We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Inn on Lake Superior

Save
Share
350 Canal Park Dr, Duluth, MN 55802-2316
Official Hotel
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Booking.com
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
View all 13 deals
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (370)
360
Panoramas (9)
Room & Suite (336)
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
  • Daily temperature and symptom checks for staff
  • Contactless check-out
  • Individually wrapped toiletries
Updated 28/02/22 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from The Inn on Lake Superior
Updated 28/02/22 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#14 of 33 hotels in Duluth
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
GreenLeaders Bronze level
Enjoy the best views of Lake Superior from a Duluth MN lodging hotel! The Inn on Lake Superior is the only Duluth hotel in Canal Park that is one of a kind lodging which allows the staff and the hotel to offer guests a superior hotel stay when you visit Duluth and Canal Park. You won't find a nicer staff or rooms with all the fine amenities that a world class resort can offer anywhere else in Duluth, Minnesota. This is the only Canal Park Duluth hotel truly committed to being eco-friendly and green for you, our guest, and Lake Superior. This Canal Park hotel has 175 luxurious rooms and suites, mostly with private lakeview balconies, sporting panoramic views of Canal Park, the Duluth Lakewalk and Lake Superior. Views can also include the Aerial Lift Bridge and Downtown Duluth. This is la crème of Duluth Minnesota hotels. Our clean and comfortable rooms will relax and rejuvenate you and your family after a fun day in Duluth.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Bicycle rental
Game room
Business Centre with Internet Access
Parking
Wifi
Hot bath
Pool / beach towels
Rooftop pool
Pool with view
Indoor pool
Outdoor pool
Heated pool
Sauna
Breakfast available
Vending machine
Board games / puzzles
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Rooftop terrace
Baggage storage
Convenience store
Gift shop
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Picnic area
Shared lounge / TV area
Sun loungers / beach chairs
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Private balcony
Iron
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Microwave
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Room types
City view
Landmark view
Pool view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Family
Business
Languages Spoken
English
1757Reviews9Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 1,127
  • 358
  • 129
  • 92
  • 51
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
NMK - WI wrote a review Jun 2022
1 contribution
We booked 2 rooms first week of June 2022. First of all, the location is great, view is great, pool, hot tub and sauna, all good. HOWEVER...this place is in need of some serious TLC. Probably in it's day, it was wonderful. The cleanliness now, leaves much to be desired. We had to call down at midnight (after a long day of travel) to get new comforters (both rooms) because they were covered with MANY stains - brown, blue...don't know what it was, but GROSS! Then, upon further inspection, the drapes were also badly stained. I'm talking grease stains and what looks like coffee stains as big as my hand - like someone had a food fight. Our bathroom faucet was leaking - literally water coming up from behind the handle when turned on. they sent a guy to fix it, but two minutes after he left, it was leaking again. I took pictures and video of all this and brought it down to speak with the manager the next day. She never once said the words, "I'm sorry". She said they would she would comp me $50 per room - never did. So...if you want to take your chances and you like a hotel with dirty linens, drapes, floors, and broken fixtures...have at it. Also, bring your own coffee - there "continental breakfast" is gas station quality. If you like that kind of thing, again, go for it. Just check around at the price of this place for what you get, versus much cleaner and cheaper options. they are out there. By the way, the pictures they post are NOT what the rooms look like.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: King suites are beautiful, but ours had badly stained drapes, comforters and leaking faucets.
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Joe R wrote a review Jun 2022
Minnesota35 contributions6 helpful votes
Positives, on Lake Superior, great location. Housekeeping staff makes you feel welcome, along with maintenance staff A+. Improvements needed are: Guest relations could use improvement in greeting even if you are passing by the desk. Guest relations could review verbally the amenities provided and locations of services. Confusion in whether they serve hot items at breakfast- eggs etc. Member assisting kitchen staff said NO, spent most of his time looking at his smartphone. In checking with the front desk the issue was the Food Service licensed person was out that day. They have at least 2 windshield washing stations in the parking lot with squeegees which is very nice, however if there is no fluid in the tray not very useful (3 days empty on one of them). 3rd floor elevator area wallpaper needs repair- coming off- simple fix for the interim. Room outlet for clock, is tied to the entry switch, so if switch is off clock/ powerbase/ usb/ ac power is off to that portion of the switch. Simple electrical correction is needed. Balcony area has limited leg room, which is impacted by the seating they have provided. No sink in the bathroom, sink is in the main room, by the fridge and microwave. I would have made these notations to the front desk, but no comment card in the room and front desk didn't seem too interested in inquiring, when they asked how are stay was. If little annoyances in customer relations and visibly needed corrections aren't a issue, your visit would be satisfactory.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Helpful
Share
Liz M wrote a review Apr 2022
1 contribution
Wow this I by far one of the best hotels in Duluth I have ever stayed at! It was very clean & there was lot amenities!! It was so much fun! Great service as well, James W is a great manager, he was very professional & was VERY helpful! Rachel & Emma were very helpful as well. I highly recommend staying here! :)
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
brigida1998 wrote a review Apr 2022
Rochester, Minnesota306 contributions91 helpful votes
Great location - walkable to everything in Canal Park. Comfortable beds and nice balcony. Good complimentary breakfast. Super friendly breakfast staff that did a nice job cleaning the tables. Rooftop pool was nice but wished we had a better view from there.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from kelsey beck, Guest Services / Front Office at The Inn on Lake Superior
Responded 7 Apr 2022
Dear brlglda1998 Thank you for your review! we're happy to hear you had a good stay with us and we look forward to seeing you in the future.
Read more
HoboTraveler wrote a review Feb 2022
5 contributions1 helpful vote
We were looking forward to our stay as we have a hockey tournament in January. Sadly, that was canceled due to COVID and lack of referees. I called to cancel but it was not completed. Miranda at the resort was very helpful when we called and helped us with the cancellation and credit. This is the service that sets hotels apart. We will be looking to book here for our next trip to Duluth! Thank you Miranda!!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from Kelsey Beck, Other at The Inn on Lake Superior
Responded 8 Mar 2022
Dear M_itgirl123, Thank you so much for sharing about your customer service experience. I'm happy to hear that Miranda helped you with your cancellation and that you're excited to return to Duluth. We look forward to seeing you soon! Sincerely, Kelsey B. Assistant Director of Guest Services
Read more
Sarah G wrote a review Dec 2021
Fort Frances, Canada1 contribution
We decided to visit the Inn on Lake Superior for our visit to Bentleyville. I made the mistake of booking the wrong night, they were Abel to get us in but didn’t honour our rate which was kind of a bummer. But since it was my fault I didn’t complain. We got to our room and it was rather cold. The heater wouldn’t turn in so we called the front desk. They said they were oils send someone so we waited about an hour and no one came. We stopped at the front desk on the way out to let them know we were stepping out to grab something and they could just enter our room. They seemed to have forgotten about it. We came back and the heat was working. Great, well it didn’t last, it went out before we even went out for the evening. When we got back we tried adjusting the heat or looking for a reset button. We took the cover off and put it back on and that seemed to start it up again. Great, nope that didn’t last either woke up freezing in the middle of the night. Tried that trick again and nothing. Told the front desk at checkout and she could barely squeeze out an apology, she seemed defensive as if we were lying. I’ve always had great stays here but this time missed the mark, and customer service was completely lacking. We didn’t complain about the smell but the room smelt musty. Not a good experience overall.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
Helpful
Share
Bekah L wrote a review Nov 2021
1 contribution
We loved the place so much! Right on the lake, amazing roof top warm pool and just so cozy! Our room was beautiful and very clean. Can’t wait to come back! Also, Ashley at the front desk was very friendly!
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from Kelsey Beck, Other at The Inn on Lake Superior
Responded 19 Nov 2021
Dear 821bekahl, Thank you for your wonderful review. Your kind words mean a lot to us, and we are thrilled to hear you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to seeing you again soon! Sincerely, Kelsey B. Assistant Director of Guest Services
Read more
Rachael H wrote a review Nov 2021
1 contribution
I’m not sure how I really feel about The Inn on Lake Superior. It definitely didn’t feel clean, and it needs some TLC. I understand that COVID-19 has hit every employer hard, but some of the things we found in our room could’ve been easily avoided. The main area of our room was clean, but the bathroom was rather if-y. We found dog food behind the door, black long hairs in the shower, and toilet paper stuffed inside the door stop on the wall. The mirror on the outside of the bathroom had water marks and streaks all over it. The bathroom smelled like an animal had an accident, and it wasn’t pleasant. I understand that things get overlooked, but at $240.00 a night, I do expect a clean room, and that includes a clean bathroom, too. So, please, just be mindful of these things I mentioned above. :)
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from Kelsey Beck, Other at The Inn on Lake Superior
Responded 19 Nov 2021
Dear 860rachaelh, Thank you so much for staying with us and for sharing your feedback! Please accept our sincerest apology for the many issues with your room. The details that were missed while cleaning your room are unacceptable, and I will share your comments with our housekeeping team so we can correct where we fell short. Based on your review and profile information I wasn't able to find your reservation in our system. Please reach out to me directly at kbeck@innonlakesuperior.com with more specific reservation details to give us an opportunity to make amends. Thanks again for sharing your review! Sincerely, Kelsey B. Assistant Director of Guest Services
Read more
Carly S wrote a review Oct 2021
1 contribution2 helpful votes
I stayed here during a busy weekend in October and it was great! The front desk staff, Carolyn, Anthony, and Miranda were warm and friendly upon arrival and departure. Room was clean, comfortable, and quiet and the view of the lake was beautiful. I always look forward to coming to the Inn because they treat me like a VIP!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Kelsey Beck, Other at The Inn on Lake Superior
Responded 25 Oct 2021
Dear Carly S, Thank you so much for your wonderful review! We are so glad you had a great time in Duluth, and it means so much to us when our customer service is a memorable part of our guests' experience. You are most certainly a VIP in our book, and we can't wait to see you again soon! Sincerely, Kelsey B. Assistant Director of Guest Services
Read more
MNteacher wrote a review Oct 2021
42 contributions27 helpful votes
I have stayed at the Inn on Lake Superior in the past, although not for a couple years. Unfortunately, it's not the nice hotel it used to be. The drain plug in our tub wouldn't stay up so we had to jam a washcloth in it so that water could drain. I had to trade my comforter for a different one because the one on my bed was dirty on the edges, as though it had not been washed in a while. The new one was clean but very lumpy. The carpet in the hall is coming up at the seams in spots, making it easy to trip. The location is great and the staff was friendly, though.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Kelsey Beck, Other at The Inn on Lake Superior
Responded 25 Oct 2021
Dear MNteacherT7263ZC, Thank you so much for staying with us in the past and for visiting us again during your recent trip to Duluth. I sincerely apologize for your broken drain, the lumpy comforter, and the worn carpet. We will certainly address these issues with our maintenance and housekeeping teams. Also, we are happy to hear that our customer service and location were positive aspects of your stay. Thanks again for your comments--we look forward to seeing you again in the future! Sincerely, Kelsey B. Assistant Director of Guest Services
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$183 - US$303 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
the inn on lake superior hotel duluth, hotel on lake superior, lake superior inn, on lake superior duluth, lake superior hotel
LOCATION
United StatesMinnesotaDuluth
NUMBER OF ROOMS
174
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The Inn on Lake Superior
Which popular attractions are close to The Inn on Lake Superior?
Nearby attractions include Lake Superior Art Glass (0.09 km), Aerial Lift Bridge (0.4 km), and Lake Superior Maritime Visitor Center (0.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at The Inn on Lake Superior?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and free breakfast.
Which room amenities are available at The Inn on Lake Superior?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at The Inn on Lake Superior?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at The Inn on Lake Superior?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Inn on Lake Superior?
Conveniently located restaurants include Northern Waters Smokehaus, Vitta Pizza, and Lake Ave Restaurant & Bar.
Are there opportunities to exercise at The Inn on Lake Superior?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool, a fitness centre, and a sauna during their stay.
Is The Inn on Lake Superior located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.7 km away from the centre of Duluth.
Are any cleaning services offered at The Inn on Lake Superior?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does The Inn on Lake Superior offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Are there any historical sites close to The Inn on Lake Superior?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Glensheen, The Historic Congdon Estate (4.8 km), Clayton, Jackson, Mcghie Memorial (0.8 km), and Clayton Jackson McGhie Memorial (0.7 km).