We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Renaissance Esmeralda Resort & Spa, Indian Wells

Save
Share
44400 Indian Wells Ln, Indian Wells, Greater Palm Springs, CA 92210
Hotel direct offer!$100 Resort Credit
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Renaissance Hotels
Booking.com
travelup.com
Orbitz.com
View all 18 deals
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (877)
Room & Suite (228)
Pool & Beach (134)
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitised in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
Read more
Updated 16/05/22 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Renaissance Esmeralda Resort & Spa, Indian Wells
Updated 16/05/22 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#3 of 5 hotels in Indian Wells
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
GreenLeaders GreenPartner
Discover the natural beauty of Renaissance Esmeralda Resort & Spa, Indian Wells. Our sophisticated golf and spa hotel resort in Indian Wells, California is a restful sanctuary set against the backdrop of the beautiful Coachella Valley. Ideal for business, leisure, romance, bachelor or bachelorette parties, or family getaways, our hotel offers a luxury lifestyle experience with superb service.
Read more
Property amenities
Electric vehicle charging station
Free internet
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Bicycle rental
Bicycles available
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Valet parking
Paid private parking on-site
Wifi
Paid wifi
Hot bath
Pool / beach towels
Pool with view
Outdoor pool
Heated pool
Yoga classes
Fitness / spa changing rooms
Fitness classes
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Outdoor dining area
Vending machine
Poolside bar
Golf course
Tennis court
Table tennis
Kids club
Kids' outdoor play equipment
Car hire
Taxi service
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Photo copier / fax In business centre
Spa
Body wrap
Facial treatments
Massage
Steam room
Baggage storage
Concierge
Currency exchange
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun umbrellas
ATM on site
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Desk
Housekeeping
Interconnected rooms available
Private balcony
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Sofa bed
Bath / shower
Safe
Seating area
Sofa
Telephone
Bottled water
Iron
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Flatscreen TV
On-demand films
Radio
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Mountain view
Landmark view
Pool view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Mountain View
Languages Spoken
English
Hotel links
Special Offer:$100 Resort Credit

Location

Full view
38Car recommended
Grade: 38 out of 100
13Restaurantswithin 1 km
0Attractionswithin 1 km
Contact
44400 Indian Wells Ln, Indian Wells, Greater Palm Springs, CA 92210
Getting there
Palm Springs Municipal Airport20 kmSee all flights
See all nearby hotels
1444Reviews37Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 611
  • 497
  • 171
  • 92
  • 73
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Epic3333 wrote a review Jun 2022
Laguna Beach, California16 contributions64 helpful votes
I love this hotel and have been attending a convention annually for 30 years here. They recently did a renovation on the property and changed the air conditioning units in the rooms. You can not turn it below 74. I complained that I was sweating at night and 74 is not cool enough. They gave me like a $15.00 target fan to use . I might let it slide at the convention rate I paid, but I would be VERY upset, if I paid the $375 a night advertised price + resort fees.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled with friends
Helpful
Share
Response from Team Marriott, Guest Services / Front Office at Renaissance Esmeralda Resort & Spa, Indian Wells
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear Epic3333, Thank you for staying at our hotel and for sharing your observations. We are grateful for your continued support over the years. We were so glad to read that you enjoyed your time with us. However, we would like to apologize for the issue you encountered with the air conditioning unit. Our rooms are checked on a regular basis by our engineering team, so we will have them address this issue immediately. Thank you for bringing this to our attention, and we are grateful for your patience. We hope to have another opportunity to welcome you back to our hotel. Andrew Paulus, Director of Room Operations
Read more
MrsR wrote a review Jun 2022
5 contributions
Overall this is a very family friendly resort. Everyone here seemed to have small kids under 4 years old. The pool area is very crowded. We could not find any lounge chairs, despite most of the chairs being "claimed" but not necessarily actively being used. The lounge chairs are very close to each other, hardly any space to walk in the pool area. Also found it very weird that all the lounge chairs had this VIP placard on them. Most guests were perplexed and confused with this. Since the pool is the main attraction to even visiting the resort, I think they should really work on making it more pleasant experience. The pool area had some trash here and there and should be more regularly cleaned. At other resorts I've noticed staff disinfecting lounge chairs THROUGHOUT the day, but not here. You can also order drinks from the pool bar which was nice. We didn't order any food off the pool menu but they did sell food too. The rest of resort was top-notch. The rooms are modern and renovated. The Cava Restaurant onsite was excellent for both dinner and breakfast. Really top-notch service and delicious meals. All the staff throughout our stay was excellent. Parking is $18 per night, plus about $40 in resort fee.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Team Marriott, Guest Services / Front Office at Renaissance Esmeralda Resort & Spa, Indian Wells
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear roxyl2016, Thank you for choosing to stay at our hotel. We are glad to know you were pleased with our modern accommodations and outstanding service and that you could take advantage of being able to dine in our hotel restaurant, CAVA. However, we apologize for the frustration you experienced at our pool. We are grateful for your patience and are pleased you left the hotel with an overall good impression. Thank you again for your feedback, and we hope you will give us another opportunity to host you again. Andrew Paulus Director of Room Operations
Read more
On_The_Roam_55 wrote a review Jun 2022
Denver, Colorado82 contributions60 helpful votes
I chose this hotel because it seemed to be upgraded compared to the JW. Although the rooms are "new", the quality is poor. The pool, if you can secure a lounge chair, offer good shade. However, we ran into a group from the JW and realized our mistake after it was too late. I'll echo the complaints of the other reviews: it is not a luxury hotel, the food is overpriced and mediocre, and the entire stay felt like a waste of time and money. If I could go back with this knowledge before I booked the hotel, I would stay somewhere else.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022
Value
Rooms
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Team Marriott, Guest Services / Front Office at Renaissance Esmeralda Resort & Spa, Indian Wells
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear On_The_Roam_55, Thank you for your visit to our hotel. We are committed to offering every one of our guests an exceptional stay; therefore, we regret not meeting your expectations. We are always looking for ways we can improve, and we will take your feedback into account. Thank you again for choosing us, and we hope to have the opportunity to make a much better impression on a future stay. Andrew Paulus Director of Room Operations
Read more
Foufikins wrote a review Apr 2022
New York City, New York85 contributions44 helpful votes
The hotel is decent and the rooms are newly renovated; however, this is my no means a luxury hotel. It’s a 3.5 star hotel trying to dress itself up as a five-star hotel.The service at all the restaurants is exceptionally slow and the food quality is mediocre at best. The resort fee is steep given that the kids club and spa were closed, and there really is nowhere great to bike with the complementary bicycles. The pool area is nice but you’re forced to pay for a deck chair if you want to watch your small children at the beach area. The Cava buffet breakfast is the best thing there but it’s quite expensive at $31 US. It is $10 for children which is a good deal for them. Overall, the service is OK but there is no one offering cleaning or turn down services in the rooms and most of the resort features you have to find out by yourself. I wouldn’t pay $1000 a night for a room here – better off using Bonvoy free night stay instead.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Despite the large number of children there is no kids club available during the week which is a...
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Team Marriott, Guest Services / Front Office at Renaissance Esmeralda Resort & Spa, Indian Wells
Responded 22 Apr 2022
Dear Foufikins, Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your visit. We are happy your overall stay was good, but we want it to be perfect. We always want to exceed our guests' expectations, and we genuinely apologize for not doing so during your time with us. We are disappointed that we did not meet all of your expectations. Thank you for sharing your concerns about not being able to make good use of the offered benefits with our destination fee. We will share your feedback with our team as we are committed to providing the best experience for our guests. As with most cities, certain times of the year are busier and command higher rates; however, we make every effort to be priced competitively. Thank you for choosing our hotel, and we hope you will give us another opportunity to welcome you for the perfect stay you deserve. Andrew Paulus Director of Room Operations
Read more
barrymdmsc wrote a review Apr 2022
Brooklyn, New York27 contributions4 helpful votes
The hotel is a little dated in public spaces but rooms have been recently renovated. But the value is terrible. It was extremely expensive and there wasn't much in the way of amenities other than the pool, jacuzzi, and a few ping pong and foosball tables. And they charge a resort fee. And they made it seem like they were doing me a favor when they "allowed" us to continue using the pool for the day after we checked out -- have never run into that at a resort in my life. But by far the biggest issue was the pool. There are NO LIFEGUARDS. And this is despite having an entire little beach area and shallow pool area that is clearly designated as being for children. I was absolutely shocked that there wasn't a single lifeguard, and I felt like I couldn't relax the entire time while we were there as I was too laser-focused on making sure my two kids (ages 2 and 5) were okay. Also, in the area for kids, there are maybe 30 lounge chairs that parents can sit in and watch their kids, but about half of them are "reserved" and cost $50 to reserve two chairs for the day, and $100 on the weekend. All the others were taken, so we had to sit elsewhere away from the kids area. And nobody sat in those reserved seats for the whole day! $500+ per night, plus a resort fee, plus another $50-100 per day for chairs for the privilege of being able to actually sit down while watching our kids like hawks in a pool with no lifeguards. No thanks.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Team Marriott, Guest Services / Front Office at Renaissance Esmeralda Resort & Spa, Indian Wells
Responded 24 Apr 2022
Dear barrymdmsc, Thank you for your valuable feedback. We are very sorry for disappointing you and regret you felt we did not provide the value you were hoping for. We also truly apologize for not meeting your expectations in the children's area and for the observations you shared about our pool. We are grateful for your comments as the safety of our guests is our utmost priority. We appreciate your patience and hope you and your family will give us another chance to regain your trust. Andrew Paulus, Director of Room Operations
Read more
zimb0man wrote a review Apr 2022
San Diego, California5 contributions3 helpful votes
Was there for the BNP Paribas Open. Nice hotel, lots of space, great pool and short drive to the tennis. Great walks early in the morning around the hotel and on the next door golf course. They were installing paid parking gates whilst there which is disappointing.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Team Marriott, Guest Services / Front Office at Renaissance Esmeralda Resort & Spa, Indian Wells
Responded 7 Apr 2022
Dear zimb0man, Thank you for your review of Renaissance Esmeralda Resort & Spa, Indian Wells. We are happy to know you loved our elegant property and prime location, as well as our beautiful pool. We appreciate your feedback, and we hope to see you again on your future visit to the area. Andrew Paulus Director of Room Operations
Read more
katie j wrote a review Apr 2022
1 contribution
We booked a weekend stay here to celebrate my husbands birthday. I called and spoke with the Restaurant and Operations Manager Josh H who helped me put together a beautiful surprise for my husband In the hotel room. As we walked in the room- it was set up with a bottle of champagne with two glasses, balloons, creme brûlée dessert (his favorite!) with berries, chocolate chip cookie and “happy birthday” written on the dessert. It was so perfect and my husband loved it. When we arrived Josh had reserved two spots by the pool and close to the beach which was perfect for our 14 month old. He also helped me reserve an outdoor dinner reservation with a birthday celebratory cake :) the entire weekend was absolutely perfect and we had the best stay. He helped make this birthday trip something to remember. The entire staff was incredible, friendly and had excellent customer service. Bringing cold water, yummy food and drinks. We will definitely be back to have another family weekend getaway- enjoying more piñas poolside! This is a must stay. Thank you Josh H and staff!!
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022
Value
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Team Marriott, Guest Services / Front Office at Renaissance Esmeralda Resort & Spa, Indian Wells
Responded 6 Apr 2022
Dear Ktsunni555, Thank you so much for choosing the Renaissance Esmeralda Resort & Spa, Indian Wells for your weekend stay and for making us a part of your husband's birthday celebrations. We are delighted to read your flattering compliments about our hospitality, and the outstanding service you received from Josh along with the extra touches he provided, which added wonderful memories to your husband's special day. We are blessed to have a dedicated team of professionals like him, who go above and beyond to ensure every guest has an outstanding experience. Your special recognition will surely make his day. It was our pleasure to host you and your family, and we cannot wait to see you again on your next vacation. Andrew Paulus Director of Room Operations
Read more
chasg06 wrote a review Mar 2022
Newbern, Tennessee37 contributions47 helpful votes
+1
Amazing resort with beautiful views all around. Pool area is very resort feel with great service and friendly staff. We loved our stay here . Plenty of places to relax and rest. Also activities if you’d like. Our kids loved the ping pong tables and tennis and basketball. Ask front desk for balls. Pool staff also very helpful with kids toys and floats. Alex at bar super friendly and made a very great margarita! Ask hotel about &20 a night food/beverage credit. We loved cava for a quick bite try the kids pizza!
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from Team Marriott, Guest Services / Front Office at Renaissance Esmeralda Resort & Spa, Indian Wells
Responded 2 Apr 2022
Dear chasg06, Thank you for being our guest and for writing such a great review! We are delighted that our service and property exceeded your expectations and that you loved our amazing views as well as spending time at our beautiful pool. We hope that your great experience will bring you back to enjoy more of what we have to offer. Thank you again for choosing the Renaissance Esmeralda Resort & Spa, Indian Wells. Andrew Paulus Director of Room Operations
Read more
suzygrand wrote a review Mar 2022
Glen Allen, Virginia78 contributions28 helpful votes
+1
I originally booked 3 nights in a 2-queen room at the Renaissance Esmeralda Indian Wells using 60,000 Marriott points per night. If paid in cash, this room would have cost over $800/night. Thanks to my lifetime Marriott platinum status and 3 suite upgrade awards in my Marriott account, my sister and I were upgraded to an executive platinum suite, which is normally $1034/night this time of year. Free continental breakfast and late checkout also came as perks of platinum status. There are multiple reasons I loved this hotel, including: - Famous international tennis stars stayed there, including Iga Swiatek, Carlos Alcaraz, Matteo Berrertini, and Jannik Sinner. We ran into these stars everywhere on the property from the lobby to the breakfast buffet to the elevators. - The huge pool area seemed relatively uncrowded because almost everyone is at the BNP Paribas Open or playing golf. There are some wonderful features to this pool, such as abundant lounge chairs, a small sandy beach in front of the zero entry section of the pool (great for kids), and the ability to stand in the pool with our drinks and watch the tennis tournament on the pool bar TV’s. - Even though I hate resort fees with a passion, the $36 daily resort fee came with a $20 credit daily towards food/drink purchases on property. We typically used this to pay a $10 upcharge to get the hot buffet breakfast at the Cava Restaurant rather than the continental breakfast. I savored those egg frittatas, and Belgian waffles! The resort fee also covers parking, wireless internet, use of tennis courts and gym, and free bicycle use for guests. - The ambiance in the sub-lobby of the hotel (referred to as “The Place”) is part sports bar, part cocktail lounge, and part sushi restaurant. It is a great space to relax and enjoy a glass of wine, a dessert, or a salmon roll while watching the tournament on the big screen. On weekend nights, there is also live music in the sub-lobby, which we could hear from our room on the fifth floor. However the music was usually over by 9 PM. - The fitness room on property is huge and well-equipped with cardio and strength training equipment, including 2 Peloton bikes, kettlebells, and TRX bands. We tried it out one afternoon and found it almost empty. For those who enjoy yoga, there are free yoga classes in a scenic portion of the property called The Olive Grove. - There are free shuttles to and from the Indian Wells tennis tournament that pick up right in front of the lobby. If you preferred to walk to the tournament, it takes 40 minutes from the Renaissance. - There is a coffeehouse/sandwich bar called Cafe Biscotti in the lobby where I could apply the $20 daily credit from the resort fee. Before boarding the shuttle to the tournament, I would treat myself to a tasty gelato or caramel cappuccino that always hit the spot. - Plenty of fun daytrips are near the hotel, including hiking in Joshua Tree National Park, food tours in the neighboring town of Palm Desert, cycling trips in Earthquake Canyon, and architectural tours in Palm Springs. The only negative with the Renaissance, aside from the resort fee, was the fact that it only had 2 tennis courts, which were first-come, first-serve. My sister and I were lucky enough to find an open court one morning and play a set, but there were many guests with racquets in hand unable to play because the courts were already occupied. Fortunately, I was able to play for free at the JW Marriott Desert Springs Resort (ten minutes away) since a tennis buddy that I met in Maui last December invited me to hit on the courts there with him. I truly was in tennis heaven staying at this hotel for the tournament And can’t wait to return next year.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022Trip type: Travelled with friends
Helpful
Share
Response from Team Marriott, Guest Services / Front Office at Renaissance Esmeralda Resort & Spa, Indian Wells
Responded 26 Mar 2022
Dear suzygrand, It is delightful to read your detailed review about your recent vacation at Renaissance Esmeralda Resort & Spa, Indian Wells. We are glad you enjoyed your time here, and you were able to take advantage of the many amenities we offer. It is great to learn when a guest loves everything we have to offer, and we loved your comments about our thoughtful amenities. We also appreciate your feedback regarding the things you would change. It is always a joy to hear our guests are excited about returning; we are looking forward to it. Andrew Paulus Director of Room Operations
Read more
Jr wrote a review Mar 2022
3 contributions
We had an amazing stay at the Renaissance Esmeralda Resort & Spa. The property was wonderful - great pool area, golf course, tennis courts and bar area. Our room was clean and spacious. All staff were friendly and provided great service. A big shout out to Dean at the Valet station - he provided excellent service! Our primary purpose was to attend the Indian Well Tennis tournament - the hotel provided shuttle service to the tournament event everyday which was very convenient. Thanks for a great stay!
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022
Rooms
Location
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Team Marriott, Guest Services / Front Office at Renaissance Esmeralda Resort & Spa, Indian Wells
Responded 24 Mar 2022
Dear 786josier, Thank you for the generous rating of the Renaissance Esmeralda Resort & Spa, Indian Wells. We are delighted you enjoyed everything our hotel offers, including our great staff, location, amenities. We love hearing how much you enjoyed our devoted staff, particularly Dean from our valet team. We hope you will come back to see us soon! Andrew Paulus Director of Room Operations
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$265 - US$379 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
renaissance esmeralda hotel indian wells, renaissance esmeralda resort and spa, renaissance indian wells, indian wells renaissance
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Renaissance Esmeralda Indian Wells Resort & Spa
LOCATION
United StatesCaliforniaCalifornia DesertGreater Palm SpringsIndian Wells
NUMBER OF ROOMS
560
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Renaissance Esmeralda Resort & Spa, Indian Wells
Which popular attractions are close to Renaissance Esmeralda Resort & Spa, Indian Wells?
Nearby attractions include Eisenhower Walk of Honor (1.1 km) and City Hall (1.1 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Renaissance Esmeralda Resort & Spa, Indian Wells?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a pool, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at Renaissance Esmeralda Resort & Spa, Indian Wells?
Top room amenities include a flat screen TV, a desk, and a view of a nearby landmark.
What food & drink options are available at Renaissance Esmeralda Resort & Spa, Indian Wells?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and a poolside bar during their stay.
Is parking available at Renaissance Esmeralda Resort & Spa, Indian Wells?
Yes, paid private parking on-site and valet parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Renaissance Esmeralda Resort & Spa, Indian Wells?
Conveniently located restaurants include Lantana, Vue Grille and Bar, and Agave Sunset.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Renaissance Esmeralda Resort & Spa, Indian Wells?
Yes, guests have access to a pool, a fitness centre, and fitness classes during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Renaissance Esmeralda Resort & Spa, Indian Wells?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Renaissance Esmeralda Resort & Spa, Indian Wells offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers meeting rooms, a banquet room, and conference facilities.
Are there any historical sites close to Renaissance Esmeralda Resort & Spa, Indian Wells?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Sunnylands Center & Gardens (9.9 km) and Coachella Valley History Museum (9.5 km).