We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Lone Oak Lodge

2221 Fremont St Near Della Vina Avenue, Monterey, CA 93940-5499
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
View all 17 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Traveller (242)
Panoramas (15)
Room & Suite (393)
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitised in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
Updated 21/03/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
Updated 21/03/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.


#11 of 58 hotels in Monterey
Step back and relax in this traditional American style motor lodge where comfort, cleanliness and customer service is our hallmark. At the Lone Oak Lodge you are only minutes away from all the sights and sounds of the enchanting Monterey Peninsula. With its modest rates, variety of accommodations and family atmosphere the Lone Oak Lodge will quickly become your home away from home. Featuring family cottages, single rooms, double rooms and king Jacuzzi suites with fireplaces; the Lone Oak is hard to beat. We offer plenty of free on site parking, free Wifi, digital cable channels and a separate indoor Jacuzzi room with a dry sauna and exercise equipment. We also have a scuba diver rinse section as well as an outdoor barbeque area with fire pit. For the business traveler's we offer a 350 square foot Business & Conference Center which will accommodate up to 15 people. (Please contact the front desk to book your meeting during your stay). Come and relax with us here in beautiful Monterey!
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Electric vehicle charging station
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Hot bath
Vending machine
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Show more
Room features
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
Languages Spoken


Full view
36Car recommended
Grade: 36 out of 100
29Restaurantswithin 1 km
1Attractionwithin 1 km
1396Reviews13Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 744
  • 476
  • 112
  • 31
  • 33
Time of year
Traveller type
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Ary M wrote a review Sep 2021
1 contribution
It’s close to everything. Location is really nice. Plenty of parking. Room was pretty average. Manager was great. Overall it’s a decent place to stay. Furniture needs a little updating, bathroom and shower was nice.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021
Sleep Quality
Response from INNsight Reputation Management, Owner at Lone Oak Lodge
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear Ary, Thanks for your valuable feedback. I am delighted to know that your overall stay at Lone Oak Lodge was nice. Thanks for the positive comments regarding our convenient location, parking facilities, and management staff. Please be assured, your suggestion regarding the furniture will be shared with the team, and appropriate actions will be taken. We hope to see you at Lone Oak Lodge again on your next visit to Monterey. Once again, thank you for staying with us. Take care, and stay safe! Sincerely, Lone Oak Lodge Management P.S. Always remember to book your stay directly on our official website Loneoaklodge.com, where you will get the BEST RATES!
Read more
H J wrote a review Aug 2021
1 contribution
Great place to stay, very clean and staff was very nice..we are definitely going back..we upgraded to the cottage and it was a great decision...prices are very affordable and reasonable..this was our first visit to Monterey and we loved it!!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Response from INNsight Reputation Management, Owner at Lone Oak Lodge
Responded 2 Sep 2021
Dear Guest, Thank you for choosing our hotel, and for taking the time to write a review! We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your accommodations. Our hotel aims to provide a truly unique experience, and we are thrilled that we were able to exceed your expectations. We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the future. Once again, thanks for staying with us. Your recommendations are highly appreciated. Take care, and stay safe! Sincerely, Lone Oak Lodge Management P.S. Book your stay directly at Loneoaklodge.com to get excellent deals and discounts!
Read more
snic09 wrote a review Aug 2021
NY48 contributions29 helpful votes
I had a very mixed experience. On the plus side, the room and bathroom were clean, the sheets were in good condition and spotless, and the bed and pillows were comfortable. But the table, chairs and other furniture were scratched, torn and beat-up. The climate control system was a complete mystery - it refused to switch from celsius to fahrenheit (OK, not a big deal, I have a calculator). When I set it to the temperature I wanted, it was grindingly loud and annoying for one night, but after I turned it off and on the next day and set it for the exact same temperature, it was quiet all night. The weather was about the same, so who knows why the difference? All of that I could live with - I expect some quirks in a motel situated on a strip of cheesy motels with a porn theater down the block. What really annoyed me was the water. In the morning it took more than 10 minutes for the water in the shower to reach a bearably warm temperature, and another 5 minutes or so for it to become hot enough to require adding some cold water into the mix. This isn't an exaggeration; this happened three mornings in a row and I timed it the third morning. Keep in mind that this is Monterey, which has a perpetual water shortage, especially these days. I was not happy to have to double my water usage because of this motel's nonsensical plumbing issues. Fortunately I didn't have an early flight to catch, or I would have been even more upset. Even the plumbing fiasco I could have lived with, but the last straw is when this motel came between me and my morning cup of coffee. I got my coffee elsewhere the first two mornings of my stay, but on my third and last morning I wanted to use the provided coffee maker. I opened it and discovered that someone had left a used coffee packet inside the water reservoir, which is not even where the coffee packet is supposed to go. Yuck, who knows how long that's been in there? So much for the housekeeping staff's attention to detail. Finally, a few other things to keep in mind. First, Monterey water is quite hard, so you might appreciate the fact that this motel uses a water softener. Personally I can't stand the slimy feel of softened water - it feels like you can never get the soap fully rinsed off your skin. Ick. Second, most motels room floors are carpeted. My room had a fake wood floor (probably vinyl), which initially I thought was kind of cold-looking but I guess it's probably easier to keep clean than carpet. Third, as far as I could tell there was no iron in the room. Lastly, in my room the bathroom was just weird - there was space for a large vanity and full shower, but it contained a tiny little sink and a stall shower. (In fairness there was a long counter-like thing above the sink, which was more than enough space for all my stuff, and the mirror was large and the lighting was bright.) In all, as you can probably tell, I'm not coming back.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021
3 Helpful votes
Response from INNsight Reputation Management, Owner at Lone Oak Lodge
Responded 12 Aug 2021
2 / 5 Dear Guest, Thanks for the detailed feedback regarding your stay with us. I am glad to learn that you liked our clean rooms and bathroom. Thank you for the positive comments regarding the comfortable beds and pillows in the room. However, I am extremely sorry to learn that several things did not meet your expectations during your stay. Please be assured that all your negative comments will be shared with our team, and the situation will be rectified soon. Please take care, and stay safe! Best Regards, Lone Oak Lodge Management
Read more
Kimberly H wrote a review Aug 2021
20 contributions10 helpful votes
What was billed as a "cottage" was a very run-down room with an ancient kitchen and literally falling apart door (the lock fell off while we were there). The staff was very apathetic, and the blankets were literally the strangest, least comfortable blankets I've ever seen. They were rubbery, rather like the consistency of a wet suit, and extremely unpleasant. The "cottage" was overpriced, nearly $400 a night for an extremely disappointing experience. The furniture and decor were worn and unappealing. The gym and hot tub were closed.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021
3 Helpful votes
Response from INNsight Reputation Management, Owner at Lone Oak Lodge
Responded 9 Aug 2021
Dear Kimberly, I am sorry to learn that you did not enjoy your stay with us. We are known for providing excellent guest service and attention to detail (as you can read our hotel reviews); it’s apparent in your case that we fell short. Again, I apologize for the inconvenience you had during your stay; please be sure this is not the kind of experience we aim to offer our guests. We are planning to undergo remodeling soon so that our guests can have a great experience. Once again, I am sorry for your dissatisfaction. Take care, and stay safe! Best Regards, Lone Oak Lodge Management
Read more
Sandra H wrote a review Jul 2021
8 contributions5 helpful votes
This is a family operated, friendly motel. However, it's vastly overpriced for what it is. The room was set back from the road and it was clean. But the box air conditioner was extremely noisy -- it actually squealed, so clearly something was wrong. We ended up turning it off but the ceiling fan wasn't effective. The mattresses are cheap and the pillows are old and lumpy. It was probably one of the worst motels we've stayed at. We definitely won't be back.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
3 Helpful votes
Response from INNsight Reputation Management, Owner at Lone Oak Lodge
Responded 4 Aug 2021
Dear Sandra, Thanks for the candid feedback. I am glad to learn that you found our motel friendly and liked our clean guest room. However, I am extremely disappointed to hear that several things during your stay did not meet your expectations. I am sorry for the noise issues due to the air conditioner; we will get it fixed soon. We aim to provide excellent service; however, this time, we dropped the ball. Once again, I am sorry for the poor experience. Take care, and stay safe! Regards, Lone Oak Lodge Management
Read more
US$74 - US$347 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
lone oak hotel monterey
United StatesCaliforniaMonterey CountyMonterey
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Lone Oak Lodge
Which popular attractions are close to Lone Oak Lodge?
Nearby attractions include Monterey Lanes (0.2 km) and Laguna Grande Regional Park Trail (1.0 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Lone Oak Lodge?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free parking, and a hot tub.
Which room amenities are available at Lone Oak Lodge?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
Is parking available at Lone Oak Lodge?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Lone Oak Lodge?
Conveniently located restaurants include Monterey's Fish House, Breakfast Club, and Black Bear Diner.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Lone Oak Lodge?
Yes, guests have access to a sauna during their stay.
Are there any historical sites close to Lone Oak Lodge?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Cannery Row (4.3 km), Doc Rickett's Pacific Biological Laboratories (4.4 km), and Perry House (3.4 km).
Is Lone Oak Lodge accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access, reduced mobility rooms, and facilities for disabled guests. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.