Shephard's Beach Resort
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Shephard's Beach Resort

Traveller (2120)
Studio Room
Room & Suite (321)
Shephard's Beach Resort
Videos (2)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

$649
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

4.5
#2 of 10 resorts in Clearwater
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.3 of 5 bubbles
Value
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Clearwater Beach's Premier Entertainment Resort features luxury rooms with modern amenities and stunning views. The heated pool and spa are adjacent to the exclusive SOAK Bar, surrounded by a lush tropical landscape. Take a dip in the Gulf of Mexico from our private white sand beach. The legendary "Tiki Beach Bar" and the 2-level "Wave Night Club" are known for featuring the best local and national entertainment on Clearwater Beach. Destination weddings take place on the beach at sunset, and we also have parties, meetings, and corporate events! With award-winning dining, personalized service, and over 12,000 square feet of indoor and outdoor venues right on the water, we can cater your celebration of 10 to 2,000. So, whether you like to dance the night away or kick back with a tropical drink, Shephard's Beach Resort has something for everyone's taste!
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Beach
Bicycle rental
Children's television networks
Valet parking
Paid public parking on-site
Wifi
Hot bath
Pool / beach towels
Swimming pool toys
Pool with view
Outdoor pool
Heated pool
Shallow end in pool
Fence around pool
Coffee shop
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Outdoor dining area
Snack bar
Special diet menus
Vending machine
Poolside bar
Boating
Canoeing
Snorkelling
Water sport equipment rentals
Windsurfing
Entertainment staff
Evening entertainment
Fishing
Patio
Tennis court offsite
Water park offsite
Board games / puzzles
Nightclub / DJ
Highchairs available
Car hire
Taxi service
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Photo copier / fax In business centre
Baggage storage
Concierge
Convenience store
Gift shop
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Shops
Sun deck
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun terrace
Sun umbrellas
ATM on site
Umbrella
24-hour front desk
Clothes dryer
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Room features
Air conditioning
Private beach
Desk
Dining area
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Sofa bed
Walk-in shower
Housekeeping
Interconnected rooms available
Private balcony
Room service
Safe
Seating area
Separate dining area
Separate living room
Sofa
Telephone
Bottled water
Clothes rack
Iron
Laptop safe
Private bathrooms
Tile / marble floor
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Kitchenette
Microwave
Refrigerator
Stovetop
Kitchenware
Flatscreen TV
On-demand films
Radio
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
Ocean view
City view
Pool view
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Modern
Bay View
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish
Hotel links
Special Price:15% off room rate for all First Responders, Military, and Law Enforcement.

Location

619 S Gulfview Blvd, Clearwater, FL 33767-2643
Getting there
Somewhat walkable
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 78 out of 100
78
Tampa Intl Airport
St. Petersburg Intl Airport
15.2 km
See all flights
2,328Reviews135Q+A100Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 1,568
  • 382
  • 137
  • 98
  • 144
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Becky D wrote a review Feb 2021
Hampstead, Maryland32 contributions9 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed here with family and had a great time. The rooms are clean and roomy but be prepared there is no housekeeping during your stay, but you can request clean towels and trash service. I found it funny there is no in room coffee for the coffee maker or even free coffee available within the resort. We had a great Gulf view from our balcony but be aware the 4th floor balconies do not offer much privacy, as they jet out and you can see your neighbors and into the room next door as the walls are low. The staff was very friendly. We utilized the on-site tiki bar and restaurant, and the service was great, and food was decent. It is open to the public and there is no preference given to resort guests or any type of discount and it is a little pricey. During this time, you would think there would be a benefit offered to those staying in the resort, as there is a $20.00 pp resort fee that ultimately just allows you access to the pool. The beach area in front of the resort was full of shells, however the hotel staff was working to keep them cleaned up and its understandable based on the location at the mouth of the Clearwater Bay. The only chairs for sitting on the beach are rentals and again the area in front of the resort is open to the public. A little disappointed more preference was not given to the guests, as I am sure travel traffic is light in Jan and the current pandemic has slowed business, but overall a good stay.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: 5th floor or higher based on privacy of balconies
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Cody Peer, Other at Shephard's Beach Resort
Responded 2 Feb 2021
It is wonderful to hear that you and your family had a great time here! We realize that traveling during the pandemic is certainly different than what we are used to and appreciate everyone who is still booking and traveling under these circumstances. Our website has an entire page dedicated to travel updates regarding COVID including county mandates, housekeeping procedures, safety precautions and more. In addition there is a link provided on all confirmations to this page with a message urging all travelers to read it before arriving as the rules are different from county to county, state to state, etc. One of those important messages is to inform you that house keeping service is available by request only and is not automatic as a safety precaution for the guests and staff limiting contact with your personal space and belongings. You may request it for any days during your stay though if you wish. We apologize if the housekeeper missed placing the coffee in your room, it does come complimentary and you may call down and request more at any time. All Clearwater Beach resorts are open to the public in addition to hotel guests with the exception of the pools and guest rooms, our pricing including the price of the resort fee (which covers several amenities including parking that would otherwise be $25-$35 per day anywhere where else on the island) is very moderate for this area. We are sorry to hear that you did not see the value in the price point. Our barrier island is known for its sugary white sand and great shelling- we are glad to know that you had fun and hope that you took some nice souvenirs home with you!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Anna J wrote a review Oct 2021
4 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
If you are someone who likes all amenities in one place, and you don't feel like you need to leave the property if you don't want to this is it! The beach and pool area are amazing. The beach is private to the resort, so it wasn't overly crowded and they had Kayak/SUP and jet ski rentals. There are several bars on site, and they make it very easy to access alcohol and food until wee hours of the morning. The outdoor bar had live music every night that we were there and the dance floor and bar were packed. There is also a nightclub, but we were happy to be able to party outside since it's still Covid times. You can also chill on the beach area at night with your cocktails if you choose, which is nice. The staff at the hotel is absolutely amazing, everyone we came in contact with, from the bartenders to the front desk staff was extremely helpful, and friendly, and made you feel safe and comfortable. Toni and Jose at the front desk were super nice and went out of their way to make sure we had everything we needed throughout the 4 days that we were there.

They are very open that their resort is an "entertainment resort" meaning that there is lots of drinking and live music until very late at night and this is true. Our room was on the top floor and the music and bass from the club/outdoor bar could be heard until about 2am. This wasn't a problem for us, but I would not want to be traveling here with children. Our group was all moms looking for time away from our kids, so we actually wished this was advertised as a 21 and over resort. There were a few kids here and there, but I'd estimate it was less than 5% of the overall guests. If I had one other complaint it would be that there was a charge for using the beach chairs and umbrellas, around $30/day for 2 chairs and a table. We kinda felt like that should be included. They do offer free towels so it wasn't a huge deal to just lay out like that.

Overall we loved this place, and we're already talking about coming back!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: Worth paying extra or asking for an ocean view room.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Paul Andrews, General Manager at Shephard's Beach Resort
Responded 4 Oct 2021
shortlyAnna, thanks so much for this thoughtful and candid review. We are glad that you and your friends selected us for your getaway. We are an entertainment resort with live bands and a nightclub. We are known for our entertainment. We have so many different clientele, which depends on the time of the year, like from June to August; we have primarily families staying with us; many return year after year. We get the beach chair comment a lot. The jetski operation takes care of cleaning the beach and providing watersports to our guests. This is a common situation throughout Florida. We have a little bit for everyone, and we are so happy that you had a great time. Thanks for the shout-out to Toni and Jose; they are a great team. We hope to see you all soon in the near future!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Angela J wrote a review Feb 2021
3 contributions2 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed in room 500 in a 2 bedroom suite in the Gulfview Building. It had a beautiful wrap around balcony with an oceanfront view. We have stayed at many different resorts and this by far was our favorite and the most accommodating. Everything you need is right at the resort! We really enjoyed the poolside and beachfront bars which served great cocktails and delicious food with waiters that came around regularly to check on us. One waitress Alex in particular was very attentive with a great energy. The pool and hot tub were clean and family friendly with great music that plays all day long. Another huge plus for our family was the nightly live music and bar service. Additionally, we enjoyed being able to go to the restaurant for beachfront breakfast which was also very delicious with great service. Other perks were poolside cabanas, umbrellas, corn hole, a grab and go convenience shop, gift shop, nightclub, private beach and water sports right on the resort. Be aware the night club is open until 2a and very loud on Friday and Saturday nights and you can hear them in your room if you are in the Gulfview building however, we knew this might be the case in advance and we had a lot of fun enjoying this perk so it wasn’t a problem for us. Our room was clean with a full kitchen so we were able to cook in the room and save money. There is a gas station directly across the street which was convenient to get snacks, drinks and alcohol. In close walking distance is a bar/restaurant (also good food), liquor store, gift shop, ice cream shop, market (very expensive) but has most grocery items you would need. (We drove about 18 minutes to Aldi’s to get groceries). At the front desk Jose’ was very helpful. He made recommendations for excursions and restaurants and even gave us print outs with discounts codes. He is great! Additionally, anytime we needed something in our room it was brought to the room very quickly. Jose’ also told us about a loyalty club where you stay 6 nights and get 1 night free. We will be back very soon and wouldn’t stay anywhere else but Shephards beach resort.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Paul Andrews, General Manager at Shephard's Beach Resort
Responded 16 Feb 2021
Thanks for taking the time out to tell us about your stay. We are so happy that your family had a great time. We appreciate the detailed review; this allows us to make sure every guest's experience is the best we can create. Thanks for mentioning Alex and Jose. I know both were delighted to serve you and your family. We will share this review with the front desk, food and beverage, and the housekeeping staff. Thanks again for this great review, and we cannot wait for your return.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
MARISSA wrote a review Jun 2020
Boston, Massachusetts2 contributions2 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
My boyfriend surprised me for my birthday with a room here, I never leave reviews but I had to. At check in they told us that we booked a wheelchair room however no where in his booking confirmation says wheelchair room. The room needs some serious renovation, our TV remote did not work , we called over 5 times complaining and they kept saying they will send maintenance over and never did ! the rug in the hallways always smelt like must and the ELEVATOR , smh we were on the 6th floor and it was very very VERY slow , NO AC just nasty. The food was mediocre we always left the resort to get food , thank god everything was close by. I travel every year for my birthday and we always stay at amazing hotels with great customer service , great energy and great food if you are looking for that experience you will not get that. desk is up and down, some people are nice some are not! Our flight got delayed we requested a late checkout ( offered to pay what ever ) and they said no , mind you the hotel was almost empty! I felt uncomfortable here being an African American women, they definitely pick and choose who they want to service here. I’m only giving this place 1 star because they did have hand sanitizers every where , the jet ski people were awesome & they had a lot of activities right on the beach.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Paul A, General Manager at Shephard's Beach Resort
Responded 30 Jun 2020
First, let me apologize for the problems you encountered during your stay. We are very disappointed that you didn't enjoy your stay. We have a unique resort, and we have many amenities on property. We are not always perfect, but we take your comments very seriously. Your reservation was made directly on our website, and the only king room available at the time was the handicap king room. I am sorry we didn't have another king room available. I can see that this was a special weekend, and getting a hotel room that you weren't anticipating will set a wrong tone for the entire stay. We have many fabulous king suites and rooms on property that probably would have been more in line with your expectations. It looks like we took about 45 mins to get your remote corrected, this should have taken no more than 15 mins. We are sorry for that. Our rooms are updated regularly, and we pride ourselves on our extensive cleaning process and amenities in the rooms. You said that the resort was empty, but during your stay, we were full. We extended your check-out to noon. We were unable to extend any late check-outs beyond that time because we were sold out. I can assure you that we have clean carpets, exceptional food options, and elevators in excellent working conditions. I am genuinely concerned that you didn't feel welcomed by our staff, and I am trying to understand why you felt that way. Being African American myself, I know for a fact that our owners and associates are opened to everyone. Once, again I wish, I could have started your stay with another room type, and because of that, we are incredibly sorry.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Cynthia D wrote a review Mar 2020
Glen Mills, Pennsylvania2 contributions1 helpful vote
1.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed here for a spring training trip to watch the Phillies. What a mistake! Besides the fact that the room and bathroom were absolutely filthy the property has an outdoor night club that plays music until 3 am. Our room was about as far away as possible from where the music was playing and it literally was shaking our room. The people at the nightclub were screaming outside and so loud they kept us up all night. I had to keep the tv and ac unit on (which sounded like a freight train) just to drown out the noise. The walls are paper thin and you can hear every noise coming from the adjacent rooms. Absolutely ridiculous especially because it was not cheap to stay here. Other guests in the hotel literally bought earplugs just so they could sleep and recommended we do as well. A total waste of money. And on top of it even though you pay a resort fee you still have to pay to rent beach chairs for the day and can not bring any food or beverages including water to the pool or beach. With all of the other hotels on the island the smart traveler will pick somewhere else to stay. I will never stay here or recommend it to anyone. It is like sleeping inside a nightclub.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Paul A, General Manager at Shephard's Beach Resort
Responded 9 Mar 2020
Cynthia, We appreciate your honesty, and we take negatives reviews along with positive reviews very seriously. We are very sorry that you had a problem with your room and our Night Club. It sounds like the Club was a little too loud because generally guests on higher floors are not disturbed. The night club is one of the main features of our property. We were happy to move your room this morning away from the Club. As for the walls being paper-thin, the folks next to were loud enough to disturb you. All walls in between rooms are double insolated. With the Club and noisy neighbors, we can see why you have a negative impression of the property. We can assure you that we did not intend to disturb you in this manner. We have many options for rooms away from the Club. We inform all guests that we have a Night Club and Tiki Bar with live music, especially when you make your reservation directly with the resort. We hope you can give us another opportunity to make this correct for you. We have very reasonable rates compared to other resorts on the beach, and we have provided a unique setting over many decades. We hope you change your mind and give us another chance to service you again in the future. We know you will have a great time here, and we are genuinely sorry for the inconvenience you encountered.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jennifer J wrote a review Jan 2020
1 contribution1 helpful vote
1.0 of 5 bubbles
This is not a family friendly hotel at all. I visited with my husband and two kiddos and we were very disappointed. They have a night club and a concert stage on the beach right next to the property. They play mainly electronic music from 2 pm to midnight everyday. The water front view rooms are vibrating and very loud. Moving to island view only helps with the vibrating, not the noise. It’s impossible to get a good night sleep. I am sure it would be an excellent place for spring break college kids so please start advertising as such. Another bad advertising is the “free parking”. Sure, it’s free but it’s valet only. You cannot self park. Which means if you want to get out three times a day and not feel horrible for not tipping the poor valet guys, it actually will be more like $10.00 a day parking. Lastly, early risers beware. There is no breakfast here and the first, paid option for coffee downstairs opens at 7:30am. We ended up driving to Starbucks every morning for a decedent cup of hot coffee and a warm bite to eat before 7. Their breakfast at the Ocean Flame is $30 per person and is absolutely disgusting.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Entertainment_Resort, Manager at Shephard's Beach Resort
Responded 4 Feb 2020
We are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy the entertainment- we market ourselves as an entertainment resort so that is why most people come here. Rooms that face the island side are always quiet though for those who want to get away. Complimentary valet is a great service that we offer as the valet company controls and insures the garage- this is for convenience and safety as our parking structure is very tight. There is also a service called Free rides USA here on the beach so if you do not feel like walking that is available to go anywhere on the island.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Travelmama926 wrote a review Jul 2022
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania2 contributions1 helpful vote
2.0 of 5 bubbles
So let me start with there were roaches in my room . We checked in pretty early the front desk worker Toni was awesome she got us a room available way before check in time which we appreciated we got to the room everything the was ok the “partial ocean view is really just an alleyway with jestskis parked underneath and if you look all the way at the end you can see about 7 feet of ocean. Anyways around 8 pm me and my family took a nap and security comes banging on the door claiming someone called 911 which was impossible because not only do I unplug hotel phones soon as I arrive because I have a 1 yr old we were all sleep for over 2 hrs. Later on that night my mom sees a roach in the bathroom and then we immediately see another one in the hallway by the door we asked to be moved Toni was very understanding and moved us , although they only moved us down the hall but whatever it was all they had this room was fine until I couldn’t sit on the balcony at night because giant cockroaches decided they owned it. There is a nightclub on the weekends that was underneath us so don’t plan on sleeping. The restaurant staff takes about 15 minutes to even ask if you want anything to drink then another 10 to bring it . The food was delicious by the way and the portion sizes are humongous. Drinks watered down and just alcoholic even the apple and orange juice taste like it already had ice in it and it melted. The pool area was ok and most bar staff was friendly. Housekeeping is only available upon request but if you see them in the hall they don’t speak English so be sure to call down. The water at the beach isn’t clear at all and the sand is nothing but crunched up seashells so wear water shoes. Also the chairs and umbrellas at the beach aren’t free which I didn’t know but no one said anything when we used them so you can try your luck with that. All in all it wasn’t the absolute worst place in the world but I most definitely won’t be back
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
2.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: Pick another hotel
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Paul Andrews, General Manager at Shephard's Beach Resort
Responded 14 Jul 2022
It looks like nothing went right for you. We apologize for any inconvenience that you encountered. There is a lot to unravel, and I think it would be more appropriate to discuss these issues with me directly. So, if you would kindly contact me directly so we can resolve some of these issues directly.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
orourke136 wrote a review Aug 2021
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania31 contributions14 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We were first timers to Clearwater and to Shephard's and would definitely return. The location was perfect, we walked everywhere. There was much talk about red tide. We did not experience this when we were there last week (July of 2021) and are grateful. Just a few dead fish. We swam in the water, but rinsed off right away in the outdoor shower. It did not smell. The resort does an amazing job of cleaning up all seaweed and fish, if any, all day long.
We used pretty much every aspect of the resort during our stay, except valet, we went without a car. Every aspect was great.
We ate at the tiki bar for lunch 2x and the food was great and just as good as the food at the Ocean Flame for breakfast, although the server was a little slow.
The only complaint I had was that we wanted to go down to the bar on Friday night and could not find a way in bc things were locked for non-hotel guests. We had to traipse through the pool only to find all gates were zip tied (which I get it is a liability with all the drunks and the pool that late at night) but we had to find someone to let us through to get a few drinks to take back up to the room, which we did accomplish through the exit area. We had a terrace room, so we stayed up there and watched the music from up there and did not come down to the "crowd" per se as there was no need to. The music Friday was loud, it states right on the website if you don't want to hear loud music do not book this room, so we were aware of it. All told, we had an amazing time and would definitely go back! And if you need beach service, find Avery, he was AMAZING!!!!!!!!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: If you want to hear the music but have a party in your own room, pick the terrace room. And...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Paul Andrews, General Manager at Shephard's Beach Resort
Responded 4 Aug 2021
Thanks so much for the detailed review. It looks like you had an excellent time. Just what we like to hear. Clearwater Beach and north to Tarpon Springs have been red-tide-free for the most part, whereas some south county beaches have not faired well. The City of Clearwater and the Beach Property owners are right on top of this situation. Thanks for pointing out that we really try to alert people that we are an Entertainment Resort. That's what we are known for. Even with our large volume of people, we truly have great associates like Avery who keep things moving. He is definitely an asset to our property. We are sorry about the pool exits; there are times that we have to close the pool due to the size of the crowd. We look forward to having you again!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jessica D wrote a review Nov 2021
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Our family loves staying at Shephards every time we visit Clearwater Beach! You can’t beat the great value of service you get for the reasonable price you pay. This last visit was just as amazing as always. Toni was able to get us into both of our rooms early which let me tell you saves the hassle of dealing with 2 kids and allowed us to hit the beach and pool right away in order for us to get the most out of our vacation. Rooms were well cleaned and sanitized and had everything a family of 4 could possibly need for a weeks stay. A great family atmosphere with outstanding service from the front desk to the guys working valet to the cleaning service and bartender at the pool. We love it here and can’t wait to come back! Shout out to Toni and Cindee for setting my up on the Shephard’s app for our continuous stays. We can’t wait to come back ❤️
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Paul Andrews, General Manager at Shephard's Beach Resort
Responded 29 Nov 2021
Jessica, thanks so much for spending your Thanksgiving with us! It was our honor having you and your family as our guests for the Holiday. The staff, including Toni and Cindee truly loved having you all here! We hope we can have you all again for another terrific vacation. We can't wait to have you all again!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
HotelUserDM wrote a review Mar 2022
6 contributions2 helpful votes
+1
1.0 of 5 bubbles
To start off, we walked into our room with multiple things wrong. My girlfriend and I were extremely disappointed. Our room had stains on both bedsheets, a light fixture hanging from the ceiling, hair in the drain and hair in the shower. After we went to our room and put our stuff down, we came down to go to the beach. Little did we know you have to pay $30 a day minimum to rent chairs and sit on the beach that we believed came with this $350 room. After finding out we had to pay for beach access, we were discriminated against for being younger and we were not being given the same treatment by staff at the “resort”. This same day, it was around 9:30 and we wanted to relax by the pool area after getting denied access to the night event for being 21 and 20 years old. We were getting shined by flashlights by staff in our face telling us to leave. The hospitality is non existent at their “resort”. This was all day 1. The next day we looked outside our room and there was towels on every chair already reserved when I asked the front desk why there were towels they said they would be moving them and you can not reserve chairs. No one came and moved them and we were not able to sit by the pool even though you can not reserve chairs. Total bull. My girlfriend and I got caught in the rain one night and snarky remarks were made by the valet staff out front scolding us saying things like “little wet out there huh?” We decided we are not going to stay here anymore and go to the public beach where there were not all old people and where we would be treated better. We had a better time there. I would recommend not staying here and staying at either the Hyatt or the Opal Sands. This place is a glorified Holiday Inn and is nothing special. All you pay for is a pool and the “fitness room is a collection of 4 cardio machines so don’t even think about lifting a weight here. Stay away from this place.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Go to Hyatt or Opal Sands better bang for your buck.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Gerri Shephard, Other at Shephard's Beach Resort
Responded 28 Mar 2022
Our resort has strict rules about the ages of guests in the rooms and obviously at the bars and clubs. You must be over 21 to stay here unless you are accompanied by a parent or guardian. The law does not consider a 21 year old the guardian of a 20 year old because they are not in charge of make responsible decisions for the younger party. Case in point; the 21 year old attempted to bring someone under 21 into a 21 and up establishment. An exception should have never been made for you to get around the rules- they are in place for a reason. It very clearly states in several places on our website and in your email confirmation that there is a vendor on the beach that provides fun water sports and beach chair rentals for guests. Our tropical pool area is reserved for hotel guests only and is operated by the resort. The confirmation even provides you with a special discount code to use with this vendor as a courtesy that they extended to our guests. We agree that the public beach is a much better fit you for you though. Our security department had multiple issues with you during your stay in attempting to access places that were 21 and up only. In addition our housekeeping department after inspection on your complaints matched the hair in your bathroom to the hair on the brush sitting there on the counter, but even after this- you extended your stay to spend more nights with us. We apologize that this was not a good fit for either party involved.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Story B asked a question Jan 2024
is the pool warm in Feb?
Answer from Shane m
12 contributions
Honestly not sure but it might be a heated pool! We were there at the end of summer and it was perfect! Now that jacuzzi option is year round so I’d say go for it!
Terry A asked a question Dec 2023
Orlando, Florida
Is it warm enough to swim in the pool in early January?
Answer from Louise W
United Kingdom1 contribution
We swam in december and it was 22 degrees. In the pool but the beach was ice cold.
Answer from Ronnie L
3 contributions
This is our favorite resort to stay in the area. It’s a full-service resort family owned, and is very family oriented.
Scott asked a question Aug 2023
22 contributions10 helpful votes
Do they have White Claws, Seltzers, Truly's, etc. at the pool bar?
Answer from Paul A
Clearwater Beach. Florida11 contributions1 helpful vote
Yes, only White Claw, black cherry, and mango.
Answer from Paul A
Clearwater Beach. Florida11 contributions1 helpful vote
Our website has the most updated pricing. We also have happy hour M-F.
Roving46692428063 wrote a tip 17 May
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"We knew in advance that they had bands playing into the night so we booked our room on the front side of the hotel. Our room was quiet. 👍🎶"
Read full review
PiDa wrote a tip 14 May
New York City, New York8 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Everytime is a good time"
Read full review
Joanne V wrote a tip 11 May
4 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"I liked renting lounge chairs in the morning so I can get the ones I liked at the water's edge. Beach is beautiful! "
Read full review
Richard S wrote a tip 9 May
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"The pool chairs get snaped up early so find a spot and enjoy."
Read full review
Greg and Heathe... J wrote a tip 8 May
Rexburg, Idaho11 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"We were there the first part of May. They said that this was perfect timing so that we missed the busy spring break and summer travelers. "
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Clearwater area.
PRICE RANGE
$352 - $576 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
shephard`s beach hotel clearwater, shephards beach clearwater, shephards beach hotel
LOCATION
United StatesFloridaClearwaterClearwater Beach
NUMBER OF ROOMS
140
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

SHEPHARD'S BEACH RESORT - Reviews & Price Comparison (Clearwater, FL) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Shephard's Beach Resort
Which popular attractions are close to Shephard's Beach Resort?
Nearby attractions include Captain Bligh's Landing (0.1 km), Cle' (0.3 km), and The Wave Night Club (0.03 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Shephard's Beach Resort?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Shephard's Beach Resort?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Shephard's Beach Resort?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and a poolside bar during their stay.
Is parking available at Shephard's Beach Resort?
Yes, free parking, a parking garage, and paid private parking nearby are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Shephard's Beach Resort?
Conveniently located restaurants include Salty's Island Bar & Grille, Cabanas Coastal Grill, and SeaGuini.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Shephard's Beach Resort?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and a fitness centre during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Shephard's Beach Resort?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Shephard's Beach Resort offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Shephard's Beach Resort?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Spanish.
Are there any historical sites close to Shephard's Beach Resort?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Church of Scientology Information Center (2.7 km).
All Clearwater HotelsClearwater Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in ClearwaterHotels near Shephard's Beach Resort
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday HomesTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire