Hotel Hilltop
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Hotel Hilltop

Walking the meadows
Traveller (908)
Room & Suite (137)
Snow view from restaurant
Dining (9)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Did you already book this hotel?

About

4.5
#7 of 22 hotels in Gulmarg
4.8 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.1 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Value
Looking for a place to stay in Gulmarg? Then look no further than Hotel Hilltop, a quaint hotel that brings the best of Gulmarg to your doorstep. Public wifi is offered to guests, and rooms at Hotel Hilltop offer a flat screen TV, a seating area, and a desk. During your stay, take advantage of some of the amenities offered, including 24 hour front desk, room service, and a concierge. Guests of Hotel Hilltop are also welcome to enjoy free breakfast, located on site. For travellers arriving by car, free parking is available. Close to Rani Temple (2.4 mi), a popular Gulmarg landmark, Hotel Hilltop is a great destination for tourists. While in Gulmarg, you may want to check out some of the restaurants that are a short walk away from Hotel Hilltop, including Bakshi (0.8 mi), Hotel Highlands Park (0.5 mi), and The Hunters Bar (0.9 mi). We’re sure you’ll enjoy your stay at Hotel Hilltop as you experience everything Gulmarg has to offer.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Public wifi
Free breakfast
Skiing
Nightclub / DJ
Kids stay free
Airport transportation
Conference facilities
Coffee shop
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Car hire
Taxi service
Meeting rooms
24-hour security
BBQ facilities
Baggage storage
Concierge
Convenience store
Newspaper
Shops
Doorperson
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Shoeshine
Room features
Desk
Housekeeping
Room service
Safe
Seating area
Flatscreen TV
Electric blanket
Complimentary toiletries
Telephone
VIP room facilities
Clothes rack
Iron
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Luxury
Mountain View
Languages Spoken
English, Hindi

Location

Gandola Road Opposite Ice Skating Ring, Gulmarg 193403 India
Getting there
Somewhat walkable
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 66 out of 100
66
Srinagar Airport
36.4 km
See all flights
4.5
4.5 of 5 bubbles1,636 reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.
Reviews summary
This summary was created by AI, based on recent reviews.
Powered by AI

Hotel Hilltop is widely acclaimed for its stunning location near the Gondola, offering breathtaking views and easy access to local attractions. Guests appreciate the hotel's welcoming atmosphere and the attentive service provided by friendly staff, though some have noted occasional service delays. While the value opinions are divided, with some finding the hotel overpriced, the cleanliness and overall quality of amenities generally receive high marks. However, the room experiences vary, with comfort and views balanced by some concerns over size and maintenance.
Location
Convenient
Atmosphere
Inviting
Rooms
Comfortable
Value
Expensive
Cleanliness
Immaculate
Service
Attentive
Amenities
Satisfactory

Was this helpful?
Tripadvisor is not responsible for this summary or the opinions in it. For more information, please read the traveller reviews and learn more about how the site works.
1,636Review11Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 1,207
  • 238
  • 79
  • 33
  • 81
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
M Bose wrote a review Jan 2022
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
5.0 of 5 bubbles
There are only a few hotels/properties that check all the boxes well. Hotel Hilltop is one of them. It's a G+3 structure that is placed over an elevated underground floor (for a purpose not known to me). Naturally, it has a beautiful lawn in the front. This lawn was filled with snow when we reached the hotel. We traveled with a PAX of 2 adults and 1 child (8 yrs) and were greeted with courteous smiles and a warm cup of Kashmiri kehwa.
Since with had booked the hotel via the infamous SOTC agents, (in spite of asking for the best quality room to be booked, the SOTC guys booked a lower category room thereby cheating us), we were first allotted room No. 103 on the first floor which was a standard KIng bedded room with big glass windows and a warmer. But the room dimensions appeared slightly insufficient to us as we had big luggage to unpack and rearrange. We upgraded the room to a luxury suite (Room 215) and the transition was uber smooth. The most interesting part of the hotel is that you be always surrounded by support staff. I haven't seen so many support staff in any hotel.
The view from room 215 was awesome. It's a 3 - 5 minutes walking distance from the Gondola ticket center. Also, it's just opposite the Gulmarg ICe Skating Rink and a 1-minute walk from the highest Gold Course in the world.
The food is awesome and delicious. The chef did not forget to add certain Kashmiri delicacies eg. Rishta, Kashmiri Pulao, Kashmiri Dum Aloo etc.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: Rooms 115/215/315 are corner rooms with a great views. They are luxury suites too.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Rahul wrote a review Sept 2022
New Delhi, India
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Hospitality was excellent and all the staff members were very polite and nice special mentioning name such as Ishfaq maqbool and MR Ghulam Mohammad. Room was very hygenic and the best part of this hotel is it is near gondola ride as well as all the other activities present here. Food was yummy
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
A lot to digest? Read an AI-generated summary of recent traveller reviews.
Ashish A wrote a review Apr 2022
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Staff are cooperative. Food quality is nice but highly priced, still considering the location and nearby places you can enjoy you meals. Location is the biggest advantage to the property, you will find all the good places nearby. Rooms are well arranged and clean.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Adesh wrote a review Jan 2022
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Great Food great Staff perfect location to stay with a city view.
“Hotel Hilltop” is situated on the Gulmarg, Jammu & Kashmir. Located amidst beautiful flower meadows, this hotel is just opposite the ice skating rink and just 1km from the Gulmarg Golf Course. It has old-world architecture and is ideal for leisure travellers. There is a nightclub on the property and barbecue facilities are available. The rooms are all lined with wood and have modern amenities. Gulmarg Gondola and the Gulmarg Ski Centre are 350 and 600 metres away. Gulmarg Market and Kongdoori are about 1 and 3km away. The nearest city is Srinagar, about 43km from the hotel. Dasterkhwan is an on-site restaurant known for its Indian, Mughlai and Kashmiri cuisine. Big Bite Fast Food is a modern restaurant serving burgers, pizzas, ice creams, and shakes. Chopstick serves authentic Chinese cuisine.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Samyak Jain wrote a review Jun 2022
1.0 of 5 bubbles
The hotel is ideally located near the Gondola ride in Gulmarg. We got a mount view room and that was the sole good point about our stay here. However, not all rooms are mount view rooms.

Room was unhygienic, I spotted a couple of spiders on the bed during 1 day we stayed there.The bathroom shower was not working properly and the flush knob was broken. We were allocated a room on the third floor and their elevator was not functional.

Service was extremely poor. Connecting to housekeeping staff was a challenge. They refused to provide us packaged drinking water at 11:30 pm citing that the restaurant is closed.

The food quality was terrible. Dal and veggies were tasteless. My college mess food used to be way better than this.

Not at all worth the money.

Overall, if you're looking for a mood spoiler for your Kashmir trip or you're planning on fasting, please go ahead and make a booking. .
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Travel386758 wrote a review Jan 2023
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I staying this hotel 4nights in room no 203 the hotel is like above 5star central heating is working 24x7 washroom’s. The food is so tasty. Staff is very polite and helpful specially restaurant staff.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2023
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Miss Hodophile wrote a review Dec 2022
New Delhi, India
3.0 of 5 bubbles
I Stayed in Hill top Gulmarg with my Family in December 2022

Rooms 3/5
Miasa café & lounge 1/5
Staff 5/5
Hospitality 5/5
Breakfast Buffet 1/5

We stayed in Deluxe Gulmarg view room
Rooms Are cozy, good for two people if you are planning for extra bedding then look for another room category else its good .

Miasa café & lounge has very weird smell in cafe

we tried blueberry nd butterscotch pastry that was not fresh at all

We ordered birthday cake and ask to takeaway but they don’t have cake boxes nd they are selling cake which is pathetic.

And I personally felt the cafe manager was not cooperative

Hiltop Staff Is very Humble, Friendly, always smiling. Service is very quick.

Breakfast buffet- if you are planning to take breakfast buffet please drop the idea of it. They don’t serve Hot nd Fresh Food in breakfast
All the food was very cold, hard nd not fresh
So do not take breakfast buffet instead of that take a la carte because they serve fresh food in that.

So overall the hotel is very good avoid talking any buffet take a la carte nd avoid cafe nd lounge (miasa) rest is all good .
Read more
Date of stay: December 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Do not take buffet take a la carte Do not buy anything from Miasa café lounge
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Adventure12469723742 wrote a review Nov 2022
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Checked in a night on 23rd of Nov, 2022, location of the property is very close to the Gondola cable car base, fantastic rooms with excellent food you can get. The rooms are equipped with centralised warmer, told will be switched on the evening. When I requested since I wet with my kids in the afternoon, they have immediately offered a small mobile unit. Staff are here very polite and helpful including staff in the restaurant. I should appreciate Manager Mr. Ishfaq Maqbool and Ghulam Mohd who are very customer friendly..
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Neet wrote a review Jan 2024
1.0 of 5 bubbles
I Booked Hilltop for 31st December Night and It was one of my worst experiences. Firstly it is definitely no where near a 4 star property. We booked 2 rooms by paying 72k and entire guest details were clearly mentioned before hand and confirmed voucher also received by them for the same.
1st - Rooms were terribly small , apart i was not able to lock my bathroom door ( Have recorded a video of the same as well) , Wash sink tiles were broken , Toilet cover was also broken and door bell was not working. Sadly the towels were also smelly and unclean. We clearly booked the 2 Rooms for 5 Adults and 2 Children (12 Years Each) and the voucher included the extra beds , but the reception staff made us beg for it and then when they gave, they did it as they were doing some Favour on us. Everyting is recorded on CCTV in hotel in case anyone from hotel intends to check and to where they went wrong and how they can rectify themselves.
2nd - Food for vegetarians was bad. Not much spread of items , unheated and pale food, we had to keep requesting to ger heated food during dinner. On new year morning, we checked before going to breakfast and the in room dining team confirmed that the breakfast was open till 11am ( Given entire details of call of Hotel Staff) , but when we arrived for breakfast at 10.35am , they abruptly shut it and said that there is no breakfast. Seriously , this is how a 4 star property treats its guests and that too on new years eve. The Restaurant manager attitude was the worst and he was treating us as if we came there for eating free food.
I Had a lot of expectations from this hotel but i spent wasting a lot of money for one of my worst experiences. It had spoiled my new years.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2023
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Haroun Khan, Marketing at Hotel Hilltop
Responded 11 Jan 2024
Dear Guest! Greetings from Hilltopgulmarg! Thank you for reviewing at Trip Advisor and we really regret that we couldn’t live upto your expectations with our services. Your grievances are highly regretted and we assure you that they would be taken care. We always love to hear open feedback like yours . We have well noted the negative point you have mentioned and will make sure these things may not happen again. We are looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to Hilltop Gulmarg once again in the near future. Warm Regards, Altaf, GM Hilltop,Gulmarg. One Aim, Excellence. FORGIVENESS GRATITUDE +VE ATTITUDE INNOVATION
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Rishi Ghia wrote a review Jan 2022
5.0 of 5 bubbles
When it comes to a stay in Gulmarg in the Winter months, I believe there are 3 things that are more important than anything else. Food, Room Heating, and Heated Water. Hilltop aces all 3 of these metrics with absolute distinction. The food throughout our stay has been amazing, atleast from my vegetarian standpoint. And the room heating has never once felt inadequate, despite the temperature outside being below 0C throughout. The same can be said about the hot water in the washroom.

The staff is extremely polite and warm. They go out of their way to help you with any needs you may have. Whether it's the floor staff, or the restaurant.

The view from the front facing rooms is amazing, with the right side of the mountain as well as the ski slopes being visible. The proximity of the hotel to the Gulmarg Gondola was an added benefit for a skier like me.

All in all, I feel comfortable recommending Hilltop to anyone who wishes to experience Gulmarg. Especially in the winters!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
ankit garg asked a question Sept 2023
Bhawanipatna, India4 contributions9 helpful votes
Is there will be snow on phase 1 right now
Answer from Raj D
New Delhi, India4 contributions
Usually snow starts in Nov, but u can't rule out possibility because God rules here
Answer from SANJAY A
1 contribution
no bar at hotel hiltop. you can take your own bottles before you fly from the airport, as such hotel hill top the staff is rude i was asked to pay for items I didint even use , when I objected they statted to abusive. they are still in the hangover.
Adwait asked a question Dec 2018
National Capital Territory of Delhi, India83 contributions15 helpful votes
Air condition is available I mean blower at this hotel.
Answer from Jaspal Singh S
Mumbai, India93 contributions30 helpful votes
Difficult to answer because during our visit, this requirement didn't come through.
Adwait asked a question Dec 2018
National Capital Territory of Delhi, India83 contributions15 helpful votes
Air condition is available I mean blower at this hotel.
Answer from Prashant Kumar
Noida, India50 contributions6 helpful votes
I went in September and stayed in a suite, as it was not much cold, I did not use central heating or blower. But bed was heated. Generally all the hotels in gulmerg provide blower (central or portable) but Its advisable to call them and ask specially about the kind of room you are planning to stay.
Preveeth asked a question Sept 2018
Hyderabad, India13 contributions6 helpful votes
I am planning to visit Gulmarg in Oct this year. Can I expect to see snow during this time of the year?
Answer from Sheikh Sultan
Srinagar, India4 contributions1 helpful vote
Dear Guest, Thanks for query. Sorry to inform you that in the month of October you cannot see snow. Warm Regards Saleem Hanroo
Uma W wrote a tip 8 Jul
9 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"First phase of Gondola is fine. Second phase too expensive. Go early to miss crowd . "
Read full review
Nitin A wrote a tip Jun 2024
1 contribution
2.0 of 5 bubbles
"location staff restaurant are good but no value for money…the charges they are taking are too high"
Read full review
Explorer29497509210 wrote a tip Jun 2024
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"The rooms are fully booked do earlier reservation possible and do not miss this hotel stay Please book in advance and have luxury staying "
Read full review
Nilesh B wrote a tip May 2024
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Very Good Location"
Read full review
Sandeep J wrote a tip May 2024
1 contribution
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Add kids area , With some latest games and PS 5, It's a bare minimum activity now a days "
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Gulmarg area.
PRICE RANGE
$237 - $531 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
IndiaJammu and KashmirKashmirBaramulla DistrictGulmarg
NUMBER OF ROOMS
66
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

HOTEL HILLTOP - Reviews & Price Comparison (Gulmarg, India) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Hotel Hilltop
Which popular attractions are close to Hotel Hilltop?
Nearby attractions include Discover Gulmarg Adventures (0.2 km), Gulmarg Expedition (0.3 km), and Alpather Lake (0.2 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Hotel Hilltop?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and free parking.
Which room amenities are available at Hotel Hilltop?
Top room amenities include a flat screen TV, a desk, and a seating area.
What food & drink options are available at Hotel Hilltop?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and barbeque facilities during their stay.
Is parking available at Hotel Hilltop?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Hotel Hilltop?
Conveniently located restaurants include Northwind Cafe, Hotel Highlands Park, and Black Bear Brew.
Does Hotel Hilltop have airport transportation?
Yes, Hotel Hilltop offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Is Hotel Hilltop located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.2 km away from the centre of Gulmarg.
Are any cleaning services offered at Hotel Hilltop?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Hotel Hilltop offer any business services?
Yes, guests have access to meeting rooms and conference facilities during their stay.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Hotel Hilltop?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Hindi.
All Gulmarg HotelsGulmarg Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in GulmargHotels near Hotel Hilltop
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday HomesTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire