Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

The Kinney Venice Beach

Traveller (595)
Brand New King Room
Room & Suite (190)
The Kinney
Videos (1)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

$528
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

4.5
#39 of 360 hotels in Los Angeles
4.3 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.3 of 5 bubbles
Value
Travellers' Choice
At The Kinney Venice Beach hotel, our house is your house. Let our Venice, LA hotel be your tour guide; your adventure guardian; your party starter; your fun in the California sun. With 68 bold guest rooms and shared spaces, gather your squad and start the party at The Kinney - offering the best of Venice right at your fingertips. Access the latest and greatest attractions at your own pace, and then refresh in The Quad under the LA sun. Channel your inner Forrest for a friendly game of ping pong or spin some records and kick it old school in our lobby lounge. Have you seen our new Venice Beach hotel rooms? They scream attention, too.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Bicycle rental
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Wifi
Hot bath
Pool / beach towels
Outdoor pool
Heated pool
Fence around pool
Outdoor furniture
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Dry cleaning
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Safe
Iron
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Hair dryer
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
3.5 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Family
Green
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish

Location

737 W Washington Blvd Venice Beach, Los Angeles, CA 90292
1,702Review25Q+A100Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 870
  • 622
  • 151
  • 44
  • 15
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Rani J wrote a review Feb 2023
London, United Kingdom4 contributions6 helpful votes
Hotel's Favourite
5.0 of 5 bubbles
The hotel was perfect for our family - a 15 minute drive from LAX and walking distance to the beach, shops and restaurants. The staff at reception were very friendly and helpful, as well as the housekeeping team. Our room was very clean and well maintained. Bath products were lovely! The only thing we were disappointed with was that there was no breakfast available at the hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Edmund Burnette, Owner at The Kinney Venice Beach
Responded 25 Apr 2023
Thank you for taking the time to write a review, we appreciate your feedback. All the staff at the Kinney Look forward to welcome you back.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
mariedda wrote a review Aug 2022
Oakland152 contributions32 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Great little hotel to stay while visiting Venice Beach. Location is good, it is a 15 min walk ( or a bit more)to the beach or Abbot Kinney area, you could always take a under $10 uber. The room and hotel is fun, the bed super confy and although we were looking at court yard, we did not experience much noise ( it was a week day). The suites are great, not huge but nice to have an extra space. The sofa bed in LR is not comfortable because it is your typical pull out couch...
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: August 2022
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Travelling Nell wrote a review Apr 2022
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Stayed at The Kinney for 4 nights and would have stayed longer if it wasn't booked out! The staff are incredible, super friendly and can't do enough to help you out. The hotel is great - lovely, good sized rooms, clean, but also fun and full of character. The decor is unique - a pop art vibe, quirky, which was a great relief after staying in lots of characterless/formulaic places. There's a communal area with a small pool, jacuzzi, table tennis, seating, a bar etc which is well used and makes it feel like a bit of a community. My room was very quiet, I suspect the rooms around the communal courtyard are a little noisier so might be worth checking that when booking, if it's an issue for you. Location worked really well for me, I was very happy to walk to the beach (around 15 mins). Currently no breakfast (Covid), just to be aware.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled on business
Room Tip: Ask about proximity to the pool area/bar if you want a quiet room
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Navigate768459 wrote a review Jan 2020
1 contribution3 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Me and my friends stayed at this hotel for 4 nights and I can start of with that it seemed really nice at first.

Then one day we were going to the beach and came back to a letter on the bed saying we had to pay a smoking-fee since they thought we had been smoking in the room and that one of the housekeepers had seen us smoking in the room and then we told the ”manager” that we had not smoked in the room and wondered how the housekeeping could have seen us smoking in the room when there was sprinklers there and no smell of smoke? And then he just said that the sprinklers was not so good, well that’s safe if the hotel would caught a fire? They also didnt talk with us about this they just left the letter and took the money from my friends bankaccount. And the day we arrived there I asked the frontdesk where the designated smoking area was and they said we could smoke in front of the hotel and I respected that and did so.

The day we checked out we brought up this problem to the ”manager” and they gave us the number and email to the general manager and said we could write or call him/her. Two weeks have passed and we have been trying to call him/her ad email but no answer and we still feel really devastated they took money from us for something we have not done.

And I can also write here that they didnt clean the room thorougly and the bathtub was clogged and the airconditioner was broken and the room all in all were moist. And there was blood stains on my sheets, the pool was dirty and the hotel does not look like in the pictures! It’s a scam. It was awful and we brought all of this to their attention and they were not cooperative and really rude.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from DW-Pacifica, General Manager at The Kinney Venice Beach
Responded 21 Jan 2020
We are very sorry that our smoke free policy caused additional fees during your stay, one reason the air smells so fresh in our guest rooms when you check in, is our smoke free policy. For the benefit of everyone, smoking is not permitted in any of our guest rooms, corridors or in the Quad. We take extreme care and attention to all our guests rooms. Your room was inspected by our housekeeping department and verified by a manager that you were in violation of our policy, as such, the room needed to be placed out of order and additional attention and time was placed to ensure that room was in excellent shape before we could release this room to be sold. There are guests that have a several allergy to smoke, and for this reason, we spend this extra time, as mentioned in my email to you. Kindest, Denise General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Tammy L wrote a review Jul 2022
Washington DC, District of Columbia188 contributions86 helpful votes
+1
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Stayed in room 315 for 4 nights while in LA visiting family. The room was large with a sitting area, separate bedroom and large closet for longer stays. We were able to pre-pay for parking, which is $20 a day/night. Parking was easy, but lot fills at night. If you come back to the hotel later in the evening, it was harder to park. It's about a 20 minute walk to the beach. There were plenty of cool shops and restaurants nearby to either bike, walk or drive to. The hotel does have bikes you can rent for $25 a day. There was a nice inner courtyard with a pool, although we did not have time to use it during our stay. My biggest complaint was the overall cleanliness, we found crushed and some whole cashew nuts all around the floor of our room as well as fingernail clippings on the bathroom counter, side table and soap dish. That grossed us out a little. The hotel staff was very friendly and welcoming.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Pre pay for parking
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Adventure790166 wrote a review Sept 2023
1 contribution
4.0 of 5 bubbles
The Kinney is a breath of fresh air: unpretentious and fairly priced in an extremely inflated market. You can self park for $20/night, a steal compared to $50+ at other places nearby. And it's easy to get your car in and out. Practical. The block itself isn't pretty, but it's a near Abbot Kinney with its great shops and a quick drive to Santa Monica. The structure itself is a fading 60s number, but so are so many buildings in the area, and he decor is playful, with good housekeeping standards and nice staff. Comfortable bed. The Kinney takes care and pride and does what it can to be a good place in spite of its humble core. I respect that.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: September 2023
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Edmund Burnette, Owner at The Kinney Venice Beach
Responded 7 Sept 2023
Adventure790166, Thank you for taking the time to write this review. We appreciate your feedback.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Wrighty0 wrote a review Jan 2023
Yorkshire, United Kingdom515 contributions184 helpful votes
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed at the Kinney for 2 nights, it is as good as it looks on the pictures!
Parking is under the hotel at $20 a night - having travelled from San Fran this was reasonable & easy!

Check in was good, the guy on reception was friendly & welcoming (& never seems to go home!)

We had a suite bedroom with sofa/tv area, bathroom, sink area, wardrobe with safe, iron and hairdryer. There is coffee machine and water on arrival but water wasn’t restocked juts coffee, also a fridge.

The room was clean and cool, we loved the decor and artwork. The whole hotel is very arty and we loved it all! There are table tennis tables, hammocks, small pool and jacuzzi which we went in on an evening.

There is no food at hotel just a coke machine but Noah’s Bagel a few mins drive or 10
min walk and a lovely italian 5 min walk. The marina and Venice canals are close by too.

Really recommend this place as a base and if you have a car it’s 20 mins to Santa Monica, 45 mins to Hollywood Blvd etc.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
tropicalkiwi wrote a review Jul 2021
Los Angeles, California239 contributions203 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
A couple of nights in a reasonably-priced suite did us a solid this time around, would consider a return stay.

Things to like include easy parking and a location within walking distance of beachfront or Abbot Kinney - both about 15 mins away. Plenty of good eating and drinking options nearby, too.

The suite/room was well fitted out, clean and sizable enough. Comfy bed, decent shower.

The property itself is decorated with a lot of flair. A lot of it is a miss (especially the external carpet), but the outdoor spaces provide a nice meeting spot and will be a bit more vibey if/when the bar reopens. We did feel the loss of any onsite food or drink options.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Aaron Rhodes, General Manager at The Kinney Venice Beach
Responded 12 Aug 2021
Thank you for taking the time to complete our survey. Your feedback is essential in our effort to improve our service standards. Your comments have been shared with the appropriate departments so that they may be addressed. We hope to have you as our guest when your travels bring you back to the area!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Erin R wrote a review Aug 2023
Wirral, United Kingdom6 contributions
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
we loved this quirky little place! the beds were so comfy and the room was surprisingly spacious. would definitely this place if you’re looking for a chill vibe. staff at front desk welcomed us and amenities were very clean and varied; there was a small pool, a bar and some hammocks which we loved. stopped off here overnight on our road trip and it’s the perfect distance from both venice beach (at the end of the road, you could probably walk it) and about a 15 minute drive away from santa monica pier. the only downside of this hotel is that you had to pay $20 each night to park your car in the car park however this seems to be the case for many hotels. rooms were close together but couldn’t hear any noise from other people and it felt like our room was very private despite being in the middle of all the action. overall, we loved our stay here and would’ve happily stayed here for longer due to the cleanliness and excitement so would definitely recommend you stay here!!!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2023Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: parking on the street could save you $20 a night to park in the hotels car park.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
aeroandco wrote a review Sept 2023
Los Angeles, California1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
The room at the Kinney was so cute and the bed was SO COMFORTABLE! It's great being right around the corner from Abbot Kinney shopping and restaurants and so close to the beach. There's a liquor store right next door with a great wine selection and we got a room in the back which was so quiet. Would totally stay here again. Every other nice hotel in the area starts at $500 and up so this is a great value for the location and quality of the room.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: September 2023
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Edmund Burnette, Owner at The Kinney Venice Beach
Responded 7 Sept 2023
Aeroandco, Thank you for taking the time to write this review. We appreciate your feedback.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Anne asked a question Jan 2022
Edinburgh, United Kingdom9 contributions13 helpful votes
We've booked a King Suite for 2 adults + 2 children. Is it a sofa bed for the children? Thanks!
Kazza3013 asked a question Feb 2020
Melbourne, Australia96 contributions50 helpful votes
Check in out times
Sandra asked a question Aug 2018
Bendigo, Australia56 contributions9 helpful votes
Does this hotel have laundry facilities? Or anything close by? Thank u
Answer from DW-Pacifica
Irvine, California
Hi Sandra E, Marina del Rey Quality Cleaners is directly across from The Kinney, located at 720 Washington Blvd. The closest coin laundry is about a mile away. Check with reception when you check in, they would be happy to arrange valet laundry service for you during your stay. We look forward to seeing you soon!
Amy O asked a question Nov 2017
San Francisco, California36 contributions31 helpful votes
How close is the hotel to the shopping section of Abbott Kinney? Walking distance? Is there a bar at the hotel?
Answer from HMF1030
Los Angeles, California10 contributions7 helpful votes
The hotel is easy walking distance to the shopping area on Abbot Kinney. There is a byob bar in the patio area that is cool and unique with chaises and a fire pit.
Tameikia asked a question Sept 2017
Kansas City, Kansas10 contributions4 helpful votes
How far is this hotel to venice beach? Is the hotel centrally located by shops, restaurants & bars?
Answer from lezleesuzanne
San Francisco, California4 contributions2 helpful votes
Yes, it is very close to the beach - about 7ish blocks. Yes, it is close to many eating spots and general shopping as well as a movie theater.
Shahfii wrote a tip Nov 2023
Singapore, Singapore152 contributions119 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Opt for any of the King Suites. The price is reasonable, and huge space for family of 3/4."
Read full review
NVLN wrote a tip Oct 2023
Wickford, United Kingdom85 contributions73 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Be aware they charge $5 for the water in the room Go down to the beach for the sunset"
Read full review
Keiko O wrote a tip Sept 2023
12 contributions6 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"The bathtubs are super slippery! Total hazard."
Read full review
Erin R wrote a tip Aug 2023
Wirral, United Kingdom6 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"parking on the street could save you $20 a night to park in the hotels car park."
Read full review
Shannon F wrote a tip Jul 2023
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Definitely stay here. Conveniently located and incredibly clean. "
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Los Angeles area.
PRICE RANGE
$419 - $569 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
best western plus the inn at marina del rey hotel marina del rey, holiday inn marina del rey, marina del rey holiday inn, holiday inn express venice area
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
The Inn at Marina del Rey
LOCATION
United StatesCaliforniaLos AngelesVenice
NUMBER OF ROOMS
68
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

THE KINNEY VENICE BEACH - Hotel Reviews & Price Comparison (Los Angeles, CA) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about The Kinney Venice Beach
Which popular attractions are close to The Kinney Venice Beach?
Nearby attractions include Neolithic Materials (0.4 km), Blick Steel (0.4 km), and Yvonne B Burke Park (0.5 km).
What are some of the property amenities at The Kinney Venice Beach?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and a hot tub.
Which room amenities are available at The Kinney Venice Beach?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at The Kinney Venice Beach?
Guests can enjoy free instant coffee during their stay.
Is parking available at The Kinney Venice Beach?
Yes, parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Kinney Venice Beach?
Conveniently located restaurants include 26 Beach Cafe, C & O Cucina, and Scopa Italian Roots.
Are there opportunities to exercise at The Kinney Venice Beach?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at The Kinney Venice Beach?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Spanish.
Are there any historical sites close to The Kinney Venice Beach?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Annenberg Community Beach House (6.8 km), Los Angeles California Temple (7.3 km), and Shotgun House (3.2 km).
Is The Kinney Venice Beach accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access, reduced mobility rooms, and facilities for disabled guests. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.
All Los Angeles HotelsLos Angeles Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in Los AngelesHotels near The Kinney Venice Beach
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday HomesTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire