The Domain Hotel
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

The Domain Hotel

Traveller (170)
Domain Suite
Room & Suite (285)
Bytes at the The Domain Hotel
Dining (28)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

4.0
#3 of 33 hotels in Sunnyvale
4.2 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.2 of 5 bubbles
Value
Find attentive service, upscale amenities and thoughtful touches in the center of the world's distinguished hub for technology at The Domain Hotel. A top choice among business travelers, The Domain Hotel offers guests a nice escape inspired by the passionate spirit of nearby startups and corporate giants like Google, Netflix, and Apple that are just around the way. Whether you're here for a solitary retreat or for a milestone celebration, team meeting, sporting event, or everything in between, we're your friend in the valley.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Free shuttle or taxi services
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Wifi
Hot bath
Outdoor pool
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Vending machine
Airport transportation
Shuttle bus service
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Baggage storage
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
ATM on site
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Room features
Allergy-free room
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Safe
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Modern
Mid-range
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish

Location

1085 E El Camino Real, Sunnyvale, CA 94087
Getting there
Somewhat walkable
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 57 out of 100
57
San José Mineta International Airport
San Francisco Intl Airport
1,203Review11Q+A100Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 620
  • 371
  • 128
  • 50
  • 34
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Geminican wrote a review Dec 2023
San Jose, California
4.0 of 5 bubbles
This hotel is a 4 out of 5.

This is a newly renovated hotel.
Spacious - though some space felt wasted.
The room can be a bit dark without recessive lights.
Organized and clean lobby.
Some rooms weren't well cleaned.
Quiet.
 They also have unlimited infused water in the lobby.
Unlike most hotels where the "do not disturb" sign is a hanging tag, they are smart to use a refrigerator magnet style tag so you could stick it on the door rim, this prevents the tag falling out, an interesting concept.
There is an auto sensor light in the bathroom, seems like a good idea and you could set duration like 2 minutes, 5 minutes, 10 minutes, or 60 minutes, but I felt it's not as easy to use since it sometimes shut off when I was still in the bathroom and sometimes it stayed on for a long time after leaving. Other hotels auto sensor light works better.
The bed is high/tall bed, a bit harder to climb for shorter people, and the bed was tilted one side in the room I stayed.

They do serve hot breakfast with less selection compared to other hotels. The pancakes did not taste good. Other items were fine.

They charge $12/day for parking.

The entire staff were professional and courteous.
The room they assigned me was not fully cleaned with hairs found on desktop, toilets, and bathtub. The staff on duty did not want to clean be saying it's not his job but offered me another room. After evaluating and I explained to him that it's more economical for them to clean the first room, so they would not need to clean two rooms the next day. He then agreed and cleaned the dirty spots. It was a bit tiring to have to go back and forth on this after a long day. This is the main reason that I couldn't give it a 5 out of 5, room uncleanliness, and how you resolve it as a team.

This is in a good location if you want to be away from highways and train tracks. It's within driving distance to major tech companies with plenty of restaurants nearby.

I am glad I tried even though I may not stay there again. If you don't mind challenges I mentioned above, then this still can be a good option for you.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2023Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Kassandra Martinez wrote a review Jan 2021
San Francisco, California
5.0 of 5 bubbles
This was a great stay for my boyfriend and I. Everything was almost pretty much remodeled upon entering. The woman at the front desk was very friendly and informative. We requested a queen size bed and she offered to upgrade our room to one of the newer remolded rooms, however they do not have refrigerators so we had to decline. At least she told us and she explained that they are still getting customer opinions to continue updating the place in order to accommodate the customers. The area is quiet and there are a lot of shopping centers nearby. Very clean and they have sleep number beds for a good nights rest!
Read more
Date of stay: December 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from blake Chastain, Guest Services / Front Office at The Domain Hotel
Responded 29 Jun 2021
Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your time at The Domain. We now have refrigerators in our premier rooms, so be sure to ask about an upgrade on your next visit! We would love to get your feedback on them. Thank you again for taking time to share your feedback!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Bill G wrote a review Nov 2023
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I stay at this hotel twice a year and I always see improvements. This time the menu was expanded. There was a lot of 'sprucing up' with fresh paint in the public bathrooms and hallways. I host an event in the hotel's first floor meeting room. The staff always ensures that things go smoothly with lots of attention to detail. Always a pleasure to stay at the Domain.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2023
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled on business
Room Tip: The chicken quesadilla is a standout at the lobby restaurant. I prefer a guest room on the back...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
SwathiL wrote a review Oct 2021
West Sacramento, California
1.0 of 5 bubbles
We were visiting on a short family trip and chose this hotel based on the glorious reviews on Trip Advisor. The room had no natural lighting. The only window was facing a hallway so the blinds had to be kept shut.
As for the room itself, it was poorly maintained. Can’t tell the last time that the carpet was cleaned. The bathroom walls has mildew and water damage. The water pressure was low and it took forever to get any hot water. The bathtub took forever to drain.
Since we had put crawling infant we couldn’t set her down on the floor due to the unclean carpets and dangling cords everywhere.
Early morning we were woken awake by noises from adjacent rooms. This was not a great stay for us and we would t be coming back to this hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Mark S wrote a review Nov 2021
1.0 of 5 bubbles
the bathroom sink was majorly cracked and literally falling apart. The faucet was also damaged. This leads me to believe that no one inspected or cleaned the bathroom after the previous guest prior to my arrival. Gross. Also, the toilet ran all night long which only added to my discomfort and my sense of being in a dirty, broken room. I left anxious and unrested.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: November 2021
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
1.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
1.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from erin beadle, General Manager at The Domain Hotel
Responded 22 Feb 2022
Thank you for your input Mark and I am sorry to see your room was not up to our standards. We never want any of our guests to leave anxious and unrested. I will be following up with maintenance and housekeeping on the last deep clean and preventative maintenance inspection your room had. All of our rooms should be in prefect condition when a guest checks in. I apologize that this was not the case for your stay. Hopefully we can welcome you back in the future to try and leave a better impression.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Bill G wrote a review Jun 2021
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I just stayed at the Domain Hotel while hosting a coin show in their 4000 square foot meeting room. It was as close to perfection as you could hope for. The guest room was modern, comfortable and filled with nice amenities. The meeting space was clean and well lit with air conditioning that kept the room temperature just right.
The management and staff of the Domain Hotel are top flight. They pay close attention to detail, constantly check to see that all is well and even offer suggestions to try to improve your event / experience.
The Domain Hotel is the place to stay as well as host a meeting.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled on business
Room Tip: Rooms in the back are quieter. However, the well maintained pool, spa and gym are at the front of...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from blake Chastain, Accounting / Finance at The Domain Hotel
Responded 29 Jun 2021
Thank you for taking time to share your experience with us L4526KXbillg! We are ecstatic to hear you enjoyed your time at The Domain. Your comments will be shared with our entire staff as I am sure they will be delighted to hear they had such a positive impact on your stay. We can't wait to have you back!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Brian wrote a review Jan 2020
5.0 of 5 bubbles
The hotel was quite nice, the front desk staff was always helpful and attentive.

The hotel provides a shuttle service for people working in the surrounding area. The driver Alex was an absolute joy to ride with. He was very accommodating and kind, went out of his way to make sure everyone was taken care of. He was a wealth of knowledge and full of interesting stories.

Great place to stay.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
christina wrote a review Dec 2022
San Rafael, California
4.0 of 5 bubbles
A 3 star hotel, with membership, is cheaper than a motel six. The service was great. The first room we got did not smell very good and they graciously gave us another room. That was perfect. Had a nice bathtub in the bathroom. Had a nice bed with clean sheets. The bed was adjustable so you could adjust the firmness on each side. The pool was heated with a hot tub in the ground outside. It was all in immaculate condition, clean and just really great to relax in. Very slow this time of year so maybe that’s why we got a good price. The only downside was that there was a sign that said there was a breakfast buffet that I was looking forward to, but it was only available on weekdays. They didn’t specify that. Still, it’s a great place at a great price-I will definitely be going back there again.

We stayed on our trip to Great America. It’s 15 minute drive away. Some restaurants nearby-a Vietnamese restaurant across the street and Denny’s a block away.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Great America is a 15 minute drive away. Parking is under hotel, which has extra layer of security.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
CHRISTINE HK wrote a review Jan 2023
San Jose, California
2.0 of 5 bubbles
I booked the same morning of my stay on their website. Staff could not find my reservation as it didn't transfer over from another system. I showed my confirmation email, and she said that weren't busy so tooms are available, but then she also said they're overbooked on Expedia? I reserved a balcony King room- I don't need a balcony, but those are the renovated rooms. I didn't get that- I got a mildew smelling old room. I went down to the desk to say that's not what I reserved, and a staff person said Id have to pay an upgrade fee, which I DO NOT because my reservation stated a balcony king room. I eventually got that overlooking the mobile home park, but after over 30 minutes of finding my reservation and then having to haul my stuff back to the desk to get the room I reserved! There were so few people staying there, so why all this trouble?! And, I wanted to use the hot tub, but it was not maintained and dirty.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Kyle F wrote a review Oct 2021
West Sacramento, California
2.0 of 5 bubbles
I’m calling this the ten foot hotel because from ten feet away, everything looks fine. Take a closer look and suddenly all sorts of issues start popping up. The staff and service are prompt and polite, but for the hotel itself? there are just too many issues to paint a complete picture. This hotel is run down to the point where everything needs to be stripped away and redone. They need to increase their maintenance budget as well. They need to get their basics in order first, like hot water and water pressure? Seriously, the water pressure is so low it takes a good two minutes to wash your hands, and it takes at least 5 minutes of letting the tap run before hot water starts coming. And I can tell that the pipes aren’t insulated because the water becomes cold again not even 30 seconds after turning off the water. This place is not safe to bring your children either. There are way too many cords dangling for everything and the floor is so dirty you can see black on your socks from just a few minutes of walking around the room without shoes on. There is mold in the tile grout in the bathroom, water damage causing the wall paper to peel, the cabinets have water damage from the refrigerator defrosting and leaking water, and the elevator is so janky I thought it would break at any minute. All the gimmicks need to go, like horrible sleep number bed and iPod player that still uses the 30 pin connector.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Parking is free and some of the spaces are underground. There are two Starbucks within walking...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from erin beadle, General Manager at The Domain Hotel
Responded 22 Feb 2022
Dear Kylefalconer, I am sorry to see you were disappointed. We are in the process of renovating and have completed the third floor premier rooms. Hopefully our prompt and polite staff will give you a reason to return and check out the Premier Rooms. They turned out amazing and are totally worth the $15-25 more a night! Thank you for staying with us and sharing your feedback, we really do appreciate it.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
jenner22_jm asked a question Mar 2017
Calgary, Canada1 contribution
Do you have a hot tub ?
Answer from HotelMgrFL
Florida6 contributions3 helpful votes
Hi, there is a heated pool, hot tub and fitness stuido. Thanks
Answer from Nicole C
Sunnyvale, California3 contributions
HI, Unfortunately we don't allow candles to be lit in the hotel rooms due to safety. Thanks!
Olga K asked a question Aug 2016
San Francisco, California182 contributions31 helpful votes
Please tell me if water in the pool warm or not? Thanks
Answer from Nicole C
Sunnyvale, California3 contributions
We heat our pool year round for the enjoyment of our guests. Thank you for the question
shlomo l asked a question Jul 2016
Tel Aviv, Israel11 contributions4 helpful votes
Is there refrigerator in the room?
Answer from Nicole C
Sunnyvale, California3 contributions
Refrigerators are included in all guestrooms. Thank you for the question
Cherilyn W asked a question Jul 2016
Antelope, California
Is breakfast included?
Answer from nolbertob
Wharton, New Jersey107 contributions8 helpful votes
some rooms have the breakfast included but you need to check with them
Bill G wrote a tip Mar 2024
11 contributions3 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"First floor rooms are convenient to the bar and restaurant. "
Read full review
Bill G wrote a tip Nov 2023
11 contributions3 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"The chicken quesadilla is a standout at the lobby restaurant. I prefer a guest room on the back side."
Read full review
christina wrote a tip Dec 2022
San Rafael, California3 contributions
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Great America is a 15 minute drive away. Parking is under hotel, which has extra layer of security."
Read full review
Monica R wrote a tip Aug 2022
18 contributions1 helpful vote
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"Parking is free and few shops nearby"
Read full review
Bill G wrote a tip Mar 2022
11 contributions3 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Guest rooms on the first floor are close to the main meeting space. There's also a smaller meeting space on the second floor."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Sunnyvale area.
PRICE RANGE
$185 - $320 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
the domain hotel
LOCATION
United StatesCaliforniaSunnyvale
NUMBER OF ROOMS
136
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

THE DOMAIN HOTEL - Now $194 (Was $̶2̶2̶7̶) - UPDATED 2024 Reviews & Price Comparison (Sunnyvale, CA) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about The Domain Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to The Domain Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Golfland USA (1.2 km), The Patio (0.9 km), and Sporty's Bikini Bar (0.2 km).
What are some of the property amenities at The Domain Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
What food & drink options are available at The Domain Hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at The Domain Hotel?
Yes, parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Domain Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Chelokababi, Jang Su Jang, and Tanto Japanese Restaurant.
Are there opportunities to exercise at The Domain Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and a fitness centre during their stay.
Does The Domain Hotel have airport transportation?
Yes, The Domain Hotel offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at The Domain Hotel?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does The Domain Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at The Domain Hotel?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Spanish.
Are there any historical sites close to The Domain Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Winchester Mystery House (5.9 km).
All Sunnyvale HotelsSunnyvale Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in SunnyvaleHotels near The Domain Hotel
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday HomesTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire