The Capitana Key West
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

The Capitana Key West

Traveller (922)
Room & Suite (81)
The Capitana Key West
Videos (2)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

Fully refundable before Sun, 26 May
Breakfast included
No prepayment needed
$596
$613
Go to your Happy Price
$596
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

5.0
#7 of 55 hotels in Key West
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.8 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.7 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Value
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
The Capitana Key West offers the intimacy of a B&B and the well-curated luxury of a boutique hotel, in a sublime coastal setting. You'll find waterfront views, a beautifully landscaped pool (complete with tiki bar), delicious dining options, and well-appointed accommodations here. Our hotel is also pet-friendly, and conveniently located near all the can't-miss Key West attractions.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Beach
Bicycle rental
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Paid private parking on-site
Parking
Wifi
Hot bath
Pool / beach towels
Pool with view
Outdoor pool
Heated pool
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Kids' meals
Outdoor dining area
Snack bar
Poolside bar
Diving
Snorkelling
Water sport equipment rentals
Fishing
Highchairs available
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Taxi service
Business Centre with Internet Access
Baggage storage
Convenience store
Gift shop
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Shops
Sun deck
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun umbrellas
Umbrella
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Clothes dryer
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Room features
Blackout curtains
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Safe
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Walk-in shower
Seating area
Sofa
Telephone
Bottled water
Iron
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Kitchenette
Microwave
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Business
Romantic
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish

Location

2401 N Roosevelt BLVD, Key West, FL 33040
Getting there
Somewhat walkable
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 64 out of 100
64
Key West Intl Airport
1 Attraction
within 0.5 kilometers
623Reviews30Q+A100Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 540
  • 49
  • 15
  • 9
  • 10
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
vicki235 wrote a review Mar 2023
2 contributions3 helpful votes
Hotel's Favourite
5.0 of 5 bubbles
A fun weekend with family in Key West, made even better with a stay at the beautiful Capitana resort. Thank you to Keneil and staff for making our visit so pleasant! They went above and beyond to ensure everything ran smooth during our stay.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2023
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from The Capitana Key West , Owner at The Capitana Key West
Responded 15 Apr 2023
Hello! Thank you so much for taking the time to share your wonderful experience at Capitana Resort in Key West. We're thrilled to hear that you and your family had such a fun weekend! Our team, particularly Keneil, is dedicated to making sure our guests have an enjoyable and memorable stay. It's genuinely heartwarming to know that their efforts were successful in making your visit pleasant and memorable. We truly appreciate your kind words and recognition of the excellent service and resort. Your happiness and satisfaction are what keep us going above and beyond for our guests. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you and your family back to Capitana Resort soon! Warm regards and take care! -Aaron, Guest Service Manager.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Dianejo123 wrote a review Mar 2021
Buffalo, New York6 contributions5 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Stayed at the Capitana Key West for 4 nights in March 2021. We booked a queen gulf view room at their Maiden Voyage Rate $199/night on weekdays/$239/weekends. Great value if you can get the hotel at this price. The room was clean, spacious and very nicely decorated. It was large enough, roomy and comfortable for 3 women. The bathroom is large as well. There was a Nespresso machine, full microwave, dorm size fridge and a safe in the room. The bathrobes were amazing, the toiletries were a good quality and the linens clean and crisp. Our room overlooked the beautiful pool and a nice courtyard. The Key West channel was in the distance.
The pool and man made beach had plenty of lounge chairs and umbrellas. The hotel plays really good music as well. Each floor of the hotel has a hydration station with cold bottled water and bagged ice. The FREE (unheard of in Key West) breakfast includes, coffee, juice, milk, yogurt, cereal, bagels, danish, muffins, fruit and breakfast sandwiches.
The hotel is clean, the staff was very attentive and friendly. Parking is included in your daily resort fee, and they have a large parking lot.
The only cons for this hotel are due to COVID they do not clean your room or automatically bring you linen, towel, coffee, toiletry replacements. You have to ask at the front desk, The hotel does not offer a shuttle to Duval St - this is something they should seriously consider It's a 2 mile walk or $12 Uber right each way. Adding these 2 things would make this a 10 star, 10 diamond review!!
Read more
Date of stay: March 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: All rooms seemed to have a pool or water view and a balcony.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from The Capitana Key West , Owner at The Capitana Key West
Responded 24 Aug 2021
Dear Dianejo123, Thank you for taking the time to offer our team your feedback about your stay. We always want to hear from our guests about their experience. We have daily housekeeping service upon request. We love how much you enjoyed in amenities at our property and our spacious rooms with amazing Golf view. We hope we will be your first choice when you decide to visit Key West again! Warm Regards, The Capitana Team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
IA4beach wrote a review Mar 2021
31 contributions16 helpful votes
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We arrived this past Tuesday, staying in Siesta cottage room 403. It is two level tastefully decorated spacious 2 bedroom, 2 1/2 bath w/kitchen and living room. The cottages have a comfortable back deck for relaxing which faces a private canal where we have enjoyed catching glimpses of a small bull shark, needle fish, and jelly fish.
Upon arrival the staff make you feel you are at a very nice 5 star complex. Providing bottled water snd ice. I have stayed at the Opal in Clearwater, Fl and love the vibe of this smaller boutique style facility here at The Capitana.
The complimentary breakfast has warm breakfast sandwiches, assorted cereal, fruit, juices, milk, pastries, bagels, coffee, and tea.The staff has went above and beyond, making certain everything is individually wrapped, and are always spraying/wiping areas. Very CLEAN!!
The pool, bar, and small man made sand beach area are very welcoming. Plenty of loungers all over to relax under a shaded palm tree on the beach or along the pool with umbrellas for shade. Every chair has a fresh clean towel rolled, so just bring the sunscreen and enjoy the heated pool or nice warm hot tube.
We were given great advice from staff at both the front desk and pool bar on eating places, tours for a private sunset as well as a eco kayak tour. I will have to follow up on those, we have those booked for tomorrow.
All we have to do is call the front desk for water, extra towels, due to Covid, staff is not cleaning rooms daily, but upon request.
We couldn’t ask for a better start to our week, if you want to go to the busy downtown area, it is a short drive. If you want a relaxing atmosphere just hit the pool/beach area where they have great music playing, a bean bag toss game or large chess game to play on the grassed area by the bar.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from The Capitana Key West , Owner at The Capitana Key West
Responded 24 Aug 2021
Dear IA4beach, We are delighted to read how much you enjoyed your stay here at Capitana Key West. Every day we are working on improving our services and we are so happy when we can read how much our guests enjoyed in their stay! Don't wait too long to come back and enjoy in paradise ! Kind Regards, The Capitana Team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
LinseyNC wrote a review Feb 2021
Denver, North Carolina140 contributions45 helpful votes
+1
3.0 of 5 bubbles
While understanding the weekend we stayed was the grand opening, there are some things I don’t know that would convince me to stay again.

Our room wasn’t ready for check in until 6:00 even though they opened the day before we arrived. Our friends arrived at the same same (2:00) and were escorted right to their room. We check in later that night since we just decided to go on with our day (without showers unfortunately). The room we selected was the “Premium King Gulf View Room” but was not the view or room I read about or saw on their website. Our tub also had what appeared to be mud in it but was later told it was just stained. Since we were on the first floor we only had a view of their patio and pool chairs but heard the elevator ding and the people occupying the room above us. We were also told they do not service the rooms unless asked; I’m not sure if that’s just this weekend and maybe they will increase that once they have more staff? We were only provided one towel and one roll of toilet paper for the 3 nights. Beware the cottages are in the parking lot across from the lobby and would not be worth the price.

The other amenities mentioned on their website is the Sundry Market which was not set up during our stay but looks just like a grab n go setup with 2 refrigerators near the front desk. Another was El Rubi which is just a continental breakfast with bagels, muffins, and microwaveable breakfast sandwiches. Nice that it’s offered for free but I would rather go elsewhere for breakfast. While we did not eat at the McKees tiki bar we did have a few cocktails which were good. They did not have a blender but the bartender Ashley was amazing. She remembered our names and orders.

The pool seemed heated or at least was really warm when we were there. There is a hot tub which is nice and large. Everything closes at sundown and they lock the doors so you can’t even go outside to enjoy the patio or sit by the beach after those hours either. The beach is nice but does not have any chairs and you cannot swim in the water due to the rocks.

Overall the hotel is new and clean right now but I would see this being a 3 star accommodation. For the price that they are advertising right now and the distance from everything I would stay at another property. It opens up to the highway traffic which makes it difficult if you are renting an electric car/scooters. Also there no outlets to charge an electric car for longer than 1 night so we had to rent a gas golf cart but was difficult pulling out onto the busy road. Again not terrible but not what I thought I was getting.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from The Capitana Key West , Owner at The Capitana Key West
Responded 26 Apr 2023
Dear guest, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We appreciate your honesty, as it helps us grow and improve. We apologize for any inconvenience you faced during our grand opening weekend. We understand the frustration of waiting for your room, and are working to ensure this issue won't occur in the future. We're sorry that you didn't have the exact view and room you were expecting. We'll look into the accuracy of our website descriptions and images to avoid any potential miscommunication. In terms of room service, we are planning on increasing it as our staff grows. We apologize for any inconvenience this caused, and will ensure we provide clearer communication during the check-in process. We appreciate your feedback on the Sundry Market, and will make efforts to improve our offerings based on your suggestions. It's wonderful to hear that you enjoyed your cocktails and interaction with Ashley at the tiki bar. Thank you for your comments on the pool, hot tub, and beach as well. We will consider improving our amenities and policies to provide a more enjoyable experience for our guests. Lastly, we value your input on the electric car charging and traffic concerns. We will explore solutions for these issues and continue to seek ways to make our hotel more accessible and eco-friendly. Again, we truly appreciate your honest feedback and apologize for any inconveniences during your stay. If you decide to give us another chance in the future, we will strive to provide you with an exceptional experience. Thank you for your understanding. Warm regards, Capitana management team.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Maggie R wrote a review Feb 2022
Lakewood Ranch, Florida5 contributions
4.0 of 5 bubbles
There are many wonderful things about the Capitana Key West. It’s a new property that is very well maintained. The rooms are spacious and modern with nice sized balconies and a large sitting area. There is a very nice pool and beach area (not for swimming but for sitting ). It’s a great choice for avoiding the craziness of Duval Street and it’s a brief 5-10 minute drive to the Duval area, pier and restaurants. The Tiki bar is great for light food and drinks and the servers - Brandon, John, and Mila are the best ! Every morning there is a buffet breakfast that is included with the room costs. Housekeeping staff was also amazing and each person we met had a big smile and a hello. All good. Now for the down side. There is NO onsite full service restaurant. That is a BIG disappointment that not only we had but one we heard from many other guests. The breakfast is “ wait in line , carry it on a paper plate, find a seat outside or in the lobby area and clean it up yourself “ type of deal like you would expect at a Fairfield Inn or Best Western but not a hotel that charges over $1000 a night with an extra $35 resort fee. Basic Wi-Fi is included with the resort fee but there is a cost to upgrade it. There are refreshment areas on every floor with free water only but they were often empty. I would probably not stay here again because of the lack of a real restaurant and the extremely high rates for what is included. It is probably best for families who can take advantage of the microwave and mini fridge in the room and the Taco Bell and Sonic across the street. We did feel safe and appreciated and if they ever decide to add a real restaurant we would come back !
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from The Capitana Key West , Owner at The Capitana Key West
Responded 28 Feb 2022
Thank you 725maggier for your lovely review! At the Capitana Resort we take a lot of pride in the satisfaction of our guests and are glad you enjoyed your stay. I do regret we did not meet expectations for our dining facilities at McKee's Poolside Tikibar. We are always looking to make improvements based on guest feedback and as always we want you to know every review is extremely important to us. If you had any further comments about your stay you are always welcome to reach out. -Aaron, Guest Service Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
bethany_0727 wrote a review Apr 2021
Texas45 contributions14 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
This hotel is amazing!! I think it’s very unfair of anyone to reduce their rating based on location. If you want a hotel where you can walk to the bars and Duval street, then look at a map and book a hotel within walking distance. Otherwise, yes... you will spend some money on transportation. But it’s absolutely worth it. It’s very relaxing and it’s a beautiful property. All floors have “hydration stations” across from the elevators when you get unlimited water bottles and ice. Every single room has a view which is great. You don’t have to worry about showing up and getting a room looking over the parking lot. The pool is a nice size, and the beach area is great. There IS housekeeping available. If you read the check in sheet they give you, you just have to request the housekeeping. We’ve had our room cleaned every day with no problems. The staff is always friendly and smiling. The continental breakfast spread is great... the bagels are fresh, and they have a good selection of food. My only recommendation would be extra hooks to hang towels and wet clothing on.

So if you’re looking for a good hotel with clean, spacious rooms, and a view from your balcony, look no further than The Capitana. You will be glad you did!
Read more
Date of stay: April 2021Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from The Capitana Key West , Owner at The Capitana Key West
Responded 4 Oct 2021
Dear Bethany_0727, Thank you for the excellent review! It was a pleasure serving you on your recent getaway to The Capitana, and we are happy to hear you had a fantastic time enjoying our property. From our amazing pool, beach and Tiki Bar to tranquil guest rooms, and breathtaking views, we go above and beyond to make sure our guests have a spectacular, one-of-a-kind experience in beautiful Key West. We hope you will choose us the next time you are dreaming of an island escape in the Keys. We look forward having you back ! Warm Regards, Mimi Milic Guest Service Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
radtravels wrote a review Oct 2021
Naples, Florida84 contributions32 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We just returned from a four night get-a-way to Key West and stayed at the Capitana. We had a fabulous stay. We arrived early so our room was not ready but we were allowed to check in and headed to the pool/bar area to wait in a beautiful, tropical setting. Gary, at the front desk did a great job of keeping us up to date and went beyond what was expected to be sure we were comfortable. We loved that the hotel texted us regularly to check on our stay and if we needed anything we could text and get an immediate response. We had limited cleaning service (Covid) but the room was very clean and we got clean towels within five minutes of our request.
Our room was well appointed with lots and lots of floor space. The balcony was nice size with chairs and a small table.
The grounds of the hotel are lovely and tropical. There is a beach for relaxation (not swimming). The pool was nice with plenty of space and chairs. Bar service was terrific and we thought the drinks were perfectly made.Our bar tender, John, was attentive and service exceptional. One of my favorite areas of the pool was the large hot tub. It was so nice to have a clean, well maintained, uncrowded area.
A nice hot breakfast was served daily, I wish I knew the names of those working that area. They were excellent. The food was hot and fresh. Don't expect too many options but it's a nice service with good, fresh, hot coffee.
The hotel is located just a few minutes from down town. A little too far to walk but very convenient by pink cab (locals who really know the area) or uber (drivers come in from out of town). We paid about 12$ each trip and never waited more than a few minutes. (Pink taxi is $10). This is really a good deal since parking downtown is $5 an hour. We liked the location as it is away from the madness of Duval and on the water. The hotel has FREE parking.
We would highly recommend this hotel. As previous Opal travelers we now look for the brand when we travel.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: All rooms have water view. Nice balconies.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from The Capitana Key West , Owner at The Capitana Key West
Responded 28 Apr 2023
Hello there! Thank you so much for leaving such a wonderful and detailed review of your stay at Capitana Key West. We're thrilled to hear that you had a fabulous time with us and enjoyed our beautiful, tropical setting. Gary and our front desk team truly appreciate your kind words, and we're glad they could assist you in making your stay more comfortable. Our team is always ready to help out with anything you might need, so it's great to know that our texting service was useful during your visit. It's delightful to hear that your room was well-appointed, spacious, and clean, and that your request for fresh towels was met promptly. We're pleased that you enjoyed the lovely grounds, relaxing beach, and pool area, as well as the delicious drinks and exceptional service provided by our bartender, John. A hot, fresh breakfast is a great way to start the day, and we're happy that you enjoyed it, along with the coffee! It's heartening to know that our hotel's location provided convenience and easy access to downtown Key West, as well as the added benefit of free parking. Thank you once again for your recommendation, and we're honored that you consider our brand when planning your travels. We hope to welcome you back to Capitana Key West or any of our other Opal Collection properties in the near future. Take care and happy travels!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Marie917918 wrote a review Jul 2021
West Deptford, New Jersey10 contributions9 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I’m sure you have all looked at the photos of the resort. The pictures say it all, it truly is beautiful so I will skip to pros and cons. The pros: they use bracelet keys so you put on when you get here and you never have to worry about having a key. The cottages are very spacious and quiet! You do not hear any outside noise and when the bedroom doors are shut, you don’t even hear your other houseguests talking. There are two hydration stations that were always stocked with cold water bottles plus a third at the tiki bar with lemon fused water. The pool area- if you have ever stayed at a resort that has tiled pool area then you know how slippery it is but not here! Their pool area is a pretty concrete with seashells but it is NOT rough or slippery PERFECT! Everyone is friendly and it is spotless. Breakfast was good each morning. Only con if you want to call it that is the cottage hot tub is near the road so can get a bit noisy but if you hop over to the public pool/hot tub you would think you were on a tropical island.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from The Capitana Key West , Owner at The Capitana Key West
Responded 26 Aug 2021
Dear Marie917918 We appreciate you taking the time and sharing your experience with us. We are glad to hear that your loved you stay and you had summer fun right here at The Capitana, . We are thrilled to know that you enjoyed our décor , salt water pool complimentary water bottles, and continental breakfast. We hope to see you again soon ! Warm regards, The Capitana Team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Mya C wrote a review Aug 2022
3 contributions5 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
We visited The Capitana with such high hopes from the reviews on this site. Upon arrival, we unloaded the car and walked into the lobby and were barely greeted. Check in was simply ‘here is a piece of paper with everything on’, no explanation of breakfast, where the lifts are or even where our room was!

After finding our room we went to the bar and Elisha was brilliant, she recommended places for us to eat that night and I cannot fault her hospitality.

On our second day we went out snorkelling and came back to get ready. My boyfriend took me down to the beach edge, facing the sunset and proposed to me. After the proposal we went up to the bar staff and they told me, quite bluntly, ‘oh congrats’. We even told the front desk on the way out beaming and just got a smile. The worst part about all of the above though, my fiancé emailed the manager weeks ago asking for some help on where to do it, or even if they could help set it up with candles etc, but he got no reply which is saddening.

The following day as we rang all of our family in the hotel and celebrated we ordered some food to our sun loungers. After 1 hour we decided to check in on where it was and they said they forgotten about it so they re-ordered, there wasn’t much of an apology.

I went up to the room later on to find it hadn’t been cleaned, this was way gone 4pm but I let it go. I went down to the front desk and asked them if they could bring up some fresh towels to which they said they would straight away. Upon our arrival home at 11pm, there were no towels in the room or outside so we had an unclean room and no towels. I rang down and asked again and they came up with just 2 towels and said sorry.

The whole experience was further let down by the breakfast, I’m sorry but why are we eating on paper plates and plastic knives and forks please? Further to that, there wasn’t anything left an hour into breakfast so we had to keep going out for it as my partner is allergic to raisins and the only bread they had was cinnamon and raisin bagels on offer.

On check out it was the final straw, we got to the desk and gave our keycards and it was ‘thanks, bye!’. We were never asked how our stay was, nothing. We just walked out feeling empty.

Since our return back to the UK we’ve filled out Capitana’s survey request and have had no response from them on the matter. I’m just so upset that The Capitana was supposed to hold a special place in our hearts as our engagement location but it was let down by the lack of service (with the exception of Elisha), forgetting food, forgetting to clean our room/provide towels and forgetting to greet us and ask about our stay. It’s basic. Never mind them even blinking an eye about our engagement, I wouldn’t expect that now!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from The Capitana Key West , Owner at The Capitana Key West
Responded 24 Aug 2022
Thank you so much Mia for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay and congratulations on your engagement. Our goal at the Capitana is to exceed our guests' expectation in every was and I'm so sorry to hear we missed the mark with some parts of your stay. An experience like this at our resort is very untypical and I would very much be interesting in speaking to you more in regards to find out why our Capitana high standards were not well received in this matter. I do hope we get another opportunity to show you and your party the high level and consistent service we provide to our guests on a daily basis. If you have any further questions or comments feel free to reach out to me directly. Best regards, -Aaron, Guest Service Manager.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
rutgersjd2009 wrote a review Feb 2021
Port Charlotte, Florida74 contributions28 helpful votes
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I’m thrilled we tried the newest hotel in Key West, the Capitana! The rooms are beautiful and big, perfect for working remotely then heading to the beach which is just outride your door. I do hope they add a pier or floating dock so you can safely enter the water off the beach but they have done a wonderful job with thr beach area which was basically destroyed after IRMA. This brand new resort has all the amenities and quiet nights on the beach or in the hot tub while being just minutes from the action on duval, it’s pretty damn near perfect. Their resort fee actually gets you something which I can’t say for too many places anymore. They have continental breakfast, coffee in the room, nice spa like toiletries, probably the best hotel robe I’ve ever had the pleasure of wearing, free parking. Due to Covid they are not doing daily room cleans but a call down to the front desk and they’ll send up more towels and soap and replenish the coffee or bring ice. They have hydration stations on each floor with bottles of water and soon it appears also ice, the machines got installed during my stay. The pool area is fantastic. Among the best in KW, waterfront, umbrellas, towels, and a bar. The staff here was super nice and they made sure everything was good throughout our stay. My ONE request is that they consider a shuttle from the hotel to their other property down by Mallory square. Many resorts on Roosevelt offer some sort of shuttle (ibis bay, Marriott, Havana cabana etc) but with 2 properties in the same brand this makes sense and we do want to discourage drinking and driving. It’s too far to bike and Uber gets costly every night, so I would only suggest they consider adding this to their offering. I would not hesitate to stay here again and already have recommended to others to stay here. It’s the best new place on the island!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from The Capitana Key West , Owner at The Capitana Key West
Responded 24 Aug 2021
Dear Rutgersjd2009, WOW! Thank you so so much for your detailed review. We are delighted you enjoyed in your stay at The Capitana Key West! Don't wait to long to come back to our Capitana! Once again we really appreciate taking your time to write us this amazing review ! Warm Regards, The Capitana Team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Trinity, Florida209 contributions131 helpful votes
Our 2 bedroom villa had a canal view from the back patio and also a hot tub. There was a boat (not sure who it belonged to) on a dock right outside our room. The canal is nice to walk along, but not a selling point in our view. There were several downsides to the villas (especially being overcharged for grocery items and getting a huge bill at checkout). It is spacious to have a 2-bedroom but only 1 of them has an en suite bathroom, the other is in the hallway and accessible by all so whomever stays in that room without the en suite has to trapse past the kitchen to go to the bathroom.
Answer from 532angiec
Overland Park, Kansas252 contributions73 helpful votes
There were always more than enough chairs around the pool. As far as loud music being heard up to the room, we were on the 2nd floor and when our balcony door was open, you could hear music, but it wasn't loud. When the door was closed, I couldn't hear anything from the pool area.
532angiec asked a question Jan 2024
Overland Park, Kansas252 contributions73 helpful votes
I was just wondering why you can't get in the gulf from the resort property.
Trinity, Florida209 contributions131 helpful votes
There is no option - the beach is very very small and has rocks all around it so no safe access
Answer from Curiouspb
Boyertown, Pennsylvania549 contributions107 helpful votes
The hotel staff are very helpful, we had no issues.. I found giving them a call directly worked best, be patient they do get busy but they do go out of their way to help you.. Sometimes emails get stuck or sent to spam folders etc. If you are able call them directly.
Texas Tanya asked a question Apr 2023
Houston, Texas213 contributions12 helpful votes
Do the rooms have a fridge?
Answer from Curiouspb
Boyertown, Pennsylvania549 contributions107 helpful votes
Yes, some do, its small
Steve K wrote a tip 17 May
Fraser, Colorado9 contributions
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"We would not get room 315 again, there was a large wall outside the deck that made us feel blocked in."
Read full review
njd216 wrote a tip Apr 2024
Richmond, Virginia10 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Parking was easy and self park. We did a Fun in the Sun boat trip which was great!"
Read full review
Jay G wrote a tip Apr 2024
2 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Beautifully decorated clean rooms. Pool area beautiful. Views amazing. "
Read full review
JV wrote a tip Apr 2024
Huntsville, Alabama2 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"We generally ate early dinners because the restaurants can get pretty busy in the evenings"
Read full review
Kate V wrote a tip Apr 2024
Canton, Georgia2 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Make sure you have the Lyft or Uber app… it’s way easier than taxies or having to park a rental :)"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Key West area.
PRICE RANGE
$560 - $800 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United StatesFloridaFlorida KeysKey West
NUMBER OF ROOMS
75
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

THE CAPITANA KEY WEST - Hotel Reviews & Price Comparison (FL) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about The Capitana Key West
What are some of the property amenities at The Capitana Key West?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a pool.
Which room amenities are available at The Capitana Key West?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at The Capitana Key West?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at The Capitana Key West?
Yes, free parking and paid private parking on-site are available to guests.
Are there opportunities to exercise at The Capitana Key West?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and a fitness centre during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at The Capitana Key West?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at The Capitana Key West?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at The Capitana Key West?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Spanish.
Does The Capitana Key West have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the ocean view available here.
Is The Capitana Key West accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access, reduced mobility rooms, and facilities for disabled guests. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.
All Key West HotelsKey West Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in Key WestHotels near The Capitana Key West
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday HomesTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire