We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

The Samoan Outrigger Hotel

Cross Island Road Motootua, Apia, Upolu Samoa
avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (165)
Room & Suite (37)
Pool & Beach (28)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#2 of 28 hotels in Apia
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
The Samoan Outrigger Hotel is located in Motootua only 15 min. walk from downtown Apia and only 5 minutes walk from the national hospital. The Samoan Outrigger Hotel offers budget accommodation "with a touch of style" Clean and affordable rooms with ensuite and without ensuite. We also have traditional Samoan garden fales overlooking the swimming pool. The Samoan Outrigger Hotel is surrounded by a lush tropical garden. All rooms with ensuite and AC renovated in February 2012. Come and enjoy a cold Vailima on our new pool deck.WI-FI available.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Wifi
Pool
Free breakfast
Billiards
Airport transportation
BBQ facilities
Baggage storage
Paid wifi
Pool / beach towels
Outdoor pool
Car hire
Taxi service
Sun terrace
24-hour front desk
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Safe
Kitchenette
Refrigerator
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Mid-range
Charming
Languages Spoken
English
483Reviews6Q+A100Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 305
  • 128
  • 31
  • 7
  • 12
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
Leopold B wrote a review Jan 2024
Leipzig, Germany42 contributions16 helpful votes
Wonderful hotel, an old colonial house set in a garden on the outskirts of Apia (not really walking distance to town but an easy taxi ride), there are several types of room. Downstairs the rooms are modern and air-con, the advantage being they are cool, the disadvantage being that they lack character. Upstairs, however, the rooms are old style, fans rather than air-con (since they are not airtight...), delightful and with character, some with ensuite and (I think) some with shared facilities. If you stay upstairs remember that this is an old house and the floorboards creak...! In the garden there are fales, Samoan-style huts, all facilities shared, aimed more for backpackers. Generally, the place is well kept and clean, linen was changed regularly and both sheets and towels were in good condition and always smelt fresh. Our only complaint here was that the first day we had polyester sheets on the bed, which were very unpleasant, but we asked for cotton sheets and they were immediately replaced, so not really a complaint. The breakfasts are great, filling and different every day, and although there are no other meals offered, the kitchen (and the fridge) is available for guests to use, which is very useful if you're staying for a while (as we were, we were there for two weeks) and don't want to eat out every night. All in all, highly recommended, the staff are all, without exception, friendly, smiling and efficient and made our stay extra memorable. With an eye to some other reviews, remember that this is not a five star hotel, it is budget accommodation. Still, the range of rooms make it suitable for most guests, and particularly those staying for a while.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Phil C wrote a review Aug 2023
Manchester, United Kingdom2 contributions2 helpful votes
• I booked the hotel for July 30-31, paying 1 night’s accommodation ($NZ133) as a deposit. The Hotels.com website said that the booking was fully refundable if cancelled by July 26th. • Prior to July 26th, I had to cancel the booking, following which Hotels.com said I would receive a full refund from the hotel. • Because of a delay in receiving the refund, I followed up with both parties whose responses were: o Hotels.com said the refund was up to the hotel o The Samoan Outrigger Hotel said they were following Hotels.com policy in charging for and not refunding the deposit, implying that “their hands were tied” by the website policy.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2023Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Claus Hermansen, Owner at The Samoan Outrigger Hotel
Responded 16 Jan 2024
Talofa Phil, When you book through a third party booking platform such as Booking.com or Expedia you have to cancel with them, which is what I informed you to do. I also wrote an email to you saying if you dont hear from them then email me back. You never did but posted this instead. Claus Hermansen
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
ian s wrote a review Jul 2023
Melbourne, Australia14 contributions4 helpful votes
Outstanding place to stay Great team owner is very polite. Our night staff lady on front desk fotu she is outstanding every night she would be so happy to see you always so very polite with her weight in gold. She would always make sure everyone was ok and happy so pleasant to talk toad were all the crew. The hotel was so clean and fresh friendly the breakfast were always beautiful and fresh and a real pleasure in the morning. In the morning there was a young girl called Rachel she was always so busy and polite brought my wife and I coffee with a big smile. Honestly I can not say enough about this little hotel usually I would say you get what you pay for but not in this case you get so much more then what you pay for. I would gladly suggest this hotel to all of my friends and family and I will be returning in my opinion I can not say a bad thing about this place
Read more
Date of stay: July 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Be aware of the dogs and don’t go out walking at not this is across the whole island they can be...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
surfswimmingsensation wrote a review Jul 2023
Sydney, Australia1 contribution
What a terrific place, away from the hussle and bustle of the town centre. Full if charm and character, with such delightful staff and a really good breakfast, plus an onsite hire car. Lovely garden and pool and easy to relax in the common area. Great place to chat with other travellers and compare stories. Ideal for families, with a kitchen and supermarket over the road.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2023Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Nothing open nearby on a Sunday, just be prepared.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Natalie B wrote a review Jul 2023
Perth, Australia58 contributions25 helpful votes
This hotel was like a lovely backpackers for grown ups and we enjoyed this. The rooms were clean, functional and had all of the facilities needed. Although a little small this was OK. We stayed in room 8 downstairs. It was value for money. I really liked the outdoor dining area near the pool as it was a friendly place to talk to other travelers and share stories. The gardens were stunning. The location was good as only 5 minutes drive to the city centre and on the Cross Island Road for the day we went to Robert Louis Stevenson's house and gardens. Apia is not a big city. There was space for 5 cars in the car park and 2 on the street and this was Ok as there was always parking available for us. I bought a local sim card at the airport on arrival and this was handy as I could use my maps app on my phone for us to find our way around. The staff were helpful and friendly. The breakfasts were colorful, creative and something for everyone as they were served on a tray with a bit of everything with different items each morning. We had some laundry done and it was ready within half a day. The TV did not work due to a signal connection error. The air con worked well. The shower was hot which I like. Their was a shelf in the bathroom to put your products which was very handy. Hotels should supply places to put your stuff. They asked you take off your shoes when walking in the reception area which was a pain as my shoes were clean and I feel there is a fungal infection risk walking around bare footed. There were stones outside and they were rough on bare feet if needed to nip between the reception and the downstairs. I think they should make this optional.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Coco banana restaurant is 5 doors up for dinner. See the police flag raising ceremony marching...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Calum Sutherland wrote a review Jun 2023
Napier, New Zealand3 contributions1 helpful vote
Great value for money. Walking distance to town and nice private garden with a pool to relax around. The staff were all friendly and very helpful. We checked in at 10:30pm with no trouble, great way to start our trip
Read more
Date of stay: May 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
rtln wrote a review May 2023
California140 contributions58 helpful votes
I moved from the rattan garden huts to a regular room because the rooms have a better working environment, more than just a mattress with a mosquito net. Also some mosquitoes got inside the net. Breakfast is very simple, egg and toast and beans. Uses fans for air conditioning, which is OK in the current weather.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
beckjoyful wrote a review May 2023
Greater Newcastle, Australia2 contributions1 helpful vote
Our plane arrived in at 6am and check in not til midday. When we arrived at the hotel they offered us breakfast and rushed to make a room available for us. Everyone was so very helpful. Breakfast was lovely, even with Helen the chicken. The room was basic but very comfortable and there were a lot of things within walking distance from the Hotel. Everyone at the hotel very helpful.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: The pool was lovely too.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Anne D wrote a review Apr 2023
Hobart, Australia13 contributions8 helpful votes
What a beautiful little haven in Apia! Our open Fales were well appointed and comfortable- staff so helpful and the breakfast was delicious!!! There was plenty of help with local information and transfers. Fales had towels and power and showers/toilets clean and fresh. There is a pool and a lovely garden! Will hopefully be back!
Read more
Date of stay: April 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Kasey L wrote a review Apr 2023
1 contribution
Would definitely stay here again. Staff were extra helpful in sorting out our booking, breakfast changed every day w fresh fruits, pancakes, toasts etc, easy location w/i walking distance, and community vibes among the guests and staff- lovely to chat with everyone and get to know other guests
Read more
Date of stay: March 2023
Value
Location
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Room Tip: Expect to pay extra for chilled water, arranging taxis and making phone calls- this is standard...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Apia area.
PRICE RANGE
$108 - $132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
outrigger hotel apia, outrigger apia, apia outrigger
LOCATION
SamoaUpoluApia
NUMBER OF ROOMS
16
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

THE SAMOAN OUTRIGGER HOTEL - Now $113 (Was $̶1̶4̶2̶) - UPDATED 2024 Reviews & Price Comparison (Apia, Samoa) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about The Samoan Outrigger Hotel
What are some of the property amenities at The Samoan Outrigger Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free breakfast, a pool, and free parking.
Which room amenities are available at The Samoan Outrigger Hotel?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, air conditioning, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at The Samoan Outrigger Hotel?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast and barbeque facilities during their stay.
Is parking available at The Samoan Outrigger Hotel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Samoan Outrigger Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include The Pickled Lam Deli & Eatery (Scalinis), Giordanos Wood-Fire Pizza & Garden Restaurant - Est 1990, and Kokobanana Bar & Grill.
Are there opportunities to exercise at The Samoan Outrigger Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Does The Samoan Outrigger Hotel have airport transportation?
Yes, The Samoan Outrigger Hotel offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.