Wallingford Homestead
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Wallingford Homestead

2914 Porangahau Road Wallingford, Hawke's Bay, Waipukurau 4284 New Zealand
Marley the border collie
Traveller (52)
The dining room
Dining (31)
Wallingford
Videos (2)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

5.0
#1 of 3 lodges in Waipukurau
4.7 of 5 bubbles
Location
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.8 of 5 bubbles
Value
At Wallingford, beauty is everywhere. An elegant Luxe Hotel in Central Hawkes Bay, each room is imbued with a sense of well-being and gorgeous country charm. Indulge yourself, embracing the peace, the birdsong and the wide open vistas that country living has on offer. Chef Chris Stockdale (multi award winning) heads up the kitchen, his menus focusing on seasonal produce driven by the local Wallingford surrounds with an emphasis on foraging & the use of small passionate, ethical artisans. Truffles, herbs and vegetables picked from our very own garden with our Angus beef ultimately sourced from our own Wallingford Station.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Yoga classes
Bar / lounge
Beach
Golf course
Children's television networks
Parking
Internet
Pool / beach towels
Pool with view
Outdoor pool
Heated pool
Shallow end in pool
Fence around pool
Personal trainer
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Complimentary tea
Kids' meals
Outdoor dining area
Wine / champagne
Horseback riding
Tennis court
Fishing
Highchairs available
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Meeting rooms
Photo copier / fax In business centre
BBQ facilities
Baggage storage
Chapel / shrine
Executive lounge access
Outdoor fireplace
Outdoor furniture
Shared lounge / TV area
Umbrella
Clothes dryer
Self-serve laundry
Washing machine
Room features
Allergy-free room
Blackout curtains
Dining area
Fireplace
Private balcony
Cable / satellite TV
Electric blanket
Walk-in shower
Soundproof rooms
Bathrobes
Seating area
Separate dining area
Separate living room
Sofa
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Bottled water
Iron
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Flatscreen TV
On-demand films
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
Landmark view
Pool view
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Quaint
Languages Spoken
English

Location

2914 Porangahau Road Wallingford, Hawke's Bay, Waipukurau 4284 New Zealand
30Reviews0Q+A8Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 28
  • 1
  • 0
  • 1
  • 0
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Lynette B wrote a review Jan 2023
16 contributions2 helpful votes
Property's Favourite Review
5.0 of 5 bubbles
The most beautiful homestead where the hosts and atmosphere match the surroundings.
The food was magnificent , rooms top class. The whole experience (our slow food journey) was magical from start to finish.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2023
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: Romantic Escape
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Christopher Stockdale, General Manager at Wallingford Homestead
Responded 24 May 2023
Lynette and Lee, just stumbled across your gorgeous review, clearly I took my eye off the ball! - Thank you, thank you, thank you for these thoughtful and kind words. You two were our first 'Slow Food Journeyers' and oh, what fun we had. The package has been a big success and is now a staple. Chris is sending the cauliflower recipe as I type so, cauliflower for your winter Christmas! Take care you two lovelies.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
rod d wrote a review Jun 2020
Wellington, New Zealand87 contributions69 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed one Wednesday night in this lovely old homestead on our way to Hawkes Bay. We chose the room-only rate. The room was large and comfortable with lots of heating, a chaise longue and views out onto the estate where they grow their own truffles beneath oak trees. We had the shared bathroom to ourselves as no-one else was staying in our wing. The property was acquired 2 years ago by the current owners who owned an upmarket restaurant in Sydney. All the staff were very hospitable and we felt very well looked after. We were welcomed on arrival with freshly baked teacake and other goodies along with free tea and coffee, available for the duration of our stay. Dinner was in the dining room with 2 other guests next to a crackling fire, and we had a delicious and interesting six course meal based mainly around fish. We were particularly with a lovely soup of salted blue cod with the truffles, the bluefin sashimi and butternut tortellini with stem ginger and almonds. My wife who is gluten free was well catered for by modifications to the menu where necessary. The wine list featured local wines at not unreasonable prices. All in all we are thinking of bringing relatives to stay for a family luxury get together. Everything here is very well done, and the grounds would be lovely in summer. Keep your eye out for special events like the truffle weekend and cooking classes. Clearly would stay again.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2020
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: wifi is not good in all rooms, but is fine in the lounge
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Christopher Stockdale, General Manager at Wallingford Homestead
Responded 17 Aug 2021
Rod, Such encouraging words. Deeply appreciated! A take on the soup you mentioned was recently featured in 'Cuisine' magazine so clearly you have a discerning palate. Very much looking forward to welcoming you and your lovely people back into Wallingford hopefully in the not too distant future.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
JMJcalifornia wrote a review Apr 2021
San Francisco, California11 contributions6 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Along with another couple, we've just spent two nights at Wallingford. Our already high expectations were exceeded. We knew that this historic homestead would be charming and spacious, and it did not disappoint. What we were not prepared for was the truly excellent cuisine. It's a set menu, and every dish was interesting and perfectly balanced preparation and flavours. We three omnivores and one vegetarian agreed that we've never been so happy to eat whatever came out of the kitchen. We've recently done The Lindis, Eden Lodge, The Farm at Cape Kidnappers, Huka Lodge and several others. Chris Stockdale at Wallingford is simply the best. Jeanette Woerner, his partner and the front of house, is genuinely warm and wants you to be happy. She sent us off to visit gorgeous Porangahau Beach, recommended coffees at Flotsam and Jetsam and that was a perfect outing. We came hack to the homestead to walk the grounds and read on the verandah. Divine. We've already booked in for November.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Christopher Stockdale, General Manager at Wallingford Homestead
Responded 17 Aug 2021
Judy, Thank you for these kind words. Jeanette and I are passionate about what we do so to receive this feedback is seriously validating and most encouraging. We very much look forward to hosting your extended clan this November.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
ok_xin wrote a review Aug 2021
Auckland, New Zealand1,217 contribution131 helpful votes
+1
2.0 of 5 bubbles
We drove all the way from Auckland to taste the gourmet food here. As the location of Wallingford was too remote, we thought it was a good idea to stay a night there as they advertised the house as a luxury accommodation. We understand it was an 100 years old house converted accommodation but we never expected the two rooms were like halfway renovated, many unfinished parts, very dusty (we suspected these were not suppose to rent out but due to we asked for the place, they just put my family in) and some of the windows could not properly locked up. Although the room was not too expensive, at price of $250 per room per night, we totally did not expect something like that.

Before our arrival, we had communicated with the person in charge through emails. The communication not only broke down, they did not response promptly.

We booked for 3 seven course dinner and a child set but when we arrived the staff told us they only had 2 seven course booked. My 16 year old had missed her chance to taste the food. When we asked to add some dishes to the child sets with extra cost, they said only soup could be added to my children meals. Very disappointed as we were there for celebrating my daughter birthday.

The food was gorgeous. I have to say every dish was very special. Despite the bad communication before our arrival and the lousy rooms, the food was world class. I personally recommend to visit for the food but not to stay overnight unless the old lady is fully refurbished.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Christopher Stockdale, General Manager at Wallingford Homestead
Responded 19 Aug 2021
Cindy, we appreciate your feedback and were very grateful for your positive comments regarding the food. Wallingford has consistently gained 5 star reviews from our guests so we were surprised to get such a poor rating for the accomodation. However, we were undergoing renovations at the time of your stay on September 30, 2020 and we apologise if that impacted your stay. Wallingford has undergone extensive refurbishments since your stay 12 months ago and we are confident that your experience would be superior if you visited us today. We wish you and your lovely family; husband Oon, daughter Angel and youngest Tristan all the best. The kindest of regards
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
968lizg wrote a review Apr 2023
Tauranga, New Zealand42 contributions30 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
What a beautiful place , this lovely old home just welcomes you in .
The staff could not be more welcoming and helpful without ever being intrusive
The rooms vary in size but not in quality or Finnish .
This lodge feels more like a home , lovely open fires and comfy couches
Plenty of space to spread yourselves around
Beautiful outdoor heated pool.
We were a group of 14 on cycling trip
After a morning ride we played games out on the lawn - something that is becoming a lost activity . All of us laughing and having fun .
BUT the food , well I could go on for pages . The food was art on a plate, among the best I’ve ever eaten .
Read more
Date of stay: April 2023
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Room Tip: If you want a peaceful break with friends , anniversary celebration Or intimate wedding . Some...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Christopher Stockdale, General Manager at Wallingford Homestead
Responded 24 May 2023
Liz, Very appreciative of the accolates you have bestowed on the property and the team. Safe journeying and we hope to see you and your lovely people in the not too distant future.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
pandconz wrote a review Apr 2023
4 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Perhaps the 'where's Wally' of HB homestays. I say that as a HB local who, until recently, was unaware we had this jewel of a foodie / luxury accommodation venue in our region. You are welcomed by the co-owner Jeanette, made to feel like you are the only guests there and treated to some outstanding food prepared by the now, 2 on site chefs. The 10 course degustation dinner on the Saturday night is a must try for all HB locals and available without the expense of staying at the accommodation. This was a birthday weekend for my wife and she described Wallingford after the event as perfect, what more do you need?
Read more
Date of stay: March 2023
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: No TV in your room however wifi is very good so you can stay connected to the world if you wish.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Jeanette Woerner, General Manager at Wallingford Homestead
Responded 24 May 2023
Paul and Megan, Chuffed you two graced the Wallingford doorstep. The 'Where's Wally' of Hawke's Bay home stays, we love it! Thank you both for the shout out and looking forward to hosting you again in the future.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Liz v wrote a review Aug 2020
Iztapa, Guatemala10 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
This place truly is outstanding. It is a perfect blend of a luxury homestead with excellent hospitality and innovative & delicious food. We visited for a truffle hunting weekend and enjoyed meeting other kindred spirits that all share a passion for amazing food. We were all in awe of every plate that arrived in the degustation menu. Breakfast was also a treat. As well as being hospitality geniuses Chris & Jeanette are warm and genuine people and this is evident in the culture & ambience they have developed at Wallingford. I cannot recommend this place enough.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Christopher Stockdale, General Manager at Wallingford Homestead
Responded 17 Aug 2021
Hello there Liz, We have re-read each sentence you penned again and again, the whole time whispering quietly, 'yes, yes' our faces glowworms of joy. Thank you for this gift of acknowledgement.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Paula wrote a review May 2022
11 contributions1 helpful vote
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
A beautiful expansive homestead set amongst lush lawns and flower beds, old trees and views across farmland. Our room was beautiful with a gorgeous en suite, warm and very comfortable. Dinner is an experience with an amazing chef cresting works of art almost too beautiful to eat and tasting as good as they look! An incredible dessert finished off 7 or 8 courses, followed by a nightcap in front of the fire. Service is impeccable, warm and friendly. This is a truly special jewel in Central Hawke’s Bay.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Christopher Stockdale, General Manager at Wallingford Homestead
Responded 24 May 2023
Paula, thank you for taking the time to write this lovely review. Very appreciative and looking forward to seeing you next time.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
hokimai wrote a review Apr 2023
Tauranga410 contributions73 helpful votes
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
What a fabulous place to unwind in a beautiful country setting. From the moment we arrived to the time we left, we had the most wonderful experience. We did the slow food journey package, which was amazing. The staff were attentive but not intrusive, nothing appeared to be too much trouble. I can't fault our experience, at all. Congrats Wallingford for your wonderful hospitality!
Read more
Date of stay: April 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Christopher Stockdale, General Manager at Wallingford Homestead
Responded 24 May 2023
Over the moon that you enjoyed your sojourn at Wallingford. Thank you for the congrats on our hospitality, each team member gives 100 percent, rejoicing in their individual roles, so it was very heartening to hear you felt this energy.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
247Travel wrote a review Jan 2020
Auckland, New Zealand144 contributions187 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I can't speak more highly of Wallingford. We booked a two night stay and can't wait to return. Roxy welcomed us to the property and anticipated all our needs. Jeanette soon introduced herself to us and couldn't do enough to help. She was an outstanding hostess with lost of interesting stories. We had the run of the place the first day and were overwhelmed by the dinner that evening. This is not a place to visit if you are on a diet or don't like beautiful food, prepared with the greatest of care. The dinners were exquisite and the breakfasts just right. If you wish to spend some time recharging and relaxing, then this is the place for you. Make sure you take in a walk along Porangahau beach, an easy ten minute drive away.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from CPS1234, Manager at Wallingford Homestead
Responded 24 Jan 2020
Hello there Angus, Such gorgeous words, so encouraging, so thoughtful - thank you! We so loved having you and Yvette stay with us and are heartened that you left feeling recharged and refreshed. Very much looking forward to your next visit, new chair covers in the mix for Yvette and the Tangueray (green bottle) on the shelf for you. Best, Jeanette
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
No results found.Try changing or clearing your search to read questions and answers.
pandconz wrote a tip Apr 2023
4 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"No TV in your room however wifi is very good so you can stay connected to the world if you wish."
Read full review
968lizg wrote a tip Apr 2023
Tauranga, New Zealand42 contributions30 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"If you want a peaceful break with friends , anniversary celebration Or intimate wedding . Some one who loves fine dining - yum "
Read full review
Lynette B wrote a tip Jan 2023
16 contributions2 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Romantic Escape"
Read full review
rod d wrote a tip Jun 2020
Wellington, New Zealand87 contributions69 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"wifi is not good in all rooms, but is fine in the lounge"
Read full review
Heather B wrote a tip Oct 2019
Napier, Hawke's Bay, New Zealand222 contributions48 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"All rooms are on the ground floor. Sir John’s has an easy use walk in shower."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Waipukurau area.
PRICE RANGE
$931 - $1,169 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
New ZealandNorth IslandHawke's Bay RegionWaipukurau
NUMBER OF ROOMS
5
Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

WALLINGFORD HOMESTEAD - Lodge Reviews & Price Comparison (Waipukurau) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Wallingford Homestead
What are some of the property amenities at Wallingford Homestead?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Wallingford Homestead?
Top room amenities include a flat screen TV, blackout curtains, and a dining area.
What food & drink options are available at Wallingford Homestead?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Wallingford Homestead?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Wallingford Homestead?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and yoga classes during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Wallingford Homestead?
Yes, self serve laundry and a clothes dryer are offered to guests.
Does Wallingford Homestead offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and conference facilities.
Is Wallingford Homestead accessible?
Yes, it offers facilities for disabled guests. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday HomesTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire