We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ballachulish Hotel

Traveller (740)
Room & Suite (294)
Dining (86)

About

Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Property amenities
Free Parking
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Meeting Rooms
Non-Smoking Hotel
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Public Wifi
Room features
Family Rooms
Non-Smoking Rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Historic Hotel
Great View
HOTEL CLASS
1,442Reviews
974Photos
19Q+A
100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 378
  • 535
  • 291
  • 144
  • 94
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More languages
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Needed simply a bed and breakfast as was cycling around Glencoe and found this gem, gorgeous location, clean, friendly, nice d building including a beautiful guest lounge. Food was amazing but need to book a table for dinner as seemed really busy. And woke up to a stunning
Read more
Response from CustomerServiceExec, Guest Relations Manager at Ballachulish Hotel
Responded 2 days ago
Many thanks for your kind review, shonam441. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. I hope that you can return for another visit sometime in the near future.
Read more
I found this hotel via booking.com after I cancelled my reservation with Isles of Glencoe. We stayed at this hotel for 5 nights with our dog in the double feature room (room 204). The room itself was spacious with a comfy bed and good facilities. Bathroom is dated and had
Read more
Response from CustomerServiceExec, Guest Relations Manager at Ballachulish Hotel
Responded 2 days ago
Many thanks for taking the time to share your feedback, Hinna A. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your meals and felt the staff were helpful and accommodating. We were equally disappointed to hear there were some areas which fell short of expectations. We advertise our pet policy on our website, and this does advise upon which areas within the hotel allow pets. I'm sorry if you felt this wasn't made clear. Please accept my apologies for the issues you faced upon departure, with the billing and leftover cake, and I'm pleased that these were resolved for you at the time. I hope that we will have the chance to welcome you back sometime in future.
Read more
+2
Currently on my last night of 4, going home tomorrow. Yes, some reviews are right that the decor is a little outdated but for me a) I love it! And b) that's not the main point. The main attribute of this hotel aside from the brilliant location, great facilities etc (free
Read more
Response from CustomerServiceExec, Guest Relations Manager at Ballachulish Hotel
Responded 4 days ago
Thank you very much for taking the time to share feedback about your recent stay with us, Chays789. We are absolutely thrilled to hear that you had such a wonderful stay, and the staff really made you, and Milo, feel special. The team will be so touched to hear your kind comments. We're glad that you were able to enjoy the beautiful surrounding walks, and we hope to welcome you back again in the near future.
Read more
This is our second stay at this hotel. Both times we have taken a dog. Last time dog allowed in bar area, this time we had a fight getting a place to eat in the bar or lounge. The staff didn’t appear to grasp that on charging £10 a night for a dog, we did not appreciate being
Read more
Response from CustomerServiceExec, Guest Relations Manager at Ballachulish Hotel
Responded 1 week ago
Many thanks for taking the time to share your feedback, Kriskirb. We are pleased that you enjoyed your room and appreciated the updates since your last visit. We communicate our pet policy on our website, and it does state the areas in which we allow pets. The surcharge for pets staying is a cleaning supplement. I'm sorry if you felt this wasn't clear. I hope we can welcome you back in the near future.
Read more
Stayed for one night on the way home and very disappointed by the standard of the room we were allocated. Decor crummy and out dated - yes my well behaved dog was allowed which is nice bit no WIFI as stated - only one bedside table and the pokiest of rooms with freezing corridor
Read more
Response from CustomerServiceExec, Guest Relations Manager at Ballachulish Hotel
Responded 1 week ago
Thanks for taking the time to share feedback from your stay, Sarah B. I was disappointed to learn that the stay fell short of expectations this time. I'm sorry that some of the decor did not appeal to you, and we shall take on board your comments for future consideration. I was sorry to hear that you were unhappy with the food and service within the restaurant. It is unclear from your review whether you had brought this to our attention at the time, as the team would have welcomed the opportunity to resolve this for you then, perhaps offering alternatives for the dishes that did disappoint. I shall share your feedback with the Food & Beverage Manager, as well as the Executive Chef, to review. We hope that you will get a chance to return, so we can demonstrate the true high standards of customer service and hospitality we are used to delivering.
Read more
Previous
Album Categories
All photosTravellerRoom & SuiteDining Pool & BeachFamily and Play AreasBusiness Centre & Event Rooms
Professional photo exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisorBallachulish Hotel
The Signature Feature Double Room at the Ballachulish Hotel
Professional photo exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisorBallachulish Hotel
The Signature Feature Double Room at the Ballachulish Hotel
Professional photo exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisorBallachulish Hotel
The Feature Double Room at the Ballachulish Hotel
Mattress staining
PreviousNext
12345659
The hotel building looks like an old castle. It's a little quirky getting to your room but it is a nice place to stay. The surroundings are very picturesque, right along a river. I'm pretty sure there are no elevators but the hotel was very clean and the food was great. The room I was in had a really great view and was very roomy. The bathroom had towel heaters which are wonderful! I hope you enjoy your stay.
1 vote
Show all answers
PreviousNext
1234
"Feature rooms are nice and spacious"
"if you stay with your pet likely to get the pokey 80s room"
"Use Loch Leven hotel instead, better menu."
"Go for a bedroom with view of the loch."
"Pay the extra for the feature room and you won't be disappointed - views are amazing."
PreviousNext
12345620
PRICE RANGE
US$82 - US$202 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
ballachulish hotel
LOCATION
United KingdomScotlandGlencoeBallachulish
NUMBER OF ROOMS
53
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing