JW Marriott Phoenix Desert Ridge Resort & Spa
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

JW Marriott Phoenix Desert Ridge Resort & Spa

Traveller (1845)
Hospitality Suite Living Area
Room & Suite (516)
Pool & Beach (251)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

4.5
#2 of 7 resorts in Phoenix
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.7 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Value
Reward yourself with a getaway beyond imagination at the newly transformed AAA 4-Diamond JW Marriott Phoenix Desert Ridge Resort & Spa. Whether here for a family vacation, business meeting, romantic getaway, or special event, discover refreshment at one of our five sparkling pools, complete with a lazy river, thrilling waterslide, private cabanas, and exclusive poolside suites in Phoenix, Arizona. If wellness is on the agenda, 17 pickleball courts, two championship 18-hole golf courses––designed by Arnold Palmer and Nick Faldo––and the rejuvenating Revive Spa await. From delicious breakfast buffets to yummy poolside fare, when it’s time to refuel, you’ll find something to satisfy every appetite at one of our six restaurants––including the temptations of celebrity chef Angelo Sosa at our newest culinary addition, Tia Carmen. And at the end of each fulfilling day, relax in the reimagined comfort of your guest room or suite while you enjoy the breathtaking view from your floor-to-ceiling windows of the mountains, golf course, or resort pools.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Valet parking
Wifi
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Bicycle rental
Game room
Babysitting
Paid public parking on-site
Hot bath
Lazy river
Pool / beach towels
Pool with view
Outdoor pool
Heated pool
Fitness / spa changing rooms
Fitness classes
Sauna
Coffee shop
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Outdoor dining area
Vending machine
Poolside bar
Golf course
Tennis court
Aerobics
Entertainment staff
Patio
Waterslide
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Kids club
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Car hire
Taxi service
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Photo copier / fax In business centre
Spa
Body wrap
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Full body massage
Manicure
Massage
Pedicure
Salon
Steam room
Waxing services
Baggage storage
Concierge
Convenience store
Gift shop
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor fireplace
Outdoor furniture
Shops
Sun deck
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun terrace
Sun umbrellas
ATM on site
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Room features
Bathrobes
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Sofa bed
Walk-in shower
Private balcony
Room service
Safe
Seating area
Sofa
Telephone
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Bottled water
Iron
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
Mountain view
Landmark view
Pool view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
4.5 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Family Resort
Great View
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish
Hotel links
Special Offer:Earn points toward free nights.

Location

5350 East Marriott Drive, Phoenix, AZ 85054-6147
Getting there
Somewhat walkable
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 51 out of 100
51
Phoenix Sky Harbor International Airport
Phoenix-Mesa Gateway Airport
50.2 km
See all flights
3,415Reviews119Q+A100Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 2,130
  • 848
  • 262
  • 97
  • 79
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
dyerboegel wrote a review Jan 2020
Okc27 contributions23 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Our family (including young adult children) selected this location because we thought the guys could play golf and the girls could enjoy the spa and pools. Unfortunately for us, 2 weeks before leaving, our college age son had to have an ACL surgery so golf was out of the plan. A couple of days before our trip, I had received an email from Dominic Priola, one of the executive team managers at the resort, welcoming us for our stay with an invitation to let him know why we were visiting. I responded with a question of ideas to do with someone on the resort property who was post surgery, I mentioned that we were planning to bring some board games. Dominic immediately replied with some suggestions as well as some amazing accommodations for our family to make a space in our room for games. I was quite surprised when we checked in, Dominic came to the front desk to welcome us. I frequently stay at "Marriott" brand hotels, but was impressed by this level of personal concern and service for one guest.
The Spa personnel were awesome and the facilities were clean, restful and well supplied. The resort had some fun family games of corn hole, ladder golf and ping pong outside as well as some fires to sit around. We were thankful for the pool attendants who provided an endless supply of water for hydration! Candy, at the concierge desk was very informative and helpful for local attractions to explore during the day! My husband and son wanted to go to a gun range, so she provided some information for them and made arrangements for them to participate. Summer and Terri at the front desk regularly greeted us as we went through the lobby and Summer was both proactive in helping us with a couple of requests that we needed to address while there as well as thorough in following through to make sure that they were addressed. I appreciated her professionalism. We ate in the restaurant every morning and were pleased with the wait staff. In particular, Marvia greeted us by name each morning and even saw us outside when she was leaving and addressed us by name. In conclusion, the amenities were great, but the customer service by the Marriott staff, from the executive management level, to the front desk staff, the pool attendants, the cleaning staff and restaurant staff were very impressive!!! Thank you for providing an atmosphere that made our family vacation AMAZING! We fully expected our time to be a bit of a disappointment because of my sons surgery, but all of us, including him were totally pleased.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from TeamMarriott, Manager at JW Marriott Phoenix Desert Ridge Resort & Spa
Responded 14 Jan 2020
Dear dyerboegel, We hope your son is feeling better and recovering quickly. It was an absolute pleasure having the company of you and your family at the JW Marriott Phoenix Desert Ridge Resort & Spa. Thank you for mentioning how much you enjoyed our inspired and tailored hospitality. Our attentive and knowledgeable associates, especially Dominic, Candy, Summer, Terri, and Marvia, work hard to ensure our guest's expectations are exceeded throughout their stay, and we look forward to passing along compliments to them. We are also delighted to read you loved our recreational activities, ideal location, elegant accommodations, and brilliant family-friendly amenities. Thank you once more for making memories with us, and we hope to see you again soon. Best Regards, Kimberly Geng Guest Experience Specialist
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Informedtraveler2 wrote a review Jan 2020
Boston, Massachusetts32 contributions55 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
On the whole, we enjoyed a nice family stay. The food was good at the stone grill and the staff were accommodating. There were some downsides and unfortunately - once you have downsides it's easy to focus more on the negatives. One of our rooms wasn't cleaned when we checked in (used towels, wrappers, dirty bathrobe etc).... staff arranged another room but weren't particularly apologetic/didn't offer any comps for the trouble or gross factor. Moved into another room to find dirty socks. Alarm clocks went off in both of our rooms very early (4am). Talked to Kathy the next day at the front desk, and she was very helpful and made it right. I was a little disappointed to see that yoga was only offered once a week as it was prominently advertised I and it was one of the reasons I selected this hotel. Obviously you have to pay to park in urban centers, but charging to self park in a sprawling area seems a bit like i'm being nickel and dimed. On the positives, pool was warm and the recreation was nice - kids had a nice time.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: Double beds are too small for two people to sleep in comfortably
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from TeamMarriott, Manager at JW Marriott Phoenix Desert Ridge Resort & Spa
Responded 3 Jan 2020
Dear Informedtraveler2, Thank you for choosing JW Marriott Phoenix Desert Ridge Resort & Spa for your family stay. We are glad you enjoyed the food we serve at Stonegrill and that you were impressed with the inspired service provided by our team, especially Kathy. It is also nice knowing your kids had a great time at our refreshing pool. However, we are sorry for not meeting all of your expectations. We look forward to welcoming you back soon so you can enjoy our offerings to the fullest. Best Regards, Kimberly Geng Guest Experience Specialist
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
fox wrote a review Aug 2020
6 contributions2 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Me wanted a little staycation before my daughter started school this week... I had grabbed lunch at JW Desert Ridge a few days ago and it looked nice and empty near the pool so we booked it and let my daughter bring a friend. Was so nice! All pools open, even the slide and lazy river. All restaurants we tried were open (with some limited hours, like Starbucks).... everyone social distancing indoor (with masks), outdoors we didn't wear them, although staff did. Pool was virtually empty until 11ish; but still never got really busy. We had an entire row of chairs (and beyond) to ourselves. They had sanitizer everywhere; extra masks (in little sealed, self-contained packs w/sanitizer) available if you lose yours (which the kids did a few times). A lot of the lobby's doors were self-opening, which made it even safer; watched the staff spraying down tables and chairs at the pool (I was there early). Would definitely recommend!!!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Team Marriott, Agency / Consultant at JW Marriott Phoenix Desert Ridge Resort & Spa
Responded 29 Aug 2020
Dear fozziefox, Thank you for recommending JW Marriott Phoenix Desert Ridge Resort & Spa and sharing about your enriching staycation. We strive to personally craft quality experiences to help you leave richer and with replenished spirits. We are especially glad you and your family were able to take advantage of our five sparkling pools, lazy river, waterslide as well as our dining options. That being said, we have elevated our protocols in regards to cleanliness, keeping the safety of our guests and associates in mind during these challenging times. We appreciate you recognizing our team’s efforts and also for letting other travelers know. We look forward to welcoming you all back for another thoughtfully crafted experience. Best Regards, Dominic Priola Guest Experience Specialist
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Tim wrote a review Mar 2021
2 contributions3 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
I first visited this property in 2014 for a conference and was very impressed with the facilities, grounds, staff, and location. It was because of this past experience that I selected this property for a long weekend getaway. Unfortunately, the negative impact of COVID can be felt here too...

The staff is still great. They try very hard to please, are very friendly, and hustle! Especially the valet is exceptional. We left the property multiple times per day and never waited more than 3 minutes for our vehicle.

Dining options are very limited, so it is suggested that you do your research before you come. We did have a drink on the back patio one evening and the service was good. The pool attendants were attentive and quick as well.

Unfortunately, the rest of the staff is hard to find. We had a problem with our shower - it doesn't drain and after a few minutes in the shower you have to turn off the water so that it doesn't flood the rest of the bathroom. In the process, you're also standing in your own filth. We tried calling down to the front desk several times to see if they could send someone up to look at it, but the phone just rings and rings and rings. They are understaffed to the point where they can't even pick up the phone.

(We actually noticed this when checking in. The person who checked us in was rushed to get us to our room because she had multiple phones ringing off the hook.) It's not the personnel's fault that not enough people are scheduled to attend to the guests, but nonetheless it makes for a less pleasant guest experience.

For us, it feels like we checked into a hostel and are "on our own" once we were given a room key. At a more modest hotel, this wouldn't be so disappointing, but the rates during our stay are $400+ per night. For this type of rate, I'd expect someone to be able to fix a shower drain.

This type of plumbing issue, and some electrical outlets in the room not working, is why I say "it's starting to show it's age". Hopefully business will pick up soon so that they can reinvest in the property and staff back up to be able to attend to the guests. It's a nice location with nice views, and the staff is very responsive and wants to please. There just aren't enough of them!
Read more
Date of stay: March 2021
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: If you want a quiet room, stay at the end of one of the hallways, away from the main...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Team Marriott, Guest Services / Front Office at JW Marriott Phoenix Desert Ridge Resort & Spa
Responded 6 Mar 2021
Dear Tim37422, Thank you for the detailed review of your stay. We are glad you liked our location and that you were overall impressed with our friendly associates. However, we are sorry for the issues you outlined and for the concerns you had in your room. We regret we were unable to resolve these while you were here. We sincerely appreciate your understanding in these challenging circumstances we all are going through, and we encourage you to stay with us again under better conditions so that we can provide you with the exceptional visit you deserve. Best Regards, Dominic Priola Guest Experience Specialist
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Ballee3 wrote a review Mar 2021
Hudson, Wisconsin37 contributions48 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
It's a nice property to look at, but we did not feel you got the bang for your buck. Average rooms that do not get cleaned daily and when they are cleaned it's not very good. Restaurants are hard to get reservations for and way overpriced for the service you get. $248 for 3 people at Roy's and you have people in wet swimsuits walking/cutting through and our waitress was not what I would call friendly, she was more how can I get your bill higher. They put an 18% gratuity on any food or beverage if you do not sign the check which does happen because you get done swimming and just head back to your room. This wouldn't be so bad but service a lot of the time we were there was not worth that. I have no problem tipping 20-25% but I expect good service. It's like a lot of them don't try real hard to accommodate you because they know they are getting tipped regardless. A tip should be earned and a choice. The girls working at the grab and go breakfast were not very friendly or ambitious so I made sure to sign those bills so they got what they earned. On a positive the pool waiters were super friendly and did a great job and the outdoor Mexican to go place had the best staff in the hotel. If you stay here plan on leaving and going across the street to the marketplace a lot for food and beverage. This hotel does not offer much of that and their prices are ridiculous! A lot of good places across the road. Overall we paid for a pretty upscale hotel and got just average everything.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Team Marriott, Guest Services / Front Office at JW Marriott Phoenix Desert Ridge Resort & Spa
Responded 31 Mar 2021
Hello Ballee3, Thank you for staying at our hotel and for taking the time to let us know we have room for improvement. Although we believe some of these instances were isolated, we are truly sorry for not meeting your expectations. We always like to know what our guests think of our property, as this helps us continually evaluate and improve! We do hope you will consider a return visit so we can show you the hospitality we are known for providing. Best Regards, Dominic Priola Guest Experience Specialist
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Chimomoftwo wrote a review Apr 2021
Westfield, New Jersey67 contributions72 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We traveled here over spring break with our family of four. My husband is a Titanium member and I am a Gold, unfortunately there were no suites available to upgrade to as the hotel was at max capacity, so we ended up getting two adjoining rooms for an extra cost, which was, while not cheap, perfect for our needs (huge thanks to the blond woman originally from Chicago at the check in desk that suggested it!). Surprised upon check in no one at the Valet stand offered to get a cart for our luggage or even help with our luggage. We also couldn't leave the car for a few mins to check in - one of us had to stay with the car which was a small invconvenience. The pools were ridiculously crowded. The only way to ensure getting a chair by any of the pools was to go wait in line for 30 min at 7:30a before the pools opened. NO ONE was policing the chairs and the majority stood empty with towels on them all day long while people went to other excursions, I've never seen anything like it to be honest. They need to add signage discouraging this and make sure that the staff monitors it. Very few workers around for pool drinks, and the restaurants were all packed with very slow service. We attempted to eat at Roy's and it was sold out every night for our stay - no walk ins or reservations available! The only stand out from a service standpoint was lovely Gregorio at the Grab n Go breakfast stand. He offered to bring muffins out to my kids when they were sold out and was friendly and helpful each morning we saw him. Many of the other wait staff (especially at the outdoor lobby bar) seemed to have an arrogant attitude, service was slow, etc... Otherwise, we loved all of the activities for kids, the grounds and many pools were beautiful but this property has a long way to go to bring service up to par where it should be given the price. One of our rooms had a huge crack in the ceiling that appeared to be from an old leak. We also enjoyed the Pickleball and Tennis courts, we received breakfast vouchers which worked for us for most of the trip in lieu of a lounge for elite members. Overall we really enjoyed our stay but they need to address the pool chair situation along with the service issues. We've stayed at the Kierland in the past and we would return there over this property given the issues I've mentioned above.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2021
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Team Marriott, Guest Services / Front Office at JW Marriott Phoenix Desert Ridge Resort & Spa
Responded 4 Apr 2021
Dear Chimomoftwo, Thank you for the warm compliments. It is always wonderful to hear from our guests, and we are delighted you enjoyed your stay. However, please accept our apologies for the issues you had with our pool service. Your valuable comments will be addressed with our associates in keeping with our commitment to inspired service. We hope you were able to take advantage of our five sparkling pools, lazy river, and waterslide as well as Revive Spa and our two championship golf courses. It was our pleasure serving you at JW Marriott Phoenix Desert Ridge Resort & Spa, and we hope to see you again soon. Best Regards, Dominic Priola Guest Experience Specialist
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Lauren Skarnulis wrote a review Apr 2021
Traverse City, Michigan20 contributions2 helpful votes
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I just came home from a girls trip at the JW Marriott Desert Ridge. We were there 4/16/21 - 4/20/21. This is one of the top 5 hotels I’ve ever been to. Not only are the grounds absolutely gorgeous and well taken care of, the but staff wouldn’t have been more friendly and caring. From Kyle at checkin, to Raymond at the doors welcoming us and helping us out/keeping us company during a crazy Uber situation, to Sal helping us organize our spa appointments, to Don getting us our lovely lazy river pool side cocktails, everyone had a smile on their face and wanted to make sure we had a lovely time. We went to the spa and lazy river pools between 8:30am and 9:30 and never once had an issue getting a lounge chair. I had heard that that was difficult over spring break. That was not a problem whatsoever while we were there. The spa was amazing! I had a facial with Del and a massage with Brian F. My appointment was goofed up since there was another person with the same first name. I only waited an extra 10 minutes and they took 30% off my bill without me even asking. The ladies helping in the women’s locker room were always on their toes making sure we had everything er needed! The food and drinks at the spa pool were very good- I highly suggest the Cobb salad and the kale salad! Siham makes the best drinks and was always looking out for us made sure our drinks and snacks were thoroughly enjoyed. Both Roy’s and the Stone Grill have delicious food! I highly recommend the scallops at the stone grill and the sea bass at Roy’s! It was GREAT! This is my second time at the JW Marriott Desert Ridge and I can’t wait to go back!
Read more
Date of stay: April 2021Trip type: Travelled with friends
Room Tip: Make sure to make dinner reservations and spa reservations ahead of your trip to get the times...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Team Marriott, Guest Services / Front Office at JW Marriott Phoenix Desert Ridge Resort & Spa
Responded 23 Apr 2021
Dear laurenzOD, It was an absolute pleasure to welcome you to JW Marriott Phoenix Desert Ridge Resort & Spa to enjoy a much needed girls getaway! Thank you for mentioning how much you enjoyed our inspired and tailored hospitality. Our attentive and knowledgeable staff work hard to ensure our guest's expectations are exceeded throughout their stay. We will be sure to share your kind remarks and amazing 5-star review with them. Thank you so much for choosing us for your visit to our beautiful city, and we hope to see you again soon. Take care and safe travels. Best Regards, Dominic Priola Guest Experience Specialist
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Kasey D wrote a review Apr 2021
2 contributions
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Very disappointed thus far. Arrived with very excited children. Requested a room for 4 people when booking two months ago, was given a kind bed room with a twin pullout that was stained with pee. Room was tiny. Discussed with front desk personnel three times before finally speaking to a manager who at least moved us off the ground floor with no pee stains. Off to a bad start. Worst hotel we have been to with Marriott yet. Being gold members, would have at least expected a room upgrade to accommodate 4 people.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Team Marriott, Guest Services / Front Office at JW Marriott Phoenix Desert Ridge Resort & Spa
Responded 5 Apr 2021
Dear 987kaseyd, Please accept our apologies for the housekeeping issue you experienced. Our team works hard to provide clean and comfortable accommodations, but we obviously missed important inspection procedures. We have addressed this with our team and we are grateful for your patience. We hope you will give us another chance the next time you are in the area. We would welcome another opportunity to provide you with the hospitality you deserve. Best Regards, Dominic Priola Guest Experience Specialist
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
gstof1970 wrote a review Feb 2020
Crystal Lake, Illinois63 contributions3 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Stayed here on the 5th floor for 4 nights for a golf trip. The grounds are in great shape and the entire property is kept very clean. The rooms are nice, but nothing special for the price - they could use a more modern upgrade. There is a spacious bar and outdoor patio on the ground floor and the pool area is fantastic. I was given breakfast coupons for each day as a Bonvoy member which enabled me to get the entire breakfast buffet in the restaurant for only $10.

The employees were all helpful despite there being a lot of traffic for on-site conferences going on. They even had a driver bring us over to a local bar so we could cancel the uber we ordered.

The only negative I had on my stay was that I was charged $17/day for the self parking that I used, but when I went to leave the parking gate would only open if I paid the $68 again, so I had to double pay for that.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from TeamMarriott, Manager at JW Marriott Phoenix Desert Ridge Resort & Spa
Responded 14 Feb 2020
Dear gstof1970, As a member of Marriott Bonvoy, we appreciate your loyalty to our brands. It was an honor to welcome you to JW Marriott Phoenix Desert Ridge Resort & Spa. We are committed to quality and craft and are pleased knowing our well-appointed accommodations, two championship golf courses, and inspired hospitality enhanced your visit with us. We appreciate you pointing out not only what you liked, but also the things you would change. We hope to see you again on your next visit to our beautiful city. Best Regards, Dominic Priola Guest Experience Specialist
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
klesneyj wrote a review Feb 2021
Iowa City, Iowa9 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
It was a welcome retreat. This was my first post covid hotel stay. The room was so very clean. The lobby seating was appropriately spaced, employees were universally wearing masks, fellow vacationers were also wearing their masks and the hotel had friendly employees to remind people to keep their masks on. JW got it right! And of course the resort itself was lush and beautiful. One pool was closed but the lazy river and the griffin pools were open with plenty of well spaced places to sit.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2021Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Team Marriott, Guest Services / Front Office at JW Marriott Phoenix Desert Ridge Resort & Spa
Responded 22 Feb 2021
Dear klesneyj, Thank you for choosing JW Marriott Phoenix Desert Ridge Resort & Spa for your getaway. We are glad you had an enriching stay and that you loved our refreshing rooms as well as our relaxing pool area. We are especially pleased to read that you recognized our team's efforts in maintaining a clean and safe environment for our guests. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Best Regards, Dominic Priola Guest Experience Specialist
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
world traveller 204 asked a question Nov 2023
Miami, Florida8 contributions10 helpful votes
Is this a good hotel choice for a family with kids 5 and 3? Is the pool good for them ?
Answer from Brenna B
2 contributions
I think there are better family friendly resorts nearby. Kierland had a lazy River and slides that would be great for little kids. I took my kids here over the summer and the vibe was Scottsdale club scene.
miles_36 asked a question Jul 2023
Saint Louis, Missouri43 contributions21 helpful votes
Does the resort have an arcade game room for the children?
Answer from Bob Adams
Charlevoix, Michigan24 contributions18 helpful votes
Yes - and it is a very good one. Our grandchildren love it!
jessm531 asked a question Jan 2023
Detroit, Michigan786 contributions196 helpful votes
Is the lazy river open right now? I read that it was under construction in October 2022
Answer from Coolmom8
Minnesota91 contributions47 helpful votes
Not open The pool is under construction. There is a smaller pool available and they brought a hot tub in,doesn't work well though
Lisa B wrote a tip May 2024
Texas1,272 contribution515 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Come prepared to have a wonderful time!"
Read full review
Yaccova wrote a tip Apr 2024
New York City, New York273 contributions205 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Ask for a room closer to the front desk that overlooks the pool."
Read full review
mightymouse17 wrote a tip Apr 2024
Los Altos, California36 contributions4 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Enjoy the lazy river and activities at this resort.. They have a lot here including some water slides that look really fun"
Read full review
BeachSeekerG wrote a tip Apr 2024
Toronto, Canada271 contributions81 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
"Wake up at 7AM to get pool chairs. I promise you I’m not joking."
Read full review
mommalovescarbs wrote a tip Mar 2024
Libertyville, Illinois18 contributions5 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
"Don’t come here"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Phoenix area.
PRICE RANGE
$612 - $787 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
jw marriott desert ridge resort & spa phoenix hotel phoenix, jw marriott desert ridge resort and spa phoenix, jw marriott phoenix, marriott phoenix, phoenix marriott
LOCATION
United StatesArizonaCentral ArizonaPhoenixDesert Ridge
NUMBER OF ROOMS
950
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

JW MARRIOTT PHOENIX DESERT RIDGE RESORT & SPA - Reviews & Price Comparison (AZ) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about JW Marriott Phoenix Desert Ridge Resort & Spa
Which popular attractions are close to JW Marriott Phoenix Desert Ridge Resort & Spa?
Nearby attractions include Desert Ridge Marketplace (1.0 km), AMC Desert Ridge 18 (1.0 km), and High Street (0.9 km).
What are some of the property amenities at JW Marriott Phoenix Desert Ridge Resort & Spa?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a pool, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at JW Marriott Phoenix Desert Ridge Resort & Spa?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at JW Marriott Phoenix Desert Ridge Resort & Spa?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and a poolside bar during their stay.
Is parking available at JW Marriott Phoenix Desert Ridge Resort & Spa?
Yes, paid public parking on-site and valet parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to JW Marriott Phoenix Desert Ridge Resort & Spa?
Conveniently located restaurants include Ocean Prime, In-N-Out Burger, and Meritage.
Are there opportunities to exercise at JW Marriott Phoenix Desert Ridge Resort & Spa?
Yes, guests have access to a pool, a fitness centre, and a sauna during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at JW Marriott Phoenix Desert Ridge Resort & Spa?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at JW Marriott Phoenix Desert Ridge Resort & Spa?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does JW Marriott Phoenix Desert Ridge Resort & Spa offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at JW Marriott Phoenix Desert Ridge Resort & Spa?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Spanish.
All Phoenix HotelsPhoenix Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in PhoenixHotels near JW Marriott Phoenix Desert Ridge Resort & Spa
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday HomesTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire