We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Tanoa Tusitala Hotel

avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (543)
Pool & Beach (91)
Videos (2)

View prices for your travel dates

Hotel direct offer!Special rate available
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#4 of 28 hotels in Apia
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
In the heart of Apia, the Tanoa Tusitala Hotel is the ideal Hotel for Business and leisure. It is located within walking distance to central business district and is easily accesable to all major tourist spots.There are 95 beautifully renovated guest rooms all with individually controlled Air Conditioning. Situated on 12 acres of landscaped gardens and offering all the facilities you would expect of a 4 Star Plus Hotel. The hotel features an outdoor swimming pool and children’s pool, 2 restaurants - Tamarind & Deck Bar restaurant, 4 conference facilities and 2 *courts floodlit tennis courts.There is also onsite tour and transfer desk, a mini convenience & gift shop
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Bar / lounge
Kids stay free
Children's playground
Airport transportation
Conference facilities
Parking
Wifi
Paid wifi
Pool / beach towels
Outdoor pool
Plunge pool
Shallow end in pool
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Complimentary welcome drink
Happy hour
Kids' meals
Outdoor dining area
Snack bar
Wine / champagne
Poolside bar
Kids pool
Highchairs available
Car hire
Taxi service
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Concierge
Currency exchange
Gift shop
Outdoor furniture
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun terrace
Sun umbrellas
First aid kit
Umbrella
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Interconnected rooms available
Coffee / tea maker
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Walk-in shower
Private balcony
Room service
Safe
Telephone
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Electric kettle
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Pool view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Business
Charming
Languages Spoken
English
Hotel links
Special Rate:Special rate available
1375Reviews9Q+A100Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 730
  • 423
  • 142
  • 42
  • 38
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
SteveLicata wrote a review Feb 2024
Monrovia, California299 contributions297 helpful votes
Special thanks to Roneeta who gave us a very nice tour of the facilities and then managed to squeeze us into the last five nights of our trip during the peak of the New Years holiday rush. The grounds are impeccably landscaped and clean with hand-carved wooden statues and you feel like you are in a botanical garden as you wander the grounds along nicely sheltered pathways out of the sun and rain. They have a great "fia-fia" show each week that features local dance performances including an awesome "fire dance". The rooms are quite large and comfortable and the breakfast buffet is extensive and worth getting up for every morning. While they do not have a full-service on-site restaurant, we were very impressed with the pizza and other snack foods prepared near the wonderful pool area. There are many restaurants nearby (in adjacent hotels), all of which seem very good. The hotel is also located just down the street from the downtown Apia fish market (and central bus and taxi hub) and various regular grocery stores. The very helpful and professional front desk and lobby staff can help you arrange tours anywhere in Samoa. This is part of the Tanoa hotel chain which has properties also in Tonga and in Fiji. We had just come from nine wonderful nights at the Tanoa International in Nadi, Fiji, so we are definitely Tanoa customers next time we pass through this area.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Try to get a second-floor balcony room facing the back of the property (tennis court and open...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Reservations Manager, Guest Services / Front Office at Tanoa Tusitala Hotel
Responded 5 days ago
Talofa Lava SteveLicata, Thank you for taking your valuable time out to provide us with a detailed feedback on your stay. It was a delight reading your review. Thank you for sharing your feedback. This has been shared with my team here and that has surely made our day. We look forward to seeing you in the near future. Take care and stay safe. Fa'afetai
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Michal S wrote a review Mar 2023
Dublin, Ireland18 contributions8 helpful votes
Hotel's Favourite
From arrival we were struck by combination of traditional and modern decor. Looks incredible. Room was big and air conditioning was strong. Shower has very good pressure and cabin in spacious. Breakfast had great choices including omelettes. Bar menu has my favourite poke and sashimi but also lamb shank and steak. Pool is great and size is just right. Definitely worth every penny and it’s in great location.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
JoyB wrote a review Jan 2024
3 contributions1 helpful vote
For the most part, I enjoyed our time here. However, the food and an admin issue which somehow became my problem to fix left a sour taste in my mouth. The location of the hotel is perfect! The layout is great but the breakfast buffet left much to be desired, especially considering how much you pay per night. In regards to the admin issue - I'd organised the group stay via email and the communication had been great! The last payment hadn't been taken out as scheduled and I was worried because some of the group were arriving to the hotel a couple days before my husband and I so I called and was told by a gentlemen there that the reservation officer I'd been dealing with had unfortunately been away sick for a little while (totally understood!) but that he would process the final payment straight away which he did (Wed) - PERFECT! The day I'm set to leave (Fri), I get an email from the lady in reservations who's returned from being on sick leave and she too confirms that the payment would be processed asap. Left it at that and thought nothing more of it - check in was nice and easy so we settled in for the day. The next morning, I go to use my card and it declines - confused, I log into internet banking to find two payments of what was meant to be my final payment had been processed, overdrawing my account by more than $1,700AUD. The strange part was that both payments had the hotels description but the amounts didn't match. Went to the front desk straight away to sort it out as we were only there till Mon morning (2 x nights total stay) and it was the weekend. I was told by the accountant that there was nothing he could do till banking was completed on Monday. Turns out, 2 x payments were processed (1 x by the guy I spoke to on Wed and 2nd by the lady on Fri). As only one payment was processed (the other pending), I was told it was up to me to take it up with my bank. This experience wasn't the biggest deal breaker as I work for the bank however, had I not had more than one card - I can only imagine the stress that someone might have who doesn't understand banking and how it works. In future, I'd suggest to the hotel to communicate to each other to avoid this occuring to anyone else.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Sightseer24301547085 wrote a review Jan 2024
2 contributions
Make sure you lock all your money and valuables in the safe before you leave your room. We had money stolen from our room and it was not the first time things have gone missing. The swimming pool is crap as is the wifi. Never again. Extremely disappointed.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2023Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
carly c wrote a review Dec 2023
2 contributions
Booked a room for a night however flight got delayed which was out of our control called to ask if booking could be moved to the next day response was need to book another night $365 out of pocket not a great customer experience and unfortunately I change my hotel on future bookings Merry Christmas
Read more
Date of stay: December 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled solo
Room Tip: Great hotel however not accommodating on customers to find a resolution
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Reservations Manager, Guest Services / Front Office at Tanoa Tusitala Hotel
Responded 23 Dec 2023
Talofa Lava 300carlyc, Thank you for your feedback. Understanding your situation but do note all reservations has terms and conditions which the staffs are merely following. Fa'afetai Team Tanoa Tusitala
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
DM S wrote a review Dec 2023
Port Macquarie, Australia1495 contributions470 helpful votes
I must say it's a bit disappointing. It is well located, and a few minutes walking distance to town (which is what we wanted). We had originally booked Aggie Greys our booking was subsequently cancelled as it's undergoing renovation. We arrived at the Tanoa well before check in (our faytime flight was rescheduled as an overnighter, so out of our control) and there were apparently no rooms ready. We did get into our room at 1030, showered and went to bed as we had been awake 26 hours at that point. About two hours later, a housekeeping guy tried to barge into our room even though the DO NOT DISTURB sign was on the door (go figure). Thankfully the inside lock had been engaged. The rooms are spacious, quiet (we were upstairs, highly recommended), the beds are comfortable and it's clean. There is a bar fridge, tea and coffee facilities, large TV (with CNN, BBC etc). The pool is quite small, and warm. Breakfast is included but it's VERY ordinary - the same stuff everyday - baked beans, fried rice, porridge or kokorice (yuk), "grilled" veges swimming in oil, tinned little sausages, tinned sliced mushrooms or an omelette. The frittata is a rubbery spongy concoction and not very appetising. There are also cornflakes, some salad items, pineapple pieces, papaya pieces and small bananas. The banana cake and "brownies " (read cake) are the same every day too, and not nice at all. We didn't bother to eat lunch or dinner there, not much on the menu compared to several places within easy walking distance (Lava, Amanaki and more). We reported an issue with our aircon at 9.30am one morning, it still wasn't fixed by 6.30pm that night, and our room hadn't been serviced that day either. We expressed our disappointment to the Duty Manager prior to going out for dinner, and it was rectified by the time we returned. Well, almost. The flashing alarm light on our aircon had simply been covered with blu tac and housekeeping had forgotten to leave our water so we had to contact reception again. Would we stay here again? No, there are other places like Lava or Taumasena that are close enough to town, if that's your preference.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Definitely rooms upstairs, arrange your own transfer (hotel subcontract is twice the price)
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Reservations Manager, Guest Services / Front Office at Tanoa Tusitala Hotel
Responded 23 Dec 2023
Talofa Lava SteveandDD, Thank you for taking your time in providing your feedback in this platform. In terms of early check in, as our standard check in time is at 2pm and early check in will depend on availability, we encourage guest to pre-reg the booking. That is book from the previous day so room is available for early check. But glad to know the team was able to check you in early at 10.30am. But our sincere apologies for the disturbance from housekeeping team. Will address this with the Team. Our breakfast spread has been been changed and includes items that are readily availably in Samoa and includes local dish like kokorice. Kindly note we do not use tinned little sausages but rather pre packed breakfast sausages. Which is quite disappointing to know that you did not enjoy the breakfast. Yes we do have limited options in our menu bit we do have daily specials. Our sincere apologies for AC complain not being attended to in a timely manner and you had to do a follow up and also for bottle water not being placed. We believe in continuous improvements and we appreciate your feedback, we will address this with our team. Once again thank you for your feedback. Fa'afetai Team Tanoa Tusitala
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
TravellinStallion wrote a review Dec 2023
47 contributions5 helpful votes
Located in Apia, close to the city. Very spacious rooms. Comfortable King size bed. Showers were great. Large balcony. Buffet breakfast was delicious and had a good selection of foods. We enjoyed our team and had a good experience . Would defintly stay here again
Read more
Date of stay: November 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Reservations Manager, Guest Services / Front Office at Tanoa Tusitala Hotel
Responded 11 Dec 2023
Talofa Lava TravellinStallion, Thank you so much for sharing your positive feedback of your stay with us. We are looking forward to granting you our dedicated service again. Fa'afetai
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Theresa P wrote a review Nov 2023
3 contributions
The place is nice and the staff is friendly as well We checked in on our first day and I met with the friendly staff. All our needs was cover in a short amount of time. We haven't had breakfast and dinner at the hotel but I saw their menu is nice to fill in my hungry stomach. Everything is ok with our two day staying at Tanoa.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Not that I know off but maybe look into improve the service in different area in a fast pace...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Reservations Manager, Guest Services / Front Office at Tanoa Tusitala Hotel
Responded 26 Nov 2023
Talofa Lava Theresa, Thank you for taking your time to place a review. We are so glad that you enjoyed your 2 days stay with us and the customer service provided. We cant wait to welcome you back again next time. Fa'afetai Lava.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Paradise702757 wrote a review Nov 2023
1 contribution
TERRIBLE CUSTOMER SERVICE FROM THE RESERVATION TEAM SPECIFICALLY RONNIE WHO LIED TO OUR FACES ABOUT REFUNDING HALF OF OUR 3 nights' stay. First off, a month in advance of our arrival I realized coming from Pagopago was a day behind of Apia, needless to say my reservation for Tonoa wasf 10/14 - 10/17 when in fact should be 10/15 - 10/18. I emailed Tanoa about the mix up and every person I talked to said I needed to rebook, and changing the dates would be considered cancelling my reservation so any chance of receiving a refund would be zero. They said there was nothing they could do that I would need to call Expedia. I called Expedia only to be told there was nothing they could and that the hotel needs to approve the refund. I asked Expedia to call Ronnie at Tanoa direct as he gave us his word that he would approve half a refund. The expedia agent apologized and said Ronnie did not approve such refund. At this point I am frustrated. I never would have booked through Hawaiian Air had I known I was booking with Expedia.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2023Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
didjjetta wrote a review Nov 2023
Brisbane, Australia162 contributions12 helpful votes
Ok location if you’re wanting to be close to town but honestly when we walked in looks tired - so hot one bar - 2 small pools. Friendly lovely staff that eventually accepted us cancelling got 2 of 3 nights refunded. Location in Apia is its bonus- no access to beach so beware when booking. Our fault we did not research enough first. It’s a hotel not a resort.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Honestly for the price- resorts are better in Apia.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Reservations Manager, Guest Services / Front Office at Tanoa Tusitala Hotel
Responded 11 Nov 2023
Talofa Lava, Thank you for your feedback.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Apia area.
PRICE RANGE
$231 - $308 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
SamoaUpoluApia
NUMBER OF ROOMS
95
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

TANOA TUSITALA HOTEL - Now $254 (Was $̶4̶1̶3̶) - UPDATED 2024 Reviews & Price Comparison (Apia, Samoa) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Tanoa Tusitala Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Tanoa Tusitala Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Samoa Cultural Village (0.8 km), Immaculate Conception Cathedral (0.8 km), and Janet's (0.6 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Tanoa Tusitala Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Tanoa Tusitala Hotel?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Tanoa Tusitala Hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and a poolside bar during their stay.
Is parking available at Tanoa Tusitala Hotel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Tanoa Tusitala Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Milani Caffe, Nourish Cafe, and Amanaki Resturant.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Tanoa Tusitala Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Does Tanoa Tusitala Hotel have airport transportation?
Yes, Tanoa Tusitala Hotel offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at Tanoa Tusitala Hotel?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Tanoa Tusitala Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers meeting rooms, a banquet room, and conference facilities.
Does Tanoa Tusitala Hotel have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the park view available here.