Arlo Chicago
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Arlo Chicago

Traveller (313)
Chicago Rooms DoubleQueen
Room & Suite (120)
Arlo Chicago
Videos (1)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

4.5
#37 of 208 hotels in Chicago
4.9 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.8 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Value
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
At Arlo Chicago, Chicago's renowned architecture, history, and love of art come together in a modern, luxury hotel experience. This exciting new retreat infuses the Michigan Avenue hotel scene with a chic, urban energy that reflects its patron's famed warmth and hospitality. Located just steps from Chicago's iconic Millennium Park, Arlo Chicago brings together the stylish sophistication of The Magnificent Mile®, the artistic refinement of the Cultural Mile and the savvy street smarts of the Loop business district.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Valet parking
Wifi
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
24-hour security
Baggage storage
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Happy hour
Outdoor dining area
Concierge
Non-smoking hotel
Laundry service
Ironing service
Room features
Allergy-free room
Blackout curtains
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Refrigerator
Cable / satellite TV
Walk-in shower
Bathrobes
Interconnected rooms available
Room service
Safe
Seating area
Telephone
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Iron
Laptop safe
Private bathrooms
Tile / marble floor
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Flatscreen TV
On-demand films
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
City view
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Modern
Charming
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish

Location

168 North Michigan Ave., Chicago, IL 60601
Getting there
Great for walkers
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 100 out of 100
100
Midway Airport
15.2 km
See all flights
O'Hare Intl Airport
25.7 km
See all flights
Randolph/Wabash
2 minChicago L
860Reviews19Q+A100Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 656
  • 99
  • 32
  • 27
  • 47
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
GeorgeB408 wrote a review Apr 2024
Chicago16 contributions19 helpful votes
Hotel's Favourite
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Brianca is why I would return and highly recommend the hotel. While the location is perfect, the value great, and the comfort high it is the personal attention of staff that sets this place apart. The staff professionalism and service is five star. Every Ned was anticipated and met. Brianca was fantastic front start to check out.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Kierra Moore, General Manager at Arlo Chicago
Responded 1 May 2024
We truly appreciate your continuous support and trust in us. Your 5-star review brightens our day and serves as a constant reminder of why we love what we do.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Lovemymac wrote a review Mar 2020
Owasso, Oklahoma54 contributions11 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
The millennium king with the floor to ceiling windows are amazing. Request high floor for best views of Michigan Avenue.
At first we booked this dine and stay package. We were upset as where I’m from done and stay means it includes dining. So when no one could help us I complained and the front manager Tyrone called us and personally understood and said he didn’t quite get the done and stay either. So he talked to us and helped us by getting us a discount since we would have otherwise chosen the cheaper valet parking.

If you do not need valet and in out privileges you can use spot hero and you can park around the corner for much cheaper.
It’s a beautiful hotel it’s a boutique hotel only 17 floors and not many rooms to each floor.

I did notice the 17th flood the bed had motion lights under the bed but our room on the 16th did not. It’s so nice to get up at night and have the lights light the floor to the bathroom for you.
They do not have any bathtubs all of the rooms are the glass shower but it actually does have a door where I have noticed that some of the Marriotts and some other hotels are going to this open shower concept where you have a half of a glass wall there. I also like that when you open the door it open so that you can reach right out and get anything off of the sink in case you are like some people and have 1 million different products and you can put them on the shower.
The location can’t be beat right across the street is a Chicago pizza place that everyone loves there’s this amazing pancake and egg place called Wildberry which is just steps away from the hotel there’s a five guys next-door donut shop across the way. And you’re just two minutes to walk to millennium Park and the beam. I mean they have the perfect location on Michigan Avenue. I stayed at another hotel further down on Michigan Avenue and I thoroughly missed having that right In the heart of Michigan Avenue being across from millennium park and all of the shops and so forth.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Larry I, Front Office Manager at Arlo Chicago
Responded 16 Mar 2020
Hello ilovemyimac, Thank you for your review and for staying with us. We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. From our warm and welcoming team members to our convenient location and in-room amenities. We thank you again for your recommendation and look forward to welcoming you back soon!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Discreet wrote a review Jan 2020
Orlando, Florida5 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
The Hotel Julian is a small boutique hotel w/excellent service, amenities and a location that puts you in the heart of the theater district, the museum of art Millennium Park and various restaurants ranging from quick inexpensive cafes to more upscale restaurants. In fact there is a lovely restaurant and bar inside the lobby of the hotel! Shops are in walking distance. The rooms are small but comfortable and tastefully decorated complemented by an amazing automatic lighting system. Above all the hotel has systems in place to make one feel safe. The reception and luggage attendees are very welcoming, gracious and professional. This small hotel is worth experiencing!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2019Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Larry I, Manager at Arlo Chicago
Responded 2 Jan 2020
Dear PleasantTrips, Thank you for your review and for staying with us. We're thrilled to hear you found our team, amenities, and location to be excellent. We're also pleased to hear that you loved the eateries and cafes nearby. We're also pleased to hear you felt safe. We hope to welcome you again, PleasantTrips. Thank you again.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
traveling20142014 wrote a review Feb 2020
Brooklyn, New York18 contributions5 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
This hotel had great reviews and was also recommended by a friend. I'm not sure if because it is winter and off season they let things slide? This is a great location, the lobby is very cute & stylish and the rooms are small but stylish and well-appointed. One of the most important things in any hotel is cleanliness and our bathroom was not clean. And in the worst part- the toilet. It was gross. The bathroom counter had also not been cleaned after the first day and the dishes & items over the mini bar were not replenished. The bed wasn't made correctly so the sheet kept coming off the duvet cover throughout the night. On top of that, we had a bad experience at the restaurant. Service was nice but the food was terrible. Their avocado toast doesn't even have fresh avocado. Its a brownish avocado "spread". Their room service doesn't open until 9am and we were rudely told to order UberEats or Seamless. And, at night, my daughter wasn't feeling well and wanted to order toast from the restaurant and we were told, they "don't have bread after brunch". For the price of the room, I'm ok with the restaurant not being but the dirty toilet. Ugh.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Larry I, Front Office Manager at Arlo Chicago
Responded 21 Feb 2020
Dear traveling20142014, Thank you for your review and for staying with us. We're happy to hear you liked our lobby and room designs and found our rooms to be well appointed. We appreciate your feedback regarding our service and housekeeping. We sent you a message so we could learn more and improve your experience but we have not heard back. We are open to hearing more from you to improve. Thank you again.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
carolina10142020 wrote a review Feb 2020
Alden, Minnesota1 contribution1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
This hotel is a great deal, considering it’s location near Millenium Park and distance from a bunch of museums and restaurants around the area. The decor is pretty swanky and hip, and I really like the interior designs of the rooms.
I love it!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Larry I, Front Office Manager at Arlo Chicago
Responded 4 Feb 2020
Hello carolina10142020, Thank you for your kind review and for staying with us recently. We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We are also happy to know you enjoyed our convenient location and our interior design. We thank you again for your recommendation and look forward to welcoming you back soon!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Kyle S wrote a review Dec 2020
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
My wife and I stayed here on less than 24 hours notice and picked it because of its location in the center of multiple places we wanted to visit. We got there and we were greeted by a front desk worker named Jenn who was INCREDIBLE and super nice. We were able to get an early check-in after our road trip took less time than we thought. We got a vista king room and got placed right on Michigan Ave, with a view of Lake Michigan and the band shell. It was perfect. The room itself is a little small, so I wouldn't recommend it for someone with kids, but if you are traveling solo or as a couple, it is perfect. Everything in the room was very modern and updated, the shower was huge, the bed was comfortable, the TV is gigantic, there's a fridge. There isn't much desk space, so if you're gonna eat in the room you gotta be careful because there isn't much room to put anything. Our only negative would be that the doors to all the rooms close very loudly, so if you're in a spot close to any other rooms, you're going to hear the door closing all day and all night if they are going in and out. They need to get some different hinges to make the room doors close more softly.

We really really liked staying here and we'll try and stay here again in the future because of how nice Jenn was at the front desk and how comfortable and welcoming the room itself was, and more than anything, the amazing location right in the middle of everything we enjoy.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: Michigan Ave. side rooms can have a view of Lake Michigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Larry Irving, General Manager at Arlo Chicago
Responded 28 Dec 2020
Dear KleShreen, Thank you for staying with us and for writing a review! We're thrilled to hear that you enjoyed the service from our team and early check-in. We're also glad to hear that you loved the location and views from your room. It's great to hear that you would stay with us again and we look forward to having you back!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
DTravelDiva wrote a review Oct 2020
Seattle, Washington416 contributions109 helpful votes
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We only stayed for a night because this was an extended weekend trip. Hotel Julian didn’t disappoint. During this pandemic, they have all the necessary precautions and sanitation process to make you feel at ease with your stay. Our room was clean and it was very inviting. I love the decor and the added extra amenities such as 2 Fiji bottled water at check in, coffee and tea service in the room. There’s a refrigerator also. The bathrobes were added a sense of luxury and the bathroom toiletries top notch. I highly recommend this place as it in on Michigan Ave. a central location with lots of restaurants and shops just outside the hotel
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Larry Irving, General Manager at Arlo Chicago
Responded 12 Oct 2020
Hello DTravelDiva, Thank you for your kind review and for staying with us while you celebrated your birthday! We are thrilled to know you enjoyed your stay with us. From our in-room amenities to our clean and comfortable space. We thank you again for your recommendation and hope to welcome you back again soon!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Brian M wrote a review Jan 2020
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I stayed at the Julian on 01/17/2020 for only one night. This place is super clean, very well decorated and super clean (I was very happy with that).

The rooms have all been remodeled and so are in excellent condition. I stayed in room 714 that faced Michigan Ave. The hotel is in older building with thick walls so the sound from the street was barely noticeable.

I feel the $130 rate (includes all taxes, fees, etc) was extremely affordable for the room and experience I received.

Lastly, all hotel staff were courteous and professional.

If looking for a trendy, clean place to stay in the Chicago Loop, that’s affordable, check out The Julian.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Larry I, Front Office Manager at Arlo Chicago
Responded 21 Jan 2020
Hello A9002FBbrianm, Thank you for your review and for staying with us recently. We are so pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. From our clean and comfortable accommodations to our warm and welcoming team members. We thank you again for your recommendation and look forward to welcoming you back soon!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Lisa S wrote a review Feb 2020
Channahon, Illinois54 contributions69 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
My boyfriend and I usually stay in the city a couple times a year as a little getaway. (We are from the suburbs.) Our go to used to be booking through a third party website to get a great deal. However, the last time we did that we had a horrible experience.

We have stayed at Hotel Julian right after it first opened, so we decided to here again. We booked directly with the hotel. We were not disappointed! It looks pretty much exactly the same as when we stayed there last!

We love how convenient the location is to almost everything in the city. We come to the city a lot to go to the theater, and it is the prefect location! It is an easy walk the theater, shopping on State St, Millennium Park, restaurants, and even the Mag Mile is an easy walk! Everything else is an easy Uber ride away. But we walked everywhere we wanted to go downtown.

We encountered nothing but helpful and courteous staff here!

The rooms are modern and extremely clean. We like to lounge around in the morning, so we put out the do not disturb sign. We were able to ask for more towels and toiletries when we ran out, and we were supplied with them very quickly!

We love it here and may just have to book here every time we stay in the city!

You won’t be disappointed! It’s worth the money!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Larry I, Manager at Arlo Chicago
Responded 10 Feb 2020
Dear Lisa S, Thank you for staying with us and for your review. We're happy to hear that you returned to stay with us a second time and that we did not disappoint. We're also glad to hear that you utilized the convenient location and being walking distance from sightseeing spots, restaurants, shops, bars, and more. We're also thrilled to hear that you appreciated our hardworking team and their efforts. We will pass your kind words along to them. We look forward to welcoming you again in the future, Lisa S. Thank you again.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Brian V wrote a review Oct 2020
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I love this place, all around great experience. It's on Michigan Avenue with a great view, The employees are great and caring, Ann in particular is a pleasure to deal with each time.

Bed is extremely comfortable, location is great with attractions around and overall feel extremely safe in that area.

Def recommend for anyone trying to get away for a night or visiting Chicago for the first time.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: Go with City View, it's worth it
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Larry Irving, General Manager at Arlo Chicago
Responded 9 Oct 2020
Hello brianvN6199UX, Thank you for your kind review and for visiting us recently. We are so pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. From our warm and welcoming team members to our great views and comfortable rooms. We thank you again for your recommendation and hope to welcome you back again soon! Thanks again, brianvN6199UX!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Ashley asked a question Nov 2023
Iron Mountain, Michigan2 contributions1 helpful vote
Does the hotel have stairs to the rooms to use instead of an elevator?
Marilyn M asked a question Apr 2022
Saint Joseph, Michigan38 contributions9 helpful votes
are room small
Answer from Luis O
1 contribution
Rooms were appropriately sized I don’t feel they were too small at all.
Sightseer28035741191 wrote a tip 3 Jun
1 contribution
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"ask for a room with a view"
Read full review
ShawndeLeon wrote a tip May 2024
Dallas, Texas6 contributions4 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Small public space / lobby. Additional fees, referred to as Urban fees are not part of the room rate and added to your bill."
Read full review
Grace B wrote a tip May 2024
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Always double check to where your room is located if you are wanting a quieter room. Or if you are wanting more city views. "
Read full review
Destiny r wrote a tip May 2024
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Bring a jacket and comfy shoes "
Read full review
Atiana B wrote a tip Apr 2024
1 contribution
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Hotel is near a train track/station FYI"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Chicago area.
PRICE RANGE
$355 - $668 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Hotel Julian
LOCATION
United StatesIllinoisChicagoCentral / Downtown / The Loop / Theater District
NUMBER OF ROOMS
218
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

ARLO CHICAGO - Hotel Reviews & Price Comparison (IL) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Arlo Chicago
What are some of the property amenities at Arlo Chicago?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and a fitness centre.
Which room amenities are available at Arlo Chicago?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Arlo Chicago?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Arlo Chicago?
Yes, valet parking is available to guests.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Arlo Chicago?
Yes, guests have access to a fitness centre during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Arlo Chicago?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Arlo Chicago?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Spanish.
Does Arlo Chicago have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the city view available here.
Is Arlo Chicago accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access, reduced mobility rooms, and facilities for disabled guests. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.
All Chicago HotelsChicago Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in ChicagoHotels near Arlo Chicago
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire