Twin View Motel
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Twin View Motel

Leider nicht der einzige bauliche Zerfall des Motels
Traveller (21)
motel rooms
Room & Suite (7)
lounge area
Dining (1)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

3.0
#1 of 1 motel in Neiafu
3.4 of 5 bubbles
Location
2.7 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
2.7 of 5 bubbles
Service
3.2 of 5 bubbles
Value
Situated atop a hill within walking distance of the town of Neiafu, The Twin View Motel offers breathtaking panoramic views of the Port of Refuge harbor and the crystalline waters of the Pacific Ocean beyond. Ideal for a family holiday or a romantic getaway, this location offers the perfect combination of privacy and convenience. All rooms are equipped with kitchen facilities, so you can dine on the terrace enjoying locally sourced ingredients, or leave the cooking to one of the nearby restaurants and cafes. All rooms are clean, comfortable, and have hot water showers. Accommodations range from deluxe rooms with spacious lounges to a separate, 28-bed backpacker’s unit. The refreshing sea breezes, lush tropical landscape, and our grand twin views, will make your holiday in Vava’u an unforgettable experience.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Airport transportation
Room features
Kitchenette
Refrigerator
Room types
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
3.0 of 5 stars
10Reviews2Q+A1Room tip

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 2
  • 2
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
STEPHEN N wrote a review Sept 2011
Cairns, Australia23,313 contributions769 helpful votes
+1
2.0 of 5 bubbles
After a pleasent flight flying with Chathams Pacific from the mainland of Tongatapu to Vava'u for the very first time. One of the motel staff were waiting for guests upon our arrival & arranged our transfer to the motel without any fuss & each guest paid TOP 10.00 [cheap due to a few passengers being picked up at the same time for the same motel]. On my arrival at approx 4:30pm I had a confirmed booking to stay for 4 nights & only stayed one, the rooms were large enough for myself. The motel views were great from outside. To Walk into the small town of NEIAFU would take approx 20min's, the twin view motel had nothing to offer regarding any food or drinks & I felt slightly isolated! I feel that tea & coffee facilities would have been appreciated, in the mornings i would walk back towards Neiafu & buy b/fast at Tropicana Internet Cafe & coffee for TOP 24.00, a great place to arrange any tours or advice on interesting area's on this island. After I had sorted all my personal stuff out at the Twin View Motel & then I noticed the toilet water system was continiously running & couldn't find any staff to inform them on the problem, after knocking on the management home/office building directly opposite the motel I asked if he could sort-out the problem [same guy who had earlier arranged the transfer] & he turned off the main water pressure tap for the toilet system & told me to just turn it back on when I need to use the toilet? This was very frustrating considering that on a couple of ocassions the toilet didn't flush!!!!!.... By this stage I just had to get out of the motel for a while & took a walk into town & after admiring the great sunset I then ate my evenning meal at "The Balcony Restaurant" a very good meal & good value TOP 25.00 owned by an Australian. After chatting with other tourists & locals I headed back towards the motel on foot, the area is VERY VERY DARK & I'm now wondering if i had walked for to long & missed the driveway to the motel!....suddenly I bump into a couple who were on the same flight earlier & we were a little confused on our directions, we eventually found the driveway, the motel really needs to sortout some lighting & clear signage for entry at the bottom of the lane. After a restless night with the bed mattress being to soft & the bed being to short for a tall guy like myself & with the toilet problem & little or nothing on offer at the motel I decided to leave the following afternoon & found a slightly better option at " THE HILL TOP HOTEL", this hotel was suggested from a very good taxi driver named SAIA........... The Twin View motel charged me TOP 100.00 for the one night stay! 7 they only appeared to be interested in the money without much PR skills. Also the TWIN VIEW MOTEL isn't suitable for any guests with a disability especially if you have to use a wheelchair.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2011
2.0 of 5 bubblesValue
2.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
1.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled solo
Room Tip: pay 4 one night before deciding 2 stay longer!
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Kapelieli C, Owner at Twin View Motel
Responded 1 Mar 2018
Hi there Thank you for sharing your feedback regarding your stay! We are very sorry for not serving you like your expectation. We are so sorry for all the problems that happen at that time and we are very sorry about it. About the lighting and the sign of the drive way to our hotel we all do our best and we already discussed this matter with all the staff and it already been fix. Once again, Sorry. Warm Regards
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Katrina R wrote a review Sept 2012
Perth, Australia10 contributions13 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Twin view is all looking a bit worn down in the inside, The place could use a coat of pain and new beds. In general Vava u is incredibly over priced and this place at just under 50top per night each for three of us fell into the average price range. By this stage of our trip we were well over the over priced and dubious quality resturant food and just wanted to cook for ourselves. We came prepared for this bringing various curry paste's ( eg Thai green curry ) with us. We did not book in as I got no reply from my e mails, Stanley the owner said there was technical difficulties but I wonder if the woman who works there is supposed to answer them and just forgets. So I rang from Hapai ( had to shout on the phone as the line was bad bit this is also quite usual for the area ) the day before and got a two roomed apartment. Stanley the hard working owner was there to meet us and did not attempt to rip us off on the fare in 10top each. The units were large, like a full sized flat with a small but entirely functional kitchen. The bathroom was a stand out for Tonga with warm solar hot water, ok pressure and big clean towels. If your going to cook ask Stanley to stop at the shop on the way in from the airport so you can stock up from the Tongan shops before you hit town and the scantily supplied shops that are there. There are two three and one bedroom apartments and it seems that the one bedroom is on the end which enjoys a stunning view. We enjoyed this as our base and knew that this would be no resort so were not disappointed in that way. For the three of us Twin View was just fine as we are self contained and enjoy our own company but I don't think it would be for every one. I saw no sign of bugs and the breeze that blows over the hill were Twin View is situated helped keep the mossy's down too. Mossy's are just a fact of life in the tropics and Tonga is no different. Buy coils use repellent and take an anti itch like tiger balm. All in all we enjoyed our stay in Vavau and coming back every night to the comfort of what was essentially our own home.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2012
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
2.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
2.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Kapelieli C, Owner at Twin View Motel
Responded 1 Mar 2018
Hello Katrina Thanks for the review of stay at our hotel and we hope you enjoy when you stay her. We are really appreciate all the good reviews you have said and we thank you for bring all this matter to our attention.We are very sorry for all the matters and we already fix all the problems. ;We are hoping to see you soon and we are going to serve you and do all our best with our services. Kind Regards
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
rembert k wrote a review May 2015
Darmstadt, Germany7 contributions4 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
I spent 3 weeks in the pre-season there and I found the apartment very spacious,clean and sufficiently equipped, The staff was very friendly, I got value for the money and did not expect a 5 star hotel, The place is quiet and has a fantastic view,

Distance to town is 15 Min. by food
Read more
Date of stay: May 2015
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Kapelieli C, Owner at Twin View Motel
Responded 27 Feb 2018
Hello Rembert Thank you for choosing our hotel and taking time to write a review. We are so glad to hear that you enjoy your accommodation. We are looking forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the future. Kind Regard
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Climber7242 wrote a review Jul 2005
San Mateo, California1 contribution4 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I loved it here. Twin View Motel was an escape from the hustle bustle of San Francisco. I am so glad I stayed there. I refer everyone I know going to Vava'u to stay at Twin View. The view is beautiful. The price is right. And the memories are forever!!!!!!!!!! Stay at the Twin View Motel.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2004
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Kapelieli C, Owner at Twin View Motel
Responded 28 Feb 2018
Dear Palu Schaumkel Thanks thanks for your kinds words and the time you took to share them with us. It is great to hear, that you have enjoyed your stay with us. Rest ensured, that we will take you comments for further encouragement within the team to ensure personal service and warm welcome for your next visit. All the best and see you soon! Warm regards
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
hellandhighwater wrote a review Jan 2010
Australia14 contributions29 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
I nicknamed Twin View as Twin Peaks. It was a bit of a horror show. The bedlinen was threadbare, the furniture very sparce and the cockroaches had to be seen to be believed. While I understand that Tonga is a poor country and can tolerate the cockies (I am from the bush myself) it was the maggots in the garbage tin that really threw me. These well meaning proprietors really need some assistance to smarten up. The half built restaurant in the shape of a boat was somewhat pathetic given that they had not spent any money on pest control. Hot water was also a problem. One of our tour group assisted them a couple of times with the pumping system.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2009
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
1.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Kapelieli C, Owner at Twin View Motel
Responded 28 Feb 2018
Dear Hellandhighwater Thank you very much for your review of your stay at our hotel. Your feedback is very valuable to us as we strive to improve with each and every stay. I greatly appreciate your comments about the furniture, water and the cockroaches that appear at the hotel. We are very sorry for that issues and sorry that we didn't solve the problem at that time. I hope that I convince you to change your mind about another visit to our property. It would be such a pleasure to personally welcome you back to our new and improved hotel. With much appreciation
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Imarts wrote a review May 2012
Suva, Fiji39 contributions90 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Twin View has a great location. Anyone would love the view. The room are large enough. Actually they are sort of one-bedroom apartments (I think they have two and three bedroom ones too). The furniture is a little old but the kitchen is well equipped with enough utensils.

This would be a good place to stay if you were traveling in a group. You would have more than enough space.

However, I checked out after one night after initially having booked to stay two nights. I discovered that I was the only guest in the entire motel! There was no security guard and I discovered that the lock on my bedroom door didn't work. The main door to the apartment did shut but I just like to lock my bedroom too. So I was awake the entire night. Tonga doesn't really have a problem with robbery etc but I just like to feel safe (especially if I am the lone guest). Also, the hot water didn't work.

So I checked out the next day. The receptionist was very nice and she only charged me for one night.

I suggest you ask a lot of questions before booking. And don't stay there is you are traveling alone.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2012
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
2.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Kapelieli C, Owner at Twin View Motel
Responded 28 Feb 2018
Hello Imarts Thank you for your stay with us and for sharing your experience with others travelers. We are very pleased to read you like the size of the room but we were sorry to hear there were some issues with the hot water and the issues. We have addressed this with the team to improve on this. We are hoping to see you soon. Kind Regards Kapelieli C
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Woodai wrote a review Aug 2009
Hong Kong, China82 contributions167 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
We were a group of 15 who travelled from Hong Kong to Vava'u to see the humpback whales. We stayed here for 10 days.

The hotel is located on a hill, about 10-15 minutes away from downtown where are the shops/dive shops/whale watching shops/restaurants are. The main problem with the distance was if you had a lot of stuff to carry (ie., dive gear or groceries) you would have to take a taxi back to the hotel. The taxis usually charged per head, and sometimes the drivers would charge us for an extra Tonga dollar (not so honest people). One evening after we had enjoyed a nice dinner in town the taxi driver decided to charge us double the price we had paid going to the restaurant. When we started bargaining, the taxi driver simply said “take it or leave it.” We ended up walking back to the hotel as the price for a 5 minute ride was getting outrageously expensive.

As the hotel is located on a hill the view is very pretty, we had a nice view of the ocean and much of the surrounding islands from the hotel. The downside of being located on a hill is that when it's windy it gets really really windy as there is no protection from the winds. However, we took advantage of the strong winds and got hung lots of our wet swimsuits/laundry out to dry.

Each suite consists of 2 bedrooms, a bathroom, kitchen and living room. The furniture is quite old and tired looking and whilst we had hot water and electricity there was no air-conditioning. Only one of the 4 suites that our occupied only 1 had a mosquito nets in the windows. In the evening when we turned on the lights our lights attracted a lot of moths and bugs that visited us through the open windows. We also got a few cockroaches (the really big Asian 2- inch kind that flies) in our bathroom and kitchen. I was kind of expecting this and brought mosquito coils and an electric mosquito killer which was a great help.

The kitchen was again, old and tired. Each kitchen had 3 – 4 sets of dining ware and utensils and you could ask the owner for more if you needed them. The cooking ware, pots/pans and refridgerators seemed old and tired. For example, our kettle looked like it had been overused, it was ready to melt. All the suites had refridgerators but only one had a big refridgerator that was strong enough to refridgerate fresh meat. Although there was a gas supply in each kitchen and all stoves worked not all the ovens worked. The pots were absolutely filthy with grime and grease and I spent a good part of my first evening washing the pots!

The bathrooms were large and we had hot running water in the showers but the water pressure varied from a weak shower to droplets of water dripping through. For those of us who had long hair, it took us a long time to wash our hair because of the weak water pressure. They gave us big huge bath towels but it didn’t seem like they changed them during the week.

We felt comfortable with 2 people to a room but I had a feeling the sheets had not been washed 100%. Our suites were cleaned by hotel staff everyday except the weekend and they even changed our sheets and bedspreads during the week. However, they didn’t give us a proper blanket and on the nights when it was really windy I used the bedspread as a blanket. The bedspread had holes in it and I used my second sheet to cover myself before I covered myself with the bedspread. Towards the end of our stay they changed our sheets and bedspreads but took away the second sheet. When they changed our sheets we noticed that my roommate’s “clean” sheets had small spots on it that looked like blood stains.

One evening we had a blackout and no electricity on the island for an hour. We all had flashlights and none of us were too worried about it but the owner rushed to our suites within 10 minutes with candles. I thought that was quite nice of him.

We all had keys to our suites and we left our passports/camera gear/laptops in the suites, locked away of course but we never had an issue with break-ins.

We only paid USD300 to stay at this hotel for 10 nights so I believe we got what we paid for considering we were in Vava’u at the start of the whale watching season. I think I’ll stay closer to town or the whale watching shops next time just to see what it’s like.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2009
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
2.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
2.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Kapelieli C, Owner at Twin View Motel
Responded 1 Mar 2018
Hey Woodai Thanks for taking the time to give your feedback. I'm sorry to hear the rooms weren't up to the standard you've come to expect from us. We are also sorry for all the issues you have mention above and sorry we didn't solve it at that time. I have personally addressed this with all our staff to ensure this won't happen again. Once again, sorry. Best
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
carimack wrote a review Jul 2009
canterbury2 contributions
3.0 of 5 bubbles
The gardener is a lovely friendly gentleman, the other staff were not so enthusiastic.
We had a few visitors - 2 large cockroaches that actually knocked on the door before entering and an army of ants busy (hard to get away from in Vava'u) on the kitchen benches.
A 10min walk to/from Neiafu shops, a lovely view from this hotel.
The appartment was spacious and clean and the shower ran hot - it was great. Most of the mosquito netting and windows were damaged (did not open/close easily). Sheets on bed were threadbare.
We asked for a key for our room but never received one, bit worried leaving all our stuff in an unlocked room but nothing was touched.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2009
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Kapelieli C, Owner at Twin View Motel
Responded 1 Mar 2018
Hi Carimack We are extremely alarmed by your statement regarding the large cockroaches and ants you have seen during your stay with us, we take these situations very seriously indeed. Again we are very sorry for not giving you the key at that time you ask. We are also sorry that we didn't solve the problems at the time that occurs. In taking great care of our charming motel, our main priority is to be able to offer a very well-maintained and comfortable atmosphere. I hope that I can convince you to change your mind about another visit to our property. Please reach out to me directly at twinviewvavau@gmail.com if you would be willing to give us a chance to turn your experience around. It would be such a pleasure to personally welcome you back to our new and improved motel! With much appreciation,
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Australian_Argonaut wrote a review May 2009
Australia95 contributions42 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
The Twin View Motel has a great location, with views of both the old and the new harbours in Neiafu (hence the name). Rooms are large and clean, staff are efficient, and the self-contained accommodation had a good little kitchen. It is a 10-minute 1km walk into the centre of town, but don't let that put you off - it's a great way to take in the harbourside sights of Neiafu!

The bathroom we had was brand new, but only had cold water - not such a hardship in this tropical island paradise, though I think more expensive rooms had hot water - we paid 85 pa'anga a night for a one-bedroom double, which had a second bed put in the lounge room. Great value!

This is one of the few Tongan-owned and operated tourist businesses in Vava'u, and I think it should be supported. As a tourist in a developing country, I prefer that my money benefits locals, and I think the Twin View makes this easy!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2008
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Kapelieli C, Owner at Twin View Motel
Responded 28 Feb 2018
Hello Argonaut Your nice comment and your loyalty is well appreciated. Thank you for your praising our service. Rest ensured, that we will do everything in our power to be appear fresh and modern all times. Please do not hesitate to contact us directly for your next visit. Kind Regards
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
STEPHEN N wrote a tip Sept 2011
Cairns, Australia23,313 contributions769 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
"pay 4 one night before deciding 2 stay longer!"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Neiafu area.
LOCATION
TongaVava'u IslandsNeiafu
NUMBER OF ROOMS
6
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

TWIN VIEW MOTEL - Reviews (Neiafu, Tonga) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Twin View Motel
Which popular attractions are close to Twin View Motel?
Nearby attractions include Mt Talau (3.1 km) and Utakalongalu Market (2.1 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Twin View Motel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free parking, airport transportation, and kids activities.
Is parking available at Twin View Motel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Twin View Motel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Bellavista Cafe & Restaurant, Mango Cafe, and Cafe Tropicana.
Does Twin View Motel have airport transportation?
Yes, Twin View Motel offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
All Neiafu HotelsNeiafu Hotel DealsHotels near Twin View Motel
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire