FarCry, Wasgamuwa
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

FarCry, Wasgamuwa

Traveller (26)
Dining (11)
Muwa Room
Room & Suite (8)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

4.0
#1 of 1 apartment in Wasgamuwa National Park
4.1 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.3 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.3 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.2 of 5 bubbles
Value
Farcry is set amidst the lush expanses of Wasgamuwa between the majestic Knuckles Mountain Range and the great Mahaweli River. The lodge is a mosaic of rustic charm, tasteful features and gracious hospitality. 6 rooms, a restaurant and pool sit in perfect unison with the natural surroundings. FarCry is a haven for the wildlife enthusiast and a gateway to a number of marvelous attractions.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Pool
Outdoor pool
Restaurant
Non-smoking hotel
Room features
Air conditioning
Room service
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Mid-range

Location

Wasgamuwa Road, Wasgamuwa National Park Sri Lanka
Getting there
Polgolla Reservoir Airport
42.6 km
See all flights
Sigiriya Air Force Base Airport
54.5 km
See all flights
65Reviews0Q+A11Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 24
  • 21
  • 12
  • 5
  • 3
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
DaveR663 wrote a review Mar 2020
Nelson, New Zealand
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Our host and staff were genuinely hospitable and friendly. The rooms and hotel however are very tired looking and in dire need of some TLC. Maintenance and management control appears lacking. The food was all sourced from the property or locally and was basic but flavour some.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Florie P wrote a review Mar 2020
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We have been warlmy welcomed by Ashoka and Seneve. The place is right in the Nature, in a garden with bio fruits and veggies, a lot of Sri Lankan birds are easy to watch from the pool side. We had Sri Lankan dinner there and it was fantastic. They have prepared lunch for our safari and it was also delicious and very filly.
The rooms are spacious and practical. The place needs a bit of refreshment but the friendliness of the staff, the very good level of English and their constant desire to please you make your stay lovely!
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Rajitha S wrote a review Dec 2014
Colombo, Sri Lanka
5.0 of 5 bubbles
First of all, I must thank the owner of this place for giving value for money. The staff from Manager Chaminda, Chef down to the two assistants were so nice and polite.
Special mention must be made of the quality of food and the menu arrangement. It was well balanced and of the highest quality . Taste was exceptionally good.
We were looked after like royalty and I will go again. We plucked organically grown mango and veggies.
The best thing was our safari to Wasgamuwa National Park on Christmas eve 24th 2014. We came across one of the biggest Leopards I have ever see just 10 meters away.
Head to tail it must have measured easily 7 feet !
Here Kingfisher Safari’s did an excellent job and we had a super tracker and driver Sugath.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2014
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Family room
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Katarzyna M wrote a review Jul 2014
1.0 of 5 bubbles
My family and I visited Farcry Resort on the 2nd and 3rd of July, 2014. The manager greeted us when we arrived at the hotel at 8pm. Considering the pool was supposed to be closed at that time, the manager seemed so kind enough to let us swim for an hour before having dinner. We were so blinded by their service and noticed that the manager and other various workers were going up and down the stairs where our rooms were. In the morning upon checking out, I noticed that a considerable amount of money was missing from my wallet which I kept in the safe the whole time. None of the staff nor the manger were interested in my loss and when I asked to call the police as no one was going to help, the manager said that they won't come and laughed at me. He said that I can't prove that anyone had been in the room and that they cannot open the safe without the pin. Later on when I showed him the space for the master key he admitted that he can open it. We ended up calling the police and they arrived at the hotel. Even the police proved to be corrupted as they were all laughing at us and speaking in their own language. We all ended up going to the police station to lodge a complaint and the manger ended up slipping part of the money that had been stolen from me into my daughters passport. Unfortunately I did not get all my money back and I am sure that this is a common practice at this resort as they act without any consequences.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2014
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Farcry-Wasgamuwa, Public Relations Manager at FarCry, Wasgamuwa
Responded 21 Jul 2014
Dear Ms. Katarzyna, At FarCry we evaluate all guest feedback. We would like to remind you that you stated money was stolen only when your credit card was declined for lack of funds. As you wished to have the police involved in an investigation, we took you to the local police station. During the course of the investigation at the Police premises, the FULL AMOUNT you claimed was stolen was found in your daughter’s passport. At this point you informed for the first time that a further amount of money was missing. The police refused to record your complaint as the money you said was originally stolen, was found in your own belongings. Interestingly your driver, stated you had issues at other hotels and subsequently you had tried unsuccessfully to obtain a report from another Police stations as well. At FarCry we pay great attention to superior service and understand the importance of safety and security. This would be evident if you review feedback on Tripadvisor from other guests.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Karolina J wrote a review Aug 2014
1.0 of 5 bubbles
You say my response has many untruths yet I am guest who had this all happen to my family and was not treated with any respect or kindness in the given situation. Considering you were not in the room when the Police asked for our passports, how can you say they did not? I remember clearly handing our passport to the Police officer.

You could stop twisting the truth, because the police had inspected all the passports at the hotel (with no money inside) and the 400US dollars were found LATER on at the police station. One of the police officers who wasn't wearing a uniform was in the car with you on the way to the station, so you could talk over the best way to conclude this whole scam. On the statement, it reads clearly what was missing.

As you can see and anyone else that us reading this, we didn't come to Sri Lanka to spend many hours at Police stations. We wasted so much time because of this situation. Obviously, something here is not right and you still have the nerve to say we are lying.

We asked for the number of the owner of the hotel, not the General Manager. I have not even said that the hotel manager and the General Manager are the same person. I was requesting and still am requesting the contact details to the owner. This is my right as the customer who has been put through this and has not been treated fairly by the manager to receive this information. You do not need to be an intelligence agency to be able to turn the WIFI Internet on or off.

We were the only people staying at the hotel at the time, which is why it makes us wonder why you could not give us the two rooms next to each other facing the pool. Perhaps you gave us that one room which was hidden from view, so that it would be easier to go inside the room and steal from the safe. When I look back on this and imagine that, while my family and I are swimming in the pool, enjoying ourselves, someone is in our room, rummaging in the safe, through my personal belongings. Now, all I am doing is warning and trying to protect the potential victims who could experience such misconduct.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2014
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Farcry-Wasgamuwa, Guest Relations Manager at FarCry, Wasgamuwa
Responded 17 Aug 2014
You have had your say, we have had ours. We can go on forever, let the readers decide!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
sureshjith wrote a review Sept 2014
Colombo, Sri Lanka
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We went to Far Cry without having much information but as soon as we stepped in we knew that we made the correct choice. We were a group of 18 ( 4 families with kids) and occupied 4 rooms and stayed 2 nights on FB basis. All were extremely happy about the Service, Rooms, Food and the nice, quiet and well maintained environment that allows total relaxation with nature. Indika & his team were excellent. Only area that needs improvement is the access road (about 500 meters) which was not in good shape. We love to visit FARCRY again and do not hesitate to recommend to all our friends. - Suresh Perera
Read more
Date of stay: September 2014
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
moneypenny24 wrote a review Aug 2014
London, United Kingdom
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We arrived after a long long drive, then at the end of it there was 800 metres of broken road so we were exhausted when we arrived at the Lodge. Cold Towels,a refreshing drink and a welcoming manager showed us the choice of rooms. Its a new and remote Lodge which is unprepossessing in appearance. But boy is it good ! the quality of the food is outstanding - almost everything is sourced locally . Their farm which you can walk provides everything. So you don't eat fresher food. We walked informally around and one of the farm workers just pointed out the different plants, fauna, fruits and birds. The following morning the manager - again took us on a bird trail.. we say so much including a Hawk eagle,Hornbill, Kites, Drongos and much much more. The next day we visited the elephant reserve. But FarCry is a gem. The young guys who serve at table are outstanding representatives of service and friendliness . they sum up everything that is good about Sri Lanka. Visit and enjoy.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2014
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: All the rooms are great.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Farcry-Wasgamuwa, Guest Relations Manager at FarCry, Wasgamuwa
Responded 7 Aug 2014
Dear Madam, It was indeed a pleasure having you with us this season and appreciate very much your valued review. We look forward to see you next, when you visit Sri Lanka.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Ewa J wrote a review Jul 2014
Sydney, Australia
1.0 of 5 bubbles
I don't need a reminder about something that is faulty and not the truth. Both mine and my sisters credit cards were not working not due to lack of funds but because the hicaps terminal at your hotel is connected to a small Ceylon bank that does not read foreign (Polish and Australian) credit cards. We paid with the same card for 6 nights at the Amethyst Resort in Pasikuda so evidently there was no lack of funds. You did not take us to the Police station. We insisted for the Police to come to the hotel as you showed no interest in our loss and in the meantime, cut us off from all Internet access. The Police did a search in our room and asked for our passports, there was no money in any of the passports at that time. You were aware from the morning that 23000 Sri Lanken Rupees and 400US dollars were missing. Later, when we arrived at the Police station, after you were in the car with the Police, did part of the money *show up* in my daughters passport. It was not the FULL AMOUNT as you stated.

We never had any problems at the other hotels that we stayed at, we took advise from the manager at Giritale Hotel to lodge a complaint at Polonaruwa Police station. The police inspector over there, again didn't help us but called the manager of Farcry Resort and immediately started joking around and talking with him in their own language, which of course we could not understand. From this point my family and I knew we couldn't rely on any help from the Sri Lanken Police.

Before we departed Farcry Boutique Resort, we requested for the owner's details. We were given Mr Fernando's contact number and email from the manager which he insisted was the real owner. When the staff at Giritale Hotel connected us to this person, it proved to be the same man, the manager, a true scammer.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2014Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Farcry-Wasgamuwa, Guest Relations Manager at FarCry, Wasgamuwa
Responded 29 Jul 2014
Your response has many untruths, half-truths and inaccuracies. You visited the Wilgamuwa police station twice - once to complain and the second time after the police investigated your complaint at the FarCry premises, where they did NOT request to see your passports. However when they wanted your passports at the Police station, you produced three passports at first and the fourth passport of your daughter was in your vehicle. Your daughter, accompanied by a police officer and your own driver went to your vehicle to get the passport, where it was found that the missing 400 dollars was inside this passport. Then for the FIRST TIME you claimed that a further amount of Rs 23,000/- was missing. The police have given you a statement which states that the reported 400 dollars has been found. As you are also aware, our staff travelled in the hotel vehicle, the Police in theirs, and you and the other 3 persons of your party in your vehicle driven by your own driver - as such your claim that the police travelled in our vehicle is incorrect. Subsequently you made the same complaint at the Polonnaruwa Police Station and they, after contacting the Wilgamuwa Police Station and the hotel, don’t seem to have given you a document authenticating your new claim of missing money. The hotel manager gave you the number of our General Manager who spoke to you. As such your claim that the Hotel Manager and the General Manager are one and the same person is also incorrect. Additionally, Credit card machines are largely standardized the world over, and linked in our case to the biggest bank in Sri Lanka which accepts cards from any country. We are not an intelligence agency and do not have the technology to disconnect anyone from the internet. It is obvious to all, the reason you required a police report on this incident, and you not receiving same seems to be the reason to go on this frivolous crusade against our staff and FarCry. We don’t believe your allegations and insinuations on Tripadvisor will suffice in achieving your objective.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
JNP-Germany wrote a review Aug 2018
Darmstadt, Germany
4.0 of 5 bubbles
The Hotel is very nice and clean. The staff is very friendly (espacially the manager) and the diner and breakfast was really good. At the Hotel there is also a dragonfruit plantage, so get really fresh and tasty dragonfruits. You are immediatly in the nature and if you are lucky you can see wild elephants.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2018Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
traveler_traveler215 wrote a review Jan 2015
Zug, Switzerland
3.0 of 5 bubbles
The FarCry hotel is about 800 m away from the main road. As the to the hotel road was to dirty we couldn't drive there by ourselves. Our driver then called at the hotel and they picked as up.
The hotel is very basic but clean. The chef tried his best. The staff is friendly and helpful but there English is limited. We were the only guests at this time. It was okay for one night.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2015
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
No results found.Try changing or clearing your search to read questions and answers.
Kushlani J wrote a tip Feb 2015
Sri Jayawardenepura, Sri Lanka3 contributions
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Family room "Aliya" was spacious and comfortable with many shower rooms and toilets with all the facilities."
Read full review
Rajitha S wrote a tip Dec 2014
Colombo, Sri Lanka1 contribution3 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Family room"
Read full review
moneypenny24 wrote a tip Aug 2014
London, United Kingdom8 contributions11 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"All the rooms are great."
Read full review
john h wrote a tip Jun 2014
Hong Kong, China54 contributions33 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
"Find another hotel!"
Read full review
Thepul wrote a tip Apr 2014
Colombo, Sri Lanka4 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"I was in the room called “Diviya”. It has the panoramic view of the early sunrise and the pool."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Wasgamuwa National Park area.
LOCATION
Sri LankaWasgamuwa National Park
NUMBER OF ROOMS
6
Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

FARCRY, WASGAMUWA - Apartment Reviews (Wasgamuwa National Park, Sri Lanka) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about FarCry, Wasgamuwa
What are some of the property amenities at FarCry, Wasgamuwa?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
What food & drink options are available at FarCry, Wasgamuwa?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant during their stay.
Is parking available at FarCry, Wasgamuwa?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
Are there opportunities to exercise at FarCry, Wasgamuwa?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Is FarCry, Wasgamuwa located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.6 km away from the centre of Wasgamuwa National Park.
Is FarCry, Wasgamuwa accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.
FlightsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire