Santa Monica Proper Hotel
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Santa Monica Proper Hotel

Traveller (394)
Landmark Junior Suite
Room & Suite (140)
Their dip sampler - super delicious
Dining (59)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

Fully refundable before Fri, 7 Jun
$1,080
Fully refundable before Tue, 4 Jun
No fees just great deals
$895
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

4.5
#13 of 37 hotels in Santa Monica
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.8 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.2 of 5 bubbles
Value
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Santa Monica Proper introduces a looser kind of luxury to Santa Monica. Here, within walking distance to the beach, each of the 271 rooms, suites and spaces successfully optimize the city's abundant ocean breezes and natural light, while the interior design finds inspiration in the organic tones and textures of the local coastline. Santa Monica Proper beckons guests with the only rooftop pool deck on the Westside, complete with Balearic restaurant, bar, and cabanas, where guests are front-row for sunsets over the Pacific. With an emphasis on Eastern inspired wellness, the hotel's Surya Spa, offers custom-designed Ayurvedic programs supporting physical, mental and spiritual health. Anything less just wouldn't be Proper.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Electric vehicle charging station
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Bicycle rental
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Airport transportation
Valet parking
Paid private parking on-site
Wifi
Pool / beach towels
Rooftop pool
Pool with view
Outdoor pool
Heated pool
Saltwater pool
Yoga classes
Fitness classes
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Rooftop bar
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Massage
Rooftop terrace
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Concierge
Non-smoking hotel
Sun terrace
Doorperson
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Room features
Allergy-free room
Blackout curtains
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Room service
Minibar
Cable / satellite TV
Bath / shower
Bathrobes
Safe
Sofa
Telephone
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Bottled water
Laptop safe
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Flatscreen TV
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
4.5 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Modern
Boutique
Languages Spoken
Spanish
Hotel links
Special Offer:Earn points toward free nights.

Location

700 Wilshire Blvd Entrance On 7th Street, Santa Monica, CA 90401
Getting there
Good for walkers
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 86 out of 100
86
Los Angeles Intl Airport
Hollywood Burbank Airport
23.6 km
See all flights
850Reviews5Q+A100Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 674
  • 56
  • 50
  • 27
  • 43
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
S S wrote a review Aug 2020
San Francisco, California6 contributions3 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We had no expectations except that we were told the hotel had a unique charm.

The space was inspiring, uplifting and fun. It was very clean/sanitary. The staff was outstanding and the General Manager Cara and Managing Director Julien LaRacine take a sincere interest in their guests.

The rooms are clean, very well-lit with spacious bathrooms.

The biggest surprise was how outstanding the food was- for every meal (do not miss the pancakes!!)

This is an easy choice if staying in the Santa Monica Area- easy access, short walk to the beach, easy parking (there is a fee), clean spaces with distinctive touches, comfortable, well lit rooms and great food/drinks. And a wonderful, helpful, friendly staff.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: August 2020
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Jessica Cabanilla, Other at Santa Monica Proper Hotel
Responded 16 Aug 2020
Dear Proper Guest, Thank you for your amazing review of the Santa Monica Proper Hotel. We are so pleased to know how much you loved your stay with us. It is wonderful to know that Cara and Julien made your stay exceptional as well as our new protocols, design, and atmosphere. Our goal is to create and operate one of a kind stays and experiences that we can truly enjoy with our friends and family. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Warmest Regards, Jessica Cabanilla Director of Rooms - Santa Monica Proper
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
eric wrote a review Jan 2021
Palisades, Washington4 contributions2 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Its my third visit to the Santa Monica Proper during Coronavirus, and I've seen significant improvements each time. The management (I interacted with Julien the most) clearly cares very much about the hotel and the guest experience, and went above and beyond to make sure we were comfortable.

Cleanliness was impressive: I made reservations to use the gym privately (fully stocked with trendy and accessible resources like: tonal machine, peloton, water rower, theraguns, etc...) and when I showed up 10 min "early" there was someone sterilizing and cleaning the room (which provided me extra sense of safety during theses times). The bedrooms and and other amenities were also very clean.

Food and drinks: honestly mouthwatering. Taco Tuesday night was filling, tasty (the fish was perfectly crispy, the condiments very flavorful) to the point where I also plan to order these meals for pickup at home (I live in the area). Drinks were perfectly balanced and also creative. For breakfast I ordered the avocado toast with egg: it was filling (i could only eat half!) and also felt "special" with healthy and fresh ingredients.

I must say I really like the new way of interacting with guests, and hope that it continues after the virus ends. You were allowed/encouraged to TEXT requests or questions to the hotel directly. Responses were prompt. What I especially appreciated was not having to wait to get a servers attention, nor feel pressured...when I wanted food or a drink, i simply sent a text with my order and my location (the gym, my room, or the rooftop). Same regarding questions about recommendations, needs, etc (someone was always cheerfuly available to help).

I absolutely can't wait to return to this gem so close to home- it was a definite and much needed reset.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: Request a room not in facing the alley- so view is not obstructed.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Jessica Cabanilla, Other at Santa Monica Proper Hotel
Responded 24 Jan 2021
Dear Guest, Thank you for your amazing review of the Santa Monica Proper Hotel. We are so pleased to know how much you loved your stay with us. It is wonderful to know that from Julien, to the food, to the technology - your stay was amazingly exceptional! Our goal is to create and operate one of a kind stays and experiences that we can truly enjoy with our friends and family. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Properly Yours, Jessica Cabanilla Director of Rooms - Santa Monica Proper
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
FloatingInTheClouds wrote a review Jul 2020
Chicago, Illinois86 contributions52 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
The first thing you'll notice is the design here is exquisite. No expense was spared to source the most beautiful furniture and textiles both in the public areas and each guest room. The Palma Lounge is so beautiful and the furniture so comfortable you'll never want to get up. I'm a huge fan of the Aesop bath amenities and appreciate that they are using larger pump containers in the shower to reduce plastic waste from travel size toiletries.

All of the staff are so friendly and helpful – they text you a welcome message upon arrival and if you need anything or have any questions, you can just respond to the text and they will promptly be at your service.

The fitness center is better than most – a nice selection of weights and cardio equipment and a heated gym section which was new to me and very cool.

Then there's the rooftop – with Calabra restaurant and bar adjacent to the pool area. We had such a lovely time up here that you could almost forget all the world's problems when sipping a cocktail and enjoying a mezze platter and whole roasted branzino. The Mediterranean/California – inspired menu is bright and flavorful with great healthy options.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Jessica Cabanilla, Other at Santa Monica Proper Hotel
Responded 18 Jul 2020
Dear Proper Guest, Thank you for your amazing review of the Santa Monica Proper Hotel. We are so pleased to know how much you loved your stay with us. Our goal is to create and operate one of a kind stays and experiences that we can truly enjoy with our friends and family. It is wonderful to know that every detail - from our atmosphere and ambiance to our personalized service and amenity offerings, you had an amazing stay. We take pride in making your stay exceptional. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Warmest Regards, Jessica Cabanilla Santa Monica Proper - Director of Rooms
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Gregory Dava wrote a review Jul 2020
West Hollywood, California16 contributions2 helpful votes
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I recently booked a staycation at the Proper for my roommates birthday so we could get out of the house for a couple of days.

It goes without saying that the property is immaculately designed. Every square inch is thoughtfully curated and functional.

What really impressed me however, was their commitment to creating a safe and hygienic space. Upon entry, your temperature is checked, the rooms now include fresh remotes and sanitized wipes, chic amber bottles are dispersed all over the property containing hand sanitizer. The gym now also requires a reservation, which I found to be really glorious because you get to have the gym all to yourself!

The rooftop is a paradise and the food and drinks are divine. I truly felt safer at the property than the outside world. I HIGHLY recommend staying here if you’re visiting LA or just looking for a safe escape
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from SantaMonicaBT, Director of Rooms at Santa Monica Proper Hotel
Responded 5 Jul 2020
Dear Proper Guest, Thank you for your amazing review of the Santa Monica Proper Hotel. We are so pleased to know how much you loved your stay with us! The health and safety of our guests and colleagues are our top priority. It is wonderful to know that the special measures we are taking during this uncertain time has made such a positive impact on your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Warmest Regards, Jessica Cabanilla
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
karnevore wrote a review Mar 2020
Manila6 contributions6 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
This hotel was honestly amazing until I realized during a recent rebooking that they don't really value return guests at all. The overall design of the place is impeccable, the room we stayed in felt cozy and refreshingly refined at the same time, the staff were all super helpful and genuinely nice, and on top of all that, they're also very pet friendly. So naturally, when I was looking to book a hotel in Santa Monica this April, I thought of them immediately and booked in advance. Then the hotel stopped being quite so amazing.

First of all, the Premier Suite I stayed in bizarrely did not have a single drawer in it. No big drawers for your clothes and not even tiny drawers by the bed or in the bathroom. 720 square feet and not a single drawer. It was just weird and inconvenient. The front desk reassured me that this was not true for all rooms and to just make a note of it for next time. So I emailed the hotel about this before booking for my stay in April. No response whatsoever. I trusted them and booked the room anyway and made another note in the booking, which I hope someone will eventually read.

Cut to present day, the hotel has understandably now lowered their two night rate for the room I had booked by almost $200 per night (ouch) - $628.67 per night (cancellable with late check out to boot) - compared to the advance $815.15 two night rate I had locked in. Obviously seeing that hurt, but I didn't feel too bad because I was actually looking to add a third night, so I figured I would call them and they would be able to just give me that third night at the $628.67 rate, but again, I got the cold shoulder. The woman handling my call said that she definitely couldn't do that because she would have to now treat this third night as a completely new single night booking ($935 per night; $883.15 advance rate) and that the $628.67 rate only applied if I was booking for two nights (as if I wasn't actually asking to stay there for three nights). I would find this totally acceptable if I was just dealing with a robot, but why bother having a living person there if she can only follow what "the system" says she can do?

Now, I understand that those last two paragraphs might just come off as long-winded and petty on my end, but my main gripe is simply the feeling that my previous stay just made absolutely no difference to how they're choosing to treat me now. Every stay is just a separate transaction completely detached from any sense of relationship. Maybe I'm too demanding for expecting more than that. It's just a little unsettling to have a place that's so warm and welcoming when you're there, then be so cold and robotic as you're about to come back.

This is exactly why a lot of travelers now just stay loyal to OTAs.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: I'd say request for a room with drawers but...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from SantaMonicaBT, Guest Relations Manager at Santa Monica Proper Hotel
Responded 21 Mar 2020
Dear Jason T, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback during your recent stay here with us at Santa Monica Proper. While I wish you had a better experience, it is feedback like this that we learn from and use to improve. First and foremost, as a returning guest here with us, we apologize that you did not feel a warm Proper welcome when returning to Santa Monica. This feedback is useful for our team, as all our guests are our upmost priority and should be taken care of. My name is Brittany Thompson, I am the Guest Relations Manager here at the hotel. Please feel free to reach out to me personally, as I would love to over see your next visit. If you give us a chance to earn back your trust, I can assure you that we will do our best to give you the great hotel experience that so many of our guests have grown so fond of. We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future. Warm regards, Brittany Thompson
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
RebeccaFB wrote a review Sept 2020
Alameda, California4 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We needed a place to stay for one night while in LA for an small outdoor wedding. Everyone was extremely helpful and sweet - from the person who answered my phone call to book the room to the staff in the restaurant upstairs to the bellman. The front desk personnel were especially welcoming. And during all our encounters the entire staff wore their masks properly (which were well made and matching their uniforms - classy), helped us maintain social distancing and sanitized constantly. The rooms were serene and lovely and the beds were heavenly. Yasmin at the front desk is a Gem! I look forward to coming back to this hotel after Covid and staying longer next time.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Brittany Thompson, Other at Santa Monica Proper Hotel
Responded 9 Sept 2020
Dear RebeccaFB, Thank you so much for choosing to stay with us here in Santa Monica! I'm delighted to hear you had a wonderful one night stay with us, and Yasmin provided such fantastic service. We hope to have you visit again soon! Please let us know if there is anything we can help do for you prior to your next visit! Warm regards, Brittany Thompson
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Kate W wrote a review Feb 2020
2 contributions3 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Ahhh the Santa Monica Proper, where aesthetics reign supreme! I was so excited when I first discovered this hotel. I followed it on social media and stalked it for months before we arrived. The design lives up to the hype - every corner is artfully decorated with an eclectic collection of furniture, large format editions of Annie Leibovitz portrait books and unusual botanical arrangements. We were upgraded upon arrival to a Landmark Premier King and it was beautiful and comfortable with crisp sheets and plush bathrobes. There was a rooftop yoga class offered to guests and we spent many hours enjoying the beautiful pool area. About a month before we arrived, I emailed the Director of Culture and Programming to ask if it would be ok to bring a friend and take some (non commercial) photos as I’m a photographer and after following up a couple of times I was told no. This wouldn’t really bother me had it not been that the entire purpose of the hotel seems to serve as a backdrop for influencer photo shoots - many of whom did not appear to be guests during the entire duration of my stay. There was even an influencer event that took over the entire pool area for 6 hours one day that we didn’t find out about till the night before. On top of that, with one exception, every time we ordered food, something was missing - my entire meal, a side, milk for my tea etc. Overall, it’s a stunning property and we loved our stay in Santa Monica but I feel that they could do a better job prioritizing guests over influencers.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from SantaMonicaBT, Guest Relations Manager at Santa Monica Proper Hotel
Responded 9 Mar 2020
Dear Kate W, First and foremost, thank you for taking the time to review Santa Monica Proper! We appreciate your honest feedback in regards to your recent stay here with us. We here at Proper are delighted to hear you enjoyed the beautiful room in our famous landmark building! I'm so sorry you experienced a few kinks during your stay with us. I would love to make this up in a future visit! Please reach out to me directly if you would like to discuss! Warm regards, Brittany Thompson
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jenny Tsang wrote a review Jul 2020
Los Angeles, California1 contribution1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Recently had a staycation here with my boyfriend and my small dog (yes pet friendly!). I'll start off by saying this hotel has one of the best interior designs, modern, contemporary and a minimalist dream. During these times, it's very important for hotels to be cautious and hygienic, which no doubt they did an excellent job in maintaining hotel to not be at full capacity, every corner of the room and amenities sanitized and monitoring every entry person's temperature. Can't wait to be back again soon!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2020
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Jessica Cabanilla, Other at Santa Monica Proper Hotel
Responded 18 Jul 2020
Dear Proper Guest, Thank you for your amazing review of the Santa Monica Proper Hotel. We are so pleased to know how much you loved your stay with us. Our goal is to create and operate one of a kind stays and experiences that we can truly enjoy with our friends and family. It is wonderful to know that our elevated level of cleanliness, the atmosphere and ambiance, as well as our pet friendly policies made your stay exceptional. We very much look forward to welcoming you back soon. Warmest Regards, Jessica Cabanilla Santa Monica Proper - Director of Rooms
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Sivan Richards wrote a review Jul 2020
Los Angeles, California2 contributions2 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I would consider myself well traveled (I'm a lifestyle blogger) so I have seen some of the world's most beautiful hotels. The Proper Hotel is by far one of the most beautiful properties I have stayed at - the unique decor is so tastefully selected, the rooms have character but still feel updated, clean and modern, and the amenities were equally impressive.

The food and drinks did not disappoint. We enjoyed a lovely rooftop lunch with a delicious Mediterranean spread and craft cocktails from the bar. I would say the menu was pricey but the quality and portions were up to par.

The location of the hotel itself is convenient, being walking distance from some of Santa Monica's best restaurants and shops.

Lastly, the service. Everyone was incredibly welcoming, friendly, and accommodating. While I would consider this a luxury hotel, the staff was warm and overall the hotel makes you feel very comfortable.

For anyone who appreciates interiors, unique cuisine, and a taste of California beaches, I highly recommend staying at The Proper Hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from SantaMonicaBT, Director of Rooms at Santa Monica Proper Hotel
Responded 5 Jul 2020
Dear Proper Guest, Thank you for your amazing review of the Santa Monica Proper Hotel. We are so pleased to know how much you loved your stay with us! It is wonderful to know that all aspects of our atmosphere, ambiance, decor and service had made your stay with us exceptional. We hope to welcome you back very soon. Warmest Regards, Jessica Cabanilla
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
EWeissler wrote a review Mar 2022
Brooklyn, New York54 contributions55 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed here for 3 nights in March when visiting rom NYC.

The hotel itself is absolutely beautiful from a design perspective—from the lobby to the rooms to the roof, the vibe was welcoming, chic, creative, and playful. We stayed in a room in the newer building and really liked it, the room had a very comfortable bed, walk in shower, clothing shelving and even a mini couch. I loved how open air everything is and sitting by the pool was very pleasant.

We took advantage of both bars and the rooftop restaurant. The view was beautiful and food was good too.

The staff at the hotel was very kind (although sometimes confused about who was a guest and who was just there for drinks).

The location is great—close to the beach and lots of other fun Santa Monica spots.

Valet parking is extremely pricey (not out of the norm for this area) but we actually street parked our car and that worked out totally fine too.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from julien laracine, General Manager at Santa Monica Proper Hotel
Responded 2 Apr 2022
Thank you for your kind review 🙏🏻 we are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and thanks a lot for spending time at our lobby lounge Palma, roof top restaurant Calabra and rooftop swimming pool. Thank you for your kind words about the team as well. we look forward to welcoming you back!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Answer from Duncan W
London, United Kingdom19 contributions5 helpful votes
Our room was quite quiet. You won’t hear any noise from PCH as it’s a few blocks away.
Answer from Julien Laracine
Santa Monica, California
Hi - hotel guests are of course allowed to bring outside guests to our restaurant calabra (our front office or our restaurant team would be more than happy to help you make a reservation). We are asking outside guests to make reservations on open table for dining at calabra and in our lobby lounge Palma. Thank you
tr3veller11 asked a question Feb 2021
Los Angeles, California38 contributions48 helpful votes
Are the restaurants open & what are the current hours? Thank you.
Answer from Julien Laracine
Santa Monica, California
Our rooftop is opened daily from 7.30am to 9.30 on weekdays and 11.30 on weekends
hime asked a question Oct 2019
Tokyo Prefecture, Japan658 contributions105 helpful votes
When did the hotel open?
Answer from ProperManagement
Santa Monica, California4 contributions
Hi Hime521! The hotel opened June 2019. Hope you can visit us soon!
alwaysDavidJ wrote a tip 15 May
Lancaster, Pennsylvania1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Highly recommended. "
Read full review
Phil G wrote a tip 12 May
Port Macquarie, Australia109 contributions72 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Suites are comfortable, ours was on a corner. Fire trucks from the station down the road can sometimes be annoying, but not too bad."
Read full review
Fay T wrote a tip Apr 2024
Arcadia, California1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Its windy cause it's quite close to the beach. "
Read full review
Dario P wrote a tip Apr 2024
Palm Springs, California1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Not on the beach but beautiful views of ocean and mountains from the rooftop. Very LA!"
Read full review
S C wrote a tip Apr 2024
Hong Kong, China92 contributions65 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
"Avoid parking lot views. Prepaid fixed rate to avoid hotel’s surprise rate change and charges."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Santa Monica area.
PRICE RANGE
$836 - $1,157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United StatesCaliforniaSanta MonicaSanta Monica
NUMBER OF ROOMS
271
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

SANTA MONICA PROPER HOTEL - Reviews & Price Comparison (CA) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Santa Monica Proper Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Santa Monica Proper Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Santa Monica History Museum (0.2 km), HypergateVR (0.4 km), and Santa Monica Playhouse (0.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Santa Monica Proper Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a rooftop bar, free wifi, and a pool.
Which room amenities are available at Santa Monica Proper Hotel?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Santa Monica Proper Hotel?
Guests can enjoy a rooftop bar, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Santa Monica Proper Hotel?
Yes, paid private parking on-site and valet parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Santa Monica Proper Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Tar & Roses, Huckleberry Bakery & Cafe, and Santa Monica Seafood.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Santa Monica Proper Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to a pool, a fitness centre, and fitness classes during their stay.
Does Santa Monica Proper Hotel have airport transportation?
Yes, Santa Monica Proper Hotel offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at Santa Monica Proper Hotel?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Santa Monica Proper Hotel?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
All Santa Monica HotelsSanta Monica Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in Santa MonicaHotels near Santa Monica Proper Hotel
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday HomesTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire