We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Safari Inn, a Coast Hotel

avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (233)
360
Panoramas (28)
Videos (1)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#4 of 21 hotels in Burbank
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
GreenLeaders Bronze level
The Safari Inn is one of Burbank’s best kept historical landmarks—a wonderful blend of old Hollywood charm and modern amenities. We’re located right by both Universal and Warner Brothers Studios, and our complimentary shuttle will whisk you to the lots, whether you’re visiting on business or catching a taping of Ellen or any number of shows.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Free shuttle or taxi services
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
Parking
Wifi
Outdoor pool
Heated pool
Fence around pool
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Self-serve laundry
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Room service
Telephone
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Pool view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Family
Centrally Located
Languages Spoken
English
1,116Review29Q+A100Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 581
  • 320
  • 106
  • 45
  • 64
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
Kelli Jo M wrote a review 7 Apr
1 contribution
Family was charged saying there was a stain in the sheets they didn't put there. They also didn't refund the full $250 deposit hold on top of the charge for the sheets. Didn't give any explanation of why the extra charges were put on the stay. A lot of hidden fees.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2024Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Take photos of your room at arrival and upon leaving to show proof there was nothing wrong that...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Safari Inn, Owner at Safari Inn, a Coast Hotel
Responded 6 days ago
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We sincerely apologize for any inconvenience you experienced regarding the charges applied to your stay. Please know, the $250 is a standard security deposit held to cover potential incidents. Unfortunately, during your visit, we found the sheets to be stained beyond repair, not once, but twice, despite our efforts to treat and clean them. These were exceptional circumstances that necessitated additional charges. We strive for transparency with all our guests, so if there has been any confusion about the extra charges, we are more than willing to provide a detailed explanation. Our goal is always to ensure a clear understanding of any fees incurred. We value your patronage and would welcome the opportunity to discuss this matter further to reach an amicable resolution. Please feel free to contact us directly.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Greg C wrote a review Aug 2022
3 contributions3 helpful votes
Hotel's Favourite
What a pleasant surprise. The Hotel is straight from the 1950's with just enough updates to make the stay enjoyable. Very clean, safe area, and nice staff. It's not the Four Seasons, but it is very close to everything and easy in-out. Loved it!
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Coast Hotels
Date of stay: August 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Safari Inn, Owner at Safari Inn, a Coast Hotel
Responded 18 Aug 2022
Thank you for taking the time to share your review, we appreciate it!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Krissa A wrote a review Mar 2024
1 contribution
Long story short - I booked a room large enough to accommodate my party directly through Coast Hotels. When I arrived, I was charged a large fee to be “upgraded” to the room I had already booked. They insist it would be “unfair” to give me the room I booked at the price I was promised. When I called coast hotels back in February to book 2 rooms for 2 nights for 3 adults and 3 kids (all under age 6), I didn’t anticipate the bait and switch scam that was about to take place. The gentleman at coast hotels I spoke with about booking suggested that I book a larger room at a higher price to ultimately save money and we could all stay together. I appreciated his help and agreed, thinking he was truly looking out for my financial interest. When we arrived at the safari inn, the gentleman at the front desk explained that they were only expecting 2 adults and 2 children and that the room they had us in could not accommodate us. I was surprised and confused by this, considering the gentleman I spoke with nearly 8 weeks prior had assured me he had booked us all in a room large enough to accommodate us. When I explained the situation, the gentleman at the front desk seemed largely unsympathetic, and, rather than offering solutions, just reiterated that we could not stay in that room (which I was not trying to do myself). I took it upon myself to problem solve and asked if there was a room that could accommodate us. He said yes, and went on to describe the exact room that the booking agent had claimed to have booked for me. He said he could move us there, but for a significant up charge. Now at this point, I’m still trying my best to give them the benefit of the doubt. Maybe the booking agent simply clicked the wrong room. Mistakes happen, although in this instance I was not the one who made it. My mistake ended up being giving them the benefit of the doubt. I reached out to customer service and explained what happened after the fact, thinking surely they will refund me the charge, surely they will want to make this right. Nope. They refused the refund, and simply left me with the assurance that they will be nicer to the next person they scam. Don’t let that be you!
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
SJ wrote a review Dec 2023
Manchester, United Kingdom124 contributions82 helpful votes
Awesome hotel. 3* with mainly 5* service. Check in was easy and reception lady was lovely, managed to book a same day shuttle to Warner brothers. Driver was super friendly and came to pick us up later. Room was lovely and well stocked. Only slight annoyance was make receptionist ringing at 5.45 to remind us we were on the shuttle T 6am and to see where we were! We said we were getting ready and he called back at 5.50am to chase us again. I told him we were booked on the 6am and he said not to be late as it would leave without us. We got there at 5.55 and then had to wait ten mins for another guest and the driver was super grumpy. It was very unnecessary. Thankfully we got picked up by a different driver who was lovely.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2023Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Safari Inn, Owner at Safari Inn, a Coast Hotel
Responded 27 Dec 2023
Thank you for your wonderful 5/5 review! We're thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay and experienced 5-star service throughout your time with us. We truly appreciate your feedback and will address the shuttle timing issue to ensure a smoother experience for our guests in the future. We look forward to welcoming you back for another fantastic stay!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
3 Weary Aussies wrote a review Nov 2023
Bairnsdale, Australia8 contributions
Felt like a trip back in time in a comfortable/nostalgic atmosphere All staff were friendly/helpful/knowledgeable Close to Universal Studios and Warner Bros Studios 3 Weary Aussies were very impressed
Read more
Date of stay: November 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Short walk to Olive's Bistro. Meals are delicious & affordable. Not hungry? Spend some quality...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Safari Inn, Owner at Safari Inn, a Coast Hotel
Responded 1 Dec 2023
Thank you for the wonderful review! We're thrilled to hear that you enjoyed the nostalgic atmosphere and that our friendly and knowlegeable staff mde your stay memorable. Thank you for choosing to stay with us, and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back for another memorable experience soon!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Mart wrote a review Nov 2023
2 contributions2 helpful votes
This is an iconic and great place to stay if you are planning to go to universal city or nearby places in Burbank. Parking was plenty. Room was clean and spacious. Lots of places to eat within the area. What stands out the is the great customer service of Ms. Larissa Kaibigan. Gave us an early check in when we really needed it the most. Kudos to her and we hope she gets promoted. Overall, we would love to comeback!
Read more
Date of stay: November 2023Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Safari Inn, Owner at Safari Inn, a Coast Hotel
Responded 28 Nov 2023
Thank you for giving us a perfect rating, we're glad you enjoyed yur stay with us. We are delighted that Larissa was able to make your accomodation more pleasing. We love to welcome yo back soon!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Julie W wrote a review Nov 2023
13 contributions1 helpful vote
The hotel accommodations were excellent. The rooms were clean and spacious. The hotel staff were all very friendly. They were quick to respond to questions we had before our trip and were helpful during the stay. The van shuttle to Universal Studios was great and very punctual. Thank you for the wonderful stay!
Read more
Date of stay: November 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Book your shuttle reservation as soon as possible before your trip.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Safari Inn, Owner at Safari Inn, a Coast Hotel
Responded 13 Nov 2023
Thank you for your perfect rating and recommmending our hotel. All our staff enjoyed catering to you needs as much as you enjoyed your stay. Looking forward welcoming you back!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Chopper833 wrote a review Nov 2023
Nottingham, United Kingdom153 contributions39 helpful votes
+1
Pros: Friendly staff who were very welcoming and always happy to help. Free shuttle available to most locations in Burbank as well as airport pick ups from Bob Hope airport. Rooms were very clean and spacious and beds were made and clean towels provided daily. Car Park, heated pool and gym available and the sister hotel (across the road) has a restaurant. Cons: The only this for us is the location wasn't great for lots of choice of restaurants within walking distance. If you have a car then no problem but we struggled a little.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2023Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Safari Inn, Owner at Safari Inn, a Coast Hotel
Responded 2 Nov 2023
Thank you for giving us a perfect rating and for recommending our hotel to other travelers. I’m sure our entire hotel staff enjoyed catering to your needs as much as you enjoyed your stay. We apologize for any inconvenience you encountered because of our location. Can’t wait to welcome you back!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Keri-Anne C wrote a review Oct 2023
Kelowna, Canada9 contributions17 helpful votes
Hotel is old and smelly! Checked in and had to leave our bags at the desk so we could go to universal studios. We arrived back to the hotel at 1am. Got our key to our room and there was a powerful urine smell. Friend went to the desk to let them know and see if we could switch rooms. The employee comes to see what we’re talking about. He said it’s from the cleaners they use. It was the most disgusting smell. Unfortunately we were stuck in that room as it was fully booked. We were so happy to be leaving the the next day. Beds were old and made a sound when rolling over. The shower head was old and gross. There looked like mold in the corners of the bathroom. Was such as disappointment. We had just stayed at the candy cane inn by Disney and had the most amazing room there. Those two hotels are on the opposite spectrums!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2023Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Safari Inn, Owner at Safari Inn, a Coast Hotel
Responded 31 Oct 2023
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback regarding your recent stay at our hotel. We sincerely apologize for the negative experience you encountered during your visit. It is disheartening to learn that your stay did not meet your expectations.We deeply regret any inconvenience caused by the odor issue in your room. We understand how unpleasant this must have been for you and your friend. Our team strives to ensure a comfortable and enjoyable stay for all our guests, and we apologize for falling short in this instance. We will investigate the matter further and take immediate steps to rectify any issues with our cleaning process. Regarding the condition of the beds and the shower head, we apologize for the discomfort you experienced. We value your feedback, and we will address these concerns with our maintenance team to ensure such issues are resolved promptly. We understand your disappointment, especially after having a positive experience at another hotel. We appreciate your comparison, as it helps us identify areas where we need to improve. We continuously strive to enhance our guests' satisfaction, and we will use your feedback as an opportunity to make necessary improvements. We hope that you will consider giving us another chance in the future to provide you with a more enjoyable stay. Please feel free to reach out to our management team directly, and we will be more than happy to assist you with any further concerns. Once again, we apologize for the inconveniences you encountered, and we appreciate your valuable feedback.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Paul B wrote a review Oct 2023
64 contributions13 helpful votes
We stayed here for universal studios, nice hotel . Clean rooms / site the check in staff was lovely and helpful . The pool was clean and heated The free shuttle service was great made it much easier. Only thing I would say is the aircon wasn’t the greatest and the bathroom was very cold in early hours of morning/ late night . Also felt the card amount held for damages was very high for a 4 night stay in this place but over than that all was okay .
Read more
Date of stay: October 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Book shuttle early as it filled up quick
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Safari Inn, Owner at Safari Inn, a Coast Hotel
Responded 27 Oct 2023
Thank you for taking time to write this review, we take pride in providing a clean and comfortable space for all of our guest, so our team appreciates that you noticed. Also, we're very pleased that our staff made your stay, your feedback is important to us and well noted. We look forward to welcoming you back!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Burbank area.
PRICE RANGE
$262 - $389 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
safari hotel burbank, safari inn burbank
LOCATION
United StatesCaliforniaBurbank
NUMBER OF ROOMS
55
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

SAFARI INN, A COAST HOTEL - Now $322 (Was $̶3̶6̶1̶) - UPDATED 2024 Reviews & Price Comparison (Burbank, CA) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Safari Inn, a Coast Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Safari Inn, a Coast Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Martial Arts History Museum (1.1 km), Saint Finbar Catholic Church (0.2 km), and Gordon R. Howard Museum (1.0 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Safari Inn, a Coast Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and a fitness centre.
Which room amenities are available at Safari Inn, a Coast Hotel?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
Is parking available at Safari Inn, a Coast Hotel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Safari Inn, a Coast Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Tallyrand, Olive's Bistro, and Poquito Mas.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Safari Inn, a Coast Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and a fitness centre during their stay.
Are pets allowed at Safari Inn, a Coast Hotel?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Are there any historical sites close to Safari Inn, a Coast Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting TCL Chinese Theatres (7.2 km), Hollyhock House (7.8 km), and Lovell Health House (6.3 km).
Is Safari Inn, a Coast Hotel accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access, reduced mobility rooms, and facilities for disabled guests. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.