Le Manumea Resort
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Le Manumea Resort

Lovely clean pool and surroundings just off main dining area
Traveller (155)
Schimmel überall
Room & Suite (34)
Dining (18)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

4.0
#7 of 28 hotels in Apia
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.3 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.3 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.1 of 5 bubbles
Value
Le Manumea Hotel is located on the Cross Island Road, approximately 10 minutes from Samoa's capital, Apia. Nestled at the base of Mt Vaea, the resting place of the late Robert Louis Stevenson, the Hotel is only minutes walk away from the late-author's residence which is now a museum and grave-site.The Hotel's 12 Executive Suites command panoramic views of the Pacific horizon. Fully air conditioned with a ceiling fan, each suite has a secure indoor/outdoor bathroom with hot and cold water, a quaint little kitchenette with coffee and tea amenities with a little mini fridge and microwave. A 32" Flat Screen is provided, and laundry service is available. The Hotel restaurant serves a range of Europeen and Samoan dishes and the bar is fully stocked and ready to serve a range of beverages which can be enjoyed poolside. Also on site is an air conditioned Conference Suite, which can seat up to 40 people.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Wifi
Pool
Free breakfast
Darts
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Shuttle bus service
Gift shop
Parking
Paid wifi
Outdoor pool
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast in the room
Car hire
Non-smoking hotel
Shops
Laundry service
Ironing service
Room features
Air conditioning
Desk
Room service
Safe
Coffee / tea maker
Flatscreen TV
Extra long beds
Bath / shower
Telephone
Iron
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Kitchenette
Microwave
Refrigerator
Kitchenware
Complimentary toiletries
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
3.5 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Boutique
Quaint
Languages Spoken
English

Location

The Cross Island Road, Apia, Upolu Samoa
Getting there
Car recommended
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 40 out of 100
40
Faleolo Airport
Fagali'i Airport
290Reviews5Q+A54Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 141
  • 86
  • 32
  • 10
  • 14
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Jules wrote a review Mar 2020
Brisbane, Australia59 contributions62 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed here for 2 nights at the end of our trip and would highly recommend. It’s a lovely resort and great value for money. They have happy hour from 10am to 11pm and all drinks including cocktails are only $7 tala. The food is great and very reasonably priced. The rooms are a decent size and have an outdoor bathroom which is cool. The staff are so lovely and friendly. It gets a 5 star from me for The price.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Karin T wrote a review Feb 2024
4 contributions1 helpful vote
4.0 of 5 bubbles
This was a reasonable value hotel in a pleasant setting, with lovely grounds. My fale was very spacious, had air conditioning and a kitchenette which was very handy. The swimming pool was clean, though needing a few tiles replacing. Staff were courteous, although I had to ask for my room to be cleaned by the third day. The owners and staff were very helpful. I felt very comfortable at Le Manumea, which was important as I was travelling alone for professional purposes.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Tualagi Paul, Owner at Le Manumea Resort
Responded 22 Feb 2024
Thank you for the lovely review. Much apologies that you had to ask for your room to be cleaned. Housekeeping are supposed to clean each room daily unless asked by our guests not to. Despite this, we are happy to hear that you felt comfortable and enjoyed your stay with us. Have a great rest of 2024 :)
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Rosie r wrote a review Apr 2024
14 contributions4 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
This place was great. Really enjoyed the location which is about 8 mins drive from Apia. The room was very spacious and clean and loved the air conditioning after 9 nights in a beach fale. The pool was refreshing and happy hour was a plus. The staff were friendly and helpful would recommend
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Law400 wrote a review Jul 2023
Manukau, New Zealand77 contributions4 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Stay one night as it was the only available accommodation on short notice. The rooms were good the outdoor showers were interesting as the wife didn’t like the roaches hanging out by the shower, however the water pressure was great compared to other hotels. Dinner service wasn’t great food came out around an hour and some food was cold. Not great at all
Read more
Date of stay: July 2023Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Tualagi Paul, Owner at Le Manumea Resort
Responded 13 Sept 2023
Sorry to hear you did not enjoy your stay with us, it was our first day of renovations, we were short staffed. We tried our best to accommodate your family dinner however we just did not have enough staff show up that evening and we apologize.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
law68 wrote a review Jul 2023
Auckland, New Zealand1 contribution
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Nice location, we were there while there was renovations taken place so it wasn’t ideal. We stay one night and the rooms were decent and the water pressure was the highlight. The pool look murky (maybe due to the chlorine) no one was swimming when we were there. Dinner was a nightmare! We had a large party and we asked if they could cater for a group of up to 16 ppl, they said they could. We all ordered at the same time and one table received their food whilst the other sat waiting almost an hour (which we found was normal around most hotels) when the food finally came out it was cold!! I can handle late food service, I will not accept cold food! They did offer anything but an apology - absolutely ridiculous service. I would NOT recommend this place, we were only here because no where else was available to cater a big group. Next time we’ll book ahead of time.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2023Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Check to see if the pool is clean and available
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Tualagi Paul, Owner at Le Manumea Resort
Responded 13 Sept 2023
Sorry to hear you did not enjoy your stay with us, it was our first day of renovations, we were short staffed. We tried our best to accommodate your family dinner however we just did not have enough staff show up that evening and we apologize. We did apologize on the night and we removed the food that you had complained was cold off your bill- you did not have to pay for these. One bowl of fries and a hot dog.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Alavine wrote a review Oct 2023
Alice Springs, Australia15 contributions16 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
While the decor is a little dated, it was very clean. Staff were really friendly and nothing was an issue.
The gardens were beautiful and tranquil.
Thank you Le Manumea for a wonderful introduction to my friends who we took there, of my homeland Samoa, you did us proud!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Enjoy... they will make you feel welcome as long as you are respectful
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jaxta22 wrote a review Feb 2011
Auckland, New Zealand1 contribution12 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
I admire people whom do there best to run a business and offer great service and I must admit Manumea has done well for themselves. However, you should never mix business with pleasure. The owners are nice people, but drinking on site and then verbally abusing each other whilst we were trying to have our dinners in our rooms was shocking. I had two kids with me and it was disappointing. The food was fantastic, but the service was terrible...I'm refering to the time it takes to cook our meals. Our meals were almost 1 1/2 hours late..it took forever. I was happy it was absolutely delicious.
Thirdly, we did a lot of swimming and a few times we were questioned about the use of towels...you just don't do that....
Overall, the owners should not be onsite partying and serving and entertaining their friends whom don't stay on site should be secondary to entertaing and ensuring all guest are well looked after. And please no yelling and abusing each other, my kids heard all that and I'm sorry it ruined our stay.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2011
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
DACWgtn wrote a review Aug 2017
Wellington, New Zealand115 contributions99 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
I would really like to rate this resort better, but so much was wrong - at least in my room. The TV stopped working and they forgot to look at it. Room lamps had a blown bulb - took 2 days to replace. There were 4 ant colonies plotting world domination - nothing seemed to have been done to curb their plans - and dead ants weren't cleaned up on some days. The one dinner I had there was a chicken burger - burnt buns, bones in the chicken fillet. The internet is handled by an external company, and I could only get it in my room long enough to pay a huge price for access. After that I could only get reception in the dining area. The pool area is rather small, and the free breakfast is really minimal - although the extra cost for the cooked breakfast is worth it - that was nice. The staff are really friendly, but nothing is written down and they easily forget things you've asked - like your food order, TV not working, internet not working.

But the room was spacious - there is an awesome outside shower area for each room (although the hot water was rather hit and miss), and the covering over the light (I assume to stop the bugs being attracted) came off. There was no towel in my room after it was cleaned - it was just some simple things that would have made this stay so much better. My colleague in another room had almost none of these problems.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2017
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
2.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled on business
Room Tip: Do not choose room 11 - it seems to be jinxed.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from manumea, Front Office Manager at Le Manumea Resort
Responded 15 Nov 2018
Talofa lava, Apologies for the delayed response, we are sorry that you experienced so many problems here at Le Manumea. We appreciate the feedback and will definitely work on fixing these problems. We hope to host you again in the future and hope you have a better stay then. Kind regards, Le Manumea
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
MaddisonCooper wrote a review Jan 2015
1 contribution6 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
On arriving at the Le manumea I was surprised at how far away it was from Apia town, or any beaches. The hotel is located far up the hill and surrounded by bush. The rooms were average, blood stains on the bedding and extremely dusty furniture. Paint coming off the ceilings and broken furniture, the outdoor shower water either was scolding hot or freezing cold - no in between. Huge infestation of bugs and no fly spray provided, on arriving a cockroach ran across my room and two mornings out of 5 I was awoken to cockroaches in the toilet - not pleasant. Dirty dishes were provided for the room and a jar of sugar that had a centipede of some sort dead inside it. The pool area was in serious need of a re do, tiles missing everywhere and extremely small. Pool loungers were all dirty and broken with the lounger cushions all missing except one. Hotel restaurant food was appalling, most of the dishes were completely inedible and our orders took on average an hour for us to receive. Staff unhelpful unfriendly. Majority sit around in the restaurant with there families talking - not much work gets done. Wild dogs and cats were constantly roaming the premises trying to scavenge food. I will never return to Le manumea, it has given me an unpleasant view of Samoa.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2014
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
1.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
1.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from manumea, Owner at Le Manumea Resort
Responded 27 Jan 2015
Talofa lava, I am sorry to have disappointed you and your group with the location of our hotel. Just to let you know Le Manumea is 5 minutes taxi ride in to downtown Apia at a speed limit of 35mph. We are also right next door to the Carmelite Monastery, 200m away from the most visited tourist site on Island- Robert Louis Stevenson Museum, right across the road from 2 popular restaurants; Curry House & Kokobanana (well known for their steak & lobster dishes). Thank you for bringing to my attention all the other disappointing aspects of Le Manumea I wish you had mentioned this to me while you were here, we will definitely be attending to this and making sure that future guests will not experience this. One last thing, I would have appreciated a thank you for a free of charge late check out for your 10pm flight. Fa'afetai Luna Paul
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
dsmlimited wrote a review Dec 2012
Auckland8 contributions6 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
A big thank you to Luna, her family and staff for a wonderful stay at Le Manumea. My husband and I went over for a friend's wedding and found her resort to be everything it was on the website, absolutely amazing, friendly and very welcoming. She made us feel at home and fed us very well too :) you have to try that oka (raw fish marinated in lime,lemon & fresh coconut cream)!!!
The rooms are very clean, and have all the essentials for a tropical environment (aircon, fan, outside shower :) etc). Some days we didn't want to leave our room because it was so comfortable and cool.
Although we were there during cyclone Evan, I am glad to have stayed at Le Manumea as we felt safe there, the structure of the buildings are strong and stable, we were well looked after by Luna, her family and staff, being checked on constantly, and fed continuously throughout the cyclone.
I recommend Le Manumea for anyone travelling to Apia, guaranteed you'll feel like part of the Le Manumea family before you leave.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2012
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Room Tip: We had friends in about 5 of the rooms and each of them were pretty consistent with the next, all...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from manumea, Front Office Manager at Le Manumea Resort
Responded 25 Aug 2014
Talofa Lava, Thank you very much for your feedback. We truly appreciate, and are ever so grateful that you chose Le Manumea as your personal choice for a holiday destination. We are pleased that you enjoyed our facilities and our services. Having said that, we look forward to welcoming you "home" once again... Fa'afetai tele lava.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Answer from Mich
New Zealand7 contributions1 helpful vote
Sorry for the delay in answering. Yes this had a front desk - I’m not sure of the luggage storage - I didn’t stay at the hotel however just went for dinner and drinks and then went for their entertainment night which was amazing. Hope this helps.
Answer from Barbara S
Nelson Bay, Australia42 contributions23 helpful votes
The Hotel will organise this for you but its the same price as if you just get a taxi yourself, just get a couple of prices, very nice people in Samoa Have fun
Answer from Tualagi P
1 contribution
Talofa lava, Unfortunately I cannot include HTML or website links. Please google search Le Manumea Resort and our website should pop up. Have a Blessed day!
Answer from Tualagi P
1 contribution
Talofa lava, $100FJD is approximately $125WST Kind regards, Le Manumea
Answer from Tualagi P
1 contribution
Talofa Lava, No security deposit is required at check in. However, a 50% non-refundable deposit is required to confirm a reservation. Kind regards, Le Manumea
Alavine wrote a tip Oct 2023
Alice Springs, Australia15 contributions16 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Enjoy... they will make you feel welcome as long as you are respectful "
Read full review
vivyen09 wrote a tip Aug 2023
Mackay, Australia6 contributions1 helpful vote
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"The shower scene is great but you have limited towels and toilet paper."
Read full review
law68 wrote a tip Jul 2023
Auckland, New Zealand1 contribution
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Check to see if the pool is clean and available"
Read full review
malilz wrote a tip Jun 2023
Sydney, Australia44 contributions7 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"A few cafes/restaurants/shops across the street. Quick laundry service located down the road."
Read full review
MattBGreen wrote a tip Nov 2019
Sydney, Australia202 contributions55 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"#1 FiaFia Culture Show"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Apia area.
PRICE RANGE
$139 - $165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
manumea hotel apia
LOCATION
SamoaUpoluApia
NUMBER OF ROOMS
12
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

LE MANUMEA RESORT - Now $140 (Was $̶1̶7̶7̶) - UPDATED 2024 Hotel Reviews & Price Comparison (Apia, Samoa) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Le Manumea Hotel
What are some of the property amenities at Le Manumea Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free breakfast, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Le Manumea Hotel?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Le Manumea Hotel?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Le Manumea Hotel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Le Manumea Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include The Pickled Lam Deli & Eatery (Scalinis), Giordanos Wood-Fire Pizza & Garden Restaurant - Est 1990, and Kokobanana Bar & Grill.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Le Manumea Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Is Le Manumea Hotel accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and reduced mobility rooms. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.
All Apia HotelsApia Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in Apia
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday HomesTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire