Holiday Inn Express & Suites Los Angeles Downtown West, an IHG Hotel
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Holiday Inn Express & Suites Los Angeles Downtown West, an IHG Hotel

Exterior
Traveller (119)
Don't come for an amazing view
Room & Suite (54)
Photo with Maria
Dining (20)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

3.5
#170 of 364 hotels in Los Angeles
2.8 of 5 bubbles
Location
3.8 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Service
3.5 of 5 bubbles
Value

The Holiday Inn Express Los Angeles Downtown West is the newest mid-scale hotel in the LA City Center area. Conveniently located off I-10, I-110 and HWY 101, our beautiful 100% non-smoking hotel is minutes from Downtown Los Angeles, LA Convention Center, Staples Center, Kodak Theatre, Dodger Stadium, China Town as well as a huge variety of restaurants and shopping.

Our modern, sophisticated design offers a plethora of amenities such as spacious guestrooms featuring luxurious new bedding, high speed Internet, hot breakfast, fitness room, business center, meeting rooms and a newly designed Yoga area.

Nestled on the Pacific Coast, we are centrally located between Hollywood, Beverly Hills, Malibu, Santa Monica, Pacific Coast Highway (PCH), Long Beach, Burbank, Anaheim, Catalina Island, Disneyland, Universal Studios, Six Flags Magic Mountain, Knott's Berry Farm, Walk of Fame, Fashion District, USC, Orange County and the Beaches in Redondo, Manhattan, Huntington, Newport, Laguna and San Cl

Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Paid private parking on-site
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Kids stay free
Highchairs available
Shuttle bus service
Business Centre with Internet Access
Secured parking
Wifi
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Snack bar
Wine / champagne
Meeting rooms
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor fireplace
Outdoor furniture
Shops
ATM on site
First aid kit
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Room features
Blackout curtains
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Safe
Coffee / tea maker
Flatscreen TV
Walk-in shower
Seating area
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Iron
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Refrigerator
Complimentary toiletries
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
2.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Residential Neighbourhood
Green
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish, Chinese, Hindi and 1 more
Hotel links
Special Offer:Book Direct & Save with IHG One Rewards

Location

611 South Westlake Avenue, Los Angeles, CA 90057
Getting there
Somewhat walkable
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 61 out of 100
61
Los Angeles Intl Airport
17.8 km
See all flights
Hollywood Burbank Airport
17.5 km
See all flights
Westlake/MacArthur Park
6 minLos Angeles Metro Rail
260Reviews4Q+A54Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 68
  • 87
  • 51
  • 22
  • 32
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
fairgirl59 wrote a review Mar 2020
Imperial Beach, California369 contributions112 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
This facility sticks out like a sore thumb in a neighborhood of West Downtown LA. It is 2.3 miles from the Convention Center. I walked there and back and felt 95% safe. The rooms are tired - no USB outlets by the bed or in the lamps. We were on a room that faced Westlake Avenue and heard the ice cream truck, the sirens of fire trucks - it was NOT quiet. They do have a shuttle, but only during business hours. The breakfast and area were very nice. There is a small snack "shop." Parking is $15/day and is very safe. The front desk staff is very hospitable.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: Ask for a room away from Westlake Boulevard. It may be quieter.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Los Angeles Downtown West, an IHG Hotel
Responded 1 Apr 2020
Hello fairgirl59, Thank you for choosing Holiday Inn Express and for taking the time to provide feedback about your experience. We take pride in ensuring that we provide Select Service hospitality that is fresh, practical, and efficient accommodations for Simple, Smart Travelers. I apologize that your stay was disturbed by the noise and that you found the room to be outdated and lacked the more modern amenities. We know that we could have done a better job at this. Rest assured, Hotel management and our front desk teams have been provided a copy of your feedback and will investigate and resolve it at the soonest possible time. Despite this, it is great to know that you found the location of the property to be convenient and our staff to be accommodating and friendly. This will go a long way in helping us keep up with our guests, like you, who look for brilliant basics and seamless experiences who need a simple, engaging place to rest, recharge and get a little work done. I hope you will give us another chance to show you that your unsatisfactory stay was an exception. Again, thank you for sharing your comments. Safe travels. Hector P Case Manager IHGService
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
bpdogs wrote a review Aug 2021
Apple Valley, Minnesota254 contributions256 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
First time I've stayed in central LA. Not as bad as expected. Neighborhood is lively but not dangerous. A few fast food places nearby but no real restaurants.

Arrived by car and while I thought I read there was $15 a night parking the desk clerk said parking was free. Secured location with hotel but only about 15 spaces, so keep that in mind.

Lobby door is on the side inside the car port for safety reasons.

Good sized rooms have all been re-furbished. The mattress was a wonderful Beautyrest brand. Large TV with plenty of channels. Clean bathroom. Room was facing the street, but with the air-conditioner on I barely heard street noise.

Price was reasonable for being in a central location. I never tried the breakfast so no comment there.

The only thing I didn't like is the morning desk clerk offered me 1,000 IHG points to leave a review on IHG with an 8 or better. This is a nice hotel that shouldn't worry over that. Also, it's just plain against IHG rules and is wrong. Even so I would stay here again, Finally since I was on a Travel Agent rate it wasn't a smart move since I'll let IHG knew they did this.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Ajax Moss wrote a review Jan 2020
1 contribution3 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
I originally came to this location with a friend to attend the LA auto show. I chose this hotel mainly for the fact that it wasn't too far from the convention center and was within budget. My friend and I were a bit spooked by the surrounding area as seen from pictures and other reviews. Despite this, we took a chance with it and we were surprised by how professional and clean the inside of the property was. We were greeted by Ms. Aida and with her superb hospitality, we had forgotten about the flaws of the place that we had coming in. The location was undergoing some renovation, but we weren't there most of the time so it wasn't an issue. Aida was well spoken and very helpful during our check-in/out process. Our room was nice and met our needs without a doubt. Will definitely come to this hotel again for the 2020 auto show.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from raymondsalasHIEDTLA, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Los Angeles Downtown West, an IHG Hotel
Responded 18 Jan 2020
Good Morning GTR1999r34, Thank you for deciding to stay with us here at the Holiday Inn Express & Suites Los Angeles Downtown West, the LA Auto Show always draws a huge crowd so selecting the right place can be challenging. It is so great to hear that you had such an amazing experience especially with our front desk agent Aida; she definitely goes above and beyond to ensure our guest have an amazing experience. We can't wait for you to join us next year for the 2020 LA Auto Show, if not sooner. Thank you once again for your review. Raymond Salas Holiday Inn Express & Suites Los Angeles Downtown West
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Becky P wrote a review Jun 2023
Poole, United Kingdom74 contributions53 helpful votes
Hotel's Favourite
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Friendly staff, clean hotel and easy to park.
Breakfast was good, especially the biscuits and gravy!
Small pool which we didn't have time to use, but would be great to cool off in!
The location is ideal for downtown, however we walked, next time we would definitely uber as you do sadly get to see parts of LA you may not want too.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Get an uber or taxi to downtown rather than walk it!
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
HappyInHagerstown wrote a review Feb 2022
Hagerstown, Maryland221 contributions170 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
The institutional light-gray walls everywhere didn't add any cheer. The staff was dutiful but without apparent personality. The room was standard chain-hotel quality — acceptable but unremarkable. The bathroom was small, with no shelf whatever for cosmetics, soap, toothbrush, etc. The bed was low and completely un-lush. You'll probably want an extra blanket to get warm, but forget about it; you'll be told in no uncertain terms that (unlike almost every other decent hotel) there aren't any. If you're a stickler for COVID precautions, this is your place; you'll be asked to wear gloves to dish your breakfast, which is both overcooked (the steamed veggies) and undercooked (the sausage). The lobby is small and totally uninviting, and if you need a luggage cart, good luck. There are apparently only two of them.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022
2.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled on business
Room Tip: Stay elsewhere
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from IHG Service, Owner at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Los Angeles Downtown West, an IHG Hotel
Responded 27 Feb 2022
Hi HappyInHagerstown, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on your stay. We want to share a unique hotel experience with all. I'm sorry that your experience was less than satisfactory due to the size of the bathroom and our lobby, limited luggage cart, and issues with the bed and at breakfast. It is certainly not the experience we want our guests to have. I have shared your sentiments with the management team for their reference. I trust they'll use your review for future hotel improvements and ensure a better stay experience moving forward. I hope you still consider us again and give us another chance to host you the next time you visit the area. Regards, Virgil N. Case Manager IHGService
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Patti D wrote a review Mar 2023
Salt Lake City, Utah2 contributions
2.0 of 5 bubbles
We got there to Hotel late Friday from Portland Oregon. Come Saturday Eve. WE had a show to attend ,reason for going. We got to Hotel and no sooner got in our room and the power went out. Pitch black in there. No emergency lights . We couldnt charge up our phones, couldnt sit and relax and watch TV or take showers after being out alll day. The worst part about it was i walk with my walker or a cane because I have bad hips. After we found the stairway to go ask what was going on because phones in room didnt even work. I had to walk down the stairs with my cane hurting from doing so and that stairwell smelt like urine really bad. enough to want to puke and gag on our way down. then we get to main floor and the door for outside was open. we being girls put a frifght in us to even go anyfurther. We were afraid at that point that the homeless or anyone wondering the streets in the area of Los Angeles could be in the buiding or get in. IObvious they have in the past useing the stairwell as a urinal station. In was an inconvienence all together. Our room door had a lock on it but it was obvious that it had been broken into once before because it was pushed in , the sheetrock surrounding it was tore from the wall. so haveing to go back to that dark room for hurs was a bit unresting knowing phone didnt work in case of emergency so we couldnt rest. it was at least 6 to 8 hours with out power. so what sleep we did get wasnt much. We asked if we could get a late check out because we couldnt pack the night before or take showerrs or charge up our phones. Tshe said no they cant do that. so we rushed to get ready and needless to say our day was ruined from there untill we caught our flight home that eve. Really feel like they should of occomidated us somehow for the inconviences. Lots of money to spend it in the dark. Im aware its not there fault power went out but they really should be prepared for that and have generaters or some kind of back up for there clients that stay at there hotel. Sad but true. Patti Dampman 3/18/2023 room 204.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2023
2.0 of 5 bubblesValue
2.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Room Tip: Dont walk down the stairwells and if power goes out no back up plan for lights in rooms or...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from IHG Service, Owner at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Los Angeles Downtown West, an IHG Hotel
Responded 5 Apr 2023
Hi pattid830, Thanks for your review and staying at the Holiday Inn Express Los Angeles Downtown West. We appreciate you as an IHG One Rewards member and value your business with us. Our guests can count on us to keep our hotels clean, the staff friendly, and everything in working order. I am sorry for what happened during your stay. I have shared your comments with the hotel management. They will ensure a better visit upon your return. Again, thanks for your feedback. We hope to have another opportunity to provide you with a pleasant stay. Sincerely, Connie D Case Manager IHG Hotels & Resorts Service
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
LADHAR-FAMILY wrote a review Jan 2022
Jeddah, Saudi Arabia84 contributions11 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
If you want wonderful stay in Los Angeles with the better quality/price Hotel, stay here. You don't never regret . The service is excellent, the rooms are very clean. The breakfast is excellent especially with Lovely staff. The head of breakfast Maria was very kind and gives a big positivity to have an excellent breakfast. Coffee is tasty and fresh brewed, but more than that the distance and the COVID safety rules are strongly applied.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Treybum2 wrote a review Mar 2024
Baton Rouge, Louisiana10 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I had a great stay at this hotel, mainly because of the great staff! At check-in, I was greeted by a genuinely personable night manager. I'm ashamed to say that I've forgotten his name (Nick?) but he was so gracious and pleasant, and he even called up to my room to ensure that my room was acceptable, which is was (spacious and clean).

The hotel did not have a business center but staff gave me the email address to the front desk so that they could print whatever I needed. I didn't catch all the names ( sorry!) but Aida and Melissa were very helpful in allowing me to bug them with my printing needs.

Parking in the hotel garage was free, which was a great help, unlike many other hotels in the downtown area. The conference hotel where I would spend the rest of my week would charge a fee of $45 per day for parking!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
SuzieCW wrote a review Feb 2022
San Francisco, California16 contributions15 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Hotel staff refused to move our stay to another time or refund the money due to positive Covid test and feeling ill, instead, they encourage their guests to stay there regardless of the health status (test results available as a proof). My family experienced this yesterday, where two days prior to arrival, two people tested positive for Covid. Called the hotel immediately twice and were told both times that if we are not OK with the "no refund rule or no date exchange rule" , we should then still come and use the reserved room. Unbelievable! This will be reported to local Health Department (conversation recorded). The person who answered the phone was very rude, unprofessional and said the the hotel is fine if guests come ill because it is anyway busy due to the super bowl weekend in the area.
Of course, my family will not travel as we follow the health and safety regulations, but the hotel should do the same. When asked to talk to manager, another unexperienced and impolite person answered the phone .
Horrible experience and do not recommend this hotel to anyone.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022
1.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from IHG Service, Owner at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Los Angeles Downtown West, an IHG Hotel
Responded 26 Feb 2022
Hi SuzieCW, Thank you for your recent stay and for sharing your feedback. Although we have limited service hospitality, we've set precautions and protocols to keep everyone safe. I am sorry you were not able to visit and had issues surrounding the reservation. We take feedback seriously and would like to gather more details to communicate this with the relevant teams. I sent you a private message and hope you respond soon. We always challenge ourselves to be better and look forward to having the opportunity to restore your confidence. Best Regards, Alice P Case Manager IHGService
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
MisterUserName wrote a review Oct 2022
Atlanta, Georgia2,024 contributions85 helpful votes
+1
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We mostly enjoyed our stay here at the hotel.
Checking in was easy and got a corner room 520. Was offered 500 Welcome Amenity points or free amenities (two drinks and two snacks).
The room and bathroom with separated toilet and shower room were very large, but a bit outdated. A few smudge marks here and there. Large king size bed and soft pillows.
Other than the outside traffic noise, slept pretty good - didn’t hear any of the neighboring rooms.
The gym was very small with the bare minimum - 1 treadmill, 1 elliptical machine, and 1 stationary bike and some dumbbells.
The complimentary breakfast wasn’t bad, much better than other Holiday Inn Express we stayed at.
We requested late check out, 12 pm was fine for us.
The location can be good or bad. Walking distance to Koreatown (1.6 miles away) is good for me and some people might have issues with homeless people.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Request late checkout
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Kimberly D asked a question Jul 2021
Phoenix, Arizona
Are pets allowed
Answer from Manas T
Mumbai, India249 contributions129 helpful votes
Yes they do have...till downtown area...think upto a 2 mile radius...
Nathalia H asked a question Mar 2022
Colombia
Tienen traslado a disneyland?
Answer from agusanch
Mexico City, Mexico225 contributions143 helpful votes
No lo sé. Pregunte directamente en el hotel
Kiwi780601 asked a question Dec 2014
Taipei, Taiwan
Is there any shuttle bus or free service from the airport to here?
YanJing Jiang wrote a tip Mar 2024
Shanghai, China24 contributions66 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Nothing"
Read full review
Becky P wrote a tip Jun 2023
Poole, United Kingdom74 contributions53 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Get an uber or taxi to downtown rather than walk it! "
Read full review
Patti D wrote a tip Mar 2023
Salt Lake City, Utah2 contributions
2.0 of 5 bubbles
"Dont walk down the stairwells and if power goes out no back up plan for lights in rooms or charging your phone. ice machine was down and ele"
Read full review
MisterUserName wrote a tip Oct 2022
Atlanta, Georgia2,024 contributions85 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Request late checkout"
Read full review
HappyInHagerstown wrote a tip Feb 2022
Hagerstown, Maryland221 contributions170 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
"Stay elsewhere"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Los Angeles area.
PRICE RANGE
$333 - $434 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
holiday inn express hotel los angeles, ramada los angeles, los angeles ramada
LOCATION
United StatesCaliforniaLos AngelesCentral L.A
NUMBER OF ROOMS
80
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

HOLIDAY INN EXPRESS & SUITES LOS ANGELES DOWNTOWN WEST, AN IHG HOTEL - Reviews & Price Comparison (CA) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Holiday Inn Express & Suites Los Angeles Downtown West, an IHG Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Holiday Inn Express & Suites Los Angeles Downtown West, an IHG Hotel?
Nearby attractions include The Teragram Ballroom (1.0 km), Hayworth Theatre (0.6 km), and First Congregational Church of Los Angeles (1.2 km).
What are some restaurants close to Holiday Inn Express & Suites Los Angeles Downtown West, an IHG Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Langer's, Pacific Dining Car, and Al Solito Posto.
Are there any historical sites close to Holiday Inn Express & Suites Los Angeles Downtown West, an IHG Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Angels Flight Railway (2.3 km), El Pueblo de Los Angeles (3.1 km), and TCL Chinese Theatres (7.8 km).
All Los Angeles HotelsLos Angeles Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in Los AngelesHotels near Holiday Inn Express & Suites Los Angeles Downtown West, an IHG Hotel
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire