We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
445 Lake Benbow Dr, Garberville, CA 95542-3616
2 people are viewing this hotel
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Expedia.comUS$370
TravelocityUS$370
Hotels.comUS$370
PricelineUS$347
Agoda.comUS$347
Trip.comUS$370
View all 17 deals
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (668)
Room & Suite (189)
Dining (97)
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.

About

#1 of 5 hotels in Garberville
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Opened in 1926, Benbow is a magnificent country inn that will transport you into an era from long ago. Fine dining options are offered for breakfast, lunch, and dinner in on-site restaurant and lounge which features a robust wine list. As a member of Historic Hotels of America and on the National Register of Historic Places the Benbow has kept it's grandeur while adding modern amenities such as climate control hotel wide, ADA accessible rooms, five stop elevator. Amenities include daily tea & scones, in room sherry & coffee, complimentary bicycles, seasonal pool & Jacuzzi, splash park, playground, meeting spaces, wedding venues, hiking & biking trails abound. Located on the Eel River near the entrance to the Avenue of the Giants. A must see at the Benbow Exit 636 off US Highway 101. When available two pets are allowed in designated rooms with a $30 pet fee per visit.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Bar / lounge
Bicycle rental
Game room
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Conference facilities
Electric vehicle charging station
Parking
Wifi
Outdoor pool
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Kids' meals
Outdoor dining area
Wine / champagne
Golf course
Patio
Walking tours
Board games / puzzles
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Convenience store
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor fireplace
Outdoor furniture
Shared lounge / TV area
Sun terrace
24-hour front desk
Show more
Room features
Bathrobes
Air conditioning
Desk
Fireplace
Housekeeping
Coffee / tea maker
Sofa bed
Walk-in shower
Private balcony
Seating area
Sofa
Telephone
Bottled water
Clothes rack
Iron
Private bathrooms
Tile / marble floor
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Mountain view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Romantic
Languages Spoken
English
963Reviews11Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 523
  • 245
  • 101
  • 61
  • 33
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Ritz46 wrote a review 13 Aug
San Francisco, California72 contributions29 helpful votes
Hotel is historic and a bit quirky. Rooms are just ok and there is a lot of older issues that need to be addressed. Seemed very concerned with watering lawns and gardens but inside no concern. Sheets were not fitted and were WELL beyond the point of being used. Threadbare and loaded with nasty roughness from overuse. The included "breakfast'" was a disgrace. Some horrid boxed awful looking stuff. Seriously, any mid priced hotel has much better and this food was just beyond belief. With a full kitchen what is the problem with a hot sit down breakfast. To be avoided. Bathrooms from the 1950's
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: How to choose a good room, go elsewhere!!
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
samkat59 wrote a review 11 Aug
San Ramon, California34 contributions3 helpful votes
It’s more of a 3.5 over all and a 4.5 for the restaurant/bar. It needs some upkeep. Paint on outside mostly. It’s a bit expensive for what you get. It’s charming and historic but not awe inspiring. The swimming pool you see in the picture is at the KOA next door, not convenient if you want the pool. It sits on a river and is very pretty. Our room did not have a TV so check when making a reservation. The breakfast was much better than most included ones. The food was great, the drinks were well made and it was very relaxing outside of the occasional motorcycle going up 101.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Make sure you have a TV if you are expecting one.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Michele B wrote a review 5 Aug
Miranda, California5 contributions1 helpful vote
A group of local friends & myself met for dinner. We were so impressed with our dinner and service. One of our favorite dishes this evening was a local caught rock cod dish. We were all like WOW! Three different tastings of this delicious fish. It was enjoyed by all and we couldn’t stop talking about it. And then the three desserts we shared we fun and delicious! This chef has it going on! Take the time to have a meal here and enjoy the live music on the patio!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Guest Services Manager, Owner at Benbow Historic Inn
Responded 1 week ago
Thank you for your amazing review! We are thrilled you had an excellent dinner. We will be sur to pass along your comments to our chef! We hope to welcome you back again soon.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Larry C wrote a review Jul 2022
USA447 contributions718 helpful votes
Very nice place filled with history. Built in the 1920's, the halls are filled with photos and art from over the years. Even a photo of Clark Gable flying in to stay. The grounds are truly remarkable and the staff is even better. Room very comfortable and why anyone would stay anywhere else while traveling thru here makes no sense to me. The price is not that much more than a 1 star hotel along the Famous Route 101 Coastal Scenic Highway. Everything on this Scenic Route is expensive. So why not stay here in luxury for a little more and enjoy the finer things in life?
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Guest Services Manager, Owner at Benbow Historic Inn
Responded 2 weeks ago
Wow! Thank you for your excellent review. We are thrilled you had an excellent stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back again.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Lmac wrote a review Jul 2022
St. Thomas2 contributions
I can not recommend this hotel after the experience we had with them. We arrived and checked in but when we entered our room it was extremely hot. The air had not been turned down prior to our arrival. We turned down the air temperature and waited a while for it to get cool. When it didn’t, we attempted to close all the blinds. One was broken and would not close so we had bright sunshine pouring into an already hot room. We called the front desk and they sent maintenance, but they could not close it either. We were move to another room. Again, the room was stifling hot. We lowered the temperature and waited. After an hour it had dropped a single degree….from 79 to 78. The room was very expensive and we expected an experience well above what we were getting. We called the front desk again and their solution was to open the windows and use the fan in the closet! I could not believe they actually said that. So, we decided to leave and stayed at a nearby hotel. We received a refund after a month of inquiries. I DO NOT recommend this hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
EJ wrote a review Jul 2022
San Francisco, California21 contributions10 helpful votes
We stayed in one of the updated rooms which was very nicely decorated. The bathroom was huge with a claw foot tub and separate shower. I loved the welcome sherry in the decanter. Air conditioning was also a plus. The only downside was when we were eating dinner on the terrace outside, we were literally swarmed by bees. We had to cut our dinner short because there didn’t seem to be a way to get rid of them. Hopefully staff can sort this issue out soon.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
Location
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Guest Services Manager, Owner at Benbow Historic Inn
Responded 2 weeks ago
Thank you for your comments, we appreciate your feedback and will pass them along to our staff. We hope to welcome you back again to the Benbow soon.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Michael S wrote a review Jul 2022
3 contributions2 helpful votes
This is my 2nd Stay at Benbow Inn, everything was EXCELLENT from check in to check out, my stay was in the Queen Terrace Petite Room with private Terrace, was a most comfortable stay 7/4 to 7/5/22. From the Front Desk Staff, Housekeeping Staff, to the entire Restaurant Crew on 7/4 with a Chef's choice BBQ meal to celebrate the holiday event, things were as expected from previous stay 9/21, Five Stars ***** This place is OUTSTANDING in all aspects of guest hospitality and immaculate property. I am so looking forward to my next stay, September for my Birthday a big shout out and thank you to Melinda Tovar, Guest Services Manager for making the arrangements for my next stay ! If anybody drives North or South on 101, if you want a 5 Star resort hotel to stay at, then I recommend this one.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: River and Mountain views all around this property, including a wonderful grass lawn which the...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Guest Services Manager, Owner at Benbow Historic Inn
Responded 11 Jul 2022
Thank you for your beautiful review and recomendation. We are delighted to know you had an excellent stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back again for your birthday celebration in September! We will be sure to pass along your kind words to Melinda.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Susie M wrote a review Jun 2022
61 contributions36 helpful votes
We have been to Benbow many times. We have stayed at the Inn several times. This time we stayed at a state park in our van and went there for dinner. In short, the food here is amazingly sophisticated and delicious. I had the charcuterie plate and my husband had a tabouli salad. We ate in the bar rather than the dining room as we wanted to watch the Warriors basketball game on tv. The bar was quite busy and very very noisy. Seems every year for the last 40 some years, and large group of Harley riders come to Garberville and stay at the Benbow. They finally all were seated for dinner outside and the room at last was quiet. But the servers were a bit overworked. So our service was uneven, and the atmosphere most definitely rowdy. The Benbow Inn and restaurant are nice. Just be sure and not go when all the bikers are there.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Guest Services Manager, Owner at Benbow Historic Inn
Responded 28 Jun 2022
Thank you 636susiem for your review. You are correct, we do have a group that has stayed with us every year for many years. It seems you may have joined us on the same day. We apologize your service was uneven, we always strive to provide excellent service to all of our customers. We are grateful for your loyalty and hope to welcome you back again soon. Benbow Historic Inn
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
mamadivesdeep wrote a review Jun 2022
Mount Dora, Florida5 contributions
Quaint historic hotel needing cosmetic attention. Our room was very musty, cob webs and broken window. Bathroom is extra tiny! We ate in their restaurant using the outside veranda. It was very nice, but lacked ambiance. The table of drunks shouting profanity overshadowed any pleasant conversation at our table.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Patti N wrote a review May 2022
1 contribution
Our Annual Staff Retreat could not have turned out better! Benbow Inn catered all of our delicious meals and the food and service were spectacular! We had a tea party and "sketch and sip" for lunch on the grass and it felt like we were in Europe! The presentation on the buffet table was as beautiful as it was delicious. Delila, our party planner, was so extremely helpful in making all of our visions for this retreat come true. If you are planning an event I would highly recommend Benbow Inn.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Guest Services Manager, Owner at Benbow Historic Inn
Responded 28 Jun 2022
Dear Pattioohoh, We are thrilled your Annual Staff Retreat was a success. It was such a pleasure to host! We hope to welcome you back again soon. Kindly, Benbow Historic Inn
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$312 - US$404 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
benbow inn
LOCATION
United StatesCaliforniaHumboldt CountyGarberville
NUMBER OF ROOMS
65
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Benbow Historic Inn
Which popular attractions are close to Benbow Historic Inn?
Nearby attractions include Richardson Grove State Park (5.3 km), Legend of Big Foot (3.7 km), and Blue Moon Gift Shop (3.6 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Benbow Historic Inn?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Benbow Historic Inn?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a desk, and a fireplace.
What food & drink options are available at Benbow Historic Inn?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Benbow Historic Inn?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Benbow Historic Inn?
Conveniently located restaurants include Cecil's New Orleans Bistro, Benbow Inn Restaurant, and Woodrose Cafe.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Benbow Historic Inn?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Are pets allowed at Benbow Historic Inn?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Benbow Historic Inn offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers meeting rooms, a banquet room, and conference facilities.
Does Benbow Historic Inn have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the river view available here.
Is Benbow Historic Inn accessible?
Yes, it offers reduced mobility rooms. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.