Hotel Duval, Autograph Collection
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Hotel Duval, Autograph Collection

Shower is pretty awesome.  Dual Rainfall shower headsand the river rock floor were awesome touch
Traveller (299)
Little black worms on a washcloth at the Hotel Duval.
Room & Suite (156)
Hotel Duval, Autograph Collection
Videos (1)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Did you already book this hotel?

About

4.0
#15 of 65 hotels in Tallahassee
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Service
3.9 of 5 bubbles
Value
Hotel Duval, Tallahassee's first boutique hotel experience, is a diamond tucked into the charming heart of North Florida. We offer everything you need for a perfect stay: sensational accommodations, exquisite food and drinks, thrilling entertainment and gorgeous event spaces. Hotel Duval is a contemporary reminder of Tallahassee's rich history. Once the prominent place to meet and shape Florida's future, this renovated boutique hotel boasts upscale accommodations, a rooftop bar, and a Shula's 347 Grill. Hotel Duval is proud to be a member of the Marriott Autograph Collection, an exclusive portfolio of innovative and stylish boutique hotels. Marriott Rewards members can earn and redeem benefits at Hotel Duval. Come to the Hotel Duval for business or pleasure. Dine here. Drink here. Host a wedding or meeting. It's the hotel for all seasons, all guests, and all moods.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Paid private parking on-site
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Rooftop terrace
Baggage storage
Parking
Wifi
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Rooftop bar
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Non-smoking hotel
ATM on site
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Room features
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Room service
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Telephone
Iron
Private bathrooms
Hair dryer
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Boutique
Great View
Languages Spoken
English
Hotel links
Special Offer:Earn points toward free nights.

Location

415 N Monroe St, Tallahassee, FL 32301
Getting there
Somewhat walkable
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 69 out of 100
69
Tallahassee Municipal Airport
962Reviews6Q+A100Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 478
  • 197
  • 123
  • 98
  • 66
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
j9999 wrote a review Jun 2020
USA
3.0 of 5 bubbles
As the parent of a FSU student, I’ve stayed in quite a few of the local hotels. None are great. The town is totally dead right now due to the pandemic closing the campus so the rate we got here was $108. There was no valet, so parking was free and in the empty attached lot. Check in was friendly and efficient. The lobby was empty.

The room was worth $100 but I would have been disappointed had I paid the “going rate” during the busy times in Tallahassee. Bed was comfortable but the room was super dark and had a noisy window a/c unit. The bathroom looked like it could use an update. The light bulb flashed on and off like a strobe light and there was not enough light anywhere had I wanted to do my make up. The shower floor was made up of black pebbles and made me wonder if it was actually clean.

The worst part of the room was the weird opaque sliding glass bathroom doors. It offered very, very little privacy. It would be fine if you were traveling alone but it you are traveling with others, it might be very awkward and would be a reason not to stay here!

The hotel choices in Tallahassee are crappy, especially when it is move in time, game weekend, etc . Very overpriced for what you get. I would not pay up to stay here because it is just as meh as the other local choices.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2020
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Haley Bayse, Guest Services / Front Office at Hotel Duval, Autograph Collection
Responded 13 Jul 2020
Thank you for your feedback. I am sorry that you felt the hotel was not as good as some of the other choices in the area. We do understand that certain design features may not be ideal for all travelers. We will share your feedback with our team to ensure we focus in the areas you mentioned.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Zane wrote a review Dec 2020
Atlanta, Georgia
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I had stayed here once before and it was a wonderful stay so it was really a no brainier to book this hotel again when it came time to needing a hotel in Tallahassee especially since selections are limited in the City. I was a bit surprised that there were so many reviews where guests did not have a positive experience however that is far from what I experienced. To start, I had to change the day of my arrival one day early and the front desk staff through the mobile app did this right away and then the next day I woke up to see my reservation had been upgraded to a suite which was even better! From the minute I arrived I was greeted by friendly staff who were so friendly and helpful and thanked my for my titanium status with Marriott.

COVID-19 was taken seriously at this property as all employees had masks on and masks were even provided at the desk in case guests needed one.

The room was clean and spacious, shower was great with plenty of pressure and hot water and it was a quiet and peaceful stay. Also they still bring the bill and put it under the door which is something that I haven’t seen in years just one of those small things that I really appreciate. Lastly, I appreciate the fact they had a Tesla charging station which is just an added bonus to all the other great things this hotel has to offer!
Read more
Date of stay: December 2020Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from william Holper, General Manager at Hotel Duval, Autograph Collection
Responded 12 Feb 2021
On behalf of the entire hotel team, I want to thank you for sharing your experiences with us about your recent stay at the Hotel Duval, Autograph Collection. We appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback. We also recognize these are unusual times and we thank you for choosing to stay with us
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Heather_T wrote a review Oct 2022
Nashville, Tennessee
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Be warned this hotel does not deserve to be in the Autograph Collection.

Pros: staff is extremely nice, welcome gifts are nice and lobby is nice.

Cons: the rest of the hotel looks like a rundown motel that just got fresh paint and a fancy light fixture.

You pay extra to stay at the AC and this one was a disappointment. Everything is old and dated. The room is like a studio so if you don’t want someone to see you shower while you’re still in bed then book something else.

Embarrassing for Marriott
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022Trip type: Travelled on business
Room Tip: Very hard to get Ubers in this town too
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Hotel Duval, Guest Services / Front Office at Hotel Duval, Autograph Collection
Responded 14 Oct 2022
On behalf of the entire team I want to thank you for sharing your comments regarding your recent stay at Hotel Duval, Autograph Collection. I am sorry that we did not meet your expectations and will work with the team to improve based on your feedback. We thank you for choosing us!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Tazmwl wrote a review Jun 2020
Boynton Beach, Florida
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Generally a fan of Marriotts Autography collection, but this property didn't live up to expectations. This property approach to Covid is to suspend services, no Valet, no bellman, no in-room dining, Spa closed, and Shula wasn't open the night we stayed. The hotel should have reached out to the very few guests they had pre-arrival to inform them of the limited services. One expects a higher level of cleaning during this time, we didn't experience this. The first room (a suite) was filthy and we were moved to a smaller room (rate was adjusted down). Very disappointed by this property and can't recommend it.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2020
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
2.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Haley Bayse, Guest Services / Front Office at Hotel Duval, Autograph Collection
Responded 13 Jul 2020
Thank you for sharing your thoughts on your recent stay. I am sorry to hear that you were disappointed in the lack of services at the hotel. We do have a banner on the Marriott website that aims to inform our guests that we have limited services available. I do apologize that your room was not cleaned properly and rest assured, we are focused on making cleanliness a top priority on a daily basis. I do hope you will consider giving us another opportunity to serve you in the future.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
MsLiv78 wrote a review Feb 2020
Delray Beach, Florida
1.0 of 5 bubbles
I arrived in my room to sticky tile floors in the entrance and bathroom, and a pair of dirty boxers on the floor from a prior guest. I always check for bed bugs and while there were no evidence of bed bugs there were dark liquid stains on the side of the mattress pad and what looked like blood under the other mattress. I called the front desk and let them know about the boxers and they said they would send a cleaning person. I asked that they at least change the sheets in front of me because I have seen those 60-Minutes episodes where they don't even change the sheets. I went to a friend's room on another floor and hers was just as gross so changing rooms would have been futile. I luckily had Clorox wipes with me so I wiped off all of the surfaces and wore slippers that I brought from home, but I would NEVER stay here again. They didn't even offer to take anything off of my bill.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
2.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
Room Tip: Don't stay here...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from hotelduval19, Manager at Hotel Duval, Autograph Collection
Responded 8 Feb 2020
Dear MsLiv78, Thank you for sharing your feedback regarding your recent stay. Maintaining a fresh atmosphere within our guest rooms and common areas is always a key priority. On behalf of the entire team at the Hotel Duval, Autograph Collection, I sincerely apologize for falling short of not only meeting your expectations, but ours as well. Rest assured, the feedback provided will be shared with the appropriate hotel team to ensure we consistently deliver upon guest expectations. I hope you consider giving us another opportunity to serve you in the future.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Geri J wrote a review Jan 2020
Tifton, Georgia
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Shoebox size rooms with window air conditioning units are what you will have in store when you visit this establishment. Also the maids start knocking on your door around 8am so hopefully you are a morning person. The showers are so gross as seen in the pictures that you definitely don’t want to set foot in them. This hotel is a disgrace to the Autograph collection. On top of all of this and most unforgivable is the rudeness of the front desk staff which is I’m sure a huge reason why there are so many negative reviews here. If you want to stay somewhere nice in Tallahassee the Doubletree is your best bet.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Voyager38953093051, Manager at Hotel Duval, Autograph Collection
Responded 27 Jan 2020
Dear 143gerij, Thank you for your review and providing your honest feedback concerning your experiences here at Hotel Duval, Autograph Collection. I am so sorry to hear that your time spent with us was not satisfactory and that the overall feel of the product as well as your treatment by the staff was not acceptable. I am the Front Office Manager for the hotel and regret that this happened to you immensely. I would like the opportunity to make it right for you and connect with you to hear more specifics about your concerns if you would like to. Please do not hesitate to reach out to me at jayson.powers@marriott.com if and when I may be able to be of any further assistance to you. Thank you again for staying with us and I hope we have the chance to connect soon.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Den rvc wrote a review Feb 2020
1.0 of 5 bubbles
I was visiting Tallahassee to meet with people from FSU, I'm an alumni, someone recommended and it came up #1 in Google search for best hotel. I believe it's a 4 Star, It is in the Marriot "Autograph" collection ( whatever that means). The Hotel is a mess from the exterior driveway to the rooms. The grey and black decor helps to hide all the defects. We checked in , the TINY, only window in our room was filthy, it's a thermal pane window, the seals were broken, condensate is inside the window, it cannot be cleaned, it has to be replaced. No window, no view. The furniture is wood painted black it's all chipped. The bathroom ceiling is thin plastic layin tiles, it's dirty and broken in places. called the front desk, someone came up said "oh yea" I'm sorry, asst. Manager called also I'm sorry. Finally offered 25% discount, I didn't want a 25% discount I wanted a room with a window. Any other 4 Star hotel would have changed my room. Very disappointed it is not a cheap hotel but it is a dump. I have pictures if anyone wants them.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled on business
Room Tip: Find a different hotel
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from hotelduval19, Manager at Hotel Duval, Autograph Collection
Responded 20 Feb 2020
Dear Wantsvalue123, Thank you for sharing your feedback regarding your recent stay. I am sorry to hear you were disappointed with the condition of the hotel and in particular, your window. The hotel was built in 1951, and does have many historic features, such as small windows. I apologize that we were not able to move you to another room, however, our rooms all have similar windows. We appreciate you sharing your thoughts and rest assured, we have shared them with our ownership to ensure these items are addressed. We hope you give us another opportunity to serve you in the future.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
4trekkers wrote a review Oct 2021
1.0 of 5 bubbles
The previous review that was written by Katherine reflect EXACTLY my sentiments. I wish I had read her review before we made our reservation. This hotel is filthy. First, it smells musty. We also only received 1 towel too. Tried to call housekeeping several times, and nobody answered the phone. That 1 towel and the bedsheets felt very damp. Our bathroom was disgusting: my shoes were sticking to the floor that looked like it had not been mopped in a long time; the shower stall was dirty, and the previous tenant’s used bar of soap and shampoos were left in there (proof that it hadn’t been cleaned). In this day of Covid, you’d think that cleanliness and sanitizing would be a priority. There’s no central air, so the unit in the room is extremely loud and didn’t turn off once it reached the temperature I set it to. Plus, the air vent was moldy and dusty. I was so disgusted with the filth of this place. I walked around the room with my shoes on, used a jacket to cover my pillow cases, and covered the shower floor with the hand towels. Just reflective of the low standards of management. I wouldn’t recommend staying here. Thank goodness my stay was the one and only night I’d ever spend here.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
brazilflyer333 wrote a review Aug 2020
Orlando, Florida
2.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed here recently on points for one night. Pros include helpful service from the front desk staff upon check-in, comfortable bed and reliable wifi in the room. Beyond that, we were disappointed with this stay. We understood this was an older property that had been renovated, but the state of wear and tear in our small standard room was surprising, and didn't resemble what we saw in the marketing photos online. The room and bathroom were smaller than expected, NYC-level small. The bathroom sink was partially clogged and drained slowly, which we informed staff about upon checkout. And the walls seemed thin, in that we could hear guests in a neighboring room all night, and could hear guests using the ice machine in the hallway. We appreciate the small unique style of the hotel, but felt cleanliness didn't meet our expectations.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Haley Bayse, Guest Services / Front Office at Hotel Duval, Autograph Collection
Responded 5 Aug 2020
Dear brazilflyer333, Thank you for sharing your feedback. I am happy to hear that you our staff was friendly and helpful and the comfort of your bed met your expectations. I do apologize your sink was not draining properly and the condition of your room was unsatisfactory. We have shared your feedback with our team to address these items. I hope you give us another opportunity to serve you in the future.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
mnytalks1 wrote a review Mar 2020
Largo, Florida
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Stayed here over the weekend for business. First, the front desk messed up the check-in process and deleted the companies credit card and charged mine for the room. Once in the room it was small, musty, and the bathroom had a septic smell that came and went. The water pressure is terrible.

On the good side the valets were great and the free breakfast that comes with the Bonvoy Marriott membership was really good.

Having said all that stay somewhere else.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from hotelduval19, Manager at Hotel Duval, Autograph Collection
Responded 3 Mar 2020
Thank you for providing your honest feedback regarding your stay. I am sorry to hear that were not able to deliver the experience you deserve. I apologize for the miscommunication regarding your payment method and the room odor and water pressure. Rest assured, we have shared your feedback with our team and will be sure to address these items. I am glad you enjoyed the breakfast and valet service. I hope you give us another opportunity to serve you in the future.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nathan asked a question Jan 2021
Greensburg, Pennsylvania1 contribution1 helpful vote
I’m a bit claustrophobic. Can you take stairs to the rooms? Might the elevators be glass window enclosed?
Answer from AndreaUbok
Florida4,085 contributions367 helpful votes
When we were at the Duval in August only one out of two elevators were working. The elevators were very small, not glass enclosed. Because of COVID we wanted to take the stairs, but we were on a high floor with heavy luggage. The elevator was an issue, a real concern. There was always a long wait, many stops and it wasn't clean. Our room was claustrophobic, it was dark room with a tiny window that was small & too high to look out. The configuration was terrible. We will never stay in the Duval again!
Answer from SunshineDiver
Tallahassee, Florida415 contributions162 helpful votes
You can probably call the hotel to negotiate breakfast, or if you are a Marriott Rewards member, it should be included. The food there is delicious! Most people who stay there are Florida residents, so there is likely not a discount for being one, though AAA and other discount rates would apply. Personally, I hate valet parking, so I prefer to park on the street. In addition to the metered spaces, there are free spaces about a block away.
John John S wrote a tip Mar 2024
Cancun, Mexico2 contributions
2.0 of 5 bubbles
"If you have to stay, only accept a high room. Valet is $36, tonnes of street parking."
Read full review
Mark G wrote a tip Nov 2023
1 contribution
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Look for an alternative "
Read full review
jenbzthings wrote a tip Sept 2023
Jacksonville, Florida75 contributions57 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"$30 overnight valet parking only"
Read full review
jimmy w wrote a tip Aug 2023
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Amazing staff! Great price and great hotel!"
Read full review
Meeshmartin wrote a tip Jun 2023
San Jose, California186 contributions103 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"Bring a candle or room spray with you"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Tallahassee area.
PRICE RANGE
$219 - $267 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
tallahassee park plaza
LOCATION
United StatesFloridaFlorida PanhandleTallahassee
NUMBER OF ROOMS
117
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

HOTEL DUVAL, AUTOGRAPH COLLECTION - Now $234 (Was $̶2̶6̶5̶) - UPDATED 2024 Reviews & Price Comparison (Tallahassee, FL) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Hotel Duval, Autograph Collection
Which popular attractions are close to Hotel Duval, Autograph Collection?
Nearby attractions include Gatorama (0.4 km), Florida Governor's Mansion (0.4 km), and Stone Age (0.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Hotel Duval, Autograph Collection?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a rooftop bar, free wifi, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Hotel Duval, Autograph Collection?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Hotel Duval, Autograph Collection?
Guests can enjoy a rooftop bar, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Hotel Duval, Autograph Collection?
Yes, paid private parking on-site is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Hotel Duval, Autograph Collection?
Conveniently located restaurants include Shula's 347 Grill, Bird's Aphrodisiac Oyster Shack, and Clusters & Hops.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Hotel Duval, Autograph Collection?
Yes, guests have access to a fitness centre during their stay.
Is Hotel Duval, Autograph Collection located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.9 km away from the centre of Tallahassee.
Does Hotel Duval, Autograph Collection offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Are there any historical sites close to Hotel Duval, Autograph Collection?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Mission San Luis de Apalachee (3.8 km), Florida State Capitol Building (0.9 km), and The Grove Museum (0.6 km).
Is Hotel Duval, Autograph Collection accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access, reduced mobility rooms, and facilities for disabled guests. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.
All Tallahassee HotelsTallahassee Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in TallahasseeHotels near Hotel Duval, Autograph Collection
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday HomesTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire