We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Samoa Hideaway Beach

Matatufu Village, South East Coast, Upolu 00685 Samoa
avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (46)
Pool & Beach (16)
Dining (4)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

#6 of 7 ranches in Upolu
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Samoa Hideaway Beach is Samoa's newest accommodation and seaside Restaurant & Bar. We have a choice of traditional Samoan Fales (Grass Huts) and self-contained bungalows, some of them 2 stories and set all along the beautiful sandy beach. We offer affordable on-site car rentals as well. The restaurant features many local seafood like fresh tuna steaks and lobster. Kayaks are available to explore the reef protected bay and Sky Blue lagoon.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free breakfast
Restaurant
Beach
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Business Centre with Internet Access
Room features
Room service

Location

Matatufu Village, South East Coast, Upolu 00685 Samoa
Samoa Hideaway Beach
31Reviews3Q+A13Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 6
  • 9
  • 8
  • 1
  • 7
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
TeineNZ wrote a review Jul 2016
5 contributions1 helpful vote
A half and hour drive I think from town , wouldn't have it any other way, this place was amazing , staff were very friendly, the slides that go into the water were highlights of my trip (felt like a child again) Besides the small changing rooms provided , this spot is the place to go .
Read more
Date of stay: August 2015
Value
Rooms
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Spacious excellent service
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Eve K wrote a review Sept 2015
Chermside16 contributions13 helpful votes
We stop here for lunch and view and definutely got more then we bargain for. The playground that was supposedly for kids has been our entertaining spot. We had too much fun as we marched along the bridges connecting the playground and the small falez on shallow water. With the huge playground back home this one has a fun boost for everyone not just the kids..so it was an enjoyable moment for us and a worthwhile trip at the end..thank you Samoa Hideaway will be back
Read more
Date of stay: October 2014Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Sera K wrote a review Feb 2015
Apia, Samoa27 contributions8 helpful votes
My family here and those who came over from Fiji for the Christmas & NY's break again stayed at the Hideaway for 4 nights in their Double Storey Bunglaow over the Christmas break! Very spacious and could fit everyone. The H/Manager and staff were always friendly and assisted whenever needed. Live Band all throughout Boxing Day, which made the Vailima more tastier. lol The food (lunch & dinner) though needed some upgrade and we wouldn't mind paying extra price for it! We had to go over to Saletoga Resort for Christmas dinner as they were offering a special buffet and it was so bloody expensive! Pretty sure if Hideaway had provided the same, this would have only cost us 60% of the total cost we paid to Saletoga that evening. Keep up the great work, Chris & team :-) There's an opportunity right there for you.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2014Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Chloejimmyjames wrote a review Dec 2014
Adelaide, Australia5 contributions1 helpful vote
+1
I can't fault this lovely place. The family friendliness is why I chose the Hideaway and I am now lucky enough to be a part of the Hideaway family. I cannot praise the people enough who work there. Each one of them will go out of their way to make you as comfortable as possible and nothing is too much trouble. The included breakfast is outstanding and meals always delicious. Fantastic value for money and close to To Sua Trench. Beautiful beach and also enclosed pool with great slides for the kids. Highly, highly recommend this place as I know Lelei and his fantastic staff with ensure you an amazing, safe stay.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2014
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Julie N wrote a review Nov 2014
Auckland, New Zealand5 contributions
Arrived without prior booking by rental car to this beautiful spot in September. We were greeted by the friendly staff and shown to a lovely beach front fale with all the trimmings - bathroom, fridge, fan and everything we needed. The staff tried very hard to make our stay special. We intended to stay for just two days but quickly decided to extend to four. We will return to this little piece of paradise. Julie and david
Read more
Date of stay: September 2014
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Beachfront covered in fales wonderful.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Andrew B wrote a review Oct 2014
Auckland Central, New Zealand7 contributions5 helpful votes
Had a great time at the Hideaway. Big thanks to Kris and the staff for making it a memorable. Good facilities, brilliant setting and reasonable price. Band played through the day, vialima flowed through the night. Good mix of tourists and locals. My mates and I are already planning our return. Andrew
Read more
Date of stay: October 2014
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Sina S wrote a review Oct 2014
1 contribution2 helpful votes
As an overseas Samoan, returning to Samoa is never a "holiday" as such, rather it can be quite stressful. My mum and I stumbled across Samoa hideaway resort which was the perfect place to truly "relax" and enjoy the beachside environment. It is the only place in Samoa I know that has a poolside slide and a playground for kids, so definitely family friendly. The food is great as well. I thoroughly enjoyed my stay there, and planning to return with the rest of my family this Christmas! :D
Read more
Date of stay: October 2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Jessierose5 wrote a review Oct 2014
40 contributions4 helpful votes
+1
Living the dream when you go to Samoa Hideaway Beach Resort. Cant fault it at all really, the accommodation was excellent, the food superb, terrific service and the employees are so friendly including the new manager he was so helpful. The surroundings and scenery is bliss. Hideaway has a great beach, the prices are very reasonable, pretty setting. Lots to do there, canoeing, snorkelling, endless swimming in the ocean etc etc. Just loved it, will definately go back.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2014
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled solo
Room Tip: I stayed in the bungalow on the beach! AMAZING
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Sera K wrote a review Oct 2014
Apia, Samoa27 contributions8 helpful votes
Stayed here during Father's Day weekend for 1night and again revisited on September 20th, for 2nights. Friendly staff from H/Manager - Chris right down to the Security Guard, quick & easy check-in and customer service & delivery time was great. Food, reasonably priced. Kids loved the pool & the beaches and we loved the beachfront ambience, so relaxing! Resort still needs to improve on the following: - TV services, get on Sky Pacific/Moana TV (why AmSamoa programs?!) and offer Free wifi for your guests. Cook must be wary of the food they serve, we got a burnt burger for one of the kids which shouldn't have been served at all and bathroom walls had some black spots, which need thorough cleaning. Microwave/Fridge/Electric Kettle did not work, could be the power point, which should have been checked before occupancy. Otherwise, it was a great family getaway from the hustle & bustle of Apia life and we will revisit if we get another chance!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2014
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Beach villas would be more recommended.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Samoa H, Manager at Samoa Hideaway Beach
Responded 22 Oct 2014
Thank you sera most appreciated for your contributing review that has put me on more alert, yea also my humble sadness for those things which were not right for you..I have noted all the things and now I will make sure that those will not repeat in your next visit as you have already booked. This month a new and trained chef from APTC has started working to make sure that the food is well maintained, The electric items which did not work was due to electric fault has now been fixed. I promise that your next visit will be a more better one then your last visit. Regards Krish
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Uwe E wrote a review Sept 2014
Marxzell, Germany8 contributions14 helpful votes
We stayed there in July 2014 for two nights after being stranded because all the other resorts nearby that we went to before, were booked out. We were amazed when we entered cause we were the only guests. This should have been a clear warning for us. But we were tired already of looking for accommodation and it was about to get dark, so we checked in. We had to pay the two nights in advance which was no good sign, either. The bungalow and its location was nice. That's the reason for the one star. But the bungalow was overpriced like the food in the restaurant which was lousy and came in small, small portions (not typical at all for Polynesia!). Breakfast was included in the price but was simply awful. At least, we got one on our first morning. In the evening, they told us to have an early dinner around 5:00 p.m. As we were still the only guests, they said that the chef would like to finish work. He wouldn't feel like waiting for our late order. We were not yet hungry but we didn't like to go to bed with an empty stomach, so we ordered our dinner to our bungalow and ate it later on: cold! The second morning we got up early as usual but waited till 8:00 a.m. because breakfast started at 8 o'clock, only. When we came there to the restaurant to take our breakfast, there was one lady around telling us that the restaurant is closed now because there are no guests around. I asked her if we are NO guests but she just repeated unfriendly. that the restaurant is closed. I added that we payed already for this breakfast and not serving us breakfast is kind of cheating. She didn't answer anymore but just left us alone. No excuse, no sorry, no friendly words, no refund. So, we went back to our bungalow packing our things to check out hungry. Moreover, they took some full bottles of drinks from us which we left unattended on the verandah of our bungalow, in the meantime. This is nothing else but stealing and didn't happen anywhere else to us, only there at Samoa Hideaway Beach. So, after traveling around Samoa for more than 4 weeks: this is the far worst place where i stayed all over Samoa, so i cannot recommend it at all. Overpriced, lousy food, no service, no typical Samoan kindness and hospitality, instead even cheating and thieves among the staff. Better go somewhere else!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2014
Rooms
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Samoa H, Manager at Samoa Hideaway Beach
Responded 24 Sept 2014
we have changed all the management and staff right at the end of july,, we are so sorry as what has happened in the past .... we the new management started on the 1st of August ensures that it will not happen again.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Upolu area.
ALSO KNOWN AS
samoa hideaway beach hotel upolu
LOCATION
SamoaUpolu
NUMBER OF ROOMS
23
Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

SAMOA HIDEAWAY BEACH - Ranch Reviews (Upolu) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Samoa Hideaway Beach
Which popular attractions are close to Samoa Hideaway Beach?
Nearby attractions include To Sua Ocean Trench (3.5 km), Sopoaga Falls (3.8 km), and Fuipisia Waterfall (7.2 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Samoa Hideaway Beach?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and free parking.
What food & drink options are available at Samoa Hideaway Beach?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast and an on-site restaurant during their stay.
Is parking available at Samoa Hideaway Beach?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
Are pets allowed at Samoa Hideaway Beach?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Is Samoa Hideaway Beach accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.