The Don CeSar
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

The Don CeSar

View from standing in the Ocean
Traveller (2965)
Poolside at the Don CeSar
Pool & Beach (603)
Sunset
Room & Suite (462)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Did you already book this hotel?

About

4.0
#17 of 32 hotels in St. Pete Beach
4.7 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.3 of 5 bubbles
Service
3.6 of 5 bubbles
Value
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Known as Florida's "Pink Palace," The Don CeSar, facing the white sands of the Gulf of Mexico, was built in 1928 to resemble a Mediterranean-style castle. Born in the Great Gatsby era as a playground for the rich and famous, the iconic "Pink Palace" has been revitalized and refreshed within, ensuring a future as rich and storied as its history. Enjoy newly redesigned 277 luxurious rooms including 36 suites, many with spectacular views of the pristine Gulf beaches or Boca Ciega Bay. Relax and indulge at Spa Oceana, featuring over 11,000 square feet of spa facilities, luxurious spa treatments, full service salon, and a stunning rooftop garden overlooking the azure waters of the Gulf of Mexico.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Valet parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Pool
Bar / lounge
Beach
Aerobics
Babysitting
Paid private parking on-site
Wifi
Yoga classes
Fitness / spa changing rooms
Fitness classes
Sauna
Hot bath
Pool / beach towels
Pool with view
Outdoor pool
Heated pool
Coffee shop
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Poolside bar
Evening entertainment
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Kids club
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Taxi service
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Facial treatments
Foot massage
Full body massage
Head massage
Massage
Salon
Rooftop terrace
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Concierge
Gift shop
Non-smoking hotel
Shops
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun terrace
Sun umbrellas
ATM on site
Doorperson
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Room features
Air conditioning
Private beach
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Room service
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
On-demand films
Safe
Iron
Laptop safe
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Room types
Ocean view
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Historic Hotel
Value
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish

Location

3400 Gulf Boulevard, St. Pete Beach, FL 33706-4015
Getting there
Somewhat walkable
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 53 out of 100
53
Tampa Intl Airport
St. Petersburg Intl Airport
23.7 km
See all flights
4.0
4.0 of 5 bubbles7,028 reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.
Reviews summary
This summary was created by AI, based on recent reviews.
Powered by AI

Perched on the beachfront, The Don CeSar garners acclaim for its picturesque location and vibrant atmosphere, complete with live music and historic appeal. While guests applaud the friendly staff and pristine facilities, the hotel's rooms receive mixed reactions due to their size, noise levels, and dated aspects. Travelers enjoy the amenities, such as the beach and dining options, but some feel the hotel doesn't justify its premium pricing, highlighting expensive parking and resort fees as particular pain points.
Location
Beachfront
Atmosphere
Lively
Rooms
Cramped
Value
Expensive
Cleanliness
Mixed
Service
Friendly
Amenities
Top-notch

Was this helpful?
Tripadvisor is not responsible for this summary or the opinions in it. For more information, please read the traveller reviews and learn more about how the site works.
7,028Reviews134Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 4,127
  • 1,300
  • 743
  • 438
  • 420
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Mes6545 wrote a review Mar 2020
5.0 of 5 bubbles
This hotel is exceptional in all aspects. Upon check-in you are greeted with a smile and champagne, all questions and information required was given. Staff was attentive to a fault, as well as being delightful. Our room was cleaned, restocked, and made up by 10am each day, . When walking the hallway to proceed to breakfast you could not help but notice that their were housekeeping room staff assigned to more than adequately accommodate within a short period of time. The pool staff was professional and friendly making sure that chairs were setup for you with towels and shade if needed. Staff cordially approached you to take drink and food orders. When chairs were unoccupied they were cleared of towels, cleaned and straightened. When staff passed you by they greeted you with kind words and a smile. Food service was excellent! The hotel had several stores within to supply a business person, or family with every need possible. The beach area and accessories were cleaned daily, toys and games set up for all ages, as well as beach lounges, umbrellas and cabanas along with clean towels. Staff escorted you to your preference and set up your towels and seating for you. The General Manager Mr Johnson was consistently present in all areas of the hotel and assisted everyone. We watched him approach guests when they looked perplexed, to hep in reception when multiple people approached at once, or just to say welcome can I be of assistance. This hotel is exceptional in every aspect! All staff from top level to bottom was friendly, professional and eager to please. The beauty of this historic complex is spectacular, and the white sand of the beach soft. Can not imagine a better place to vacation and relax. We will return!!
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from 00gc, Manager at The Don CeSar
Responded 13 Mar 2020
Thank you for choosing The Don CeSar and for taking the time to share the highlights of your stay with us. It is delightful to know that our associates helped make your experience memorable. We believe we have the best team around who sees the world through pink-colored glasses! We work hard every day to deliver outstanding service in every aspect, and we will enjoy sharing your compliments with our team. We are also thrilled to know you loved our elegant property and the sugar-fine white beaches of our beautiful city. Thank you once more for being our guests, and we look forward to welcoming you and your family again on your next trip to the area. The Don CeSar Management Team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
RCE121 wrote a review Jul 2020
Seattle, Washington
5.0 of 5 bubbles
The hotel is currently going thru some renovations to the main drive. They have plans to renovate different areas of the hotel thru the summer and early fall of 2020. Most of the renovations will not affect the overall service and ambiance of the property. All renovations are scheduled to be completed by November of 2020.

Considering that the hotel was built back in the 1920's, the property has gone thru many updates and refurbishing. It was and still is an elegant property right on the Gulf of Mexico.

I stayed in a room that was not refurbished but still felt the elegance of the property. I was able to see one of the newly renovated rooms and can say that it's even more spectacular. All rooms have views of either the inner bay or the gulf. You can't go wrong with either view. Nicely appointed with lots of modern touches. Most rooms will only have showers rather than tubs which is unfortunate for me as I enjoy a good soak every once in awhile.

There are 5 restaurants and bars on property so there is something for everyone.
They have a number of shops located on the lower level of the property. There is also a full-service spa on property with lots of treatment rooms and steam rooms.

The staff is very friendly, courteous, and outgoing. During my visit all staff were wearing masks and doing their part to ensure that staff and guests were safe and social distancing property. Always cleaning and wiping counters when guests left was something I observed at all food establishments.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled on business
Room Tip: Bay view rooms will have eastern views, gulf view rooms will have western views...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from General Manager, Agency / Consultant at The Don CeSar
Responded 8 Jul 2020
Thank you for the five-star review and for telling us about your time here at The Don CeSar. We are thrilled to read about your enriching stay and how much you enjoyed our beautiful, well-maintained property. From our abundant amenities, modern guest rooms, breathtaking views, and courteous colleagues, we go above and beyond to make sure our guests have a spectacular, one-of-a-kind experience in the Tampa Bay area. Thank you, especially for appreciating our team's efforts in maintaining a clean and safe environment for our visitors during this challenging time. We will be sure to share your enthusiastic compliments with our staff. It was a pleasure hosting you, and we would love to welcome you back to our newly renovated accommodations. The Don CeSar Management Team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
A lot to digest? Read an AI-generated summary of recent traveller reviews.
Noveske wrote a review Jul 2020
Nashville, Tennessee
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We decided to do one quick stop for 3 night before returning home.
We made a reservation via phone w central reservations. When I asked for a waterfront view the reservationists told us there was one available- great! However when we got to the desk to check in we were told that it was a handicap accessible room with a partial view. I was CERY disappointed as the rate was $300+\night. The room we got was very small and I had to spend about an hour rearranging in order for our travel items to fit.

The hotel is limited in their services right now but don’t appear to be compensating the guests for the lack of services by lower room rates
Because of Covid all food is being made and served from one kitchen. No room service and housekeeping service is only every three days. Although you can request any housekeeping items needed and are quickly accommodated.
I imagine the place is popping sans Covid rules.
I’d come back but only if I could have a balcony waterfront room.... the ‘partial’ view is just too cramped for the $
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from General Manager, Agency / Consultant at The Don CeSar
Responded 11 Jul 2020
Becky, thank you for the nice rating of The Don CeSar. We always strive to provide a perfect stay for all our guests; therefore, we are sorry for not meeting your expectations with the view from your room. We also regret your disappointment with some of our amenities and services not being available due to the current circumstances. We value your understanding and cooperation in these challenging times, and we look forward to welcoming you again soon. We will be happy to provide you with the room of your choice. The Don CeSar Management Team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
helkeller wrote a review Jul 2020
Paris, France
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Rooms are tiny, staff doesn't really pay any attention to details and they are definitely not at the same level as other hotels with the same star rating. The servers at the only open restaurant were all lovely but the check in process felt more like a DMV process and less walking into a 4/5 star hotel. The hotel rooms are also run down and dated, carpets dirty, coffee machine from the 70s and no mini bar/ fridge which is crazy. The main patio is beautiful and bar is gorgeous but you can see outlets hanging from the walls and other details that just scream for attention. I understand that due to COVID some things may have changed but most are lack of effort. If anything the fact that the prices remained the same and the services are minimal (no room service, most facilities closed etc.) indicate poor judgment and greed none of which I appreciate hence the review. I recommend you treat your guest better especially now, a glass of champagne during check in, comp. upgrades when you can for the love of God clean the carpets and buy some decent hand sanitizer, change the coffee machines, add mini bar, leave a welcome note and a box of truffles or anything to make up for the essential services you are not offering and the guests are paying for!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: Tiny room, the suites are not bad but NOT worth the money at all
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from General Manager, Agency / Consultant at The Don CeSar
Responded 25 Jul 2020
Thank you for evaluating your stay with us. Our goal is to maintain the highest standards, and we regret we fell short of this. We apologize for not meeting all of your expectations and for the unsatisfactory service you received from our associates. We are sorry for not meeting your expectations with your room. We are excited to say we are taking measures to refresh and rejuvenate our property soon. Feedback such as yours is of the utmost value for us as it shows us where we lack and not only your concerns, but we also appreciate your suggestions as these will help us to improve. On a positive note, we are glad you liked our bar and patio. We sincerely hope you will give us an opportunity to restore your confidence in us on a future visit. The Don CeSar Management Team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
journey-far-and-wide wrote a review Jun 2021
Dallas, Texas
4.0 of 5 bubbles
This was our first time to stay in "The Don". It was nice and apparently has been redone. Upon check-in at 6pm or later, our room was not ready. Really? I guess I don't really understand the need to continue to not service rooms daily & have rooms ready when guests check in. Needless to say, this was unacceptable to one of our traveling companions who asked to be switched to another room. During our 4-night stay, our room was only serviced once. We had to constantly ask for towels and toilet paper. Why does room service only leave 1 tiny roll of toilet paper when servicing rooms for any length of stay? I would suggest changing that practice so your guests are not constantly having to ask. Even though I was told I could call the front desk to have someone bring extra towels to our room, no one ever answered the phone. So, if you need extra, you are better off going to the front desk yourself & putting your request in. Our bathroom was TINY. Like others have said, there was not much space between the toilet and shower door. We kept having to move the shower doors to the other side to avoid hitting our knees. Why a 5 star resort would have such tiny bathrooms is beyond me. That was a poor design. The room was good otherwise though the AC struggled to keep up. I would suggest changing the very dirty air filter in the room. We had pretty good service at Society Table/Rowe Bar though the menus were very limited. Same with the Pool Bar. The food & drinks were somewhat overpriced for the quality/taste/quantity received. If you have any length of stay beyond a couple of days, the menus will become stale. The pool bar staff was very friendly & made excellent drinks! :) Loved that an umbrella & 3 beach chairs were complementary with the room! The umbrella is a life saver on those hot sunny days! Overall, we had a good and enjoyable time.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from General Manager, General Manager at The Don CeSar
Responded 9 Jun 2021
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments on your recent visit with us. It is a pleasure to hear that you enjoyed a fun getaway recently, and appreciated our pool staff. However, we do apologize for the troubles that you encountered upon check-in, and we can understand your frustrations. In addition, we do apologize for any issues related to housekeeping services, as well as your experience with the bathroom. Once again, thank you for sharing your comments with us, and we wish you all the best in your future travels. Thomas Fraher – General Manager.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Donna P wrote a review Mar 2021
Hudsonville, Michigan
3.0 of 5 bubbles
I love reading the reviews about the time we were there because they are all true. It is a beautiful hotel on powder sugar sand beach. The pool area and beach are fabulous. If stay at the hotel you can get a lounge and there are plenty of people to go help get your beach lounge. I saw only one person serving on the beach so we would go up to the pool bar to order our drinks. If you went at 11:00 it was fine, but any later you could wait for quite a while. They were just overwhelmed and running out of drinks and serving warm cans of beer.

We tried to order food one day by the pool but were told the wait is an hour and a half. We would just walk down the beach and eat at other places.

Our room was the basic king. The bedding is comfortable. The rooms are remodeled and well decorated. The room is small and the bathroom is even smaller. The most irritating part was that the toilet seat would not go all the way up because the counter was in the way. They have a nice shower with their own spa lotions, shampoo and conditioner.

Because of COVID (or their extreme shortage of workers) your room is not cleaned every day. They say they will do it every other day, but that didn't happen even after calling to ask for it. You do pay a resort fee of $40 which includes many things such as Keurig coffee and water, beach chairs and yoga classes etc. It was just frustrating that coffee and water were not sent to your room when you are paying for it. You can call but they usually did not respond.

Lobby Bar was crowded but a nice place for a drink. We ate at the Maritana two times during our stay. Great service and great food. On the expensive side but a highlight of our trip.

We have stayed years ago at the Don CeSar and were treated like royalty. You would put a flag up on your chair and a server would be there immediately. They would walk around with cool towels, appetizers and little ice cream treats. Not like that any more. In fact you would be lucky to get towels by the pool because they were usually out of them.

I think the hotel was completely full, staff was overwhelmed yet they were still allowing people access to the hotel pools and beach (for a price) even though they could not handle the hotel guest staying. I love St. Pete's beach, but I will look for another place to stay next time.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
gmomt wrote a review Jul 2022
North Carolina
3.0 of 5 bubbles
We arrived at the huge Don Cesar only to be told that our reservations through RCI were in the Beach House by Don Cesar which is approximately 1/2 mile away from the imposing Don Cesar. There is a shuttle on call so one can use the amenities at the Don Cesar; food pickup is also doable with this shuttle. The Beach House looks like an older place on Gulf Blvd with a convenient location on the beach. Apparently there wasn't much maintenance done for quite a while on these units; cleaning also seemed to be an issue. I took photos of our bathroom door which had black fingerprints on both sides of said door about 18" long. My visit to Registration took care of the black fingerprint probIems right away; Amy made sure the bathroom door was cleaned. I found potato chips on the kitchen floor and noticed the hanging lamps were dusty. The caulking on the bathroom vanity was cracked along its entire length; the old caulk needs to be dug out & it needs a recaulking. We found plates, bowls & cups in the small kitchen; we only had 3 teaspoons. The sink was a "farmer's" type & the kitchen came equipped with dish detergent, dishwash detergent, paper towels, kitchen towels & wash cloths. A Keurig coffee pot with plenty of pods graced the countertop along with various types of sugar & cream. Water bottles stood ready beside the coffee pot. These were replenished each day by housekeeping. We did have plenty of towels & wash cloths in the bathroom which housekeeping also replenished. The pool had plenty of pool towels and your resort fee includes 3 chairs & an umbrella each day. Fabian makes sure each person is comfortable in their chair with umbrella coverage & plenty of towels; he also remembers your name & he uses same to speak to you. The king bed was super comfortable but took up most of the bedroom. On Saturday morning at 9am music started blaring from the speaker below us; it was so loud it drove me inside our unit. Personally I feel the music can go on later, say 12pm & not be so loud.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: July 2022
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
2.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
2.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from General Manager, General Manager at The Don CeSar
Responded 13 Jul 2022
Though it sounds like you had an overall good stay, we understand that it could have been better. That said, your thoughts will be shared with the respective teams as we ensure we are constantly improving in areas that matter most to our valued guests. Thank you for reaching out, and please consider returning in the future for a better visit. Thomas Fraher – General Manager.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Global_Trotter22 wrote a review Apr 2021
London
2.0 of 5 bubbles
My dreams were shattered from the point of check-in and didn’t improve over the 3 day stay. I had always dreamed of staying at the Pink Palace and took the plunge for a special birthday celebration with friends. Valet was superb, so friendly took my car and our bags. The reception ...not so friendly, unpleasantly greeted by a check staff who appeared extremely grumpy, whereas next to us another staff member was greeting their customer with kind words and was cheerful. Then we arrived to our room, I had reserved two queens but was given a king, was unable to change so we requested a roll away bed (3 times before it was actually bought to the room). We then requested additional towels as the room was not to be serviced for our stay (4 requests, then I decided to find someone and collect them myself).
Pool day: arrived about 10am all the premium spot sun beds had towels left by guests to reserve, we noticed guests didn’t arrive until gone 1pm to take up the spot they had reserved prior. Food service was slow, after about an hour we asked about our order, come to find out they delivered our shrimp to another party who had just left it on the side, the service staff went to retrieve it and gave it to us, who knows how long it had been sat in the sun!
Dinner time: the on-site restaurant is booked two weeks out, no accommodation for walk in reservation for guests.
Check out: no problem!

Tips: don’t expect 4 star service during the pandemic, bring your own towels, confirm your room type a week before arrival, go off site for food/restaurants.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2021Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from General Manager, General Manager at The Don CeSar
Responded 29 Apr 2021
Thank you for the opportunity to host you during your birthday celebration. It's unfortunate to learn that we were unable to meet your expectations. We apologize that your service experience wasn't what it should have been. Rest assured, we'll look into this further. Please also know if booking through a third-party reservation site, room preference is based on availability and is not guaranteed. Nonetheless, we're very sorry for any inconvenience. We trust you enjoyed some relaxing time at the beach. Please allow us another opportunity to deliver the exceptional stay we're known for. Thomas Fraher – General Manager.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
CarlySparkles wrote a review Feb 2020
5.0 of 5 bubbles
My girlfriend and I had an amazing day out on the beach a couple of days ago. We just came out for the day but Chris and Alex on the beach made us feel like we were VIP. The food and drinks were delevered right to our chairs and we even took advantage of the complementary paddleboard. Great experence!!!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from 00gc, Manager at The Don CeSar
Responded 27 Feb 2020
Thank you for being our guest at The Don CeSar. We are delighted to read you had a great experience with us. We believe we have the best team around who sees the world through pink-colored glasses. It will be our pleasure to share your compliments with Alex and Chris. We are also delighted to read you were able to take advantage of our thoughtful amenities. Thank you once more for choosing Pink Castle, and we look forward to hosting you again soon. The Don CeSar Management Team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
klavoie99 wrote a review May 2021
Dryden, Michigan
2.0 of 5 bubbles
My feelings were that you should not have glass glasses in the room during a pandemic individually packaged paper r plastic cups are more sanitary.
Refillable shampoo, conditioner and body wash dispensers in the shower are not sanitary.
Society Table :
Wait staff carried large tray with food on it to tables on his shoulders resulting in his hair getting in peoples plates of food. This is disgusting. When I told him he was doing this he laughed at me.
Dragging a refuse container through the restaurant during breakfast was disgusting also.
Tiny elevators crammed with people during a pandemic was really bad.
Posted signs read :" manditory masks inside hotel.....Never enforced.
Posted signs said :" You must wear shoes and complete coverup in hotel" NEVER enforced.
Pool area wasn't cleaned during our whole ten day stay, plastic forks , peoples hats, on the ground, dirty tables.
Also while trying to eat outside they were using leaf blowers and doing grounds maintenance around us. This is terrible.
Charging a RESORT fee and having to put up with these is ridiculous.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: April 2021
2.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from General Manager, General Manager at The Don CeSar
Responded 7 May 2021
Thank you for taking the time to compose such detailed feedback for our hotel. We take comments like these very seriously. It is unfortunate to learn that you had these concerns during your visit. At this time, the health and safety of our guests take precedence, so to hear that we failed to meet your expectations is surprising and disappointing. We appreciate your input and will do everything we can to ensure issues like this do not occur again. Thomas Fraher – General Manager.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Hilary R asked a question Feb 2024
1 contribution
when is check in at the don cesar hotel?
Answer from Phil M
4 contributions
Check in is usually at 4 pm. However, if they are not busy you can get in earlier. Additionally, as with most resorts and better hotels, you can check in to the hotel, store your luggage, and begin to use the facilities before your room is ready. With the beach only footsteps away and all of the amenities at your fingertips, a room is truly unnecessary until later anyway!
Alexa asked a question Oct 2023
8 contributions1 helpful vote
Can you hire children’s bikes?
dentalgal asked a question Sept 2023
Indiana60 contributions18 helpful votes
Hello do you rent beach chairs and umbrellas and is there towel service ? Thanks!
Answer from Kirk S
Hebron, Connecticut9 contributions10 helpful votes
You pay a daily resort fee as a guest at the hotel for chairs umbrella and towels I think it was around $40 daily
Pathfinder729687 asked a question Aug 2023
Jonesboro, Georgia
is there an adult pool
Answer from Kissmo
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania15 contributions1 helpful vote
There are two pools one mostly adults due to depth of pool. The other pool is less than 4ft deep and most young children are in that pool. I hope that helps.
Jason C wrote a tip 15 Jul
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Go to the local Publix Grocery Store and stock up on snacks, bottled water, and whatever food or drink items you need for the refrigerator."
Read full review
utkvol wrote a tip 13 Jul
utkvol3 contributions
2.0 of 5 bubbles
"Beautiful historical hotel!! Great restaurants on site. Especially love Uncle Andy’s shop… coffee, ice cream, snacks, etc "
Read full review
Joseph B wrote a tip 13 Jul
Lutz, Florida1 contribution
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"It’s a great historical hotel to visit but has issues. Could use effort in some areas, like adding a hot tub& upgrading beach & room towels"
Read full review
Alison B wrote a tip Jun 2024
1 contribution
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"Beds are small if you are sharing "
Read full review
Meghan C wrote a tip Jun 2024
Kimberling City, Missouri, United States15 contributions8 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"We lucked out at the lobby bar with a place to sit with limited wait but it can get crowded when there is a large group staying at the hotel"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the St. Pete Beach area.
PRICE RANGE
$491 - $850 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
don cesar beach hotel, don cesar beach resort, don cesar hotel florida, don cesar florida, hotel don cesar beach, don cesar resort
LOCATION
United StatesFloridaSt. Pete Beach
NUMBER OF ROOMS
277
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

THE DON CESAR - Hotel Reviews & Price Comparison (St. Pete Beach, FL) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about The Don CeSar
Which popular attractions are close to The Don CeSar?
Nearby attractions include 360 Rooftop (0.5 km), The Undertow (0.7 km), and Coffee Pot Park (0.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at The Don CeSar?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at The Don CeSar?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at The Don CeSar?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and a poolside bar during their stay.
Is parking available at The Don CeSar?
Yes, paid private parking on-site and valet parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Don CeSar?
Conveniently located restaurants include Maritana, Sandbar Bill's, and Uncle Andy's Market.
Are there opportunities to exercise at The Don CeSar?
Yes, guests have access to a pool, a fitness centre, and a sauna during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at The Don CeSar?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at The Don CeSar?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does The Don CeSar offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at The Don CeSar?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Spanish.
All St. Pete Beach HotelsSt. Pete Beach Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in St. Pete BeachHotels near The Don CeSar
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday HomesTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire