Talavera Palm Springs
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Talavera Palm Springs

375 W Arenas Rd, Palm Springs, Greater Palm Springs, CA 92262-6307
Our baby loves to look at the pool
Traveller (759)
The Fountain bedroom
Room & Suite (184)
Pool & Beach (79)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

5.0
#8 of 79 hotels in Palm Springs
4.9 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.8 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.8 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Value
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
The Talavera was built in 1920 and was originally known as The Wigwam, hosting an array of glamorous Hollywood stars throughout the years. One of the oldest hotels in the Palm Springs area. All suites enjoy beautiful private patios and jacuzzis. We are located in the historic Tennis Club District in the heart of Downtown Palm Springs. In 2018, the hotel was awarded the prestigious honor of being named One of The Hot Hotels for 2018 by Conde Nast Traveler Magazine. The property is truly an exotic oasis. Enjoy our beautiful pool with the San Jacinto Mountains as a backdrop. Surprisingly, the property is located just steps from exciting Downtown Palm Springs with an abundance of restaurants, shops and entertainment.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Bicycles available
Hiking
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Adults only
Wifi
Hot bath
Pool / beach towels
Pool with view
Adult pool
Outdoor pool
Heated pool
Shallow end in pool
Complimentary tea
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor fireplace
Outdoor furniture
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun umbrellas
Umbrella
Express check-in / check-out
Private check-in / check-out
Room features
Bathrobes
Air conditioning
Dining area
Housekeeping
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Extra long beds
Walk-in shower
Private balcony
Room service
Safe
Seating area
Separate living room
Sofa
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Bottled water
Clothes rack
Iron
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Kitchenette
Microwave
Oven
Refrigerator
Stovetop
Electric kettle
Kitchenware
Flatscreen TV
On-demand films
Sofa bed
Whirlpool bathtub
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
Mountain view
Pool view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Centrally Located
Value
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish

Location

375 W Arenas Rd, Palm Springs, Greater Palm Springs, CA 92262-6307
Getting there
Great for walkers
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 96 out of 100
96
Palm Springs Municipal Airport
916Reviews16Q+A100Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 802
  • 77
  • 21
  • 8
  • 8
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
karena wrote a review Aug 2022
Long Beach, California
Hotel's Favourite
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Beautiful resort in a great location, close to dining and shops. Check in was super easy. Friendly staff and excellent amenities. The pool and on suite jacuzzi were highlights. Highly recommend, I’d totally return again.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Marti N wrote a review Feb 2020
Aptos, California
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed two nights and very much enjoyed this hotel. It is a small hotel with the rooms arranged around lush gardens and two heated pools. Although very close to the main part of town it is very quiet and peaceful in the grounds. Each room is unique. We stayed in the Velvet Room which is right off the main pool and was quite spacious with a very well equipped kitchenette. As others have indicated the highlight is the private courtyard with its own hot tub. The space was lovely with a seating area and candles. The hot tub is very clean and large. It is kept on all the time (I assume they have solar panels on the roof). The staff were all wonderful especially the General Manager, Eric, who was charming. Everything was just about perfect. We will differently stay here again.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: All the rooms are unique so review the website carefully.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jon L wrote a review Mar 2020
Saint Paul, Minnesota
5.0 of 5 bubbles
My wife & I celebrated our 25th anniversary here. What a secluded and romantic experience. The staff (Eric) was so friendly and accommodating. Gave us a bottle of Cab as an anniversary gift and offered up some awesome recommendations on local establishments to visit. Such an inclusive and private feel, and our room(ranch 7) felt like a true pampered experience. Yes, as some of the nay-sayers point out, it is an older property, but that only added to the charm. Everything was updated as far as amenities, and we felt like it was a blissful hide-away. Huge TV, plenty of air conditioned comfort, and our private gated “backyard” with hot tub, fire pit, and romantic lighting lended towards an ambiance of charm & relaxation. The fantastic views of the surrounding mountains and close proximity to downtown was a real mix of perfection. I am a well travelled business person, and this property rates at the top of anywhere I have stayed. My wife particularly enjoyed the shower and bathing set up- strong pressure and relaxing. Specific detail on local Joshua soaps a plus, and cleanliness of the sharp upkeep of the property was impressive. If you want a special experience, stay at the Rossi! We will be back!!!
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
melissalooskay wrote a review Dec 2020
Huntington Beach, California
5.0 of 5 bubbles
This hotel was amazing and everything I was looking for. I celebrated my birthday with some girlfriends and the rooms were perfect for all of us to hang out. The private hot tubs were so relaxing and enjoyable in the evening. The staff and hotel manager was very sweet and made us feel at home. The location of the rooms to the pool, ice, front desk is perfectly laid out and we felt we had just enough privacy. The pools are heated just enough and the pool lounge chairs are luxurious. I would highly recommend this secret oasis! Can't wait to come back and stay longer!
Read more
Date of stay: November 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: Great locations, Awesome pools
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Denise wrote a review May 2021
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Talavera is hidden gem located on a quiet side street tucked in the Tennis Club neighborhood. The location is great- a quick walk to Palm Springs restaurants and shops. The rooms are individually decorated with a bohemian vibe and very clean. The linens are nice and bed is very comfortable. Each room is set up differently but all have a private patio with jacuzzi.(Water is changed after every guest leaves). There was a microwave, a coffee maker and a mini refrigerator in our room which was very convenient.
The grounds are nicely landscaped and we loved the scent of fragrant flowers wafting in the air as we walked along the path to our room.
The pools are peaceful and inviting. One of them has a view of the mountains in the backdrop. There is a basket filled with towels for guests' use and the cushy lounge chairs are very comfortable. There is a nice barbecue off to the side of the pool if you wish to stay in and grill.
Bikes are available to use if you wish to bike around town.
Parking and check-in are easy. Check-in information was sent to us via text before we arrived and there are parking spots in front of the hotel.
We can't wait to go back!
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
507tasker wrote a review Feb 2020
Houston, Texas
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Booked the Rossi based on the reviews. Not sure we were a the same hotel as reviewed. It was a huge disaapointment. It is not charming, it's just old. Built in 1920 and it looks it except for some electrical upgrades. Repairs needed inside and outside the suite (we had the Ranch Hacienda). The price of the room is not commensurate with the property. Not sure who manages the property because we never saw or were checked on by hotel personnel at any time over 5 day stay. Someone named Marina was mentioned in a prior review as the manager. Who is Marina? Also belinini's by the pool? Never happened. The mid day snack bar is a joke (raisins, coconut chips and cookies). Not even bottled water supplied at the pool or in the room refrigerator. It's hot here! Housekeeping rushed and incomplete. The hot tub worked althought the pad it sits on was moldy and mildewed because it's never cleaned. The pool was cleaned once in the 5 days we were there. Plastic glasses in the bathrooms like we are a bunch of schoolchildren and cannot handle a real glass. Bed is "unheavenly". AC and ventilation is inadequate and noisy. Hardwood floors were dirty and room lighting is poor.
The cancellation policy is absurd, so read carefully before you book. They actually advise you buy trip insurance becuase you are screwed if you do not fall within the days you are permitted to cancel and even then there is a $50 charge. Absurd.
No need to give them your CC for any additionsl charges because they have nothing in the way of extra amenities. They run this place as cheaply as possible
and it shows but are getting the 5 star price. It is far from 5 star. Only giving it 3 stars because the location is very good and 2 blocks from the center of Palm Springs for shopping and restaurants.
Such a letdown. When we pay the 5 star price we expect the 5 star treatment. Buyer Beware.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
2.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Marina Rossi, Owner at Talavera Palm Springs
Responded 26 Feb 2020
We are sorry that you did not have the experience that so many of our guests boast about. We truly would never have expected you to stay with us if you were unhappy with your suite. You never expressed any concerns whatsoever to our staff or General Manager. Our staff and general manager are on the property all day to assist or answer any questions. We are also accessible via phone or text 24 hours. We would have been happy to address anything during your stay, but were not given that opportunity. Our hotel was built in 1920 and we strive to maintain the charm and authenticity while providing modern amenities. Full inspections are done prior to each guest stay and have no knowledge of any disrepairs that you mention. The hotel will periodically offer various treats but we do not charge our guests nor do we advertise these and change them frequently. We provide filtered water in all rooms in the refrigerators so that we do not add additional waste with plastic bottles. The pools are cleaned every morning before our guests are awake so as not to disturb our guests, that is why you did not see our pool service. Plastic cups are a mandated health department requirement since all suites have jacuzzis and glass is not allowed on the property. We are aware that our guests are not "school children." Our policies are very clearly posted and made clear to all our guests when booking. We are truly saddened that you were unhappy with your stay. We have a long standing reputation for excellent service and accommodations having won countless awards including Conde Nast's Traveler 100 Hot Hotels of the World in 2018. Our staff is discrete and do everything possible to provide an exceptional stay. It is unfortunate that we were unaware of your discontent.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Megan W wrote a review Jan 2021
San Diego, California
4.0 of 5 bubbles
This is a beautiful little property located within just a couple blocks of downtown Palm Springs, but once inside the gates you are transported to a bohemian oasis! The contactless check in was seamless and appreciated, and our room was beautifully clean with all amenities listed on the website minus a cocktail shaker, toaster and tea kettle. The jacuzzi on the private patio is a real treat, especially on a rare rainy day in the desert! We also enjoyed a dip in the comfortably heated pool. As an adults only property, we were expecting a tranquil environment and that is what we received! The property manager on site during the day also checked in with us multiple times in passing in public areas, which made us feel very welcome and cared for.

My one issue was with the mattress in the Sedona room. It seemed quite old and had that weird "crunchy/springy" feeling that old mattresses have, leading to disruptive and relatively uncomfortable sleep. I found this quite disappointing considering the hotel is so focused on tranquil R&R. Sleep is so important when you are traveling and unfortunately, unless Talavera upgrades their mattresses this will prevent us from choosing Talavera in the future.

Lastly, this property charges a $20/night resort fee. Up to you to find any value in this, I personally do not know why or what this is for.

This property charges a $20 resort fee per night, not sure what this is for or why.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2021
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from April Smith, Owner at Talavera Palm Springs
Responded 11 Feb 2021
Megan, your comments are important to us and help us understand what our needs are. Thank you for sharing. I want to note that after your comment regarding the bed, we have replaced it with a new one. We hope you will come back and enjoy another stay with us in the future.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
SomePlaceNew802 wrote a review Apr 2021
Colchester, Vermont
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Are you looking for an adults only, small and quiet retreat to relax? Well, look no further. This place is an absolute oasis. Everything is so peaceful! There is greenery everywhere. They provide bikes, but everything is pretty much walkable nearby. We enjoyed our spacious, private room and patio to the full for 5 nights. There is a roomy living space, a dining area and lightly furnished kitchenette. There are pots, pans, dishes, silverware, etc., but you'll need to bring your own condiments. The tap water is drinkable, even for water snobs like me. The king bed was quite comfortable, but you can hear the water heater and water in the pipes through the walls and the white drapery is a bit bright in the morning. The patio was lovely. Be sure to ask for fire starters for your clay fire pit or be prepared to forage sticks for kindling. The hot tub is private, but always on and hot (pipes in the wall remember). The pool is so nice! There are enough lounge chairs and umbrellas for every guest. It's so relaxing, quiet and pleasant. The guests we saw varied as much as the music we heard by the pool - from Bruno Mars to classical. We had contactless check-in so didn't see much of the staff, but when we texted, the response was immediate and when we interacted on the grounds, everyone was courteous and kind. I would gladly come back here.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
johnp32000 wrote a review Sept 2020
1.0 of 5 bubbles
We are currently at the hotel and don't know what to do. We just saw a family of dirty rats move from the room next to us (room 5) into the wall that connects to our room, (room 8 "Kasbah"). Trying to get a hold of ANYONE at the hotel but no one that works for the hotel is on site.

They have a text contact number that has been unresponsive. This is a horrible situation that any normal half way decent hotel would try to remedy immediately.

It's almost 9pm now and there has been no response. I'm surprised this hotel has such high ratings. Rats are not acceptable at any hotel much less one that charges high end rates.

Will follow up with this review tomorrow with any developments.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: Don't stay here. There are rats. That is indicative of poor maintenance.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from April Smith, Owner at Talavera Palm Springs
Responded 21 Sept 2020
Thank you for your review. We always strive to do better and take every review seriously. The evening in question, our staff was not responsive at the level our guests expect them to be and for that we do apologize. Since your visit, we have updated our after-hours protocol to ensure that every guest receives a prompt response time. We completely understand having a concern with seeing rats on the property. Unfortunately, “uninvited” guests are a fact of life in the desert ecosystem. We have maintenance staff that inspects the property on a regular basis to ensure that all critters stay out of our buildings, interior and exterior walls. Along with our maintenance staff, we also have regular schedule visits with a professional Pest Control company to ensure the safety of our guests and staff. We immediately had the Pest Company come back out after your sighting to deal with the issue. I am glad that we were able to see and speak to you after this incident do hope that we will see you again in the future.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
NewYorkWorldExplorer wrote a review Apr 2021
New York City, New York
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Excellent location in the quiet, upscale historic tennis club district yet a few blocks away from the hustle and bustle of Palm Canyon Drive and conveniently located near restaurants, shops, the PS Art Museum, and hiking trails. Very quaint, classy boutique hotel with only 11 rooms. Unforgettable stay in the Puka Room which had a large living room, kitchenette, private hot tub, and double sink bathroom with rainshower. The Puka Room was right beside the Coba room in a private corner of the complex. The swimming pool was right outside our door and we enjoyed the privacy and rarely encountered any guests. I love the privacy and peace of this lovely boutique hotel. Also appreciate the convenience of keyless entry and special mention to the hotel manager, Joni, for accommodating my last minute request. Thumbs up!
Read more
Date of stay: April 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Edward F asked a question May 2022
I need your telephone
Answer from April Smith
Palm Springs, California1 contribution
833-283-0010 The Front Desk is available 9:30am to 6pm PST daily
Answer from Andi R
Melbourne, Florida9 contributions15 helpful votes
I think children might be allowed but I doubt it is “encouraged “ the whole vibe of the place is romantic and serene. Children’s activity and noise would probably be alarming for other guests. And don’t get me wrong, I love kids, I’m a mom. But I spent $2500 on the weekend and I wanted the weekend away from kids..plus I looked at most of the suites and most didn’t have other sleeping areas besides the bed. I never saw cots or pull outs
firstclassflyer007 asked a question Nov 2017
Buenos Aires, Argentina52 contributions22 helpful votes
Hello , can you explain diferences between prepaid rate and a 100. % deposit of total stay
Answer from Maximilian G
2 helpful votes
Prepaid reservations typically include a discount, an upgrade, an amenity, or a combination of the three. 100% deposit of the stay is simply paying for the accommodations in full/in advance and securing the reservation, in the scenario where one would need to cancel their stay the hotel staff would attempt to book an alternative guest for the dates being forfeited and the original guest can then be reimbursed, if such accommodations are not met the original guest would be responsible for the booking cost at no reimbursement. (-Concierge, San Diego)
Answer from Rock C
Hillsborough, United Kingdom101 contributions86 helpful votes
Sorry but I am unsure what you are asking. If you go to the hotel web site you will find both an E Mail address and contact telephone numbers. Hope that helps.
Answer from Rossi_Hotel
San Giuliano3 contributions1 helpful vote
Hello and Welcome! Yes our pool is maintained at about 85 - 86 degrees all year.
Adan O wrote a tip 9 Jun
1 contribution
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Be prepared for mosquitoes, which means have your bug spray packed."
Read full review
Kevin N. wrote a tip May 2024
San Diego, California19 contributions5 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Book early. Take advantage of early checkin"
Read full review
Dreamer575580 wrote a tip May 2024
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Its quiet and relaxing, adult only, pet friendly great location, walking distance to downtown, great restaurants and shopping."
Read full review
Hope L wrote a tip Apr 2024
Hilton Head, South Carolina6 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Parking is outside or next to the hotel and didn’t seem to be a problem. 6min walk to most places on the main strip."
Read full review
Ragg D wrote a tip Jan 2024
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Beautiful place and a welcoming stay"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Palm Springs area.
PRICE RANGE
$524 - $687 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
san giuliano palm springs, hotel san giuliano
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
The Rossi Hotel
LOCATION
United StatesCaliforniaCalifornia DesertGreater Palm SpringsPalm Springs
NUMBER OF ROOMS
11
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

TALAVERA PALM SPRINGS - Hotel Reviews & Price Comparison (CA) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Talavera Palm Springs
Which popular attractions are close to Talavera Palm Springs?
Nearby attractions include Brandini Toffee (0.3 km), Palm Springs Art Museum (0.3 km), and VillageFest (0.3 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Talavera Palm Springs?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and free parking.
Which room amenities are available at Talavera Palm Springs?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Talavera Palm Springs?
Guests can enjoy complimentary tea and free instant coffee during their stay.
Is parking available at Talavera Palm Springs?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Talavera Palm Springs?
Conveniently located restaurants include Great Shakes, Tommy Bahama Marlin Bar & Store, and Le Vallauris.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Talavera Palm Springs?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Are pets allowed at Talavera Palm Springs?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Talavera Palm Springs?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Spanish.
Are there any historical sites close to Talavera Palm Springs?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Indian Canyons (7.9 km), Village Green Heritage Center (0.3 km), and McCallum Adobe (0.3 km).
Does Talavera Palm Springs have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the mountain view available here.
All Palm Springs HotelsPalm Springs Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in Palm SpringsHotels near Talavera Palm Springs
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday HomesTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire