We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Bokissa Private Island Resort

Save
Share
Espiritu Santo Vanuatu
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Travelocity
Snaptravel
Orbitz.com
ZenHotels.com
View all 8 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Traveller (356)
Pool & Beach (102)
Room & Suite (53)
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.

About

#9 of 14 hotels in Espiritu Santo
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Bokissa Private Island Resort is a 30 minute fast boat ride from Luganville which is the main town in Espiritu Santo, Vanuatu. Bokissa is 16 absolute beachfront bungalows on a beautiful island of 175 acres of pristine beaches and tropical rainforest. Walk out of your bungalow onto the sand and into the water - straight off the beach snorkelling and just 10-20 minutes from world famous wreck and reef diving. Bokissa's tariff includes return airport transfers and all meals during your stay.
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Pool
Free breakfast
Beach
Canoeing
Babysitting
Airport transportation
Massage
Baggage storage
Outdoor pool
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Special diet menus
Diving
Game room
Hiking
Snorkelling
Billiards
Fishing
Gift shop
Shops
Sun terrace
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Private beach
Safe
Minibar
Refrigerator
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
235Reviews17Q+A63Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 166
  • 46
  • 10
  • 2
  • 11
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Harrison B wrote a review Jul 2019
1 contribution
Can't recommend Bokissa Island enough. Idyllic setting that can't be matched. Water clearer than you have ever seen and snorkelling to match anywhere in the world. Highly recommend for anyone looking to find the ultimate island getaway. P.s Shoutout to the amazing local staff, they are so welcoming and do everything in their power to make your trip the best it can be!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2019
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Helpful
Share
Chriso wrote a review Jul 2019
10 contributions
+1
We had 7 days on our own private Island with family and friends, with an amazing wedding included. Bokissa Island a magical paradise to have a wedding or a relaxing Holiday. The Staff are the most beautiful people in the World and the management were superb in all our wedding planning on and off the Island. Thank you Bokissa.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2019
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Every Room looks out to the Ocean.
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Angela Bartley wrote a review Jul 2019
2 contributions
Bokissa Island you did not disappoint! Amazing holiday, we were on the Island for a Wedding! Staff were very helpful and friendly! Food was excellent! We were very spoilt, rooms cleaned daily. Pool was to die for. Snorkeling was excellent. We will return one day! Thanks for an amazing holiday. πŸ‘ŒπŸΈπŸŒ΄βœ…πŸŒžπŸ₯₯πŸΎπŸ‰πŸΈπŸ€Έβ€β™‚οΈπŸŠπŸΌβ€β™€οΈπŸŠπŸΌβ€β™‚οΈπŸš£πŸ»β€β™€οΈ
Read more
Date of stay: July 2019Trip type: Travelled with friends
Helpful
Share
MichaeltheWriter wrote a review Jun 2019
Melbourne, Australia121 contributions60 helpful votes
If you're looking for a no frills, quiet, relaxing place with top class, easy snorkelling straight off the beach, Bokissa Island is for you. Spend a lazy week, tended by the friendly and helpful staff, and be part of a tropical paradise.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2019Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Laura C wrote a review Apr 2019
81 contributions22 helpful votes
So bitterly disappointed, and feel like I have been conned out of my hard earned cash. I would honestly be happy to give ZERO STARS if the app would let me. What a SCAM. We booked in for a week's stay, the resort allowed us to pay (by bank transfer oddly enough...), made all these promises of a tropical island paradise, then when we got to the airport, no one was there is collect us. Luckily I am with Vodafone and have good roaming options, and was able to get a signal when we arrived at the airport, so we tried to call the number in Australia of "Julie" that we had previously spoken to and dealt with. No one answered the first 5 times then finally we got through to someone with a different name and they told us "you've been 'UPGRADED' to a different island". Unfortunately when we called that island, they had no reservations for us, and no rooms available because they had already taken in two groups of guests with the same problem.. So now we are stranded in Santo with Bokissa having taken thousands and thousands of dollars of our money, and now not answering our phone calls. We hear that the island is a construction site, and it seems odd to me that this could all have happened in a day which is what the lady on the phone told us "it happened yesterday"... We have tried to contact them as recently as 2 weeks ago and I am guessing the reason we got no response was that they realised they couldn't deliver on their promises. WHY NOT JUST TELL US FROM THE BEGINNING THAT YOU WEREN'T GOING TO BE OPEN?! Oh and almost everywhere else is booked out cos it's school holidays... Yew. I normally read the negative reviews of places but always take them with a grain of salt because everyone's experience is different and we generally are able to see the good in places more than the bad. But do yourself a favor and pay attention to the negative reviews on this one!! I now give those much greater weight than I had previously. I feel very sorry for any other person who has been scammed out of their money like us.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2019Trip type: Travelled as a couple
4 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Julie B, Manager at Bokissa Private Island Resort
Responded 20 May 2019
Hi Laura, We are very surprised by your post and are quite shocked by your allegations of being β€œscammed” As explained to you on the phone at the airport, we had unstable power issues and thought it fairer to upgrade you to another Island Resort. Our staff spent many hours trying to find you at the airport, with no luck. We also could not get through on the phone number supplied with your booking (It appeared to be switched off) We were informed the next morning from our staff that they had located you and transferred you to the other Island Resort as previously discussed with you. I am so sorry that you felt "scammed out of your hard earned cash" but I am sure that you would agree...you were not. In good faith, it cost us more than AUD$5,500.00 over what you had paid us for your stay at Bokissa. (including AUD$1000.00 in Resort Credit) to relocate you. Bokissa Island Resort is open, and not under any type if construction whatsoever. We have now permanently resolved our generator issues. Please accept our sincere apologies for any inconvenience.
Read more
Previous
123456…47
ALSO KNOWN AS
bokissa eco island hotel espiritu santo, bokissa eco island santo
LOCATION
VanuatuEspiritu Santo
NUMBER OF ROOMS
16
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Bokissa Private Island Resort
Which popular attractions are close to Bokissa Private Island Resort?
Nearby attractions include SS President Coolidge (7.6 km), Million Dollar Bay (7.5 km), and Million Dollar Point (7.5 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Bokissa Private Island Resort?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free breakfast, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Bokissa Private Island Resort?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Bokissa Private Island Resort?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Bokissa Private Island Resort?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Does Bokissa Private Island Resort have an airport shuttle?
Yes, Bokissa Private Island Resort offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are there any historical sites close to Bokissa Private Island Resort?
Many travellers enjoy visiting SS President Coolidge (7.6 km).
Does Bokissa Private Island Resort have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the ocean view available here.