Inn by the Sea La Jolla, CA.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Inn by the Sea La Jolla, CA.

Sunset from BW Inn by the Sea Rm #514
Traveller (212)
Panorama at the Inn by the Sea
360
Panoramas (7)
Inn by the Sea
Videos (1)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Did you already book this hotel?

About

4.0
#10 of 20 hotels in La Jolla
4.7 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.2 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.1 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Value
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Welcome to Our Ocean View Hotel in Downtown La Jolla, CA Experience the sand-swept landscapes and inspired Pacific Ocean views of the Inn by the Sea in beautiful La Jolla, CA. Just a few miles north of San Diego, California. Here at our boutique hotel in downtown La Jolla, you'll find lovely guest accommodations, complete with balconies/patios offering coastal breezes and inspired views. Surrounded by beaches, dining options, local culture, and chic boutiques, this Southern California mecca is the premier destination for travelers to the La Jolla and San Diego areas. Take advantage of comfortable, spacious guest accommodations from the hotel that boasts a location in "The Heart of the Village."
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Paid private parking on-site
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Kids stay free
Children's television networks
Taxi service
Baggage storage
Parking
Wifi
Pool / beach towels
Outdoor pool
Heated pool
Fence around pool
Complimentary tea
Vending machine
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Sun deck
Sun loungers / beach chairs
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Room features
Blackout curtains
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Safe
Coffee / tea maker
Refrigerator
Cable / satellite TV
Telephone
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Ocean view
City view
Pool view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
3.5 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
City View
Mid-range
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish

Location

7830 Fay Avenue, La Jolla, San Diego, CA 92037
Getting there
Great for walkers
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 99 out of 100
99
San Diego Intl Airport
14.8 km
See all flights
Carlsbad Airport
30.2 km
See all flights
1,015Review31Q+A100Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 365
  • 380
  • 175
  • 50
  • 45
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
M F wrote a review Aug 2023
Hotel's Favourite
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Inn by the Sea provided great customer service. The Manager was super helpful and accomodating. The rooms were very clean. The general area is safe and its in a great location. I would highly recommended this place for your time in beautiful San Diego.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2023Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Scott Blaul, Owner at Inn by the Sea La Jolla, CA.
Responded 23 Aug 2023
Dear Michele, thank you for your amazing feedback and compliments. It was such a pleasure having you stay with us. It was a pleasure serving you.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Rodd Abad wrote a review Nov 2020
Las Vegas, Nevada
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Everything you would want in a quaint, romantic inn near the beautiful La Jolla Cove. My wife and I had two great nights in the oceanview king room 416. The check in was a breeze and everyone we encountered was friendly and accommodating. Parking was $15 per day and you can actually keep an eye on your car if you park in the rear alley. The location is perfect, walking distance from everything and We didn't use the car once. The room was clean, bed was comfy and there was a mini fridge. What else do you need? We will definitely return.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
HannahB wrote a review Feb 2022
5.0 of 5 bubbles
A super hotel. When you walk down the corridor and every member of staff stays hello and genuinely smiles at you, you know that you feel truly welcomed.
The room was very specious and clean and we were blessed to have a ground floor room by the pool which was fabulous. We loved the pool area (Thank you for the beach balls!) which was very quiet, often we were the only people in it. The guest lounge and toilets by the pool were lovely, with some lovely touches such as fragrance sticks, lovely beachy touches etc. The pool towels were always well stocked, as were the tea/coffee/hot chocolates in the guest lounge.
They offered breakfast delivery from The Cottage, but as a budget conscious family from the UK, we opted walking two minutes across the road to the Brick and Bell ( Highly recommend the granola!)
The beach was only a 5 minute walk away. Super location for the beach, cove, seals, restaurants and access to motorway for SD.
Honestly, we could not have asked any more from this hotel;The friendliest service, warm welcome, clean large room and beautiful pool area.we were told by a local that it has been recently refurbished, our room was perfect.
Ps Thanks for the recycling bins by the pool, we are used to recycling everything, and your hotel was the first we had seen on our trip!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: Ground floor rooms by the pool are lovely
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Jim O'Brien, Guest Services / Front Office at Inn by the Sea La Jolla, CA.
Responded 23 Feb 2022
Thank you so much for all the wonderful comments!!!!! We are very happy that you noticed (and used) the many amenities that we offer. Also we are happy that you loved all the village of La Jolla has to offer and that everything is walking distance. We would love to see you again soon!!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Vera B wrote a review Aug 2021
Tucson, Arizona
2.0 of 5 bubbles
The 2 star rating is based on cosmetic details, but let me tell you why I would stay here again. The location is great for walking around La Jolla. The staff is cheerful and helpful, although they are understaffed, due to Covid. The room had all the needed features, except a microwave. Heavy black out drapes kept the room dark for sleeping. They provided a hair dryer, magnifying makeup mirror, a comfortable bed with lots of pillows and extra blankets, plenty of outlets for charging electronics, good t.v., table and chairs. I did not use the poo;nares, but walked through and it looked nice. There was a balcony from which we could see a sliver of sea and enjoy the sunset sky. So why only 2 stars? Location, while great for accessing LaJolla, is definitely not BY the sea. Very few rooms have actual sea views, and those are over roofs. Carpets were stained both in room and in hall. There was a large patch of some kind in the tub which meant it could only be used for showers. The handles were difficult to work. The microwave brought to the room on request was ancient, dirty and chipped. We were there a week. Because they are currently short staffed, rooms are only cleaned every three days, and then sheets were not changed. The claim that the infrequent cleaning is due to safety concerns is lame. They did not make adjustments like providing extra coffee and shampoo, etc. without asking. However, they supplied extra towels on request. The inattention to details made me concerned about the sanitation of the facility. However, I’m a budget traveler, and if I wanted to stay in La Jolla, this is a less expensive option. However, I probably would opt to stay in another part of San Diego.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: Do not stay on 1st floor unless you want a view of parking and only a few 2nd floor rooms have...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Jim O'Brien, Guest Services / Front Office at Inn by the Sea La Jolla, CA.
Responded 29 Aug 2021
Dear Veramarie, Thank you for taking the time to write you review on your stay! We appreciate your concerns and comments. It was a pleasure having you stay with us. We hope you will give us another try the next time you will be in the area! Thank you
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Sam c wrote a review Jul 2020
1.0 of 5 bubbles
I made a reservation to get away for a nice weekend in July stayed at this property before Was a reasonable rate.
Online I noticed that they were following all CDC guidelines during the COVID-19 pandemic however nothing stated that the room would not be cleaned towels will not be replaced Soap shampoo etc. Horrible!!!! we had to stay in a dirty room for the second and third night, the customer service was absolutely no help horrible experience pass this hotel by!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Scott Blaul, General Manager at Inn by the Sea La Jolla, CA.
Responded 7 Jul 2021
Dear SamcA5734YT, Thank you for taking the time to write your review. I apologize that we fell short of your expectations during your stay. During this pandemic it has been a challenge for both businesses and customers. We did based on the CDC recommendations temporally stopped daily service and implemented a policy to clean rooms for guests staying more that 3 nights every three days for the safety of our guests and our team. This being said we always honored daily service if requested by our guests. We're sorry that we failed to mention this to you when you arrived. We all apologize to you. Thank you again for your feedback, it's very helpful and useful to us. Please stay safe and healthy always. Scott Blaul General manager.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
runawayturtle wrote a review Jul 2020
Austin, Texas
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Booked this hotel for my family for one night. It was a good location and we were looking forward to something a little better than a cheap motel. It was actually way worse. There were no fitted sheets, and the flat sheets covering the mattresses were not even tucked in, they were just laid over top. Only ever saw this done in hotels in third world countries. We found a paper bag for feminine hygieine products (with stuff in it) behind the bathroom door, and there were dirty clothes crumpled on the closet floor. Not only is this disgusting normally... but during times of Covid with extra cleaning measures being needed, it's absolutely unacceptable. Housekeeping obviously didn't even open the closet and that's where the hairdryer is kept, so surely that was not disinfected. I couldn't wait to get out of there. On check out, I mentioned the trash and clothes, and the front desk person simply said ok, she will tell housekeeping. Not even an apology or any concern whatsoever. Outrageous. Gave two stars because they told us where to park free even though they charge $15(?) A night for parking, they had sanitizer available in the public areas, and the location is decent. But would never EVER stay there again! They obviously aren't ensuring the rooms are safely turned over during a global pandemic.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Rachel Pearson wrote a review Nov 2021
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We reserved a courtesy wedding rate for our November wedding in La Jolla and our friends and family absolutely loved this hotel. The hotel gave great rates and went above and beyond making sure our guests were happy. They upgraded my family at no cost, gave free parking for all wedding guests, and it was the best location - everyone was so close to all of our wedding events.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Jim O'Brien, Guest Services / Front Office at Inn by the Sea La Jolla, CA.
Responded 20 Nov 2021
Thank you so much for the nice review!! We love that you loved our hotel for your wedding group! Anne Marie Flores our Sales Director has been in charge of wedding blocks for many years. Congrats and we hope you will return every year. Thanks again!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
David wrote a review Nov 2022
2.0 of 5 bubbles
We are repeat visitors to the Inn by the Sea, we love the location and the friendly staff and can forgive the dated feel.
Our disappointment on this visit relates to the daily servicing of the rooms or lack of it. We stayed there for a week, the room wasn't serviced on the first day and we asked at the front desk. We were advised there are staff shortages (not uncommon) and were advised servicing would be every second day. On the third day we asked again and the room was then serviced, and again on 6th day.
Essentially the hotel doesn't have the staff to service rooms daily and whilst fresh towels and coffee etc were available at the front desk this is not the service we expect at a hotel of this standard. No reduction in rate was offered to recognise the hotels saving in staff costs and had we known in advance we would have stayed elsewhere or rented an apartment where we would expect to service the room ourselves.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Scott Blaul, Owner at Inn by the Sea La Jolla, CA.
Responded 25 Jul 2023
Thank you, there was a lot of confusion around this as you had your "do not disturb" sign on you door and we honored your request. Thank you
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
InThePassengerSeat wrote a review Apr 2022
Annapolis, Maryland
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We were in town for a wedding and they had a room block at the hotel. Our room did not have a view but it was quiet and comfortable. The rooms are dated and there are few amenities (no hair dryer, only one shampoo and conditioner). Due to Covid, they are only cleaning rooms every other day and we still had to ask for someone to come clean on our 3rd day. There is a "guest lounge" downstairs, near the pool, if you want a microwave or vending machines, but there is a small fridge in the room, as well as a small coffee maker. The staff is very friendly and accommodating and always available. Parking is $20 a night (which was discounted to $10) and we never had a problem finding a spot.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Jim O'Brien, Guest Services / Front Office at Inn by the Sea La Jolla, CA.
Responded 21 Apr 2022
Thank you so much for your review. Glad you found your room to be quiet and comfortable. We hope you will visit us again soon! Thank you
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Michelle J F wrote a review Aug 2022
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed 9 nights. It was a family vacation (2 adults 2 teenagers). The room is a typical hotel room with 2 queen beds. We were upgraded to the 5th floor. We had a view of the pool and partial view of the ocean. We enjoyed sitting out on the balcony. This hotel is in a great location - just a block away from the water where you can check out the tide pools, the cliffs, the coves (great snorkeling), the seals and watch the kayaks. I'm so glad I picked this hotel and not one in the city. The employees were very nice. The hotel was very clean. The beds were comfortable. The room was quiet. The neighborhood was quiet. We very much appreciated the coffee station, the filtered water on each floor, the clean pool and sitting area, the AC was quiet and easy to use. I was worried about the washroom from other reviews but it was fine. Not much pressure in the shower and a little dated but it was clean and it worked. I highly recommend this hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: Higher floor rooms have a better view.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Jim O'Brien, Guest Services / Front Office at Inn by the Sea La Jolla, CA.
Responded 9 Aug 2022
Michelle, We really enjoyed having you stay with us. Glad you enjoyed the top floor views from your private balcony! You are right we have a great location. Everything is walking distance. Thank you also for commenting about our clean rooms, quite location, comfortable beds and wonderful staff, clean pool, filtered water and guest coffee lounge. Thank you for highliy recommending Inn by the Sea La Jolla! We hope to be your home away from home again soon!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jane P asked a question Aug 2023
London, United Kingdom
I need to cancel a reservation
Cindy G asked a question Sept 2019
Verona, Canada
how far of a walk is it to the beach?
Answer from Discoverandi
Columbus, Ohio185 contributions59 helpful votes
Hi. The walk is approximately a block away. A very easy walk with little shops and things to see on the way.
serena1905 asked a question Jun 2019
Fortuna, California30 contributions3 helpful votes
Is there a free airport shuttle?
Answer from kmmk608
SW WI7 contributions3 helpful votes
no. you can do Supershuttle, or Uber/Lyft. Or the San Diego transit system (busses) if you like, and have the time. We have done all of them, other than Lyft, with no problems. If you look at Supershuttle online, then leave it, next time you're online you'll have a coupon code in an ad, showing up. Enjoy your trip.
Answer from X31GLDSTR
Lincoln, United Kingdom91 contributions75 helpful votes
Yes
Answer from Sheldon J
La Jolla, California8 contributions
Hello! We left Best Western in December 2015. We are the Inn by the Sea now. We have also been completely remodeled with a lot of new amenities. I hope we see you the next time your travels bring you back to beautiful La Jolla Village...
Wander05625466854 wrote a tip Apr 2024
3 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Reserve a room with balcony and ocean view. "
Read full review
AZ3 wrote a tip Apr 2024
Arizona113 contributions85 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Parking $20 a night."
Read full review
Dionges1 wrote a tip Jul 2023
Los Angeles, California3,098 contributions225 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"No on-site dining--may want to bring snacks, especially if traveling with children."
Read full review
L_K1509 wrote a tip Mar 2023
London, United Kingdom1,630 contribution850 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Ask for a high floor"
Read full review
Chris M wrote a tip Mar 2023
Kamas, Utah5 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Ask for a room with a view or a partial view of the ocean."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the La Jolla area.
PRICE RANGE
$378 - $590 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
best western plus inn by the sea hotel la jolla, best western la jolla, la jolla best western
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn by the Sea
LOCATION
United StatesCaliforniaSan DiegoLa Jolla
NUMBER OF ROOMS
131
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

INN BY THE SEA LA JOLLA, CA. - Hotel Reviews & Price Comparison - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Inn by the Sea La Jolla, CA.
Which popular attractions are close to Inn by the Sea La Jolla, CA.?
Nearby attractions include Children's Pool (0.3 km), Ellen Browning Scripps Park (0.4 km), and Shell Beach Tide Pools (0.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Inn by the Sea La Jolla, CA.?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and kids activities.
Which room amenities are available at Inn by the Sea La Jolla, CA.?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Inn by the Sea La Jolla, CA.?
Guests can enjoy complimentary tea and free instant coffee during their stay.
Is parking available at Inn by the Sea La Jolla, CA.?
Yes, paid private parking on-site is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Inn by the Sea La Jolla, CA.?
Conveniently located restaurants include Bobboi Natural Gelato, The Cottage La Jolla, and Catania.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Inn by the Sea La Jolla, CA.?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Is Inn by the Sea La Jolla, CA. located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.4 km away from the centre of La Jolla.
Are any cleaning services offered at Inn by the Sea La Jolla, CA.?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Inn by the Sea La Jolla, CA.?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Spanish.
Are there any historical sites close to Inn by the Sea La Jolla, CA.?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Mt. Soledad National Veterans Memorial (3.1 km) and Bedrock Mortar (metate Stone) (0.3 km).
All La Jolla HotelsLa Jolla Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in La JollaHotels near Inn by the Sea La Jolla, CA.
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday HomesTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire