Gibbston Valley Lodge & Spa
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Gibbston Valley Lodge & Spa

1820 State Highway 6, Gibbston 9371 New Zealand
Traveller (202)
Dining (28)
Each luxurious villa is comfortable, modern and includes everything you need to feel truly at ho
Room & Suite (8)
What is Travellers’ Choice Best of the Best?
This award is our highest recognition and is presented annually to those businesses that are the Best of the Best on Tripadvisor, those that earn excellent reviews from travellers and are ranked in the top 1% of properties worldwide.
Learn more

View prices for your travel dates

Fully refundable before Wed, 29 May
No prepayment needed
$759
Fully refundable before Thu, 30 May
Get rewarded with One Key
$759
Fully refundable before Wed, 29 May
No booking fees
$617
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

5.0
#1 of 2 hotels in Gibbston
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Location
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.9 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.7 of 5 bubbles
Value
This award is our highest recognition and is presented annually to the top 1% of businesses across select categories.
Set within Central Otago’s oldest founding vineyards, and nestled between rugged schist mountains, Gibbston Valley Lodge & Spa offers the ultimate in relaxed luxury, fine wine, gastronomic food and five-star concierge service. Twenty four private villas featuring views over organic and historic vineyards are sure to impress. Each villa offers spacious and luxurious indoor living areas open onto a secluded, covered deck and courtyard. Inspired by the Central Otago landscape, the lodge’s soaring ceiling and locally sourced schist finishing echoes the natural beauty and the awe-inspiring elements of the region. Located inside the lodge, an exclusive wine cellar, the conservatory and a media room are perfect venue options for your most important and intimate events. Be sure to experience our onsite Spa and a range of activities on offer - exclusive wine tastings, vineyard tours, cave dinner, private picnics and luxury cycle tours. The concierge team at Gibbston Valley is committed to making every moment of your time here a seamless, enjoyable, and unforgettable experience.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Hot bath
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Bicycle rental
Hiking
Airport transportation
Electric vehicle charging station
Valet parking
Wifi
Fitness / spa changing rooms
Sauna
Bar / lounge
Coffee shop
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Outdoor dining area
Snack bar
Special diet menus
Wine / champagne
Aerobics offsite
Bicycle tours
Canoeing offsite
Patio
Walking tours
Shuttle bus service
Taxi service
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Meeting rooms
Photo copier / fax In business centre
Spa
Body wrap
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Foot bath
Foot massage
Full body massage
Hand massage
Head massage
Manicure
Massage
Massage chair
Neck massage
Open-air bath
Pedicure
Steam room
Waxing services
Adults only
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Concierge
Gift shop
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor fireplace
Outdoor furniture
Picnic area
Shared lounge / TV area
Sun deck
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun terrace
Sun umbrellas
Butler service
Doorperson
First aid kit
Umbrella
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Private check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Room features
Allergy-free room
Soundproof rooms
Air conditioning
Desk
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Extra long beds
Walk-in shower
Bathrobes
Fireplace
Housekeeping
Interconnected rooms available
Private balcony
Room service
Safe
Seating area
Separate living room
Sofa
Telephone
VIP room facilities
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Bottled water
Clothes rack
Iron
Laptop safe
Private bathrooms
Tile / marble floor
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Minibar
Refrigerator
Electric kettle
Flatscreen TV
On-demand films
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
Mountain view
Landmark view
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Qualmark.
5.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Romantic
Quaint
Languages Spoken
English, French, Spanish, Chinese and 4 more

Location

1820 State Highway 6, Gibbston 9371 New Zealand
262Reviews0Q+A39Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 234
  • 18
  • 8
  • 1
  • 1
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
John C wrote a review Sept 2020
Auckland, New Zealand29 contributions15 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Prior to Level 3 lock down in Auckland, we had built a trip south around staying at Gibbston Lodge and Spa. As Auckland remained in Level 3, we slowly lost much of our proposed South Island trip. But thankfully, Aucklanders were released and we managed to escape in time to take up our booking at Gibbston. The Lodge is brand spanking new and thankfully, due to Covid, the management were offering a great rate for Kiwis who wanted to stay. We had our own villa, with fire, outside deck (on which to sit and watch the snow fall) great bed and bathroom and all the mod cons you could want for (Perhaps a sound system that we could hook up to our devices might have been a bonus)
Breakfasts were part of deal, (yummy) and there was an evening wine tasting each evening and believe me, we tasted some superb wines. And it wasn't only a small offering with 10 or so wines tasted each evening.
Dinner at lodge was again a superb experience. The food was stunning (try the octopus and chorizo... To die for!) and you could order a wide range of Gibbston wines in a range of dispensing sizes.
And, if you sign up to buy 12 bottles of wine over twelve months, you get 10% off the price of your stay. Basically, free wine!
Go for it. Come on NZ. Let's get out there, support our superb local providers and enjoy what is the most beautiful country in the world.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: Just go and enjoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Toni S wrote a review Jun 2020
12 contributions2 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We booked a few nights at Gibston Valley for a break away. The villa was nice and very warm. The standout would be the very large bathroom with a huge tub, spacious shower and heated tiles. The restaurant area is inviting with lots of different spaces to enjoy. A wine by the fire was perfect. We were fortunate to take advantage of the post lockdown deals which was great. I'd have to say I definitely would not pay the standard $825 per night to stay here. For that price I would expect some of the finer details such as more than just the standard toiletries and maybe even a complimentary bottle of water, as everything in the mini bar was charged. The website invites guests to advise their dietary requirements so they can accommodate. Despite providing this information 4 weeks in advance the kitchen were not aware when we arrived so our first dinner was improvised and not what you would expect for the price. However we booked dinner for our last night and they provided a special 3 course meal for us which was delicious. The staff were friendly but again the service wasn't $825 per night. With the exception of Rachit who was outstanding. He took time to talk to us, nothing was an issue and he clearly has experience in high end hospitality. Overall we had a nice time but don't feel it's at all worth $825 per night.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Traveler wrote a review Jan 2020
New York City, New York39 contributions18 helpful votes
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
It’s hard to do this lodge justice in words but having spent a week at Gibbston, I can assure you that the experience is first class. From amenities and room appointments (deep soaking tubs, beautiful shower, premium linens and soaps, vanity area, a fantastic living space with fireplace and even a creek that’s landscaped to run right past your room), to the personalized concierge service (Jae at reception, Donna the host and Anthony the chef) especially made the trip memorable.

Even though the lodge is newly built, each unit is expertly appointed, the staff is exceptional and the food is amazing. You’re within walking distance to the Gibbston Winery and Cheesery where lunch (especially the duck!) was exceptional. With a full 6 night stay, there actually wasn’t enough time to take advantage of all the activities available. I probably could have hiked and fished for a few more days.

The bespoke wine experience tour (a private tour of the winery with one of the the Gibbston winemakers (Sacha or Matt), a very in depth Pinot tasting, a movie and lunch (which we didn’t have time for) was a particular highlight. The breakfast buffet was fantastic every morning and I can’t say enough about their local preserves, honey and jams. Bike rentals are free for lodge guests and there are trails in both directions where you can picnic alongside the river. Dinner is served in the lodge but bar New Year’s Eve and the final night, we enjoyed charcuterie from the cheesery while overlooking the creek / courtyard off the front porch.

If you’re looking to relax in an adults-only environment to do nothing or, if you’re just looking for an amazing base 20 minutes from Queenstown, Gibbston Lodge is your best bet. It’s certainly an investment but I wasn’t disappointed with this accommodation in any way.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from GibbstonValleyNZ, Manager at Gibbston Valley Lodge & Spa
Responded 16 Jan 2020
Wow! Thank you for this delightful review! You have certainly captured the essence of the Gibbston Valley Lodge & Spa experience! It sounds like you really made the most of your stay! Particularly awesome to hear that you were able to fit in the Essential Winery Experience during your stay! You're welcome back any time!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
macfod wrote a review Jun 2020
Dunedin, New Zealand664 contributions223 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
We made the mistake of booking five nights and left early after we discovered they prefer short term visits.
The place is well located and the chalets really are top notch and very comfortable and up to date which you would expect given the daily rate.
The bar and seating area are pretty comfortable until sitting round the fire with guests coming in you tend to feel you are sitting in reception.
We did feel let down by the food choice of set menu at evening meals as with a limited choice of food.
If you were staying one or two nights it would have been fine but longer then it was a case of thats it!
The chef rules the roost and wasnt even interested in talking about alternatives although only a few guests were staying.
No chance of variance.
Ok the food served over two nights was very good, but no choice and all pre prepared.
The fact the second night the chef forgot one of our meals was unacceptable and so we decided not to prolong our stay.
No chance of food either outside lunch nor dinner at 6pm either apart from chips or lettuce leaves.
A big gripe about house keeping.
The room we staying in still has the previous guests underwear and shorts on the back of bathroom door and hair on bathroom floor and so guessed it certainly cleaned to Covid standard as all door handles should have been wiped.
We were told the guest cleaning manager would discuss with us but no one ever did!
Our thoughts are they need to lift their game as aspects of our stay were never answered.
It’s certainly not on our list of places to return to.
Hopefully other guests will see improvements.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
675trinaa wrote a review Aug 2020
Cromwell9 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
As one night getaway (40 mins from home) we were extremely impressed with the room and facilities. The rooms were furnished to a very high standard and were a pleasant surprise, as we had originally thought the units (while being built) would cater more towards a budget traveller/cyclists. Would definitely stay again!! Please keep offering locals specials as well :)
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: All rooms have excellent views and privacy
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Aaron wrote a review May 2020
4 contributions1 helpful vote
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Stayed on a locals deal which was excellent value for money Overall a great stay, amazing atmosphere and good staff.

Room was good although bedroom part not very large, but a wonderful bathroom with comfortable bath. A few minor service/ maintaince things like room set to 25 degrees on arrival meant it was suffocating, broken tap in bathroom, TV remote that would stop working and room card stopped working prior to check out time. Not major things at all but unexpected given luxury status of lodge.

Food in restaurant was really good, in particular the ravioli starter was amazing.
Food was well priced given the context. Was surprised at the mark up on a nip of cognac at $55, even in a 5 star lodge this seemed excessive and not reflective of what you pay at similar places.

Wonderful alternative to the hussle of Queenstown.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
sydneychicks wrote a review Mar 2020
Sydney, Australia16 contributions8 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed at Gibbston Valley for two nights in February and it was one of the best hotels we have ever stayed in. Everything has been considered from the beautiful rooms, bathrooms, privacy, views and finishes to the restaurant food, breakfast (YUM!), amenities, hotel offerings and most importantly, the absolutely beautiful staff. Rachit, Edson, Wanlob and the incredible winemaker Chris were absolute highlights of our stay. The restaurant food is amazing, the location is wonderful and there are so many stunning areas within the hotel grounds to relax and unwind. The wine is fantastic - we were lucky enough to get engaged on our stay and even after only two days, the staff felt like family. We cannot wait to go back. Do yourself a favour and stay here!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from GibbstonValleyNZ GibbstonValleyNZ, Marketing at Gibbston Valley Lodge & Spa
Responded 19 Mar 2020
Well we can't say enough how humbled we are to receive such an awesome review! Particularly great to hear that you had such positive engagements with our team! And speaking of engagements - congratulations!!! Much appreciation for the recommendation! We can't wait to welcome you back again! Honeymoon or... wedding perhaps...!? Wink wink.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Rayner4 wrote a review Dec 2021
Wellington, New Zealand132 contributions75 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed two nights as part of a luxury escape package for our wedding anniversary and the villas are lovely and well appointed. A couple of things were the difference between a 4 and 5 star experience. When we arrived we found 6 dead flies on the windowsill or carpet which probably should have been dealt with by housekeeping. The breakfast which was part of our package was very disappointing for a luxury lodge. The eggs were like rubber the bacon so dry and hard was like eating leather. The 2nd day we asked for freshly cooked bacon which the chef agreed to do so was much better but we for go having anything else from the cooked menu on the 2nd day. Upon check-out just before 10am we went to settle our account and hand in key card however we waited in reception and no one came. There was also no one in the dining area so we just had to leave the key card on the reception desk. We thought this was very odd especially when 10am is check-out time. Later that afternoon we received an email saying our credit card had been charged $800 for accommodation however we had paid for our luxury escapes package in January 2021. The lodge knew we were part of a luxury escapes package because on arrival we went through with the guy on reception what we were entitled to. We called the lodge to advise them and the lady called us back to say sorry their mistake they weren’t fully sure if it was a luxury escape. So without checking into this further or calling us to double check they just charged us again. Luckily we were not relying on the credit on our card for the rest of our trip as we were advised our refund could take 5-7 days.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: Any room would be lovely
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Mav wrote a review Feb 2023
Singapore, Singapore173 contributions52 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
The rooms are spacious and well designed with a massive comfy bed, big bathroom with dual vanities and a big bath and a separate lounge area opening onto a sunny private outdoor area.

In our opinion this was a little off the cost, and if it was slightly cheaper they would have more customers compared to other accommodation that we enjoyed in the area.

The room service fee was exorbitant for delivery of food to the room and the inhouse dining restaurant menu limited and expensive for what was on offer, so we just went to Arrowtown each day.

Could be so much better but the pricing here is way out compared to surrounding competitors offering similar accommodations.

Martin & Jocelyn Vockler
Read more
Date of stay: February 2023
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from GibbstonValleyNZ GibbstonValleyNZ, Guest Services / Front Office at Gibbston Valley Lodge & Spa
Responded 12 Mar 2023
Hi Martin and Jocelyn, Thank you for your feedback. We are pleased you enjoyed your room and found them spacious and comfy. We are disappointed our food offering did not meet your expectations as we aim to provide an enjoyable experience onsite for our guest. We have passed your comments on to the team and hope you will stay again in the future.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nathan A wrote a review Mar 2020
3 contributions2 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
What a treat to have this amazing venue at our back door. Our stay included two nights at the lodge accommodation, free drinks on arrival, complementary breakfast each day, an essential wine experience tour and bikes to tour the local trails. Staff were friendly, very knowledgeable and very helpful...nothing was a problem. We didn't realise the wine experience was a full 2.5hr tour of the vineyard, winery, movie in the lodge cinema, wine tasting in the lodge celler and finishing with lunch and wine of our choice! Would have liked to make use of the hot tubs but forgot our swimwear. Suggest a little more variety on the chefs menu as it was a little fancy for our taste, but we had great meals in nearby Arrowtown. Yes we are locals and would definitely stay again if luxury escapes repeated the offer.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from GibbstonValleyNZ GibbstonValleyNZ, Marketing at Gibbston Valley Lodge & Spa
Responded 10 Aug 2020
Thanks for the recommendation! So thrilled to have some true locals stay with us. It sounds like you really made the most of your stay. Also thank you for the feedback on chefs menu and we will pass it on to the restaurant team. We will definitely keep you on the loop about the future offer and look forward to seeing you again!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
No results found.Try changing or clearing your search to read questions and answers.
Sheena M wrote a tip Apr 2024
Pokeno, New Zealand14 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"It maybe pricey but this isn't just a massage, it is an entire experience of being relaxed head to toe and floating out feeling like a queen"
Read full review
Barbara K wrote a tip Feb 2024
2 contributions
2.0 of 5 bubbles
"Arrive early, we rang at 5.30 to state arrival at 8.30, no one answered the phone or returned our call, therefore, no meal on arrival. Several ks to nearest food outlet."
Read full review
BrianBoru1 wrote a tip Jan 2024
Sarasota, Florida6 contributions2 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"You’ll get “hero points” here!!"
Read full review
Peter wrote a tip Jan 2024
3 contributions1 helpful vote
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Careful when ordering coffee )"
Read full review
Lindamaca wrote a tip Nov 2023
Wellington, New Zealand16 contributions22 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Grab a drink and sit by the firepit. "
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Gibbston area.
PRICE RANGE
$473 - $652 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
New ZealandSouth IslandOtago RegionGibbston
NUMBER OF ROOMS
24
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

GIBBSTON VALLEY LODGE & SPA - Hotel Reviews & Price Comparison - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Gibbston Valley Lodge & Spa
Which popular attractions are close to Gibbston Valley Lodge & Spa?
Nearby attractions include Crown Range Road (4.9 km), Kawarau Suspension Bridge (1.2 km), and Kawarau River (1.2 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Gibbston Valley Lodge & Spa?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Gibbston Valley Lodge & Spa?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Gibbston Valley Lodge & Spa?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Gibbston Valley Lodge & Spa?
Yes, free parking, a parking garage, and secured parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Gibbston Valley Lodge & Spa?
Conveniently located restaurants include Gibbston Valley Winery Restaurant, Kinross Winery - Bistro, and Gibbston tavern.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Gibbston Valley Lodge & Spa?
Yes, guests have access to a fitness centre, a sauna, and locker rooms available in the fitness centre during their stay.
Does Gibbston Valley Lodge & Spa have airport transportation?
Yes, Gibbston Valley Lodge & Spa offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at Gibbston Valley Lodge & Spa?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Gibbston Valley Lodge & Spa offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and conference facilities.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Gibbston Valley Lodge & Spa?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, French, Italian, Chinese, Portuguese, and Hindi.
All Gibbston HotelsGibbston Hotel DealsHotels near Gibbston Valley Lodge & Spa
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday HomesTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire