Gateway Canyons Resort & Spa
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Gateway Canyons Resort & Spa

Traveller (540)
Room & Suite (141)
Dining (50)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Did you already book this hotel?

About

4.5
#1 of 1 resort in Gateway
4.8 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Service
3.9 of 5 bubbles
Value
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
There are many reasons to visit Colorado's Gateway Canyons Resort, an award-winning destination located in the secluded Unaweep Canyon of Western Colorado. Surrounded by the vast lands of the Uncompahgre Plateau, Piñon Mesa and La Sal Mountains, our full-service resort features exceptional lodging, dining and adventures.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Pool
Bar / lounge
Archery
Bicycle rental
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Electric vehicle charging station
Parking
Wifi
Yoga classes
Yoga room
Fitness / spa changing rooms
Fitness classes
Sauna
Hot bath
Pool with view
Outdoor pool
Heated pool
Private pool
Coffee shop
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Outdoor dining area
Wine / champagne
Poolside bar
Bicycles available
Game room
Hiking
Horseback riding
Archery offsite
Bicycle tours
Billiards
Fishing
Walking tours
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Full body massage
Head massage
Massage
Neck massage
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Concierge
Convenience store
Newspaper
Outdoor fireplace
Outdoor furniture
Picnic area
Sun deck
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun terrace
Sun umbrellas
Doorperson
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Laundry service
Room features
Bathrobes
Fireplace
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Room service
Flatscreen TV
Walk-in shower
Bath / shower
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
Mountain view
Landmark view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Luxury
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish

Location

43200 Highway 141, Gateway, CO 81522
Getting there
Somewhat walkable
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 63 out of 100
63
Walker Field
63.6 km
See all flights
Canyonlands Field
66.9 km
See all flights
1 Attraction
within 10 kilometers
4.5
4.5 of 5 bubbles958 reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.
Reviews summary
This summary was created by AI, based on recent reviews.
Powered by AI

Gateway Canyons Resort & Spa is celebrated for its serene and artistic atmosphere, offering guests a tranquil retreat with scenic views and unique decor. While some travelers question the value due to high costs, the spacious rooms with stunning vistas and impeccable cleanliness receive high marks. The hotel's amenities, including hot tubs and outdoor adventures, add to the experience, although their availability may vary seasonally. Service quality reports are inconsistent, with both commendations for attentiveness and criticisms regarding responsiveness. Nestled in a remote, picturesque location, the resort provides an idyllic escape.
Location
Picturesque
Atmosphere
Artistic
Rooms
Spacious
Value
Expensive
Cleanliness
Immaculate
Service
Inconsistent
Amenities
Underwhelming

Was this helpful?
Tripadvisor is not responsible for this summary or the opinions in it. For more information, please read the traveller reviews and learn more about how the site works.
958Reviews27Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 665
  • 130
  • 74
  • 52
  • 37
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
GirlMarley wrote a review Oct 2020
Colorado Springs, Colorado
4.0 of 5 bubbles
I just finished reading the recent reviews from other customers and did not experience most of the same things they did apparently. Arriving late afternoon, we were informed our room was not yet ready so we meandered around the property admiring the spectacular views and checked out the location of the two restaurants, both of which we ate at and enjoyed while staying there.

When we returned to the desk, we were again informed the room was still not ready but having waited for quite a while, they accommodated us with a different room (room 136) which we thoroughly enjoyed especially since it had a patio and decent views. The room was large and comfortable and if additional towels, etc were needed all you had to do was call and ask for them. We discovered during our driving 3 week vacation that no hotel, motel or resort is cleaning rooms at this point until you leave due to Covid and this resort was no different.

While we were there we took a trip with "Matt Montana" on the Dinosaur adventure. Beside being entertaining, he clearly takes responsibility for trying to maintain dinosaur tracks for perpetuity. We also discovered by ourselves some hiking trails that lead from the resort through the adjoining valleys and hills.

The employees we encountered were helpful and talkative and come from various US areas and other countries and all had good stories on how they ended up in this out of the way resort.

Definitely enjoyed our stay and only have two comments - I would agree the resort fees are too high for the amenities available at this time and it would be helpful to put in the hiking map in the introductory package. We found the trails but they are not obvious and it was only on checkout we found out there was a map. Otherwise, would definitely stay there again.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: Room 136 was very nice and private.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
neworleanstransplant wrote a review Oct 2020
Superior, Colorado
4.0 of 5 bubbles
All hotels following guidelines are limiting daily housekeeping service to towels and toiletries.

It has been hard for properties to keep staff through the shutdown. They are likely short-staffed and the terminal cleaning required to keep us all safe must be very difficult.

We ate at the Parodox Grill twice during our one night stay. Staff were challenged during the evening service but persevered and assured us frequently our care was important to them.

Our room was clean, comfortable and had a fantastic view.

Facilities staff cleaning around the pool were respectful of noise levels and politely inquired about our stay.

We will be back. I hope this great property in the midst of a beautiful setting in Western Colorado finds a buyer soon.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
A lot to digest? Read an AI-generated summary of recent traveller reviews.
Alison K wrote a review Nov 2020
Richmond, Virginia
5.0 of 5 bubbles
What a wonderful place. Even w county restricting services and only in-room dining available, the resort staff, food, and amenities were excellent.
If you know a travel agent, book through their Virtuoso privileges. We got discounted room rate, 4th night free, free breakfast for 2, and a $100 resort credit.
Enjoyed the shooting range, Steve was a great shooting range safety ranger and host. Also enjoyed horseback riding. Views are spectacular. Weather is iffy, changes on a dime through canyons.
Downfall (?) the remoteness. 1:15 from Grand Junction. Recommend stopping for some snacks or drinks before driving out.
Once there, you’ll enjoy the remoteness, quietness, and wanna come back!
Read more
Date of stay: November 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from , Owner at Gateway Canyons Resort & Spa
Responded 13 Nov 2020
Dear 622 AlisonK - Thank you so much for staying with us and for taking the time to review our property and your experience. We are so happy to see that you enjoyed your experience with us and thank you so much for understanding the restrictions that we had in the county at the time of your stay. We know that these are to keep everybody safe and we do our best to ensure that our guests still have a great experience. I will make sure to share your comments with our shooting instructor Steve. He is great teacher and trainer, with his top priority being your safety. Heather at the horseback riding is also a great instructor and does an amazing job with our horses. We do hope to get the opportunity to welcome you back, specially when the weather is better. Please do not hesitate to contact me directly if you are coming back; mickey.steenberghe@gatewaycanyons.com. Yours in service, Mickey Director of Rooms Gateway Canyons Resort & Spa
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
WilsonsWanderings wrote a review Apr 2021
Baltimore, Maryland
1.0 of 5 bubbles
We just returned from our stay at Gateway Canyons. While the property is beautiful and the hiking trails are nice, the rest of our stay was not worth the price.
We had booked two Casitas with a joining room. We were not told that bicycles came complimentary with our stay, and only learned this information a day later. However at that point they told us that all the bikes were out and the other half were all broken. The staff at the adventure center told us that at 3pm that would be able to bring some bicycles but they never did. We never got to use them for our entire four day visit.
Our casita had a hot tub but it was lukewarm. We asked for maintenance to come have a look at it. When maintenance showed up he told us he had been working on it since the morning and that it only went up to 93 degrees. He couldn’t figure out why it wouldn’t heat up, but he said he could put a cover over it for us. I’m not sure what good that would do when we wanted to use it. Both of our outdoor showers had been winterized and we were not able to use them till halfway through our stay. The pool was not opened till Saturday, and the bar at the pool was never opened.
We were told that all restaurants would be open but come to find out only one was open for dinner. It also appeared to all of us that the staff was not prepared for guests. Every time we showed up for breakfast or brunch, we were treated very cool, almost like we were a bother to the staff. We asked for room service to come and replace our coffee but had to remind them everyday. Our room service order was wrong on multiple occasions. The porches were full of dog hair and we asked for them to clean it up but that was also ignored. The floors in our casitas turned our socks a dark color as if they were not cleaned at all. They left bags of our trash and dirty dishes on our porch all day. And only took it away when they came to deliver us some ice and saw that it was still sitting on our porch.
I work in hospitality and I understand the complications that arose from the pandemic. However I don’t feel like you can charge the same amount that you did pre-covid, and have less than half the amenities. Something has to give. I would not recommend staying here until they have had time to evaluate the services and adjust the prices accordingly.
I will say that the hospitality guru Corey was very friendly and accommodating.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2021Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from , Owner at Gateway Canyons Resort & Spa
Responded 13 Aug 2021
Dear wilsonswanderings - Thank you for staying with us at Gateway Canyons Resort & Spa. We are happy to see that you found the property beautiful however are very sorry for the inconvenience of your hot tub and the other situations that happened. We will be sharing this with the leaders involved to ensure we can make this better. Yours in service, Mickey Director of Rooms Gateway Canyons Resort & Spa
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
c0l0rad076 wrote a review Jun 2021
Las Vegas, Nevada
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Our stay could not have been worse. We came as a party of (10) to celebrate our fathers 80th birthday. Upon arrival, ants were in the room. A used condom was outside the front door of my father's Unaweep Casita. Housing staff never cleaned floors or coffee mugs during our stay. Ripped sheets on our bed were never changed, despite having room service. You cannot eat meals from 1100 - 1200...because the staff that runs Entrada must shift to run Paradox. While this won't kill anyone, for a family with children this matters! Ordered food items were frequently out at the Cafe. Interestingly, you literally cannot get bread at your facility on Mondays and Tuesdays. On the other days, only Entrada offers bread during the evenings. You can't heat muffins or scones at the cafe because you have no microwave (for staff or guests). We all lost weight at your facility, given the lack of food options. Our 2 hour UTV ride was only 45 minutes, with the guide giving a lengthy dissertation of 1hr 10 minutes in 90+ degree temps on various parts of area history (a UTV tour can include stops, but this was so poorly done for $400). You are clearly massively understaffed ... it was apparent in the service, overall cleanliness of the property, poor state of the grounds (and almost more weeds than grass in your green areas). Your available staff did their best and several worked hard to professionally accommodate two dining requests. At a price point of $550 a night for my room - I expect 5 star services and accommodations. You are a 3 Star hotel at best (although Holiday Inns can feed you anytime). I never write reviews on places, because it isn't worth my time. Preventing other families from ever staying at your property is a priority for me - no family should have to dance as we did during what was supposed to be a great experience for week long celebration of my father's 80th Birthday. Disappointed and disgusted. I will push these comments to Noble House.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: June 2021
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
2.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
2.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from , Owner at Gateway Canyons Resort & Spa
Responded 11 Jul 2021
Dear c0l0rad076- Thank you for staying with us and happy birthday to your farther. We are sorry to see that you did not enjoy your stay with us. We pride ourselves in our service and our location, including the rooms. As you can see in many of our reviews, others agree on this so we are very surprised that this experience you had. We would have loved to assist you with anything that popped up while you were here so you could have enjoyed your entire stay with us. We are evaluating your experience with our executive team and making sure the we follow up on every aspect. Yours in service, Mickey Director of Rooms Gateway Canyons Resort & Spa
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
omarvomdakota wrote a review Aug 2021
Golden, Colorado
3.0 of 5 bubbles
We had a great time at Gateway Canyons. We did the Big Lebowski UTV tour, which was so much fun. That tour is all about ripping through the mountains, no real stops except for pictures. Super fun. Had a good horseback riding adventure with the family too. The auto museum was a nice treat. It was very relaxing for our family, which is what we were looking for.

Food: If you stay more than a couple of nights (we stayed 6), the food can become pretty boring. You are restricted to the grill and the fine dining for evening meals. The grill was fine, but the same food choices night after night is not great.

Grounds: The grounds are pretty nice, but they need to do a better job of cleaning up. I know geese are pains, but they should clean the walkways nightly. Lots of overgrown shrubbery, may be a staffing problem?

The biggest rip off is the resort fee, it is not a set fee, it is a percentage of the room rate. They claim lots of great things, but the stuff that you really want to do is extra, which is fine, just don't charge a resort fee. We used the disc golf course which was part of the resort fee. The course was in very rough shape, signs were all knocked off the posts, it really doesn't look like anybody takes care of it in any way. They actually put in writing that parking, internet, fitness center (which is pretty limited), hiking trails (most of which are on government land), access to the pool and hammocks are part of the resort fee.

In the end though, you can't beat the location. If you are self-sufficient, it is pretty enjoyable and relaxing.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: August 2021
2.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from , Owner at Gateway Canyons Resort & Spa
Responded 13 Aug 2021
Dear omarvomdakota - Thank you so much for staying at Gateway Canyons Resort & Spa, we are thankful that you celebrated your vacation with us. Also thank you for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor. We are sorry you felt the resort fee what not all inclusive of what it should be, we do pride ourselves in all the extras of the resort especially our Facilitator of Fun who does complimentary activities with our guests. We are so happy to see that you have enjoyed your experience with us, the UTV and horseback riding are great options. And yes our location is like no other! We hope to welcome you back in the future! Yours in service, Mickey Director of Rooms Gateway Canyons Resort & Spa
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
GCR wrote a review Oct 2020
Denver, Colorado
+1
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Daily cleaning around the resort is needed - Example: Ice machine room was a mess and ice machine door very dirty (at least 2+ days). Also food trash/containers at pool when we arrived at 11 am (from previous night).
Large room with mountain feel, but unusable patio.  Our room (room 131) had a big stain on carpet and a curtain was broken (been that way for a while)
Resort in great location, nice pools and lovely grounds
No pre-stay communication (Example: it would have been nice to know the spa was booked at least 4 days out)...we were there for only 2 days.
Good wine list, but the food (mains) could be better.
Friendly staff - hotel and restaurant
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020
2.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
jimdoug wrote a review Apr 2021
boulder co
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Surprisingly beautiful location, very friendly staff, and great beginner/intermediate mountain bike or hiking trails. The resort is in the middle of nowhere so it is more of a place to relax, read a book, and/or do your own hiking, biking etc. If you are looking for a place where someone is going to tour you around and cater to your every need this is not the place. It has amazing grounds and you can go walking all over and hardly see anyone.
Room was very clean. There is only one of the two pools open but the one that is open is essentially two large pools and a large hot tub. A few hours each day my kids were the only people in it and in the whole pool area there was only 1-2 other families — again a quiet place. The pool area that is open is clearly the better of the two areas so no complaints that the other one was closed.
We did bring our own snacks and made our own lunches, I suggest others do that as well. The snack bar by the pool was not open while we were there. There is also a small general store nearby but we brought our stuff from far away, there is really nothing but great scenery around this place, do not assume you can run out and get anything when you are already there.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: Rooms on ground floor with back patio are great for pets (easy to walk out back onto fields) but...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from , Owner at Gateway Canyons Resort & Spa
Responded 25 Apr 2021
Dear jimdoug1 - Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We appreciate you visiting us at Gateway Canyons Resort & Spa during your recent trip. We agree that this is a beautiful and unique location for guests to came and relax as well as to do a whole bunch of fun activities. Our associates are always here to assist you in anyway we can. We will be opening the second pool shortly here, however like you mentioned we have the best one of the two already fully operational. We currently have the pool bar open 1-2 days a week, however from May 1st it will be open daily so we are there to assist you with any Food or Beverages! We hope that we will get the honor to welcome you back in the future, if you so, feel free to contact me for any assistance I can provide; mickey.steenberghe@gatewaycanyons.com. Yours in service, Mickey Director of Rooms Gateway Canyons Resort & Spa
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
FarAway59750245095 wrote a review Jun 2022
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We wanted somewhere a little out of the way to celebrate our 40th wedding anniversary. We found this resort searching on the internet. What a find! Wish I could give a higher rating! From beginning to end of our six-night stay everyone and everything associated with this beautiful resort far exceeded our expectations. Our Signature Casita with private hot tub, fire pit, outdoor shower and amazing view of the Palisade was over the top luxury. Our room was visited by an attendant twice a day, with nightly turn down service, and no detail was overlooked, including surprise towel statuettes left on our bed every evening in honor of our anniversary. The staff, though young, were all incredibly friendly and professional. Upon my request the concierge, Mikala, ordered 40 spectacular custom color long stem roses to be ready in our room for our arrival. My wife was blown away with her service and quality of the roses. We loved the UTV and horse back rides led by the resorts professional guides. The surrounding country side is magnificent to drive through and we also enjoyed the Colorado National Monument (1 hour away), Arches National Park, (2 hours away), and local hiking. Food and drinks were outstanding as well, including the private dining menu. This is a TOP QUALITY luxury resort with a staff that really knows what true customer service is all about!! Highly recommended!
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: May 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Mickey S, Owner at Gateway Canyons Resort & Spa
Responded 3 Jun 2022
Hi FarAway59750245095 - Thank you so much for staying with us at Gateway Canyons Resort & Spa. We appreciate you sharing your 5 star experience on TripAdvisor with us! We are so happy to see that you enjoyed your 6 night stay with us! It is an honor to be part of your anniversary celebration. Thank you for recognizing the hard work that our team puts in to the operation of this resort, they, next to the unique location, make this place the best! We hope to welcome you back in the future, please feel free to contact me directly if I can be of assistance with booking a future stay; mickey.steenberghe@gatewaycanyons.com. Yours in service, Mickey Director of Rooms Gateway Canyons Resort & Spa
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Richard V wrote a review Apr 2023
Littleton, Colorado
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We only stayed with you one night and overall had a wonderful visit. After arrival we had time to walk the grounds and take in the magnificent views. We also had time to visit the auto museum and very much appreciated the gentleman at the front desk who was very helpful, friendly and informative. Dinner at Entrada was very good, but still felt a little overpriced (with the understanding that employing a quality staff and supplying quality ingredients to a remote location like yours costs money). Unfortunately, our stay ended on a bit of a sour note as we discovered three sizable cockroaches in our room in the morning – one under the pillows we had laid on the floor, one crawling from the front door to the bathroom and another just outside our front door. I mentioned it to the assistant manager who checked us out but she seemed neither surprised nor apologetic, simply asking what room we were in and saying nothing else. Sadly, this left a bit of a tarnish on an otherwise excellent visit.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: April 2023
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Alex Cavazos, Owner at Gateway Canyons Resort & Spa
Responded 2 May 2023
Thank you for staying with us recently. We appreciate your feedback, and your challenges will be addressed. I hope this does not mare your overall experience. We hope to see you back soon at Gateway Canyons Resort.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Answer from Melissa H
2 contributions1 helpful vote
When I stayed in November, it also said they would be closed. I called and they were very helpful in letting me know what would be open during the time we stayed. The hot tubs were open even though the pools were closed.
Answer from Seth B
Denver, Colorado13 contributions3 helpful votes
You could check with the resort directly but my guess is no, as it's about a 4 hour drive from the Denver airport.
Paulalan asked a question Apr 2021
Saratoga Springs, New York5 contributions2 helpful votes
What is the resort fee?
Answer from Destination726936
3 contributions
I would assume that the air is smoky there now. You would need to call the resort. It is smoky in a lot of upper Colorado. It is a lovely resort.
Global716215 wrote a tip May 2024
Seattle, Washington17 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"The town is very small, with one general store. If you need supplies or special foods, bring them with you."
Read full review
Sandra G wrote a tip Apr 2024
2 contributions1 helpful vote
2.0 of 5 bubbles
"Not worth the stop! These rooms are so expensive and you get nothing for it!"
Read full review
Tracy V wrote a tip Sept 2023
Ponte Vedra Beach5 contributions3 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"If you're coming in from Grand Junction you'll be stunned by the canyon that leads to Gateway. But be sure to drive 40 miles south for more"
Read full review
Sandy L wrote a tip Sept 2023
12 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Casitas are worth the extra splurge if you can afford it. "
Read full review
ColoradoSpringermom wrote a tip Jul 2023
Montrose, Colorado223 contributions40 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Lots of shady areas on site if traveling during the heat of summer. Property is closed the month of December."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Gateway area.
PRICE RANGE
$652 - $830 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
gateway canyons hotel gateway
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Gateway Canyons Resort, A Noble House Resort
LOCATION
United StatesColoradoGateway
NUMBER OF ROOMS
72
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

GATEWAY CANYONS RESORT & SPA - Reviews & Price Comparison (CO) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Gateway Canyons Resort & Spa
Which popular attractions are close to Gateway Canyons Resort & Spa?
Nearby attractions include Gateway Colorado Automobile Museum (0.1 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Gateway Canyons Resort & Spa?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Gateway Canyons Resort & Spa?
Top room amenities include a flat screen TV, a fireplace, and a view of a nearby landmark.
What food & drink options are available at Gateway Canyons Resort & Spa?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and a poolside bar during their stay.
Is parking available at Gateway Canyons Resort & Spa?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Gateway Canyons Resort & Spa?
Conveniently located restaurants include Paradox Grille, Entrada Restaurant, and Gateway Canyons.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Gateway Canyons Resort & Spa?
Yes, guests have access to a pool, a fitness centre, and a sauna during their stay.
Is Gateway Canyons Resort & Spa located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 1.0 km away from the centre of Gateway.
Are pets allowed at Gateway Canyons Resort & Spa?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Gateway Canyons Resort & Spa offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers meeting rooms, a banquet room, and conference facilities.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Gateway Canyons Resort & Spa?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Spanish.
All Gateway HotelsGateway Hotel DealsHotels near Gateway Canyons Resort & Spa
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday HomesTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire