaview apartment and it was perfect . Comfortable , impeccably clean and had everything you could ever need . The location is breathtaking. I’m already planning our next - and longer - visit . There’s a food truck on site which looked great and if we hadn’t had a phenomenal lunch at The Captain’s Daughter in Havelock, we would have sat on the beautiful deck enjoying what looked like an amazingly creative fresh menu . There’s a little café/ shop that has a good stock of things you might want - wine / snacks/ icecream / milk / savouries etc . The Bay looked great for swimming / kayaking but we just enjoyed our stunning private deck with million dollar views . Next time . The drive seems long on the way , but it’s worth every second . The return journey didn’t seem so long and it’s stunning scenery . A real gem and now fixed on our radar to return for much longer to relax and recharge - maybe even a massage too !
Read more
Date of stay: April 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Jann Hook, Owner at Te Mahia Bay Resort
Responded 20 Apr 2021
Dear Fiona, Your review ROCKS!! Thank you so much and we look forward to hosting you again in the near future so you can stay longer and experience more of what the beautiful Kenepuru Sound has to offer. All the staff at Te Mahia are so proud of what we offer and it's so lovely to see their work being appreciated so much. I will pass on your comments to the rest of the staff. Kind regards Jann
Read more
Zephyr wrote a review Apr 2021
Auckland, New Zealand5 contributions1 helpful vote
Stayed here for a night with family and had a great time. The room was lovely, the staff were friendly and the grounds were very tidy. Also delicious coffee and food. A great local business thanks Jann and Trevor for your hospitality.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from Jann Hook, Owner at Te Mahia Bay Resort
Responded 5 Apr 2021
We are so pleased that you had such a lovely stay with us and do hope you can visit again one day in the near future. Regards Jann
Read more
Kiwijock wrote a review Mar 2021
Blenheim, New Zealand74 contributions24 helpful votes
View from our room was absolutely magnificent. The room was very large and had two single beds as well as our double. The seating available was not very relaxing for someone elderly with bad hips, being very low with a low back so that lying back to watch TV was impossible. Also a radio by the bed would have been very welcome. Rooms are spotless, and cooling facilities are basic but adequate.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2021
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Jann Hook, Owner at Te Mahia Bay Resort
Responded 28 Mar 2021
Thank you for your review, I am sorry that your bad hips gave you discomfort on the couch whilst trying to watch tv, if you had let us know straight away we could have brought another more suitable straight backed chair for you to make your stay more comfortable. All of our staff take great pride in our cleanliness of the rooms and the resort and we are always delighted when guests notice this and make comment. Regards Jann
Read more
AucklandWiz wrote a review Mar 2021
Auckland, New Zealand1494 contributions240 helpful votes
+1
Our stay was wonderful- 2 nights was not long enough. We had a motel unit which was lovely and clean and roomy with a separate bedroom to the lounge with extra beds in the lounge for bigger groups. It had a full kitchen, which was well equipped and happy to see their efforts with composting, recycling etc. The rooms have lovely views of the bay and the beach is at the door step just about. I loved how the bay was not very tidal and the water was lovely swimming any time of the day. The owners were lovely and friendly and loved the extras available like the little cafe in reception area for coffee and cake and a small store with some basic supplies. There is also services for pulling boats and trailers in and out of the water, hiring of a mooring etc. 'Tinkers Kitchen' food caravan is a nice touch. A nice seating area around it with tables with umbrellas overlooking the bay. The food was very tasty at a good price. I loved my pear, blue cheese and bacon salad- delicious. A couple of things that could have improved our stay- our bed was super springy and every time I turned over it would wake my husband and he would complain- it was like sleeping in a waterbed. Also the TV is really small for the size of the motel unit. But this would not put me off staying again but would add to the excellence of this place We definitely would love to stay again and explore the area and the sounds some more. Next time it will be for longer.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2021
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Jann Hook, Owner at Te Mahia Bay Resort
Responded 5 Mar 2021
Thank you for your wonderful comments and we are so pleased that you had such a lovely stay. On a very pleasing note, our new beds for all our waterfront motels arrived today - so these have been upgraded. We do hope you can return to stay with us longer next time. Regards Jann
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$106 - US$125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
te mahia bay hotel picton
LOCATION
New ZealandSouth IslandMarlborough RegionTe Mahia
NUMBER OF ROOMS
13
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Te Mahia Bay Resort
Which popular attractions are close to Te Mahia Bay Resort?
Nearby attractions include Queen Charlotte Track (6.3 km), Queen Charlotte Sound (6.8 km), and Lochmara Lodge Marlborough Sounds Wildlife Recovery Centre (2.2 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Te Mahia Bay Resort?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free parking, and reduced mobility rooms.
Which room amenities are available at Te Mahia Bay Resort?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Te Mahia Bay Resort?
Guests can enjoy barbeque facilities and a snack bar during their stay.
Is parking available at Te Mahia Bay Resort?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Te Mahia Bay Resort?
Conveniently located restaurants include Lochmara Cafe, Raetihi Lodge Restaurant, and Green Caravan Cafe.
Is Te Mahia Bay Resort located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.7 km away from the centre of Te Mahia.
Are there any historical sites close to Te Mahia Bay Resort?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Edwin Fox Maritime Museum (8.2 km).
Does Te Mahia Bay Resort have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the bay view available here.
Is Te Mahia Bay Resort accessible?
Yes, it offers reduced mobility rooms. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.