Martins Bay Holiday Park
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Martins Bay Holiday Park

287 Martins Bay Road, Mahurangi East, Auckland 0982 New Zealand
Snells Beach - a visit to the Bakery
Traveller (61)
Room & Suite (13)
lovely buttery corn on the cobb
Dining (2)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

4.0
#1 of 1 campsite in Mahurangi East
4.8 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.2 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.3 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.2 of 5 bubbles
Value
Martins Bay Holiday Park offers a welcome escape on the coast less than one hour north of central Auckland. Located on the edge of a long stretch of sandy beach Martins Bay offers safe swimming, beautiful views, and brilliant fishing with Kawau Island and the Hauraki Gulf right at your doorstep. Our closest towns are Warkworth or Snells Beach.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Wifi
Beach
Fishing
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Kids' outdoor play equipment
Meeting rooms
BBQ facilities
Paid wifi
Non-smoking hotel
Picnic area
Shared kitchen
Self-serve laundry
Room features
Kitchenette
Refrigerator
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Qualmark.
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Budget
70Reviews0Q+A16Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 37
  • 23
  • 3
  • 4
  • 3
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Danielle Withers wrote a review Mar 2022
London, United Kingdom2 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
On arrival we found out due to a storm, the power was out in some facilities. The park management was super friendly and helpful and provided us with multiple alternative accommodation options including an upgrade. We choose to stay in the self-contained Beachfront Tourist Flat. This was the perfect size for 3 adults to unwind, the location was the best in the park and the facilities in the cabin meant we did not have to venture out during bouts of bad weather.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: Beachfront Tourist Flat is the best cabin.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Martins Bay Holiday Park, General Manager at Martins Bay Holiday Park
Responded 3 Jun 2022
Thank you for your review Danielle and we are so happy to have been able to make your stay enjoyable despite the weather!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Marty W wrote a review Mar 2020
Auckland Central, New Zealand20 contributions
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We love Martin's Bay and the holiday camp is an amazing spot, run by a really friendly crew. I would give a 5 star rating but the ablution block is looking a bit tired and could do with a bit of an upgrade.....in saying that they are really clean and the team do the best with what they have.

We stayed in the Kereru Caravan right on the beach which is perfect for a small family with a toddler (saves the hassle of pitching a tent) - arrive, unpack and straight into enjoying the great beach and family facilities (playgrounds, TV room etc). We have also stayed in the Dotterel Caravan which was also great (slightly larger deck).

We might try the glamping options next time which look really well set up.

Book early and get your spot on the beach!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from MartinsBayHP, Front Office Manager at Martins Bay Holiday Park
Responded 5 Mar 2020
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us at Martins Bay - we are really lucky to be able to offer accommodation right on the beachfront and as you say the caravans and glamping are great options because you can enjoy 'camping' without having to set it all up yourself!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
kevandtrish2017 wrote a review Oct 2020
Auckland Central, New Zealand2 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We had great ten nights stay with a Beach Front site at Martin's Bay. They even gave us great weather! We watched some amazing sunrises. It was very hard to pack up to go home.
Just one small tip - one microwave in the shared kitchen is not enough.

We will definitely be back.

Trish and Kev R.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Bella wrote a review Jun 2021
Auckland1 contribution
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Stayed in the family caravan in January 2021. Would definitely not recommend staying in the caravan in peak season as the concession holders of the campsite hang out outside this site (and glamp tent #99) like a bad smell. They are there from
sunrise till sundown which makes it awkward for you to enjoy the beachfront location that you’ve paid for. The campsite facilities however are great and clean and the beach is lovely. I would recommend instead hiring a campsite and pitching a tent.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Highrevs wrote a review Jan 2020
1 contribution2 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
I would not recommend this holiday park. Most of the people there were rude and dis respectful. Lots of teenagers running riot, even saw one serve alcohol to a minor in the park/reserve next door. Do not expect to get any sleep here as the rules are a farce and there's noise to well after 11pm, then the tractors wake you up pulling boats out first thing in morning. People walk through your tent site and trip over your stuff fall into your tent and don't care.we went out to Warkworth one day and came back and the new people in site next door washed there fishing kayak in our tent site and sprayed rotten fish over our tent and wrecked it.it was so bad we got no sleep so got up at 5am packed up and left. This was the most expensive camp ground we went to and it was by far the worst we have ever been too. Do not go here if you want a nice relaxing time.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from MartinsBayHP, Manager at Martins Bay Holiday Park
Responded 14 Jan 2020
Thank you for taking the time to write your review - it really helps to highlight to others how much we rely on campers being kind and respectful to one another during their stay. I'm sorry that you had to encounter the opposite. We have someone on duty walking around the whole park from 8pm to 8am to ensure guest comfort during our busy School holiday period so it is surprising to learn that you were kept awake after 11pm - it is certainly good to know so that I can follow that up, if you wish to return our feedback email with the dates of your stay I will have a better understanding of what might have caused the problem. Washing a fishing kayak on your site was not kind and fortunately we rarely get feedback like this - most people who come here camping, especially during the busiest holidays appreciate how important it is to get on with another and to help make each other's experience a good one. Our campsite tariffs are the same as Sandspit, Whangateau and Orewa holiday parks and in this region for a pitch with such a beautiful beach at its edge I think we are very fairly priced. I would recommend returning in our quieter periods when this is really a beautiful and kind spirited place.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
pebblez wrote a review Jan 2020
Manawatu-Wanganui Region, New Zealand5 contributions2 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
We arrived in Martins Bay holiday at the end of a family trip with excitement. This quickly turned to disappointment as other campers were rude by cutting through campsites and climbing over washing lines just to get through to the next block. The campground had a lot of teenagers who were drinking all night long and being noisy. Our children were unable to sleep. They had a gentleman wandering around in the evening to "watch" the campground but done nothing to dampen down the noise. We felt we could only relax by leaving the campground. This campground was the most expensive when in relation to the rest of our holiday and was made worse when they had a rotten fish smell that took over the campground. It permeated everything. The sun dissapers early in the afternoon and gets cold. The only highlight of this campground was the Scandrett regional Park next door. If I had a self contained sticker I would have camped in the regional park over this camp ground.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from MartinsBayHP, Manager at Martins Bay Holiday Park
Responded 15 Jan 2020
It's quite a different atmosphere at Martins Bay HP compared to Scandrett Regional Park where only space for 2 self contained vehicles is permitted - definitely the quieter and more secluded spot at this time if year! We have a dedicated team member on site in the evening to enforce our noise and drinking rules so I am sorry to hear you felt they were not doing their job on this occasion. I wonder if you spoke to the gentleman as you were still awake as it might have helped to understand what the issues were at the time and direct him to resolve them. We're really sorry for the fish compost smell - it is certainly something we are working really hard to contain. Imagine the vast amount of fish waste fishing guests bring in and we are committed to trying to compost the waste to reduce the impact on the rest of the park environment. Occasionally the wind direction is unkind to us but it is much improved on the days when people mixed food waste with landfill. A big challenge here with such a large fishing community. If you were to book again in a quieter period I recommend the sites along the beachfront for afternoon sun as the beach is still soaked with rays until sunset - and as far as we are a very popular, social and therefore busy beachfront holiday park near Auckland we are not best suited to families looking for peace and quiet, just at this time of year. From February through to early December it's idyllic!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
MT1972 wrote a review Jan 2020
2 contributions
2.0 of 5 bubbles
people on top of each other...no view
smelly toilets
beach is busy with vehicles driving ,boats parked all over
nothing relaxing
maybe it was the holiday period but just the whole experience was exhausting.
the staff were real helpful
smell of rotting fish
boats starting and revving early morning
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
2.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from MartinsBayHP, Manager at Martins Bay Holiday Park
Responded 14 Jan 2020
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments. Your stay was no doubt during our busiest week when every site has been occupied. It is a really popular park with families returning here year after year. We do have a large boat storage area so camping anywhere near the entrance can be noisier than the beach-side of the park which I would recommend. Certainly the park is such a different place before Christmas and at the latter end of the school holidays, and while the very social convivial atmosphere of the peak season suits some, I would encourage anyone to seek out the early weeks of December and February onwards when Martins Bay is a place of relaxation and beauty. Hopefully you will seek to stay at a quieter time to see what I mean. This winter our amenities blocks are being renovated so you will also see a big improvement in our facilities as well!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
craig c wrote a review Feb 2020
3 contributions3 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We did a 4 day holiday weekend in this camp ground with friends in a tent. Camp was not over crowded, staff we friendly, facilities great including boat parking, wash down and pretty good beach boat ramp for utes and 4 wheel drive vehicles.
Recommend.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
pcandma wrote a review Nov 2022
Auckland, New Zealand99 contributions15 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We had an ensuite cabin . Everything was clean and nice. It overlooked the beach also. Nowhere to put our food if not frig food. Felt new prices were rather pricey for just a couple. There was a good selection of varying types of accomodation. The ground were well kept and they were hbusy picking up branches etc from the previous nights storm.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Namrata Patel wrote a review Jan 2022
Auckland Central, New Zealand11 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Recently stayed at the beachfront glamping tent
# 91. Amazing location and proximity to the beach!
Our friends stayed at the plateau glamping tent which was equally amazing! Great views! Perfect for some star gazing at night!
We had the best of both options.!
The tent was so well kept and had everything from the double bed and single one for my son. Linen pillows/blankets provided incl towels & soap!
Lighting/cutlery/ crockery/toaster/kettle and mini fridge was more than enough to accommodate all our needs. We didn’t even need a fan as it got pretty cool at night and were out all day by the beach. We’ve never been camping before and found this as a good start for someone new to this experience! Next time we’d definitely rough it out a bit more !! The beach is perfect for swimming and especially for kids. The staff were very welcoming n helpful. It was such a safe and friendly environment to be around and we felt right at home. Shared facilities were very well maintained n cleaned regularly. Ice available at reception but expensive so do buy ahead! Patchy to nil reception on cellular network. Wifi is available if needed. We didn’t need it and did just fine.. appreciated this place more without looking at our phones! Couldn’t fault this place in anyway! Do take bikes for the kids!
We’ll be back every summer now! Thank you for such a lovely and memorable holiday! Keep up the amazing work looking after this place!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
No results found.Try changing or clearing your search to read questions and answers.
Paradise20315094838 wrote a tip Jul 2023
Auckland Central, New Zealand2 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Book in advance as very busy - "
Read full review
Diana G wrote a tip Jul 2022
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Our cabin by the beach is perfect"
Read full review
Danielle Withers wrote a tip Mar 2022
London, United Kingdom2 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Beachfront Tourist Flat is the best cabin."
Read full review
RObinL3132014 wrote a tip Feb 2022
Whangarei Heads, New Zealand4 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"This is a camp ground with a selection of cabins and camping sites"
Read full review
mkel040 wrote a tip Mar 2019
Auckland121 contributions26 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Beach front glamping tents the best."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Mahurangi East area.
LOCATION
New ZealandNorth IslandAucklandMahurangi East
NUMBER OF ROOMS
16
Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

MARTINS BAY HOLIDAY PARK - Campground Reviews (Mahurangi East) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Martins Bay Holiday Park
Which popular attractions are close to Martins Bay Holiday Park?
Nearby attractions include Brick Bay Sculpture Trail (6.0 km), Mansion House (5.4 km), and Mahurangi Regional Park (7.6 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Martins Bay Holiday Park?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free parking, meeting rooms, and kids activities.
What food & drink options are available at Martins Bay Holiday Park?
Guests can enjoy barbeque facilities during their stay.
Is parking available at Martins Bay Holiday Park?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Martins Bay Holiday Park?
Conveniently located restaurants include Brick Bay Glass House Kitchen, The Parsley Pot Cafe, and Chairs Cafe.
Are there any historical sites close to Martins Bay Holiday Park?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Mansion House (5.4 km).