Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

The Samoan Outrigger Hotel

Cross Island Road Motootua, Apia, Upolu Samoa
Traveller (165)
Colonial room, fresh new paint, new curtains, mattress etc.
Room & Suite (37)
Pool & Beach (28)

View prices for your travel dates

Fully refundable before Thu, 25 Apr
Breakfast included
$155
Fully refundable before Thu, 25 Apr
Breakfast included
Get rewarded with One Key
$155
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

4.5
#2 of 28 hotels in Apia
4.1 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Value
The Samoan Outrigger Hotel is located in Motootua only 15 min. walk from downtown Apia and only 5 minutes walk from the national hospital. The Samoan Outrigger Hotel offers budget accommodation "with a touch of style" Clean and affordable rooms with ensuite and without ensuite. We also have traditional Samoan garden fales overlooking the swimming pool. The Samoan Outrigger Hotel is surrounded by a lush tropical garden. All rooms with ensuite and AC renovated in February 2012. Come and enjoy a cold Vailima on our new pool deck.WI-FI available.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Wifi
Pool
Free breakfast
Billiards
Car hire
BBQ facilities
Baggage storage
Paid wifi
Pool / beach towels
Outdoor pool
Taxi service
Sun terrace
24-hour front desk
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Safe
Refrigerator
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Mid-range
Charming
Languages Spoken
English
483Reviews6Q+A100Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 305
  • 128
  • 31
  • 7
  • 12
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Steve R wrote a review Feb 2023
5 contributions3 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I completely loved my experience here. I had business with SPREP, just up the road, and the location was awesome (just a few mins away) and yet it's still so close to town.

Here's why this place is so special. There was one small issue that I had (that really was not their fault) and after I brought it up to the manager, they handled things better than any property I ever visited!!! I cannot emphasise how impressive this was and I have probably stayed, at the very least, in few hundred different hotels in my life. This was unexpected, and left me feeling like this placed truly cared about me as a guest and as a person. It is not the way places do business anymore but it is the way we all wished they did. End result, you get very good service and value here, and if you don't, you get really great service and value!!!

This is a limited frills, but super clean and super friendly experience. The basic amenities all worked awesome and were reliable. The staff was ALWAYS available and on call. Warm smiles from everyone, everytime and the guests I spoke to all felt the same.

If you want a very clean, very attentive and very friendly Samoan experience, you just can't do wrong here. This is the true definition of (Samoan) value for money.

p.s. The hotel lobby is a really cool mini-museum.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2023
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled solo
Room Tip: If you are doing business up the road at SPREP, its super close, convenient and will meet your...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Natalie B wrote a review Jul 2023
Perth, Australia58 contributions25 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
This hotel was like a lovely backpackers for grown ups and we enjoyed this. The rooms were clean, functional and had all of the facilities needed. Although a little small this was OK. We stayed in room 8 downstairs. It was value for money.
I really liked the outdoor dining area near the pool as it was a friendly place to talk to other travelers and share stories. The gardens were stunning.
The location was good as only 5 minutes drive to the city centre and on the Cross Island Road for the day we went to Robert Louis Stevenson's house and gardens. Apia is not a big city. There was space for 5 cars in the car park and 2 on the street and this was Ok as there was always parking available for us. I bought a local sim card at the airport on arrival and this was handy as I could use my maps app on my phone for us to find our way around.
The staff were helpful and friendly. The breakfasts were colorful, creative and something for everyone as they were served on a tray with a bit of everything with different items each morning.
We had some laundry done and it was ready within half a day.
The TV did not work due to a signal connection error.
The air con worked well. The shower was hot which I like. Their was a shelf in the bathroom to put your products which was very handy. Hotels should supply places to put your stuff.
They asked you take off your shoes when walking in the reception area which was a pain as my shoes were clean and I feel there is a fungal infection risk walking around bare footed. There were stones outside and they were rough on bare feet if needed to nip between the reception and the downstairs. I think they should make this optional.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2023
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Coco banana restaurant is 5 doors up for dinner. See the police flag raising ceremony marching...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Leopold B wrote a review Jan 2024
Leipzig, Germany42 contributions16 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Wonderful hotel, an old colonial house set in a garden on the outskirts of Apia (not really walking distance to town but an easy taxi ride), there are several types of room. Downstairs the rooms are modern and air-con, the advantage being they are cool, the disadvantage being that they lack character. Upstairs, however, the rooms are old style, fans rather than air-con (since they are not airtight...), delightful and with character, some with ensuite and (I think) some with shared facilities. If you stay upstairs remember that this is an old house and the floorboards creak...! In the garden there are fales, Samoan-style huts, all facilities shared, aimed more for backpackers. Generally, the place is well kept and clean, linen was changed regularly and both sheets and towels were in good condition and always smelt fresh. Our only complaint here was that the first day we had polyester sheets on the bed, which were very unpleasant, but we asked for cotton sheets and they were immediately replaced, so not really a complaint. The breakfasts are great, filling and different every day, and although there are no other meals offered, the kitchen (and the fridge) is available for guests to use, which is very useful if you're staying for a while (as we were, we were there for two weeks) and don't want to eat out every night. All in all, highly recommended, the staff are all, without exception, friendly, smiling and efficient and made our stay extra memorable. With an eye to some other reviews, remember that this is not a five star hotel, it is budget accommodation. Still, the range of rooms make it suitable for most guests, and particularly those staying for a while.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2023
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Dave B wrote a review Mar 2020
12 contributions3 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We spent 8 nights at the Outrigger and enjoyed our time there. (We hd an air conditioned room, of which there are not many.) The staff was very nice and friendly. It is located within walking distance of several restaurants and even the main part of town was only a mile away.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Killythebrave wrote a review Feb 2020
8 contributions1 helpful vote
4.0 of 5 bubbles
I spent almost 2 weeks there, sleeping in a Fale. Perfect for those who do not want to sleep in a sterile hotel room. You sleep in the garden with mosquito nets over your bed and enjoy the "night life". Breakfast is fine and the ladies are very kind and helpful for your wishes.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2019
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: Take a fale!
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
rtln wrote a review May 2023
California143 contributions60 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
I moved from the rattan garden huts to a regular room because the rooms have a better working environment, more than just a mattress with a mosquito net. Also some mosquitoes got inside the net. Breakfast is very simple, egg and toast and beans. Uses fans for air conditioning, which is OK in the current weather.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2023
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Julie wrote a review Jan 2020
Melbourne, Australia16 contributions7 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Super friendly staff who are always available to help you out - including organise island tours for you. Clean facilities, delicious breakfasts and just a 20 minute walk into town too. It was also a cool experience to stay in one of the fales - would recommend.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Phil C wrote a review Aug 2023
Manchester, United Kingdom2 contributions2 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
• I booked the hotel for July 30-31, paying 1 night’s accommodation ($NZ133) as a deposit. The Hotels.com website said that the booking was fully refundable if cancelled by July 26th.
• Prior to July 26th, I had to cancel the booking, following which Hotels.com said I would receive a full refund from the hotel.
• Because of a delay in receiving the refund, I followed up with both parties whose responses were:
o Hotels.com said the refund was up to the hotel
o The Samoan Outrigger Hotel said they were following Hotels.com policy in charging for and not refunding the deposit, implying that “their hands were tied” by the website policy.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2023Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Claus Hermansen, Owner at The Samoan Outrigger Hotel
Responded 16 Jan 2024
Talofa Phil, When you book through a third party booking platform such as Booking.com or Expedia you have to cancel with them, which is what I informed you to do. I also wrote an email to you saying if you dont hear from them then email me back. You never did but posted this instead. Claus Hermansen
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
singtocath wrote a review Dec 2022
Auckland, New Zealand3 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
The owners Claus, Laena and the staff Mafoe, Tilo, Kilina and Sua along with the others that maintained the beautiful garden and pool were exceptional. Nothing was ever a problem, every day they would ask more than once if there is anything anyone needed. Although some people may think this is normal in a hospitality industry it makes a massive difference particularly if you are staying there on your own and you may be new to the country and everything that comes with that.
There were several people from different parts of the globe staying there who had never been to Samoa so it was wonderful to observe that consistency of exceptional service! The wonderful team at The Samoan Outrigger Hotel really make Samoa proud by what they do, there is that saying that “actions speak louder than words” so much so that you know you will be coming back there to stay again and again! I really do believe that this is truly a hidden gem of paradise!
Read more
Date of stay: December 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Doria H wrote a review Dec 2022
Fiji3 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Wonderful hotel with friendly and kind staff. I have been here for 3 nights and I really loved it.. breakfast was delicious & Pancakes were the best Lovely fruit juice, cooked pawpaw with chia, and lovely coffee! Lovely Samoan atmosphere, beautiful & exellent stay at the Samoan Outrigger Hotel.
Will totally recommend this place for my fiji family and friends!
Read more
Date of stay: December 2022Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Seionie asked a question Nov 2017
Kaitaia, New Zealand23 contributions7 helpful votes
Talofa, is Claus still renting cars, im looking for one from 30th Nov to the 14th of Dec
Answer from Cheryl J
22 contributions10 helpful votes
Yes. Sorry for the slow reply.
Kathleen B asked a question Aug 2017
Wellington, New Zealand8 contributions7 helpful votes
Hi there, I am interested in accommodation from 6 Jan-17 Feb 2018. Thanks!!!
Answer from Bri
Whangarei, New Zealand82 contributions34 helpful votes
Enjoy just go to their website to book. Enjoy
ian s wrote a tip Jul 2023
Melbourne, Australia14 contributions4 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Be aware of the dogs and don’t go out walking at not this is across the whole island they can be nasty and bite . L"
Read full review
surfswimmingsensation wrote a tip Jul 2023
Sydney, Australia1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Nothing open nearby on a Sunday, just be prepared."
Read full review
Natalie B wrote a tip Jul 2023
Perth, Australia58 contributions25 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Coco banana restaurant is 5 doors up for dinner. See the police flag raising ceremony marching band at 830 till 9am each weekday morning. "
Read full review
beckjoyful wrote a tip May 2023
Greater Newcastle, Australia2 contributions1 helpful vote
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"The pool was lovely too. "
Read full review
Kasey L wrote a tip Apr 2023
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Expect to pay extra for chilled water, arranging taxis and making phone calls- this is standard practice in much of Samoa. "
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Apia area.
PRICE RANGE
$115 - $139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
outrigger hotel apia, outrigger apia, apia outrigger
LOCATION
SamoaUpoluApia
NUMBER OF ROOMS
16
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

THE SAMOAN OUTRIGGER HOTEL - Now $111 (Was $̶1̶3̶8̶) - UPDATED 2024 Reviews & Price Comparison (Apia, Samoa) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about The Samoan Outrigger Hotel
What are some of the property amenities at The Samoan Outrigger Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free breakfast, a pool, and free parking.
What food & drink options are available at The Samoan Outrigger Hotel?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast and barbeque facilities during their stay.
Is parking available at The Samoan Outrigger Hotel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
Are there opportunities to exercise at The Samoan Outrigger Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
All Apia HotelsApia Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in Apia
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday HomesTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire