We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Orator Hotel

Tanumapua Village, Alafaalava Road, Aleisa, Apia, Upolu Samoa
avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (130)
Room & Suite (22)
Pool & Beach (18)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#1 of 3 villas in Apia
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Orator Hotel is made up with 27 Villa, 15 Double standard Villas, 6 Standard Villas, 5 Poolside Villas, and 1 Deluxe Suite. 3 tier Swimming pool for all types of people, 2 restaurants, and a bar. The atmosphere of the gardens all through the Hotel is an oasis. 10mins away from town you will find true beauty when you arrive, as the staff sing and are always happy to serve.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Wifi
Pool
Free breakfast
Shuttle bus service
Conference facilities
Meeting rooms
Spa
Parking
Paid wifi
Outdoor pool
Bar / lounge
Coffee shop
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Non-smoking hotel
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Room service
Safe
Seating area
Minibar
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Separate dining area
Iron
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Complimentary toiletries
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
3.0 of 5 stars
Languages Spoken
English, Chinese, Danish
157Reviews1Q+A50Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 73
  • 43
  • 18
  • 13
  • 10
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
Ro S wrote a review Dec 2023
1 contribution1 helpful vote
Went for the lunch buffet on Sunday paid $85 expecting a feast but what we got was tasteless very average food was very disappointed it was honestly not worth $85 so if you are looking for a place for good feed for Sunday don’t go to the Orator 😞😞😞
Read more
Date of stay: December 2023Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Charlotte Chan Mow Brunt, General Manager at Orator Hotel
Responded 11 Dec 2023
Thank you for your feedback much appreciated
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Traveller101 wrote a review Dec 2023
1 contribution
Went for the Sunday toana’i and paid $85. The food was very basic for the price. For $85 youd expect to have lamb, pork or some steak. They only had chicken and some pork which was mostly fat. Not many options for dessert
Read more
Date of stay: December 2023Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Charlotte Chan Mow Brunt, General Manager at Orator Hotel
Responded 11 Dec 2023
Thank you for your feedback and much appreciated
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Lisa K wrote a review Dec 2023
1 contribution
We paid 85tala for food that was poor quality. The lasagna tasted like plastic, the Palusami was undercooked, and there wasn’t much variety of desert. The poi was very runny. If you’re charging 85tala, at least have some lamb, or pork; quality food. I could have gone to paddles and bought great quality meals for less than that price. Very disappointing.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2023Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Charlotte Chan Mow Brunt, General Manager at Orator Hotel
Responded 11 Dec 2023
Thank you for your feedback and much appreciated
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
EdB wrote a review Sept 2023
10 contributions10 helpful votes
I didn't stay here this time, but came for the the Sunday lunch buffet. This buffet is the best on the island. They do all the local favourites prepared to the highest standard. The service was friendly and chef Mani does an outstanding job. The owner Charlotte is lovely and welcoming, and the property itself is beautiful and not too far from anything you need. Highly recommend
Read more
Date of stay: September 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Charlotte Chan Mow Brunt, General Manager at Orator Hotel
Responded 17 Sept 2023
Thank you for the great feedback and we are always trying our best for the last 13 years to promote Sunday Toonai (lunch) here our hotel. Much appreciated.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Damskers wrote a review Feb 2020
Wellington, New Zealand29 contributions17 helpful votes
I was trying to give this place a chance as it is close by to my house. However, the last few attempts at dinner have been disappointing. The garden is nice but that is really the only positive. Probably a good place to have an after work beer. Food is below average but acceptable if you are after generic pub food. However, on both visits at least part of the meal was cold. Staff are friendly but horribly incompetent. On one occasion they messed up the bill and it took half an hour to leave. Both visits saw the order messed up. I asked for vinegar for my chips and recieved a small bowl of dishwashing detergent. Unfortunately I didn't notice until I had already put this on my chips! It took at least an hour to get the horrible taste out of my mouth! They gave me a couple of free beers, but my learning curve is likely not shallow enough to return in the near future...
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
ReesJulia wrote a review Jan 2020
Wellington, New Zealand18 contributions4 helpful votes
I got married at Orator in October and it was everything I wanted AND MORE! Super helpful, service was awesome and my guests who stayed at Orator thoroughly enjoyed their stay . Especially my Papa who still raves on about how gorgeous the reception area, complimentary brekkies and service was. Thank you very much Charlotte and Leata for the great comms with me and making my day absolutely beautiful!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2019Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Teagan wrote a review Dec 2019
4 contributions
Stayed here for my friends wedding and thought the review and pictures on here looked great. I am so disappointed. Don't get me wrong the resort is beautiful. But the service is no where to be found. It's like they hired alot of people and no one actually know what to do here. The first day our fridge tv and safe didn't work We asked about 5 different people if some one could come have a look at these. They kept saying the maitenence man has gone home, I will send the manager to your room. We will get some one and let you know then you never ever see any one or hear from them again. It took 3 days and asked every one here 3 times to get any one to come to our room. Seems like the staff just walk around with a smile saying hi and thats there job done. It takes about 25min to get a cocktail or drink made. Which is okay if was packed but when you are the only one at the bar it's pretty concerning. Every time we ordered from the resturant or room service they would forget something from our order. The pools are not cleaned regular. The last 2 days we have not swam here because the slim on top of the pool is taking over. The stairs on the pool are all cracked and damage so my friend and I both cut our self on them going in and out. They have no first aid or bandaids so bring your own. Lucky I did. They prioritise weddings they hold here above the customer staying here. A couple time they were not going to let us order dinner because they had a wedding. Which would be good if we were told before so we could organise to go out. Everyone drink drives from weddings here and smashed into our car we thought we safely parked at the resort. We spoke to the Fijian lady boss. After we were told there are no bosses or managers at all by some staff. They offered no help, no apologies and when we asked to speak to the security on duty that night, they said they don't no him his new and we don't no his name. So don't feel super safe in this place. Also she said the security guards meant to check all cars. Which he didn't and now we will never ever know who he was.the point of having security that are random and you have no record of who they are is strange. Then we talked to Margaret the other lady boss. Who was actually helpful 🤗 she also told us the security on that night works there all the time and wasn't new lol no one here know there roles or any one else roles or any customer service. Don't get me wrong the resort is beautiful and most of the staff are super friendly and smile and wave. But with a smashed up car, cuts from the pool, missing food, no help or service, breakfast is terrible they have not much to offer and no bacon at all...... no bacon. Just boiled eggs and pancakes with can spaghetti. When coming back here with my family we will not be staying here again and not with young kids. So dissapointed as the resort could be amazing if some one new how to run it. Very sad experience. We were meant to have a chat with the owner last night they assured us they would call when his here. Never happened. We don't bother asking them for anything now as it's not worth the time. Do your self a favour and don't come to this resort and spend your holiday frustrated. There alot more I can add but I think you get the point.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Talaleu wrote a review Oct 2019
Lower Hutt, New Zealand347 contributions36 helpful votes
There are not enough words to describe what great service we received for my daughter's wedding last week. Nothing was too much effort, whether it was change in numbers, change in seating or change in weather. Everything was perfect. The different spaces were ideal for separating the ceremony space from grazing/sweet stations and dining area. A lot of beautiful memories created with the help of the friendly and professional staff at the Orator Hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2019Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
deant26002017 wrote a review Jul 2019
Canberra, Australia12 contributions
Stopped at the hotel on a business trip this time, enjoyed the pool, bar and dining facilities. The room was basic but had the much needed A/C, always clean and quite large although television reception was not good (but who need television!).
Read more
Date of stay: May 2019
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Travelled solo
Room Tip: Cabins were located further from the bar and dining room, so good for quiet repose.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Sharlene Chong-Nee Foloki wrote a review Jan 2019
Wellington, New Zealand12 contributions3 helpful votes
My family and I stayed there for the majority of our 2 weeks holiday in Samoa. Rooms were nice, clean and spacious. Enjoyed the pool and we loved the Buffett breakfast every morning. Staff were very helpful and friendly. They always helped us carry our bags or shopping to our room etc. We went and tried the massages too at the spa. It was so nice and relaxing. We will definitely be staying there again on our next family holiday. Thanks Orator for having us!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Apia area.
PRICE RANGE
$109 - $698 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
SamoaUpoluApia
NUMBER OF ROOMS
27
Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

ORATOR HOTEL - Villa Reviews & Price Comparison (Apia, Samoa) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Orator Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Orator Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Samoa Cultural Village (6.0 km), Immaculate Conception Cathedral (6.0 km), and Robert Louis Stevenson Museum (5.9 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Orator Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free breakfast, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Orator Hotel?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Orator Hotel?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Orator Hotel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Orator Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Paddles Restaurant, Nourish Cafe, and Milani Caffe.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Orator Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Does Orator Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, guests have access to meeting rooms and conference facilities during their stay.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Orator Hotel?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Chinese, and Danish.
Is Orator Hotel accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.