We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Campsites at Disney's Fort Wilderness Resort

Save
Share
4510 North Fort Wilderness Trail Lake Buena Vista, Orlando, FL 32830-8415
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
Destinia.com
CheapTickets
Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Traveller (1014)
Room & Suite (159)
Videos (1)
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
Read more
Updated 07/10/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
Updated 07/10/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#7 of 49 Speciality lodging in Orlando
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Camp amid the magic of the great outdoors. Disney's Fort Wilderness Resort & Campground evokes the timeless beauty of the American frontier, with deer, rabbits, ducks and armadillos roaming the Resort's 750 acres of pine and cypress forest. Discover charming woodland trails, a pristine beach, spectacular pool areas and rip-roarin' entertainment at this picturesque backcountry retreat.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free internet
Pool
Bar / lounge
Tennis court
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Kids' outdoor play equipment
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Internet
Outdoor pool
Restaurant
Free shuttle or taxi services
Airport transportation
Shuttle bus service
Self-serve laundry
Show more
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Family
Languages Spoken
English
1986Reviews188Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 1,288
  • 437
  • 133
  • 76
  • 52
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Mike A wrote a review Jul 2021
Miami, Florida1 contribution3 helpful votes
before you go DO YOUR RESEARCH! Be nice with the staff they are actual people remember! Do not be afraid to ask questions, and listen to their answers, the FTW staff clearly takes pride in the facility and they can really make your trip so much more fun. It takes several visits to really get the hang and understand all the amenities/charms/services of the campground. Talk to someone that has been there many times for pointers. The "premium" and "preferred" sites are more about location within the campground. If you want big spots you need to get on 1600-1900 loops the "cloverleaf", 2100 has big spaces too. 2100 has many spaces that are close to the main road. I like being near the road it lets me get the dogs out for a walk, without passing many other campsites. Frankly the the road noise does not really bother me. 2000 & 1500 loop are tent/pop up loops, water power no sewer (no dump station in the camp ground), we have had our pop up and our 31' TT on these spots in the past, and used the bathhouse for major transactions (S/S). The outside of the loops have better bigger spots and more room between them than the inside. (when you check in ask to see "the book" it is a basic map of the campground and you can see where every site is) If you have a bad time at fort wilderness, I am not sure what your expectations are. It is a very nice place but you are in Disney World and you have to keep that in mind. If you are expecting a wilderness camping experience this place is not for you. They do a tremendous job is providing a low stress outdoorsy vibe. There is no wilderness camping experience close by. Nearest state park is Lake Louisa, not a lot of sites or shade and I assume in the summer the bugs are ferocious. I saw someone complained about the bugs in FTW it is Florida it is a swamp. DW does and excellent job on mosquito control. Yes, you will get bit, set up a fan or two and it will be much more tolerable. There are times the weather makes the mosquitoes almost uncontrollable, it is swampy central florida. There are deer and turkeys in the campground. The squirrels will get into your food if you leave it out. Back in the day there used to be aradillos and racoons in the campground but I cannot remember the last time I saw either. For us it is a no brainer two dogs to board would cost $100+ a night, and eating out is more than the spot. There is a bus service within the campground, with 2 sometimes 3 routes to get you around. At the south end where you check in there a buses to everywhere movie studio, epcot etc. At the northern end is a boat to the magic kingdom and launches to the contemporary to get the monorails and wilderness lodge. We get there set up camp and usually the truck does not move the whole time we are there. There are a couple of loops for really big rigs. Yes there are a few sites that are not very desirable. Yes waiting for the bus is no fun. Yes it is expensive (I paid more for a MEH spot in a KOA in St Petersburg) Yes the swimming pool gets crowded, but you can go to any pool, pool jump. But other than Golden Oak I would say this is the least stressful resort I have camped all over florida, yellow stone, zion, yosemite, many places in arizona, georgia, idaho on and on. Fort Wilderness is what it is, to me it is a wonderful place. I have been 20 or so times had a crappy spot once. Even that was not such a big deal still better than being in a hotel room. If your loop backs up the the creekside meadow group camping area, know when groups are there you will here children running playing and screaming. The second night they usually all crash pretty early. The comfort stations are generally the best I've ever encountered, if something is wrong call house keeping and they get on it right away. There is laundry available the machines are small and expensiveish. We travel with laundry pellets. I have camped in all seasons in campers and tents there. It is very hot and rainy in the summer, it can be very pleasant to downright cold in the winter. Have woken up with ice on the tent. Fall and Spring are hit or miss with weather, generally more hit has been my experience. Usually we cook outside but a morning or two with large groups between the cold 30's and trying to manage people it was easier to go to trails end. Going there on the spur of the moment is tough these days. Fishing, canoeing, bicycles, horseback riding, hayrides, kiddy movies, smores and a bunch of others things are available there. I assume like a lot of places rude, demanding, unlikeable guests get different treatment/resolution than a guest that is reasonable and understanding. People do not understand the extremely complicated organization that exists at WDW, It blows me away how much the get right dealing with Millions of people a year. To put it into perspective when the parks are full there are 400,000 people present. Plus the water parks and disney springs. how many reading this are from a town with more population? the city of St Louis proper has about 300k people.City of Miami has about 420k. I believe their bus fleet in the 9th largest in the US. let that sink in
Read more
Date of stay: March 2021
3 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Janet S wrote a review Jul 2021
1 contribution1 helpful vote
Not worth the Florida rate much less than the full price. Could only park our trailer. Couldn't use the grill or picnic table as our campsite was flooded. Useless to use. Totally had our reservation mixed up with other family members. Will not be coming back and cut our stay from 4 days to only one night.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Disney Social Reviews, Owner at The Campsites at Disney's Fort Wilderness Resort
Responded 6 Jul 2021
Thank you so much for sharing your concerns, Janet. I absolutely understand your experience has not been what you've expected, and we never want our Guests to leave disappointed. If you're still at our campgrounds, I'd encourage you to speak with our Front Desk Cast Members at the Resort. Our Cast will do everything in their power to ensure your visit is memorable. I appreciate the time you took to share your feedback and we hope to share more memorable visits in the future. Zoey Disney Social Reviews
Read more
Scott B wrote a review Jun 2021
Noblesville, Indiana67 contributions93 helpful votes
We really missed Fort Wilderness and it is good to be back! As usual, Disney does it right. From guest services to transportation, to the entire experience, Disney gets customer service and does know how to create a "Magical Experience." On this trip, we had an A/C problem with our motor coach when it was 90 degrees. I asked guest services if I could pay for a one-night stay at the Cabins, next door, but they went well above and beyond (not having any cabins available) and put my family up at Saratoga Springs for a night. This is a DVC club resort and it is most certainly 5 star. They did this without charge and did so many little things to ease our pain that it was amazing. They offered two nights, but we were able to get the A/C working again and didn't need to take them up on it. The Campsites is a great place to stay, is clean, and has everything you need, including transportation to the parks. The staff does a great job dealing with stressed visitors coming back from the parks after a hot day with their kids. I'm amazed at their level of patience and kindness.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
3 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Disney Social Reviews, Owner at The Campsites at Disney's Fort Wilderness Resort
Responded 30 Jun 2021
Oh my goodness, what an unexpected and absolutely wonderful surprise! I'm sorry to hear that the A/C was having some problems in your motor coach, but I'm overjoyed that our Cast Members truly went above and beyond to arrange alternate accommodations and ensure you were comfortable. I am thrilled that you enjoyed your villa at Disney's Saratoga Springs Resort & Spa, but also had the opportunity to return to our campgrounds and enjoy the beautiful grounds. I appreciate you taking the time to share this spectacular review, and I hope we'll be seeing you back again soon! Quinn Disney Social Reviews
Read more
Brettellen_54 wrote a review May 2021
1 contribution3 helpful votes
Fort wilderness is a beautiful campground, don’t get me wrong. But we had a TERRIBLE experience. I booked a site with a request for the 100-500 loop only to get a confirmation day of that I was in the 1600 loop, which is the OPPOSITE end of the park. When I called they very kindly switched my site, HOWEVER... after specifically telling the cast member the length of our travel trailer and truck we were put in a site that we couldn’t even fit it... we had to sit in the middle of the road basically while waiting for room control to call us back about getting a different site. We got a different site but it was barely adequate for the size of our camper. And let me preface all of this with the fact that the campground WAS NOT full by any means. Once we began walking around the campground we noticed the 400-500 loops have MUCH larger pads that are ALL concrete versus ours with was half concrete/half gravel... and we had to pay more!!!! TRANSPORTATION IS AWFUL. On our last night We waited for an EPCOT bus for over an hour (and still never saw one) until we gave up and went back to our camper. In this hour I asked multiple bus drivers where the EPCOT bus was. I also called the hotline several times and was assured the bus was on the way. At 9:15 PM I finally went to Fort Wilderness front desk and they offered to get us a taxi but by the time we would have gotten to EPCOT (17 min drive) we would have basically had to turned right back around because they closed at 10 pm. Disney is WAY to expensive to have that poor of service. Tickets are expensive and we didn’t even get to enjoy the park our last night because of the bus. If I had known a taxi was an option I would have done that WAY earlier. Also waited 30+ minutes for a Disney springs bus at the campground and 45 minutes at Disney springs for a fort wilderness bus on the way back. Waited at animal kingdom 30+ minutes for the fort wilderness bus. The campground is absolutely beautiful but the transportation is ridiculous. As much as people pay for resorts/campgrounds and park tickets, the poor transportation service is unacceptable. Buses definitely DO NOT run every 20-25 minutes at fort wilderness. You’re looking at 20-45. And just hope you’re not going to EPCOT because you’ll probably never get that bus. Do better Disney. My advice: take the boat to magic kingdom and grab a bus from there. Or call an Uber. Really bummed to write this review because this was our first experience actually camping at Disney and we had high expectations.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
3 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Disney Social Reviews, Owner at The Campsites at Disney's Fort Wilderness Resort
Responded 18 May 2021
I appreciate you taking some time to share your experiences while staying at The Campsites at Disney’s Fort Wilderness Resort. We certainly do everything we can to get you into a great spot during your stay, and although there were some hiccups with an ideal RV site, I’m happy to see our Cast were able to correct the concern. I’m sorry we didn’t deliver on the high expectations we have set for our transportation offerings. No matter how you plan to get around the campgrounds, whether by bus, golf cart, or simply walking, it should not take away from your stay. I sincerely apologize for all the frustrations caused throughout your visit. I truly hope we’ll get the opportunity to welcome your family back home for a much better camping experience in the future. Zoey Disney Social Reviews
Read more
Daydream818715 wrote a review May 2021
4 contributions
Campsite way to small and there is a big dip where you need to get out of rv, I pray we don't break ankle, they don't spray for bugs help! Front desk not friendly , yes bring ur golf cart way big here, no neck masks allowed in parks,
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$360 - US$617 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
disney camping, fort wilderness disney, campground orlando, fort wilderness florida, disneys fort wilderness resort campground, ft wilderness disney, disney fort wilderness resort, disneys ft wilderness campground
LOCATION
United StatesFloridaCentral FloridaOrlando
NUMBER OF ROOMS
408
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The Campsites at Disney's Fort Wilderness Resort
Which popular attractions are close to The Campsites at Disney's Fort Wilderness Resort?
Nearby attractions include Happily Ever After Fireworks (3.7 km), Fantasmic! (3.9 km), and Epcot World Showcase (1.5 km).
What are some of the property amenities at The Campsites at Disney's Fort Wilderness Resort?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a pool, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
What food & drink options are available at The Campsites at Disney's Fort Wilderness Resort?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at The Campsites at Disney's Fort Wilderness Resort?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Campsites at Disney's Fort Wilderness Resort?
Conveniently located restaurants include Pineapple Lanai, Victoria & Albert's, and La Luce.
Are there opportunities to exercise at The Campsites at Disney's Fort Wilderness Resort?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Does The Campsites at Disney's Fort Wilderness Resort have an airport shuttle?
Yes, The Campsites at Disney's Fort Wilderness Resort offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are pets allowed at The Campsites at Disney's Fort Wilderness Resort?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Is The Campsites at Disney's Fort Wilderness Resort accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and facilities for disabled guests. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.