Shandon Hotel and Spa
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Shandon Hotel and Spa

room view
Traveller (1497)
Room & Suite (311)
Dining (128)
What is Travellers’ Choice Best of the Best?
This award is our highest recognition and is presented annually to those businesses that are the Best of the Best on Tripadvisor, those that earn excellent reviews from travellers and are ranked in the top 1% of properties worldwide.
Learn more

View prices for your travel dates

No prepayment needed
$431
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

4.5
#1 of 1 hotels in Portnablagh
4.9 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.8 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.8 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Value
This award is our highest recognition and is presented annually to the top 1% of businesses across select categories.
The Shandon hotel & spa overlooks the breathtakingly beautiful Sheephaven Bay and is located on the Wild Atlantic Way Route being just a short drive from Dunfanaghy and Horn Head. This reasonably new Donegal Hotel is probably one of very few hotels that can say that almost every bedroom has a spectacular view of the sea, the lobby, bar, swimming pool, thermal spa, relaxation room & outdoor Canadian hot-tub all, overlook the beautiful bay, hills & countryside.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Beach
Tennis court
Babysitting
Parking
Wifi
Hot bath
Indoor pool
Heated pool
Fitness / spa changing rooms
Sauna
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Kids' meals
Special diet menus
Fishing
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Taxi service
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Foot massage
Full body massage
Head massage
Massage
Salon
Steam room
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
Sun terrace
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Room features
Housekeeping
Room service
Safe
Telephone
VIP room facilities
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Hair dryer
Iron
Room types
Ocean view
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Smoking rooms available
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Great View
2,729Reviews21Q+A100Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 2,215
  • 323
  • 103
  • 47
  • 42
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Kate wrote a review Aug 2020
6 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
My family and I stayed in a Superior room as there were 5 of us. The room was spacious and came with all the added extras (bottles of shampoo etc, face cloths/towels, tea/coffee, bath robes were thick and useful for swimming pool /slippers were too big but still thoughtful addition, hair dryer, iron and complimentary bottles of water).
We arrived on Sunday which we hadn't realised was a Bank Holiday weekend.
Having checked in, the room as advertised with current Covid restrictions, wouldn't be available until 4pm, I had booked a slot in the pool, complimentary to guests. There was 1 other family in at that time so we were able to socially distance quite easily. We had booked evening meals, and whilst they were very busy all staff were so unbelievably attentive and friendly.
The next day the hotel was quieter. For breakfast once we had ordered our hot breakfast we could then go and pick our cold breakfast which was still buffet style however not self service. Nothing was any bother to any staff member throughout every meal. If asked for something it was sorted or brought to your table immediately.
All meals were amazing. The hot breakfasts were fab! For our evening meals we had nachos, steaks, curry, kids pizza, kids curry, and desserts. As we were celebrating 2 birthdays the hotel, on request, personalised the 2 desserts and added candles.
The hotel has a small beach at the bottom of the driveway and is a short walk (10mins) from a larger beach. There are various surf schools with various water sports going on each day.
The grounds provided plenty of opportunities to relax with a visible play area for children (tennis court, large floor chess board, nets).
Finally the view requires its own praise! From almost most every window, the view of the nearby beaches to the right and the Atlantic to the left, is visible. Our room (and I believe every room), has a large window to enjoy it. I left the windows open on one night and couldn't believe how quiet it was outside, so much so that we could hear the waves crashing distantly at the nearby beach.
Due to Covid restrictions we were not able to use the bar but we asked to sit in the foyer lounge area where a bar man would come out and take orders and deliver them to your table. There is also the option to order to your room.
My daughter requested weetabix on one night of our stay which was delivered promptly. Again I want to mention the attitude of all the staff we encountered. They were honestly soo genuinely friendly, making you feel at constant ease.
Overall I would definitely recommend this hotel to family's, couples, old and young. With the close proximity to the beach you have the option of enjoying an active holiday and with the spa you have the option to enjoy a pampered break away.
We will be back.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Carolynne Harrison, General Manager at Shandon Hotel and Spa
Responded 15 Sept 2020
Dear Guest Thank you sincerely for your wonderful review, it means alot to the team and I! I am so happy that you throughly enjoyed our facilities, location and that the team looked after you very well. I look forward to your next visit! Warmest Regards Carolynne
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
duncan_bert wrote a review Feb 2020
London, United Kingdom7 contributions1 helpful vote
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I don't normally leave reviews but wanted to thank everyone at the Shandon for a wonderful stay.

Initially I'd had a bit of trouble making my booking, communicating via email without getting a reply and was going to look elsewhere but one of the managers/senior staff picked up on my email chain and responded offering a free upgrade to the master suite for the difficulty I had had. This was an extremely generous touch and demonstrated exceptional customer service.

We were staying for a special occasion and the hotel was beyond my normal budget, so I had wanted to make sure everything was perfect before our stay. The staff were exceptional in the lead up, answering all my questions about the spa and the restaurants etc and I was pleased with the service.

Our stay was absolute paradise. The thermal spa is absolutely stunning (the additional cost was clearly communicated throughout the booking process and worth every penny). The facilities were the best I've ever experienced, the staff friendly and attentive but not in the way at all, and the atmosphere was so relaxing. The photos speak for themselves as the views really were stunning. The free leisure centre was also good and of a standard you would expect from a 4 star hotel. I note other people have complained about the cost of the thermal spa but we felt that it was justified given the discount for guests,the quality of the spa and the fact that normal facilities are available free of charge as well.

The master suite was incredible. The bed was so comfy and the bathroom was so luxurious. The jacuzzi bathtub and the sea views from the bathside window were just spectacular especially at sunset. It looks like the other rooms enjoy equally stunning views but the jacuzzi tub really was extra special.

We ate in the bar for lunch, dinner and breakfast and again the service was great and the food hearty and delicious and reasonably priced. My only slight comment was that as a vegetarian it would've been nice to have been able to order a vegetarian cooked breakfast as my buffet options were relatively limited. There was still plenty choice and I ate well so don't let that put you off! Also the lunch dinner menu had plenty vegetarian options which was good to see.

Thanks again to all the staff for a lovely stay, I can't recommend this place highly enough!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from ShandonHotelandSpaGM, Manager at Shandon Hotel and Spa
Responded 18 Feb 2020
Dear Duncan We are truly humbled and blown away with your excellent review, sincere thanks on behalf of team Shandon. It was our pleasure to welcome you to Shandon Resort, by all accounts you had an amazing stay and we met and exceeded your expectations which is wonderful. We continue to excel in customer service and your kind words are testament to our success. Thank you for your feedback regarding vegetarian options at breakfast, we will certainly review your suggestions. I am delighted that you loved the Master Suite and stunning views, fond memories forever. We look forward to your return very soon, a warm Shandon welcome awaits. Kind Regards Siobhán Resort Sales Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
sandra_small wrote a review Jan 2020
Lisburn, United Kingdom7 contributions11 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Nine of us arrived in the Shandon hotel on Friday to celebrate two birthdays during the weekend. We were all in the 50+ group and this was a unique occasion for a family gathering. We were given our sea view rooms immediately and were absolutely bowled over by the beautiful view from the vast windows in the bedrooms. The rooms were spacious, clean and well equipped with tea making facilities, tv, etc. The beach is a five minute walk away and the spa, a two minute walk outside the hotel is very popular and requires early booking. The bar is a lively area with live music at weekends and a sufficient choice of menu and afternoon tea is served in Jonjo’s whilst enjoying the beautiful view of the sea.
Marbles restaurant was a huge hit on Saturday night. The menu had plenty of choices and all nine of us enjoyed the food immensely . The service was prompt and efficient even though the restaurant was packed full with several large family gatherings also celebrating birthdays.
We all reluctantly left the Shandon hotel on Sunday after a very enjoyable weekend , all agreeing it was a perfect location for every size of group and had lots to offer with swimming pool, gym, thermal area and of course amazing walks on the beach and forests nearby.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from ShandonHotelandSpaGM, Manager at Shandon Hotel and Spa
Responded 27 Jan 2020
Dear Sandra We were absolutely thrilled to welcome you all, thank you for choosing Shandon Resort for your family birthday celebrations. On behalf of our team thank you for your amazing review, I am delighted that you were blown away by our welcoming hospitality and stunning view. Marbles is a fabulous dining experience and Shandon Spa is definitely the ultimate treat, by all accounts you had a wonderful family get together and we were privileged to be part of it. I do hope you can return soon, it will be our pleasure to welcome you. Kindest Regards Siobhán Resort Sales Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Myra M wrote a review Jul 2020
1 contribution7 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Beautiful hotel and stunning location. Staff are friendly

I booked a family room, with a double bed and two single beds. The room we were allocated, however, had a double a single and a mattress on the floor.

The nightstands for the single and double beds had been removed to make room for the mattress, so no night light for reading. The bed occupants had to walk on the mattress to access their beds. There was one pillow each in a four-star hotel.

For the duration of our stay, we had to keep requesting the basics. The room set up for two and continued to be so for the duration of our stay, despite paying for four people. There were two mugs, and no water bottles refreshed to the room, we could not make a cup of tea.

The hotel policy of not cleaning the rooms if your stay is for two days or less, which had four of us in a room, without anything being refreshed until day three left me bewildered. This policy meant that on my staycation I was cleaning the hotel bathroom and bedroom. Ringing reception was futile, as it just rang out. I had to go down and ask for more than one little bottle of shower gel which we had between four people until day 3, toilet paper, towels. We left out our towels, and none came back, when I went to reception and asked for towels, I got two, back down again for two more.

The bathroom had no extractor fan, so you can imagine the wet room we had every time four of us had to take a shower, no air-conditioning again in a small room with four people.

Since leaving the hotel, I have raised the matter with the GM of the hotel before posting my review, but apparently, I should have done more than ask to speak with her on departure (which she tells me I did not do, in a pretty aggressive email response)

Food was very disappointing for Breakfast each morning
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020
2.0 of 5 bubblesValue
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Carolynne Harrison, General Manager at Shandon Hotel and Spa
Responded 14 Aug 2020
Dear Guest Your 'preview' of a very negative review which you emailed to me shortly after your stay was in my opinion a veiled threat. I suspect that your intention was to gain compensation which may have prevented you from posting this inaccurate review on our property. I have zero tolerance for that type of behaviour. You did not ask to speak to me when you were here, I was here every day throughout your stay and I am always readily available to all our guests. The truth of the matter is that you booked that specific room type online and it is very clear exactly what is in the room. I refute your allegation that there was a mattress on the floor, it was indeed a pull put bed, which again is clear on your booking confirmation. Had you wanted a more spacious room, I would have suggested booking a superior room with two double beds, however, that would have at a supplement and perhaps that is why you chose the room type you did. I decided from the 'preview' of your negative review that your complaints were only relative to our new policies which were introduced to reduce the risk of anyone contracting or spreading Covid-19, therefore you were not entitled to a refund because all our new policies were emailed to your before arrival, affording you an opportunity to cancel if you felt that our health and safety measures would impact on your holiday. In relation to the room, it was your prerogative to choose the room type so I cannot take responsibility for that. It is very clear on all literature that if you wish for your room to be serviced every day, simply inform us and we can arrange this. To do this we would require yo to vacate your room for 1 hour as we need to fully sanitise the entire room in line with our Covid-19 hygiene promise. I apologise that you chose not to avail of this and I apologise profusely that you were in a position where you have to clean up after yourself whilst on holiday, I can only empathise with you, however, the option was there for our team to do it. Your correspondence to me was exceptionally rude, obnoxious and insulting. You clearly didn't expect me to check the logs and confirm that many of your accusations were completely false. I certainly didn't expect bad language from you however, I put it down to your frustration that this time, your typical post hotel stay trick didn't pay off. Kind Regards Carolynne
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
C Mullan wrote a review Sept 2020
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Really well-organised, Covid-Proof arrangements in the hotel, atmosphere was very relaxed and there was no sense of congestion. Also great to be able to have a quiet early evening drink either outside or in the lounge area. Room was fantastic and of course the wonderful views of Marble Hill and the bay topped it all off. Definitely coming back for an autumn break! Location near beach was also wonderful, as a sea swimmer the ability to walk up and down is really appreciated. Great way to prepare for an evening dinner!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: Corner suites are fab!
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Carolynne Harrison, General Manager at Shandon Hotel and Spa
Responded 11 Sept 2020
Dear Guest Thank you so much for your positive feedback on our Covid measures. I'm delighted the weather was good and our outside terrace was enjoyed by you, there really isn't anywhere better if we get the sun shine! We look forward to welcoming you back in the Autumn, it is equally enjoyable with the cosy turf fire and wintry scenes over the bay. Warmest Regards Carolynne
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Carrollel wrote a review Aug 2020
Kilkenny, Ireland14 contributions2 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed here as a family of 2 adults and 3 children. It is situated in the most beautiful setting with views to take your breath away. Each member of staff were so professional and so friendly even though we are all going through a tough time with Covid. We were upgraded to a family suite very comfortable and beautiful decor and the extra seating area made the evenings easier when you have 2 teenagers in your party. The breakfast was delicious with a large number of choices and I have to say I think the porridge was by far the nicest I have ever tasted. We would definitely recommend the Shandon and plan to return again in the future. Marble hill beach is a stunning beach as are all of the beaches in Donegal, white sand and clear waters , and it is just a short stroll from the hotel. We had to leave early, unexpectedly and they returned our 2 nights accommodation fee to our card prior to our departure ( I had not even asked as I didn’t think we would be entitled to a refund) . Overall I can only speak very highly of this hotel, it’s staff and I could not fault it on any way. Highly recommended!! Thank you Shandon hotel and spa for making our staycation a very special one
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Gary Cavanagh, Other at Shandon Hotel and Spa
Responded 11 Sept 2020
Dear Guest Thank you sincerely for taking time out to support and encourage us in this way, it really means so much as we navigate these strange times! Our chef will be really happy to hear your kind remark on our porridge, thank you! We look forward to welcoming you back again soon as a valued repeat guest. Best Regards Gary Resort Operations Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Neil M wrote a review Aug 2020
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Me and my wife just spent an amazing weekend at the wonderful Shandon Hotel & Spa. It was a birthday present for me and because of this, I was booked into the amazing Thermal Spa and also had a treatment! We also stayed in one of the suites which have to be seen to be believed. Big huge room with stunning decor, incredibe his and hers bathroom with a sink each, huge shower and luxury bath. The room even had 2 smart tvs, one in the bedroom and one in the seating area which had lovely boutique style leather sofas! We have been to the Shandon many times and we always go back. This is such a modern and beautiful hotel with amazing views all around it and such professional staff who are so helpful, friendly and attentive at all times. Have to give a special mention to the wonderful general manager, Carolynne and her fine team. The food we enjoyed was absolutely delicious in both Beats Bar and Marbles restaurant. Such high standard. In my opinion Marbles is the equivalent to the award-winning Roly's Bistro in Dublin which is Michelin standard! Excellent cuisine from fine chefs! The Spa experience we had as always was amazing from start to finish. Once again the staff have to get a mention, so friendly and extremely helpful. Everyone knows about the panoramic views from the outdoor heated Jacuzzi, it's worth it for this alone. Great weekend and we will defo be back could not recommend this place enough! I finally have to mention one more thing, that me and my wife felt so safe considering the restrictions in place for Covid-19. All staff were wearing face visors and masks at all times, constantly sanitising their hands, wiping down eveything non-stop. Great to see, really gave us confidence to enjoy our stay without thinking or worrying about all that!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Carolynne Harrison, General Manager at Shandon Hotel and Spa
Responded 11 Sept 2020
Dear Guest Thank you for your wonderful review! We are totally blown away for your kind comparison so one of Ireland's finest restaurants, thank you so much! I am so happy that we impressed you and felt safe. I look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Warmest Regards Carolynne
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Sk81 wrote a review Jul 2020
2 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We got this treat as a present and we were amazed when we entered the hotel. The check in was fuss free and swift. Nothing was too much of a bother either. Room was spotless and no noise could be heard anywhere.
We had some time in the thermal suit and a spa treatment. All of which was delightful along with the complimentary fruit, yoghurt and beverage after in the relaxation area.
We had dinner in Marbles Restaurant and couldn't fault the food or service.
We also had drinks in the foyer area which is reserved for guests and the bar staff bring your drinks to you.
It is family friendly and overlooks the beach, which is a 3 minute walk.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Carolynne Harrison, General Manager at Shandon Hotel and Spa
Responded 15 Sept 2020
Dear Guest Thank you so much for taking time out to review your recent Shandon experience, we are so happy that you enjoyed it! We look forwrad to welcoming you back again soon! Warmest Regards Carolynne
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Destination722715 wrote a review Sept 2020
2 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We ( my mother and four sisters) had a wonderful weekend getaway, we were lucky to get such an excellent rate by booking direct via the hotel website. Lovely view from the rooms plus lots of space for all our extra's. The restaurant was delicious for dinner & breakfast was top class too. Spa was a real treat, with very friendly staff & very modern.
Re COVID-19 the hotel is well set up, clear safety signage, requesting customers to wear masks in common areas / when not eating & lots of sanitizer available.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: rooms at the front have a spectacular view of Marble Hill beach.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Gary Cavanagh, Other at Shandon Hotel and Spa
Responded 11 Sept 2020
Dear Guest Your review has really lifted our spirits as we live and work through a pandemic. Support like yours goes a long way in helping us navigate these difficult times and when a guest like you, is so kind a thoughtful to take time out their busy schedules to encourage us, it is sincerely apprecaited, thank you! I look forward to welcoming you again, hopefully with less restrictions next time. Best Regards Gary Resort Operations Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Gail S wrote a review Feb 2020
Strabane, United Kingdom25 contributions13 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
The reception staff and bar staff were very friendly and most welcoming and our room on the was newly refurbished and very comfortable. Although we could hear noise from the leisure facilities it didn't annoy us but we did have to ring reception to request that the heat be turned back on - this puzzled us as this is the time of day that guests are returning from a day out - getting showered and relaxing over a glass of wine enjoying the fabulous view. The position of the hotel is superb but to be honest we felt that there was a lack of ambience in the lounge area and in the bar. Unfortunately the Marbles Resturant wasn't open so we ate in the bar and although there was a good variety on the menu we were disappointed with the standard of our meals for what we paid. We researched alternative restaurants but because it was low season we had no alternative and once again we were left disappointed. We didn't make any complaint as we felt that it would not have improved the quality of the food being served. Breakfast on both mornings was very good with a full range of options. We got our 2 night stay in the January half price sale and would have been so disappointed if we had paid the full rate.
We booked the spa winter special and thoroughly enjoyed a full afternoon in the Thermal Suite followed by treatments. This hotel has the potential to be fantastic, we just loved the area, with the beach, Dunfanaghy, Port na Blagh and Horn Head are right on the doorstep.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from ShandonHotelandSpaGM, Manager at Shandon Hotel and Spa
Responded 19 Feb 2020
Dear Gail On behalf of our team thank you for your delightful review and thank you for choosing Shandon Resort, it was our pleasure to welcome you. We are super proud of our renowned guest service reputation and passion for ensuring that all our guests have a memorable experience. I am thrilled that you loved our stunning location and you felt relaxed and rejuvenated in Shandon Spa, it is truly a wonderful treat and chance to disconnect. We look forward to welcoming you back, a warm welcome awaits. Kindest Regards Siobhán Resort Sales Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Answer from Donegal mary
15 contributions5 helpful votes
Wifi was good , we had no issues with it.
Answer from tincar
ireland54 contributions71 helpful votes
There is a gorgeous beach just below the house and lots of beautiful walks, from the hotel. You can also take a short drive to Ard Forest Park, amazing
Answer from Pat K
4 contributions1 helpful vote
I don’t post photos
Caelan asked a question Mar 2019
Derry, United Kingdom
Is there much nightlife in the area ie. Locals bars
Answer from spuds&butter
Northern Ireland, United Kingdom28 contributions17 helpful votes
Nightlife is relative to the time of the visit. Dunfanaghy is around the corner and has several bars and venues. The Shandon does have entertainment And lends itself to beach walks good food and brilliant friendly staff
Barry K wrote a tip 14 May
Irvinestown, United Kingdom1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Get room at front, views amazing"
Read full review
Deborah D wrote a tip 13 May
Portadown, United Kingdom41 contributions8 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Secluded location,short walk to fabulous unspoilt beach. Hotel pool good with sauna ,steam room and jacuzzi. Spa available(€30-40 for 1.5hr)"
Read full review
redhugh78 wrote a tip 12 May
Derry, United Kingdom6 contributions2 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"If you are going into nearby Dunfanaghy for night time entertainment make sure and book a taxi before the rush!"
Read full review
Odyssey35657656640 wrote a tip 1 May
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Maybe larger dressing gown for bigger lady . 🙈"
Read full review
Anne W wrote a tip Apr 2024
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Love to spa package good value for money"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Portnablagh area.
PRICE RANGE
$306 - $453 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
IrelandCounty DonegalPortnablagh
NUMBER OF ROOMS
68
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

SHANDON HOTEL AND SPA - Reviews & Price Comparison (Portnablagh, Ireland) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Shandon Hotel and Spa
Which popular attractions are close to Shandon Hotel and Spa?
Nearby attractions include The Art House Ireland (4.2 km), Hornhead Loop (4.4 km), and Ards Forest Park (6.5 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Shandon Hotel and Spa?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and free breakfast.
What food & drink options are available at Shandon Hotel and Spa?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Shandon Hotel and Spa?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Shandon Hotel and Spa?
Conveniently located restaurants include Lizzie's Diner, The Rusty Oven, and Cove Restaurant.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Shandon Hotel and Spa?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool, a fitness centre, and a sauna during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Shandon Hotel and Spa?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Shandon Hotel and Spa offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers meeting rooms, a banquet room, and conference facilities.
Are there any historical sites close to Shandon Hotel and Spa?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Doe Castle (5.7 km).
Does Shandon Hotel and Spa have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the harbour view available here.
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire